Author Topic: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is  (Read 2341 times)

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #15 on: May 30, 2018, 11:40:20 pm »
Did you pass the connectivity tests described in the debugging post ?

Yep, as I posted in the original post...

I click on "Connectivity" and it says "Successfull bi-directional connectivity" (that's how it's spelt).
I click on Validate for the license and it validates.

and then

I click on Update Vera Concierge Server Cloud Info and it takes me to https://veraconcierge.appspot.com/web/Account.
If I click on "Connectivity" on that page, it reads "Successfull connectivity to your Vera and to the local Concierge Server"

I have just gone back to https://192.168.178.74:8989/ and confirmed the connectivity still works.

As also mentioned, I can use the Vera Concierge app successfully...
I start up the Vera Concierge app, click on "Start Listening" and say "Turn Popcorn On" (My Z-wave switch is called "Popcorn" and has a lamp plugged into it) and the lamp turns on after about 10 seconds.  I say "turn Popcorn off" and the lamp goes out after about 10 seconds.

so I don't know why when I go into Google Home and try to connect it says "Linking your Vera Concierge Smart Home Account" but after a few seconds, an error message reading "Couldn't Update the setting. Check your connection." appears on the bottom.

Furthermore, the Vera app works fine.

My Vera Plus hub is on IP http://192.168.178.75 and has the current version of 1.7.3500.  Using the app on my phone, I can control my Z-Wave Power Point Switch and the response is instantaneous.

Note: Since the original post, the Vera Plus hub is now on 1.7.3830

Offline RichieB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #16 on: May 31, 2018, 12:54:07 am »
what version of google assistant are you using .. i think that is where ur problem lies  - you may have to update ur google app and also ur google assistant app -- do you by any change have another device to test it on?

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #17 on: May 31, 2018, 03:16:32 am »
what version of google assistant are you using .. i think that is where ur problem lies  - you may have to update ur google app and also ur google assistant app

All my apps on my phone are updated as soon as updates become available.

Google Home App - version 1.29.20.20 updated May 14

I just searched the App store for Google Assistant and found it wasn't installed on my phone. I thought it was installed as I can hold down the home button to get GA to listen for commands. Anyway, I installed it (version 0.1.187945513).

I still get the error message when I go into the Google Home app and go to Home Control --> + button and try to add Vera Concierge Smart Home.

i.e  it says "Linking your Vera Concierge Smart Home Account" but after a few seconds, an error message reading "Couldn't Update the setting. Check your connection." appears on the bottom.

Edit: A closer look at the Google Assistant app I just installed and it says:

You do not need this app to use the Google Assistant if you already have the Google Assistant on your device.

So I already had GA on my phone as I thought. It makes it confusing when the names are the same - I had Google Assistant on my phone but can install Google Assistant. Wow, you think it would recognize you have GA on your phone and say "Installed".
« Last Edit: May 31, 2018, 03:21:22 am by MadMax1412 »

Offline RichieB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #18 on: May 31, 2018, 03:30:07 pm »
do you have any other device to try as in like another phone or tablet?

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #19 on: May 31, 2018, 09:34:14 pm »
do you have any other device to try as in like another phone or tablet?

I just tried on my Nexus 7 tablet and get the same error message.

Offline RichieB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #20 on: June 02, 2018, 05:03:27 pm »
not the google home the google app    
Google App 8.4.11 thats the latest version

https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/google-inc/google-search/

try downgrading it then upgrading it
« Last Edit: June 02, 2018, 05:10:59 pm by RichieB »

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #21 on: June 02, 2018, 06:25:30 pm »
not the google home the google app    
Google App 8.4.11 thats the latest version

On my phone, if I go into Google Play Store --> My Apps and Games and search for "Google App", the closest that comes up is "Google" which shows I have version 8.4.9.21.arm64 and is dated May 24 2018 and there is no update.

