Author Topic: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid  (Read 3393 times)

Offline tomtcom

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 948
  • Karma: +21/-31
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #60 on: June 11, 2018, 10:13:49 pm »
I believe it is caused by having upnp enabled which is needed for network discovery.
Does anyone have any idea why Vera is probing my network?  It looks like it's from the stupid camera app but I'm not sure.  Hundreds of these in my LuaUPnP.log and for multiple IP addresses.  Looks like it's doing a probe of my subnet looking for a connection.

 FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/SDK/activateStatus response:  <0x76edc520>
01      06/11/18 14:55:37.130   FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/SDK/activateStatus response:  <0x76edc520>
01      06/11/18 14:55:52.131   FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/util/query.cgi response:  <0x76edc520>
01      06/11/18 14:56:07.132   FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/util/query.cgi response:  <0x76edc520>
01      06/11/18 14:56:22.133   FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/util/query.cgi response:  <0x76edc520>
01      06/11/18 14:56:37.134   FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/util/query.cgi response:  <0x76edc520>
01      06/11/18 14:56:52.135   FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/util/query.cgi response:  <0x76edc520>

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk


Offline jeubanks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #61 on: June 12, 2018, 09:18:34 am »
I believe it is caused by having upnp enabled which is needed for network discovery.
Does anyone have any idea why Vera is probing my network?  It looks like it's from the stupid camera app but I'm not sure.  Hundreds of these in my LuaUPnP.log and for multiple IP addresses.  Looks like it's doing a probe of my subnet looking for a connection.

 FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/SDK/activateStatus response:  <0x76edc520>
01      06/11/18 14:55:37.130   FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/SDK/activateStatus response:  <0x76edc520>
01      06/11/18 14:55:52.131   FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/util/query.cgi response:  <0x76edc520>
01      06/11/18 14:56:07.132   FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/util/query.cgi response:  <0x76edc520>
01      06/11/18 14:56:22.133   FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/util/query.cgi response:  <0x76edc520>
01      06/11/18 14:56:37.134   FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/util/query.cgi response:  <0x76edc520>
01      06/11/18 14:56:52.135   FileUtils::ReadURL 28/resp:0 user: pass: size 1 http://192.168.10.41/util/query.cgi response:  <0x76edc520>

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk

Kinda fun when upnp is not enabled then???  I've been watching my logs a lot over the last several days doing other dev work and I've seen a lot of those messages.  Some I would say could be uPnP related, but most of them look like they are the Camera app probing to find cameras.

Offline tomtcom

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 948
  • Karma: +21/-31
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #62 on: June 12, 2018, 04:11:53 pm »
 :)

Seems at least 2 years old >>
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=40530.0

According to that post, Vera's app which hasn't been updated in a long time or their VistaCam firmware for that matter, could think it's lost connection causing this. I do recall these and I think I've seen them in my logs recently too.

Do you implicitly specify the MAC address for the camera? I have had to do this a number of times otherwise I got connection errors in the UI. Since I doubt you are seeing any errors in the UI, that may not help any.

Normally we would try to remove the app and see if the logs persist but that Apexis app or the other camera app will reinstall itself anyways. I never found much resolutions to most of Vera's logging anyhow and gave up unless a UI problem was reporting an error.

Offline jeubanks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #63 on: June 12, 2018, 05:03:05 pm »
:)

Seems at least 2 years old >>
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=40530.0

According to that post, Vera's app which hasn't been updated in a long time or their VistaCam firmware for that matter, could think it's lost connection causing this. I do recall these and I think I've seen them in my logs recently too.

Do you implicitly specify the MAC address for the camera? I have had to do this a number of times otherwise I got connection errors in the UI. Since I doubt you are seeing any errors in the UI, that may not help any.

Normally we would try to remove the app and see if the logs persist but that Apexis app or the other camera app will reinstall itself anyways. I never found much resolutions to most of Vera's logging anyhow and gave up unless a UI problem was reporting an error.

I have no cameras in Vera.  This Vera Plus is a clean factory reset with only a couple of devices in it for some testing I'm doing.

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1111
  • Karma: +52/-21
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #64 on: June 12, 2018, 05:26:27 pm »
This is pretty nasty... Likely some left over code for a plugin which somehow got integrated in the firmware. Only if we could find where it is a get rid of it.

As an update, I now got 60hrs with the vera blocked from the internet without a luup reload. As I am travelling, I got some zwave devices reporting missing though and won?t get to it until I get back. I suspect I can wake them up or reboot them to see if it is a device issue but these are devices which have never failed before. It will be interesting when I get back.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2018, 05:29:52 pm by rafale77 »
openLuup (96 devices, 122 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (133 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 200 devices, 34 scenes , 1 apps) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 524
  • Karma: +6/-12
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #65 on: June 13, 2018, 02:48:17 pm »
On the topic of Zigbee motion sensors, I wish I could find some of them.... Everywhere I looks seems to either be out of not carrying them any longer...

Offline tomtcom

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 948
  • Karma: +21/-31
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #66 on: June 13, 2018, 08:19:47 pm »
:)

Seems at least 2 years old >>
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=40530.0

According to that post, Vera's app which hasn't been updated in a long time or their VistaCam firmware for that matter, could think it's lost connection causing this. I do recall these and I think I've seen them in my logs recently too.

Do you implicitly specify the MAC address for the camera? I have had to do this a number of times otherwise I got connection errors in the UI. Since I doubt you are seeing any errors in the UI, that may not help any.

