Author Topic: ALTHue : Feature Requests  (Read 3974 times)

Offline jeubanks

  • Beta Testers
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 224
  • Karma: +11/-4
ALTHue : Feature Requests
« on: March 30, 2018, 12:51:52 am »
I may have to give this a try.  I pulled my Hue lights out of Vera and into Home Assistant because the Vera plugin kept dropping the Hub.

Any chance of a revamped Lutron Caseta plugin???.  The RadioRA2 is ok... but not great.  I have a Caseta and Caseta PRO hub, so thankfully I'm good to go with Vera with RadioRA2 from the PRO hub.  But it would be nice to have the option of the other hub as well.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2018, 10:40:11 am by amg0 »

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3091
  • Karma: +206/-8
I may have to give this a try.  I pulled my Hue lights out of Vera and into Home Assistant because the Vera plugin kept dropping the Hub.

Any chance of a revamped Lutron Caseta plugin???.  The RadioRA2 is ok... but not great.  I have a Caseta and Caseta PRO hub, so thankfully I'm good to go with Vera with RadioRA2 from the PRO hub.  But it would be nice to have the option of the other hub as well.

I am not familiar with lutron and I can only realistically adresse plugin for devices that I own

Regarding althue, it is very stable for me right now I have 4 lamps including one led strip and 1 motion sensor
« Last Edit: March 30, 2018, 06:13:47 am by amg0 »

Offline ChrisTheC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +4/-1
  • Baltimore, MD & Washington, DC
. . .
Install and Setup instructions can be found here : https://github.com/amg0/ALTHue/blob/master/Doc/ALTHue%20Philips%20Hue%20plugin.pdf


Yipee! I was ready to buy a Hue system based on your work, but . . . I read the document.
Right off the document says "no UI5"

My Vera3 is UI5 with AltUI (and must remain UI5)
My Raspberry Pi3 is openLuup/AltUI

Does this exclude me from the fun?

Thanks,
Chris
openLuup with ALTUI, ALTHUE, 8x iPhoneLocators, Harmony Hub, Honeywell Wifi T-stat, Foscam Fi8608w & 2x R2, bridged to . . .
Vera 3/UI5 with Schlage BE469NX, 3x EZMotion+, 3x Ecolink PIR, 3x Schlage door sensors, 2x Aeotec micro switches, 2x Aeotec appliance switches, Leviton RZM10 & DZMX1, Wemo

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3091
  • Karma: +206/-8
. . .
Install and Setup instructions can be found here : https://github.com/amg0/ALTHue/blob/master/Doc/ALTHue%20Philips%20Hue%20plugin.pdf


Yipee! I was ready to buy a Hue system based on your work, but . . . I read the document.
Right off the document says "no UI5"

My Vera3 is UI5 with AltUI (and must remain UI5)
My Raspberry Pi3 is openLuup/AltUI

Does this exclude me from the fun?

Thanks,
Chris

UI5 yes ( although the effort should no be that much, probably just writing a UI5 .json file and a small .lua change )
openluup : not tested but it should work nicely.  it does work nicely with ALTUI
 EDIT : v0.5 brings a bit of functionality, all minus RGB devices which are seen as std dimmers
« Last Edit: March 31, 2018, 04:07:39 am by amg0 »

Offline cybrmage

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • Karma: +113/-41
openluup : not tested but it should work nicely.  it does work nicely with ALTUI

I have tested with the latest openLuup/latest AltUI/Hue v2 bridge, and the the plugin does not work as-is.... It seems that openLuup does not populated the "data_command_url" variable for the javascript environment.

Manually adding the variable definition to the J_ALTHUE.js file (not the correct solution) resolves the problem, and the plugin then works under openLuup.

Code: [Select]
var data_command_url = "/data_request?";


NB: Actually... the "data_command_url" variable should probably be "data_request_url", as the former seems to have been deprecated years ago...
« Last Edit: March 30, 2018, 12:08:53 pm by cybrmage »

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3091
  • Karma: +206/-8
openluup : not tested but it should work nicely.  it does work nicely with ALTUI

I have tested with the latest openLuup/latest AltUI/Hue v2 bridge, and the the plugin does not work as-is.... It seems that openLuup does not populated the "data_command_url" variable for the javascript environment.

Manually adding the variable definition to the J_ALTHUE.js file (not the correct solution) resolves the problem, and the plugin then works under openLuup.

Code: [Select]
var data_command_url = "/data_request?";


NB: Actually... the "data_command_url" variable should probably be "data_request_url", as the former seems to have been deprecated years ago...

did you take the latest github ALTUI ?. I kind of remember making such a change

Offline cybrmage

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • Karma: +113/-41
did you take the latest github ALTUI ?. I kind of remember making such a change

Yes, I did... You seem to have missed one occurrence... line 312.


PS: Wait... I misread... You stated ALTUI, I read ALTHUE...

The ALTUI version I used is from March 25. (your last update to J_ALTUI_api.js was on the 26th - AltUI/openLuup did not notify of an update.)

Although, in J_ALTHUE.js, you have five references to "data_request_url" and one reference to "data_command_url"... a correct fix could be to change the spurious reference. This would resolve the issue for anyone running a slightly older version of AltUI.

« Last Edit: March 30, 2018, 12:38:44 pm by cybrmage »

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3091
  • Karma: +206/-8
Yes work in progress

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3091
  • Karma: +206/-8
@ChrisTheC

I have a version for UI5 on github, it sorts of work with the following problems
- RGB lights managed as std dimmer lights, when I use D_DimmableRGBLight1.xml for the device file it crashes so I use the std dimmer on UI5
- the user interface of the settings tab is not nice at all, it needs some rework for UI5 but if you use ALTUI, even on your UI5 box, then the user interface will be proper ( essentially UI5 behaves as UI7 )

cf my UI5 screen shot

Offline jeubanks

  • Beta Testers
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 224
  • Karma: +11/-4
Pulled from github and installed.  Working nicely!  Kudo's on the work.

Offline cybrmage

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • Karma: +113/-41
@amg0

Just a heads-up... Your "RefreshHueData" routine is having trouble processing sensor data. My Hue Brideg has several "phantom" temperature and light level sensors. The device data for these sensors contains null data, and this causes the refresh process to crash. (Note: I am testing under openLuup, but it should be the same issue for a real Vera...)

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3091
  • Karma: +206/-8
Can you please send me the content of the setting tab called ? dump ?

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3091
  • Karma: +206/-8
Pulled from github and installed.  Working nicely!  Kudo's on the work.
Great, on what kind of setup ?

Offline cybrmage

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • Karma: +113/-41
Can you please send me the content of the setting tab called ? dump ?

Attached...
« Last Edit: April 02, 2018, 06:48:00 am by cybrmage »

Offline ChrisTheC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +4/-1
  • Baltimore, MD & Washington, DC
@ChrisTheC

I have a version for UI5 on github, it sorts of work with the following problems
- RGB lights managed as std dimmer lights, when I use D_DimmableRGBLight1.xml for the device file it crashes so I use the std dimmer on UI5
- the user interface of the settings tab is not nice at all, it needs some rework for UI5 but if you use ALTUI, even on your UI5 box, then the user interface will be proper ( essentially UI5 behaves as UI7 )

amg0,
Good Morning (from UTC -4:00)
Thanks for the promising news. Could, should, . . . and (in time) will work.
Now to order the hardware . . .  :)
Chris
openLuup with ALTUI, ALTHUE, 8x iPhoneLocators, Harmony Hub, Honeywell Wifi T-stat, Foscam Fi8608w & 2x R2, bridged to . . .
Vera 3/UI5 with Schlage BE469NX, 3x EZMotion+, 3x Ecolink PIR, 3x Schlage door sensors, 2x Aeotec micro switches, 2x Aeotec appliance switches, Leviton RZM10 & DZMX1, Wemo