If I search the Google Play Store for "Google App" (This is the name of the app you linked to on the APK mirror), there is no result called that. There are heaps of apps that start with the word "Goggle" (eg Google+, Google Home, Google Assistant, etc). There is one that is called "Google Apps Device Policy".

Looking at the description the "Google App" app you linked to is the same as the "Google" app I am shown in the play store.

Since you are wanting me to be on version 8.4.11 (which hasn't been "officially" released to me via the Google Play store), do you want me to just install this version or still do a downgrade first?

If you want me to do a downgrade first, what version to do want me to downgrade to? It's not a silly question as technically I am downgraded since I'm not on that version.

BTW, since my current version is just 10 days old but my issue is months old, I'm not holding my breath that this will resolve the issue but happy to try.

Just let me know what version you want me to downgrade to from the mirror before upgrading to 8.4.11 or whether you just want me to install that version over what I currently have.

Thanks

Offline RichieB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #22 on: June 02, 2018, 08:01:27 pm »
dude im just here to try to help u solve ur problem rmine works fine if ur frustrated i understand... but let me not get any more involved .. good luck

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #23 on: June 02, 2018, 09:23:35 pm »
dude im just here to try to help u solve ur problem rmine works fine if ur frustrated i understand... but let me not get any more involved .. good luck

Sorry if you took it as frustration, but it's honestly not.  I was just seeking clarification as the naming conventions are confusing.

Re-read what I wrote.  I'm just saying what I'm seeing and then asking for confirmation as to whether you want me to go ahead.

eg I wrote:  If you want me to do a downgrade first, what version to do want me to downgrade to? It's not a silly question as technically I am downgraded since I'm not on that version.

I then was just simply saying that since my problem existed prior to the date of the current version of Google that I have, then I'm thinking it might not be related but then said but happy to try.

So I then asked for clarification by asking:

Just let me know what version you want me to downgrade to from the mirror before upgrading to 8.4.11 or whether you just want me to install that version over what I currently have.

It's like asking someone to step back.  Do you want them to step back one step or two or three.

Honestly, re-read my reply.  You talked about something called "Google App" and that's how it's called on that mirror site ie "the Google App App", but I can't see that actual name installed on my phone or available in Google Play, only something called "Google", so I was confused and was just asking clarification on whether this was the same app and if so, did you want me to downgrade or simply install the newer version that's on the mirror site but not on Google Play, and if you did want me to downgrade, then to what version.

Absolutely no frustration, just asking questions mate.  I appreciate the effort, but I'm just checking before I do anything.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2018, 09:27:51 pm by MadMax1412 »

Offline RichieB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #24 on: June 03, 2018, 02:50:12 am »
This was pulled from another forum
Quote
I have a Galaxy S5 and when trying to link Google Assistant to my Abode Security System and Ecobee Thermostat I got the same error "Couldn't update the setting. Check your connection". My browser defaulted to Chrome so I removed the Chrome "Set as Default" which allowed me to select the Firefox browser. After that, both the Abode and Ecobee was able to link to Google Assistant and assign the rooms. Hope this helps you like it did for me.

Try changing the default browser to something else on your device and see if that works

as of now, I think its a google linking issue and not directly linked to the concierge server, multiple parties have been having that problem with other automation services
« Last Edit: June 03, 2018, 02:56:47 am by RichieB »

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #25 on: June 03, 2018, 03:22:33 am »

Try changing the default browser to something else on your device and see if that works


Installed Firefox, set it as default, confirmed it was default by having a web address sms'ed to me and it opened in Firefox.

Went to Home App ->Home Control -> Vera Concierge Smart Home.

This time it prompted me for my email address (gmail) and password, then went to the Vera Concierge page and asked me to select account, came back to Google Home and once again did the "Linking your Vera Concierge Smart Home Account" but after a few seconds, an error message reading "Couldn't Update the setting. Check your connection." appearing on the bottom.

as of now, I think its a google linking issue and not directly linked to the concierge server, multiple parties have been having that problem with other automation services

That's why it's puzzling that I can use the Vera Concierge App and I can ask it to turn on or off the Z-Wave switch which happens after a bit of a delay, so why can't I connect via the Google Home App?  The "Select Account" looks like the same screen - See - screenshot of me doing both.