Normally we would try to remove the app and see if the logs persist but that Apexis app or the other camera app will reinstall itself anyways. I never found much resolutions to most of Vera's logging anyhow and gave up unless a UI problem was reporting an error.

I have no cameras in Vera.  This Vera Plus is a clean factory reset with only a couple of devices in it for some testing I'm doing.

Now that I think about it, you have verified the camera app isn't installed? For all reports I have seen this is baked into the firmware and downloads automatically. This is part of their method to ensure a camera added has the software it needs. In UI6 it wasn't there there I remember and I think you had to download it.

Others have complained that it gets redownloaded as soon as you uninstall it.

If it's not there, I'm sorry, don't mean to go on a wild goose chase.

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1111
  • Karma: +52/-21
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #67 on: June 14, 2018, 02:29:15 am »
Probably referring to the sercomm camera plugin which is inexplicably force loaded in the last 3 firmwares. It initially could be removed but would come right back due to a plugin sync function I found in the logs and now can?t be removed at all in the last release in spite I of all the requests on this forum to get rid of it. Pretty exhasperating to me...

I am now getting close to 100h without a luup reload while being completely offline and I still have the same 4 devices which are not detected for the past 3 days. I might be getting somewhere. My hubitat is on the same network and I discovered is very easy to configure, at least for all the power switches.
I also discovered that the latest firmware removed the armed disarmed switch for the sirens  and defaulted my sirens to disarmed which I think disables them... another undocumented change.
openLuup (96 devices, 122 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (133 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 200 devices, 34 scenes , 1 apps) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1111
  • Karma: +52/-21
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #68 on: June 19, 2018, 05:22:54 pm »
Removing more and more content from the vera. I am continuing to find new elementary issues with data corruption this morning with the vera going into infinite loop of vera reloads until I did a factory reset and recovered from backup without any apparent error in the logs. I have practically given up on vera now. My architecture is continuously changing and going away from vera dependance:
Homekit bridge and Xandem now connected to openLuup instead of the vera. Number of scenes down from over ~120 to 34. Devices down from ~280 to 200.

Next: moving Homewave and HABridge away from the Vera
openLuup (96 devices, 122 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (133 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 200 devices, 34 scenes , 1 apps) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 524
  • Karma: +6/-12
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #69 on: June 21, 2018, 04:44:56 pm »
I have moved quite a bit to HomeAssistant and allowed it to take over some things I was trying to do with the Vera. I noticed that stability returned after removing the ping sensor, ecobee, and multiswitch plugins. I'm not suggesting that either of these may have been causing my issues. They all seemed to be well executed plugins. I also had some outside python scripts accessing the Vera data through http that might have been loading it up and causing issues. Either way, at this time it's basically radios and it's solid. Still have PLEG doing some things. It's a must on this box...

Offline Tillsy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #70 on: June 21, 2018, 07:27:07 pm »
You're right - Vera becomes quite stable once you have removed all devices from it ;)

Offline jeubanks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #71 on: June 21, 2018, 11:56:03 pm »
You're right - Vera becomes quite stable once you have removed all devices from it ;)

Yup.  With little to no plugins Vera runs well as a radio box.  I get the feeling the Mios system and Vera were not intended for what they are marketing and instead are meant as control boxes for other systems to interface with.  Makes since with their extensive Interface API for other systems to hook into with.  That's about the only thing well documented about Vera.

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1111
  • Karma: +52/-21
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #72 on: June 22, 2018, 01:21:41 am »
I have been going back and forth for some time thinking I could keep the vera as my radio bridge and control everything else through openLuup and Home assistant. Every time I got to some level of hope that it will stabilize, the vera eventually craps out one way or another: Either luup engine, zwave network management, worse yet data corruption.

Eliminating plugins does help but I am now looking for an alternative radio with an API. Another Home assistant instance on a raspberry pi was an option but I am now also considering Zway... Homeseer I think is too spendy for what I want to do with it.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2018, 10:07:19 am by rafale77 »
openLuup (96 devices, 122 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (133 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 200 devices, 34 scenes , 1 apps) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa

Offline jeubanks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #73 on: June 22, 2018, 08:23:40 am »
I have been going back and forth for some time thinking I could keep the vera as my radio bridge and control everything else through openLuup and Home assistant. Every time I got to some level of hope that it will stabilize, the vera eventually craps out one way or another. Either luup engine, zwave network management, worse yet data corruption.

Eliminating plugins does help but I am now looking for an alternative radio with an API. Another Home assistant instance on a raspberry pi was an option but I am now also considering Zway... Homeseer I think is too spendy for what I want to do with it.

Yeah after a certain point of number of devices the Vera stability still tanks.  It's odd as some people can have hundreds of devices in their system and have absolutely zero problems.  (so claimed).  Then others have only a dozen or more and they have a nightmare experience.

I didn't look into Zway too much.  Keep us posted if you go that route.

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 524
  • Karma: +6/-12
Re: Securing and stabilizing the Vera by taking it off the grid
« Reply #74 on: June 22, 2018, 10:04:18 pm »
Rafael77, I have a ZWay module. I got away from it due to lack of support. I didn't want to have to spend a weekend programming simple things that weren't available or customizing modules every other day. Now, if HomeAssistant supports it, that's a different story. The software that came with it at the time left a lot to be desired...