Author Topic: Monitoring switch status  (Read 348 times)

Offline Paulb4333

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +1/-0
Monitoring switch status
« on: June 08, 2018, 01:38:15 pm »
There have been some posts about temperature monitoring for a freezer, but I've not had much success. Many of the posts are old, so I was wondering if there were new solutions. (Woke up to find $400+ of meat thawed out in garage freezer)
-Need a monitor, preferably linked to Vera (ZWave, Zigbee or Insteon) for when temp goes above 5 degrees F
-Freezer is metal, about 75' from Vera; have several repeaters nearby and work well
-Have a Monoprice smart monitor, which can tell me when the "state" changes e.g. on or off, but only when a signal is sent
     -Will also tell me when energy use falls below x
-The problem is that if the power is out, the switch can't transmit it's status... Is there any Luup code which would check a device and report if it's not reporting back? Don't want to wait a day to see if it's not working.

Any suggestions for Temp monitoring or "state" monitoring would be most welcomed.
Thanks!

Offline hsmaier

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Monitoring switch status
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2018, 06:15:59 pm »
You might try this Ranco Digital Cold temperature control available on Amazon

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0015NV5BE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I have two of these that control both my attic fans. You can wire the AC temp control to an Z wave or Insteon AC outlet that can notify you when the outlet becomes live at a temperature that you set. I use Insteon outlets that work well with Vera
My attic fan outlets become live when the attic fans turn on and go off when the fans go off at 90*
You would  set the temp for your freezer to turn on the outlets when the freezer temperature rises above zero or whatever temp you set

Howard
« Last Edit: June 09, 2018, 06:39:43 pm by hsmaier »
Vera 2 U14, Vera 2 U15, Two Trane TZEMT400AB32 Thermostats. Insteon Light Switches, Insteon Outlets, Power Linc Modem.

Online HSD99

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Monitoring switch status
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2018, 07:51:45 pm »
For this to work, your Vera will need to be on a UPS in case the whole house loses power. If the freezer is plugged into a Z-wave outlet, set up a scene to turn the outlet on once a minute. This won't hurt anything since the outlet is already on. If the branch circuit loses power, the communication will fail. Under "Users & Account Settings" ---> "Notifications" select "Device Error Alert (a device in your Vera is not working properly)" You'll get an alert that the device didn't respond.

Offline Paulb4333

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Monitoring switch status
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2018, 12:52:13 pm »
The Ranco looks interesting as well. When you say you have wired it to the Insteon wall switch...can you elaborate a bit.
I'm not the best on wiring things...but can handle a soldering iron OK.
So the freezer on/off could be controlled by the Ranco, or it just sends an "on" request to the Zwave or Insteon, and that is monitored?
Thanks in advance for your help.