We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: LED Christmas tree lights  (Read 3556 times)

Offline B0SST0N

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 670
  • Karma: +0/-0
LED Christmas tree lights
« on: November 29, 2011, 08:03:40 pm »
Ok so we got some new LED Christmas tree lights and of course I had to add them to my zwave network... I knew a normal light module would probably have issues with the lights so I sprung for a Leviton 15A plug in appliance module (RZP15). I included it into Vera and everything seemed great with the lights on. However, when I shut the module off... The lights blink for a split second every 5 seconds or so. Why would this be? Is the module still supplying some power to the outlet? Is there some residual power left in the module? Can I do anything to fix it or is there another plug in module anyone can recommend that will work?

 ???
« Last Edit: November 29, 2011, 08:10:17 pm by B0SST0N »

Offline pgrover516

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: LED Christmas tree lights
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2011, 08:43:30 pm »
I have the same isssue with all my leviton appliance modules, it allows enough power to bleed through when turned off to (for example) light the "power on" led on a portable heater. Ironically my cheaper intermatic appliance modules work fine and dont exhibit this.
V1,V2,V3,VLite,Express Controls HSM-100,Intermatic HA20C, HA04C,HA02C,HA09, Leviton VRP15-1LW, VRS15-1LX,Home Manageables HM-TS001,Schlage FE599, Schlage BE369, Cooper RF9500, Aeon Labs Minimote, Schlage TZEMT400AB32MAA+more

Offline michaelk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 633
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: LED Christmas tree lights
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2011, 08:49:45 pm »
they load sensing? Maybe the load sensor tries to send some current every few seconds to see if the circuit is open or closed?

I know the intermatics dont load sense.

Offline nickrwym

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: LED Christmas tree lights
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2011, 09:21:54 am »
Try a small load in parallel, say a 60W bulb (or less) the LED lights take so little power that there may be some bleed across the switch, a ballast load (maybe even a low energy bulb) will help take the volts down.

Nick

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: LED Christmas tree lights
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2011, 01:13:17 am »
@B0SST0N,
I have a bunch of the Monster ML-LAS1000, which I believe are an OEM of the Leviton Appliance Module you're using.  I just tested mine using a Lamp with one of the Utilitech LED Light bulb (7.5W) and it's switching fine with no residuals. 

I can definitely hear the positive "click" of the internal relay inside.

How new is your wiring and/or is there a possibility the Socket is wired incorrectly in any manner?


PS: Was looking for a picture of what I have, and looks like Amazon has them for $20ea, seems like a bargain (no affiliation, etc)
    http://www.amazon.com/Monster-ML-LAS1000-Appliance-Switch/dp/B000FOWI4M

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: LED Christmas tree lights
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2011, 02:15:20 am »
Guessed,

Thanks for the link. I may have to pick a couple of these up.

- Garrett

Offline robinnes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: LED Christmas tree lights
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2011, 09:53:30 am »
Interesting, I use a 15 year old X-10 lamp module with my LED XMas tree and see a similar effect, except in my case the LED's don't flash on every 5 seconds- they just stay lit at say 10% illumination permanently.  My tree came with one of those foot operated switches that's in a very convenient spot- so I now use that to turn the tree LEDs on and off.

Offline DaveL17

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
  • Karma: +0/-2
LED Christmas tree lights
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2011, 05:38:17 pm »
You might also try these:  http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004REW1BG/ref=redir_mdp_mobile/190-7830838-7095357?tag=vglnk-c122-20

Not 100 percent sure it will work though.

Offline zmistro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 966
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: LED Christmas tree lights
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2011, 10:01:31 pm »
Are you sure you are using a true relay type module.
some are known to have leakage! Look at the specs. If it requires a min load then you will have issue.

Offline Trizzly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: LED Christmas tree lights
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2011, 11:19:12 pm »
Guessed,

Thanks for the link. I may have to pick a couple of these up.

- Garrett

I just bought one of these and one of the dimmers (ML LD300) and automatically got a discount of 5% for buying 2 pieces.  Not a huge discount, but its better then nothing.

Offline kgrr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • My obsession: Totally automating my townhouse
Re: LED Christmas tree lights
« Reply #10 on: December 10, 2011, 02:02:14 pm »
Try a small load in parallel, say a 60W bulb (or less) the LED lights take so little power that there may be some bleed across the switch, a ballast load (maybe even a low energy bulb) will help take the volts down.

Nick

I'm using a small 6 watt incandescent night light to provide that minimal load.
---------------------
Vera2 (1.1.1245, UI4); ACT ZRW113W; GE/Jasco 45600, 45602, 45604, 45605 x3, 45606 x4, 45609 x11, 45614; Hawking HRDS1 x3; Intermatic CA9000 x2; Schlage BE369GR, WCE100; Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA
---------------------
Vera2 (1.5.255, UI5); ACT ZRW113W; Aeon HEM, SmartSwitch, GE/Jasco 45600, 45601, 45602, 45603, 45604, 45605, 45606, 45609, 45614; Hawking HRDS1; Intermatic CA9000; Schlage BE369GR, WCE100; SQ Blaster Plus; Squeezebox; Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA