We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor  (Read 4762 times)

Offline amg0

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« on: May 07, 2018, 05:16:09 pm »
Network Monitor plugin for VERA

New Plugin : NETMON  , Network Monitor
supported on UI5, UI7, ALTUI, openluup
The plugin will soon be released in the VERA App Store (http://apps.mios.com/plugin.php?id=9081)

Source and more details documentation can be found here : =>
https://github.com/amg0/NetMonitor

This plugin is enabling you to check the availability of some device on your IP network. it uses ping or http to verify the availability of a device and report it as a Motion Sensor device in VERA
-Tripped:  means the device is not present or fails
-Untripped: means the device is properly responding to the probe

The plugin is not yet in the App Store but you can find it AltAppStore or the sources on https://github.com/amg0/NetMonitor
To install , download the files from github , upload them and manually create the device

It is freeware but you have a donation setting page if you feel like showing your support
« Last Edit: May 09, 2018, 11:37:41 am by amg0 »

Offline ChrisTheC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: +4/-1
  • Baltimore, MD & Washington, DC
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2018, 06:02:44 am »
Amg0,

Thanks for your continued enhancements.

Tried it on openLuup. I don't have the "status" tab.

Regards,
Chris
openLuup with ALTUI, ALTHUE, 8x iPhoneLocators, Harmony Hub, Honeywell Wifi T-stat, Foscam Fi8608w & 2x R2, bridged to . . .
Vera 3/UI5 with Schlage BE469NX, 3x EZMotion+, 3x Ecolink PIR, 3x Schlage door sensors, 2x Aeotec micro switches, 2x Aeotec appliance switches, Leviton RZM10 & DZMX1, Wemo

Offline amg0

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2018, 08:01:25 am »
Amg0,

Thanks for your continued enhancements.

Tried it on openLuup. I don't have the "status" tab.

Regards,
Chris
I had forgotten to commit in github, it should be in now in latest version. Sorry

Offline amg0

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2018, 08:08:30 am »
Amg0,

Thanks for your continued enhancements.

Tried it on openLuup. I don't have the "status" tab.

Regards,
Chris
I had forgotten to commit in github, it should be in now in latest version. Sorry

You can also take the latest altui from github I did some enh for the netmon displays ( dashboard and favorites )
« Last Edit: May 08, 2018, 08:16:42 am by amg0 »

Offline ChrisTheC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: +4/-1
  • Baltimore, MD & Washington, DC
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2018, 06:15:58 am »
 :) Looking good!
openLuup with ALTUI, ALTHUE, 8x iPhoneLocators, Harmony Hub, Honeywell Wifi T-stat, Foscam Fi8608w & 2x R2, bridged to . . .
Vera 3/UI5 with Schlage BE469NX, 3x EZMotion+, 3x Ecolink PIR, 3x Schlage door sensors, 2x Aeotec micro switches, 2x Aeotec appliance switches, Leviton RZM10 & DZMX1, Wemo

Offline amg0

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2018, 11:12:15 am »
Just added UI5 support as well. so UI5 UI7 ALTUI and openluup are supported

Offline Jantang

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2018, 01:06:13 pm »
@amg0.  A splendid plug-in. Would I be correct that IgnoreTripTime is not implemented? At least it does not seem to work in the way that I would expect.  I have an IP device that is on an unreliable part of the network, so I would like to delay the alert until it has failed two pings.  I set IgnoreTripTime to a value more than the polling cycle time, but it still trips, and only delays the un-trip.

Offline amg0

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2018, 02:56:09 pm »
@amg0.  A splendid plug-in. Would I be correct that IgnoreTripTime is not implemented? At least it does not seem to work in the way that I would expect.  I have an IP device that is on an unreliable part of the network, so I would like to delay the alert until it has failed two pings.  I set IgnoreTripTime to a value more than the polling cycle time, but it still trips, and only delays the un-trip.

correct, not implemented, I need to look at this but am quite busy professionally at the moment. could take a little while

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Karma: +33/-13
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2018, 04:24:06 pm »
Network Monitor plugin for VERA

New Plugin : NETMON  , Network Monitor


Cool - I was about to install the old PING sensor, but I am going to try this instead...
Long Live UI5!  (OK finally made the switch to UI7 in January 2018, and am pretty happy....)

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Karma: +33/-13
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2018, 04:30:57 pm »
How do I assign a monitored device to a "Room"?  I guess in the advanced settings if I knew the room number...

UPDATE - works via advanced settings.

UPDATE 2- nope, after a reboot, the motion sensor was back in "No Room" AKA Room 0...

Realization - this is parent/child and they have to be in the same room - it is a Vera limitation.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2018, 05:34:49 pm by wilme2 »
Long Live UI5!  (OK finally made the switch to UI7 in January 2018, and am pretty happy....)

Offline amg0

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2018, 05:44:03 pm »
Nope it is a design decision. I made the device in embedded mode so children are following it in the same room as their parent. Seemed  to me a better way as they are all just a probe.
I am Not sure if this setting could be controlled by an option and changed after the initial device creation

Offline ChrisTheC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: +4/-1
  • Baltimore, MD & Washington, DC
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2018, 05:38:33 am »
How do I assign a monitored device to a "Room"?  I guess in the advanced settings if I knew the room number...

UPDATE - works via advanced settings.

UPDATE 2- nope, after a reboot, the motion sensor was back in "No Room" AKA Room 0...

Realization - this is parent/child and they have to be in the same room - it is a Vera limitation.

wilme2,

Perhaps I misunderstand your query, but on openLuup/ALTUI, I moved all of the child devices into a separate room via the control panel of the child device.

If this is not what you are looking for, please ignore.

Chris
openLuup with ALTUI, ALTHUE, 8x iPhoneLocators, Harmony Hub, Honeywell Wifi T-stat, Foscam Fi8608w & 2x R2, bridged to . . .
Vera 3/UI5 with Schlage BE469NX, 3x EZMotion+, 3x Ecolink PIR, 3x Schlage door sensors, 2x Aeotec micro switches, 2x Aeotec appliance switches, Leviton RZM10 & DZMX1, Wemo

Offline amg0

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #12 on: June 19, 2018, 07:49:22 am »
How do I assign a monitored device to a "Room"?  I guess in the advanced settings if I knew the room number...

UPDATE - works via advanced settings.

UPDATE 2- nope, after a reboot, the motion sensor was back in "No Room" AKA Room 0...

Realization - this is parent/child and they have to be in the same room - it is a Vera limitation.

wilme2,

Perhaps I misunderstand your query, but on openLuup/ALTUI, I moved all of the child devices into a separate room via the control panel of the child device.

If this is not what you are looking for, please ignore.

Chris
Maybe oprnluup did not fully implement the embedded flag concept on devices...

Offline akbooer

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6387
  • Karma: +292/-70
  • "Less is more"
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #13 on: June 20, 2018, 07:19:33 am »
I may be missing something, but is there a way to invert the sense of the 'tripped' alarm?

I'm using it to monitor by internet connectivity, and having previously used the Ping plugin, OK is '1' and not OK is '0'.

3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P, 9x Philips Hue,
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, AltHue, DataYours, Grafana, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.

Offline amg0

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
Re: New Plugin : NETMON - a network device monitor
« Reply #14 on: June 20, 2018, 07:33:37 am »
I may be missing something, but is there a way to invert the sense of the 'tripped' alarm?

I'm using it to monitor by internet connectivity, and having previously used the Ping plugin, OK is '1' and not OK is '0'.

I think the point is when a device has the embedded flag set too ne all it?s children devices are following it in the same room.
NETmON plugin uses the embedded flag so on vera all children follow their father in the same room and apparently on openluup not hence my inference that embedded flag may not be implemented on openluup. ( have not tested )