We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Can you control somft blinds (rfxcom) via Vera ?  (Read 1449 times)

Offline mzpost

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
  • Karma: +2/-1
Can you control somft blinds (rfxcom) via Vera ?
« on: October 28, 2018, 01:49:36 pm »
Thanks to the very helpful notes in the forum setting up our somfy blinds with vera was very easy (i did it before quite a long time ago, however this time we're on a different UI and things had moved on so thank you to everyone who's posted useful notes about that process).

The blinds however do not show up in the list for Alexa (they don't show with a red exclamation mark so I'm assuming its not an issue with them being "security" devices.

So I wanted to ask if having Alexa control of the Somfy blinds is something other people have or if this is just not a feature yet.  What I thought odd was it does not show in the list on Alexa at all (even after doing the usual unlink, relink thing).

Offline zedrally

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1224
  • Karma: +15/-5
  • Black Cat Control Systems
Re: Can you control somft blinds (rfxcom) via Vera ?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2018, 06:31:51 pm »
The only way you can achieve this is create a scene that controls the blind.
Then you can ask alexa to "turn on blind up"; rediculious really, but that is the limitation of voice control.
Living in the Land of Oz, give me a vegemite sandwich. Home Seer, Vera Lite & Edge, Popp, Black Cat Smart Hub & Vera G, Black Cat Lite 1 & 2's a Black Cat Dimmer or 2, Fantem Tec and then some  Black Cat Cat's Eye PIR's & Door-Window Sensors, RFXComm, Broadlink RMPro & Mini plus a Z-UNO or 2.

Offline Nameless

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Can you control somft blinds (rfxcom) via Vera ?
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2018, 01:44:19 pm »
Another option is to add the scene created to an Alexa Routine. You can trigger that with whatever text you like, as long as it doesn't conflict with any other device statements.

Not the perfect solution because scene workarounds are still required.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk