We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Home Buddy running on Logitech Revue  (Read 3859 times)

Offline kgrr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • My obsession: Totally automating my townhouse
Home Buddy running on Logitech Revue
« on: December 13, 2011, 01:31:27 am »
 ;D  I downloaded Home Buddy from the Slide Me Market onto my Logitech Revue (after upgrading to Android 3.1).  It works great.  I can  check on my weekend house while watching TV at my other house.
---------------------
Vera2 (1.1.1350, UI4); ACT ZRW113W; GE/Jasco 45600, 45602, 45604, 45605 x3, 45606 x4, 45609 x11, 45614; Hawking HRDS1 x3; Intermatic CA9000 x2; Schlage BE369GR, WCE100; Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA
« Last Edit: December 13, 2011, 01:40:31 am by kgrr »
---------------------
Vera2 (1.5.255, UI5); ACT ZRW113W; Aeon HEM, SmartSwitch, GE/Jasco 45600, 45601, 45602, 45603, 45604, 45605, 45606, 45609, 45614; Hawking HRDS1; Intermatic CA9000; Schlage BE369GR, WCE100; SQ Blaster Plus; Squeezebox; Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA

Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Home Buddy running on Logitech Revue
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2011, 11:23:19 am »
Awesome!  I just got the update for my Revue on Saturday but didn't even think of installing it from SlideME (I have yet to update the app to make it show for Google TV).   Good to know it works and looks decent though, thanks for sharing!

Offline kgrr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • My obsession: Totally automating my townhouse
Re: Home Buddy running on Logitech Revue
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2011, 03:32:04 pm »
Rakstar,
Yes, your Android code seems to handle the extremely large tablet just fine :)   I can now give my daughter the GE/Jasco 45600 remote so she can control her room and I can adjust stuff using Home Buddy on my Revue connected to my TV.

If you do decide to build a Google-TV variant, may I throw-in a few far-fetched feature requests?
1) It would be nice to figure out how to present events on the screen while watching TV.  So for example when a sensor detects something (Motion, Window/Door open/close, doorbell, dishwasher/washer/dryer cycle done, water under water heater, under sink or in basement detected, etc.) a message could scroll across the bottom of the TV program.
2) Make Picture-in-picture work so that a TV program in progress might be minimally interrupted by taking a look at Home Buddy.  For example while checking the IP cameras after the doorbell rings so you can summon the kids or answer the door yourself.
3) Figure out a way how to play an audio stream while hanging out on the Home Buddy app, page.  For example, the screen would display the Home Buddy menu and stream sound from another app or streaming device.  It would be more interesting than tuning to a cable FM station.

---------------------
Vera2 (1.1.1350, UI4); ACT ZRW113W; GE/Jasco 45600, 45602, 45604, 45605 x3, 45606 x4, 45609 x11, 45614; Hawking HRDS1 x3; Intermatic CA9000 x2; Schlage BE369GR, WCE100; Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA
---------------------
Vera2 (1.5.255, UI5); ACT ZRW113W; Aeon HEM, SmartSwitch, GE/Jasco 45600, 45601, 45602, 45603, 45604, 45605, 45606, 45609, 45614; Hawking HRDS1; Intermatic CA9000; Schlage BE369GR, WCE100; SQ Blaster Plus; Squeezebox; Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA

Offline kgrr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • My obsession: Totally automating my townhouse
Re: Home Buddy running on Logitech Revue
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2011, 02:51:31 pm »
... continued  ;D

After you do your own tests of Home Buddy, will you be adding it onto the Android Market?


---------------------
Vera2 (1.1.1350, UI4); ACT ZRW113W; GE/Jasco 45600, 45602, 45604, 45605 x3, 45606 x4, 45609 x11, 45614; Hawking HRDS1 x3; Intermatic CA9000 x2; Schlage BE369GR, WCE100; Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA
---------------------
Vera2 (1.5.255, UI5); ACT ZRW113W; Aeon HEM, SmartSwitch, GE/Jasco 45600, 45601, 45602, 45603, 45604, 45605, 45606, 45609, 45614; Hawking HRDS1; Intermatic CA9000; Schlage BE369GR, WCE100; SQ Blaster Plus; Squeezebox; Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA

Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Home Buddy running on Logitech Revue
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2011, 04:04:53 pm »
Yes, I'll definitely add it to the Google TV Market.

I have yet to see what limitations the Google TV environment has on apps so I don't know if all your suggestions are possible, but I will look into it.  Thanks for the input.

Offline kgrr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • My obsession: Totally automating my townhouse
Re: Home Buddy running on Logitech Revue
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2011, 08:31:37 pm »
Certainly putting it on Android Market for Google TV 3.1 as it is now may require someone with a Sony Google TV or Sony Google TV blueray player to test it for you.  It's very likely to work also.
 
I took a class on Android development of apps.  But the course did not discuss what other APIs are available on the Google TVs.  It may be fun to discover what all you can do on a TV.
---------------------
Vera2 (1.5.255, UI5); ACT ZRW113W; Aeon HEM, SmartSwitch, GE/Jasco 45600, 45601, 45602, 45603, 45604, 45605, 45606, 45609, 45614; Hawking HRDS1; Intermatic CA9000; Schlage BE369GR, WCE100; SQ Blaster Plus; Squeezebox; Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA

Offline kgrr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • My obsession: Totally automating my townhouse
Re: Home Buddy running on Logitech Revue
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2011, 09:24:17 pm »
rakstar,
Check this out: https://developers.google.com/tv/

kgrr
---------------------
Vera2 (1.5.255, UI5); ACT ZRW113W; Aeon HEM, SmartSwitch, GE/Jasco 45600, 45601, 45602, 45603, 45604, 45605, 45606, 45609, 45614; Hawking HRDS1; Intermatic CA9000; Schlage BE369GR, WCE100; SQ Blaster Plus; Squeezebox; Trane TZEMT400AB32MAA

Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Home Buddy running on Logitech Revue
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2011, 02:54:29 pm »
@kgrr Thanks for the input.  I actually have a Revue myself, I just haven't had time to focus on Google TV specific development yet.  What I have been working on though is a complete rewrite of the app... so far so good, but still needs a lot of work.  I will post an update sometime soon when I have more significant functionality (re)implemented.

Offline markiper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Home Buddy running on Logitech Revue
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2012, 10:13:23 pm »
Loaded Home Buddy on my Sony Google Bluray and it works liked a charm.

Offline Chimpware

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 426
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Home Buddy running on Logitech Revue
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2012, 07:03:34 am »
Loaded Home Buddy on my Revue and it works great.