Author Topic: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is  (Read 2346 times)

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« on: May 14, 2018, 04:37:52 am »
Hi Guys,

in the Vera Concierge thread, Richard's written about how Vera Concierge Smart Home is now available on the Google Home app, but when I try to connect it says "Linking your Vera Concierge Smart Home Account" but after a few seconds, an error message reading "Couldn't Update the setting. Check your connection." appears on the bottom.

Here's my setup:

My Vera Plus hub is on IP http://192.168.178.75 and has the current version of 1.7.3500.  Using the app on my phone, I can control my Z-Wave Power Point Switch and the response is instantaneous.

My Vera Concierge setup is on a Raspberry PI at http://192.168.178.74 and I can connect via PuTTY and I have confirmed the following:
Change to /etc/ directory
Enter command sudo nano hosts and it shows the following line:
192.168.178.74    raspberrypi

Question 1:  Is the above entry correct?  Is the hostname wrong? How do I know what name to put there?

Next, in Chrome web browser, I go to https://192.168.178.74:8989/ but the page shows "Privacy Error" and has changed the address line to https://192.168.178.74:8989/ and the page reads, in part:

Quote
Your connection is not private
Attackers might be trying to steal your information from 192.168.178.74 (for example, passwords, messages, or credit cards). Learn more
NET::ERR_CERT_COMMON_NAME_INVALID

This server could not prove that it is 192.168.178.74; its security certificate is from localhost. This may be caused by a misconfiguration or an attacker intercepting your connection.

I have followed the instructions about downloading ConciergeServer.crt and I've installed it in the spot it says to plus other levels in that directory but nothing seems to work. 
Question 2:  What am I doing wrong to keep on getting this "unsecured" error?

Ok, so I've told Chrome to proceed to the address.

Under the top part with the heading Vera Account(s) (Required to access your Vera(s) from the cloud.), it shows my Vera login name and password.
Under the next part with the heading Discoverd Devices (that's how it's spelt by the way) it shows my Vera Plus unit, it's serial number, the IP address of 192.168.178.75 and the last update being 14-May-2018 08:22:39 (must be US based as it's now 14th May at 6:23pm local time (Sydney Australia))
I click on "Connectivity" and it says "Successfull bi-directional connectivity" (that's how it's spelt).
I click on Validate for the license and it validates.

Under the bottom part with the heading Goggle Cast Devices it shows nothing even though I have a Google Home, 4x Google Home Minis and some Chromecasts.

I click on Update Vera Concierge Server Cloud Info and it takes me to https://veraconcierge.appspot.com/web/Account.
If I click on "Connectivity" on that page, it reads "Successfull connectivity to your Vera and to the local Concierge Server"

Question 3: Why do I get the error message I wrote at the start of this thread when I try to connect?

I start up the Vera Concierge app, click on "Start Listening" and say "Turn Popcorn On" (My Z-wave switch is called "Popcorn" and has a lamp plugged into it) and the lamp turns on after about 10 seconds.  I say "turn Popcorn off" and the lamp goes out after about 10 seconds.

I'm lost as to where things are going wrong.

Please help.

Offline RichieB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2018, 05:29:00 pm »
make sure ur using the same google account for everything

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2018, 09:31:18 pm »
I am. I only have one Gmail account.

I would love to start with solving one of the questions which should be an easy fix - what am I doing wrong regarding the security certificate?
« Last Edit: May 15, 2018, 09:33:08 pm by MadMax1412 »

Offline 4Crawler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2018, 03:44:46 pm »
Might check my reply (#4) in this thread:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,78393
Issues with the certificate, in my case, seem to involve having the "keytool" binary in your Java executable path.  Once I fixed that, my Concierge server started working fine and no "unsecure" message.

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2018, 01:38:29 am »
Might check my reply (#4) in this thread:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,78393
Issues with the certificate, in my case, seem to involve having the "keytool" binary in your Java executable path.  Once I fixed that, my Concierge server started working fine and no "unsecure" message.

Seems a little confusing to the "average" joe but I can try it probably over the weekend when I have time to think it through (java, shell scripts, etc is a little confusing to me).  I just thought the certificate issue was at the PC end where the certificate was installed as per the instructions.

Still waiting for a response to my other issues.  I really want to get Google Home talking to Vera and it's disappointing it's so dang hard.

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10091
  • Karma: +764/-142
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2018, 03:20:00 am »
The "Unsecure" icon is always visible.
Loading the Cert only gets rid of the Browser asking you if you think it's safe to continue.

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2018, 04:33:51 am »
The "Unsecure" icon is always visible.
Loading the Cert only gets rid of the Browser asking you if you think it's safe to continue.

That's the problem.  I've loaded the certificate in the location it says to in the instructions (plus a few more locations since it didn't work) but my browser is saying:

Quote
our connection is not private
Attackers might be trying to steal your information from 192.168.178.74 (for example, passwords, messages, or credit cards). Learn more
NET::ERR_CERT_COMMON_NAME_INVALID

This server could not prove that it is 192.168.178.74; its security certificate is from localhost. This may be caused by a misconfiguration or an attacker intercepting your connection.

What about my other questions such as "Why when I try to add the Vera Smart Home App" in the Google Home App, it says "Linking your Vera Concierge Smart Home Account" but after a few seconds, an error message reading "Couldn't Update the setting. Check your connection." appears on the bottom??

As I mentioned, if I use the Vera Concierge App I can ask it to turn on or off the Z-Wave switch which happens after a bit of a delay, so why can't I connect via the Google Home App?

Lastly, why, when I finally proceed through the security warning at https://192.168.178.74:8989/, does it show my Vera Account (login name, password, etc), the Vera device under the middle section, but doesn't show any Google Cast devices such as my Google Home, My 4 Google Minis or my Chromecasts?

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10091
  • Karma: +764/-142
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2018, 03:16:49 pm »
try another (better) browser.
Send me detailed Local Vera Concierge Logs if you want more help.

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2018, 02:04:33 am »
try another (better) browser.

Personally I think Chrome is a good browser, and to be honest, your website should work regardless of browser.

Anyway, I tried using Microsoft Edge, and went through the process of installing the security certificate in the location specified and I rebooted and tried the address again and still get warnings.  In Microsoft Edge, it reads:

Quote
This site is not secure

This might mean that someone?s trying to fool you or steal any info you send to the server. You should close this site immediately.


Go to your Start page

Details

The hostname in the website?s security certificate differs from the website you are trying to visit.
Error Code: DLG_FLAGS_SEC_CERT_CN_INVALID

Go on to the webpage (Not recommended)

Send me detailed Local Vera Concierge Logs if you want more help.

Where do I get these logs from?  If it's from the "Log File" tab of https://192.168.178.74:8989/, then all it shows is the following (BTW, my local time is 19th May at 3:56pm, so I gather the time stamp is your local time??)

Quote
19-May-2018 05:55:21 V:CSWebContainer:Config Cmd:/Query
19-May-2018 05:55:39 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:55:44 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:55:49 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:55:51 V:CSWebContainer:Config Cmd:/Query
19-May-2018 05:55:54 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:55:59 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:56:04 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:56:09 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:56:14 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:56:19 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:56:21 V:CSWebContainer:Config Cmd:/Query
19-May-2018 05:56:24 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:56:29 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:56:34 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:56:39 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:56:44 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:56:49 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:56:51 V:CSWebContainer:Config Cmd:/Query
19-May-2018 05:56:54 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:56:59 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:57:08 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:57:13 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:57:18 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:57:21 V:CSWebContainer:Config Cmd:/Query
19-May-2018 05:57:24 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:57:29 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:57:34 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:57:39 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:57:44 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:57:48 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:57:52 V:CSWebContainer:Config Cmd:/Query
19-May-2018 05:57:53 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:57:58 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:58:03 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:58:04 I:VeraConnect.VeraGateway:URLConnection:http://192.168.178.75/port_3480/data_request?output_format=json&id=lu_status2&DataVersion=528210108&LoadTime=1526528201
19-May-2018 05:58:04 V:VeraService:ParseLuStatus:1
19-May-2018 05:58:08 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:58:13 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:58:18 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:58:22 V:CSWebContainer:Config Cmd:/Query
19-May-2018 05:58:23 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:58:28 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:58:33 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:58:38 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:58:43 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:58:48 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:58:52 V:CSWebContainer:Config Cmd:/Query
19-May-2018 05:58:53 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log
19-May-2018 05:58:58 V:CSWebContainer:Cmd:/Log

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2018, 03:41:18 am »
I just noticed on the "Software Update" tab that my version is 1.033 and the drop down list shows the current version is 2.029.

Should I have Auto Update selected?

Should I manually update to the latest?

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2018, 12:14:25 am »
Well it's been 10 days since I replied to Richard but no update on whether the log files have been the ones he wanted or not.

Also, since no-one has specified otherwise, I assume I should update from 1.033, but when I choose 2.029 from the drop down list and click the "update" button, nothing seems to happen.  Is there supposed to be some progress bar or something?

I've refreshed the browser and it still shows I'm on 1.033.

I really want to get Vera and Google Home working together as I want to continue to add on more Z-wave devices to automate my home, but so far it's been a frustrating journey.

EDIT:  Eventually the browser refresh shows I'm now on 2.029

EDIT:  On the newly refreshed screen it now shows my devices but for some reason I have devices that have the same IP address.

My office Google Mini is showing as having an IP address of 192.168.178.77 but so are 2 groups of speakers - the one I've called "All But Sienna's" and "House".  These are not physical devices but are groups of GH/GH Minis.  How are they given an IP address?  Is the same IP address being given to 1 physical device (my office mini) and 2 virtual groups causing issues?
« Last Edit: May 29, 2018, 12:20:55 am by MadMax1412 »

Offline RichieB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2018, 01:56:19 pm »
i had that same problem .. the installation is bad .. reinstall from scratch ... u shouldnt be on 1.033 that was a long time ago ..... when i had that problem i  realized that i had 2 servers runing on the same machine, for some strange reason, and it was causing conflict

Offline RichieB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +2/-0

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #13 on: May 29, 2018, 11:03:23 pm »
... u shouldnt be on 1.033 that was a long time ago .....

I gather you didn't see the edit I posted saying that after a few refreshes, I'm now showing as being on 2.029

My web browser is showing my vera device correctly and it shows all my Google devices (the only issue being that virtual groups of speakers have the same IP as an actual speaker).

My problem is in the Google Home app, it won't allow me to connect.  When I try to connect it says "Linking your Vera Concierge Smart Home Account" but after a few seconds, an error message reading "Couldn't Update the setting. Check your connection." appears on the bottom.

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10091
  • Karma: +764/-142
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2018, 10:59:38 am »
Did you pass the connectivity tests described in the debugging post ?