Offline RichieB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #26 on: June 03, 2018, 07:51:59 am »
try clearing the app data on the google app  ... in the forum i have seen where ppl have tried it up to 5 times before it starts working

 i literally unlinked my accont and relinked it
https://veraconcierge.appspot.com/web/Account  unlink and relink again to see if it will allow u to get it synced

Associated Vera Controllers

 unlink all controlers - then open an incognito tab and relink the vera to ur email address

clear all data from the google app - sign in again then try to link once more
« Last Edit: June 03, 2018, 08:01:00 am by RichieB »

Offline MadMax1412

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #27 on: June 04, 2018, 09:35:15 pm »
try clearing the app data on the google app 

Cleared Cache - Done.

i literally unlinked my accont and relinked it
https://veraconcierge.appspot.com/web/Account  unlink and relink again to see if it will allow u to get it synced

Associated Vera Controllers

 unlink all controlers - then open an incognito tab and relink the vera to ur email address

clear all data from the google app - sign in again then try to link once more

Ok, so I go to https://veraconcierge.appspot.com/web/Account and under Associated Vera Controllers it shows my Vera Name.

I click on the link under it called Unlink Vera Controllers from this User Account

When I open an Incognito Tab, I assume I have to go back to where my Raspberry Pi address is - ie https://192.168.178.74:8989/.

When I do this it already shows my Vera device and the Google Home/Cast Devices, so I gather it linked automatically???

I then went to my phone and cleared the cache on Google again, even though I had already done that earlier and hadn't done anything on the phone since.

I go to the Google Home app and "Add Devices" and it flashed a message saying "Successfully connected" or something (it disappeared quick).

In the Google Home app under Home Control --> Devices (where it went back to after trying to connect to Vera Concierge Smart Home), it still only shows my Google Homes and Google Minis and Chromecasts.

Is it supposed to show the device that my Vera Plus Hub has? ie my Z-wave smart switch which I call Popcorn?  Or is it supposed to show my Vera Unit (ie called Avonlea)?

What do I do to verbally ask Google to talk to Vera to ask it to turn on "popcorn" (my smart switch).

If I ask Google Home "Hey Google, let me talk to Vera Concierge" it says "Sorry I can't help with that yet".
If I ask Google Home "Hey Google, ask Vera to turn on Popcorn" it says "Sorry I can't help with that yet".

Other than now getting the "Success" message when I try to add Vera Concierge Smart Home, nothing seems to have changed.

I have noticed that although the incognito page https://192.168.178.74:8989/ shows my Vera Unit and the Google Home/Cast devices.
If I go to https://veraconcierge.appspot.com/web/Account in my "normal" browser (the tab was still open from when I unlinked) and refresh it, nothing changes.  Under Associated Vera Controllers, there's nothing in the table other than the headings.
If I go to https://veraconcierge.appspot.com/web/Account in the incognito tab I had to link, and it asked for my gmail account and password which I gave, but it also shows nothing under "Associated Vera Controllers".

On both the incognito tab and the normal tab I've clicked the button "Force Discovery of new/changed devices and scenes" and after a few minutes there's still no change.

Is this my problem - that i'm not linked?  How do I link up again?

Offline RichieB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #28 on: June 05, 2018, 09:37:16 am »
ask RIchard to clear all associations on his end  - send him a PM and see if it will allow you to relink - try creating another gmail account just to test -

Offline RichieB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Need Help But Not Sure Where Issue Is
« Reply #29 on: June 05, 2018, 09:46:03 am »
is the popcorn device in the Device list in VC as a switch ?


 try creating a bunch of virtual switches and see if u can see then because if it says connected on the app it should pull up the devices
« Last Edit: June 05, 2018, 09:48:11 am by RichieB »