Author Topic: Detect power loss  (Read 260 times)

Offline Paulb4333

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
Detect power loss
« on: June 09, 2018, 04:19:22 pm »
Have searched other solutions and have not yet found answer.
I have a few Monoprice Smart Plugs which I think are great and a good price.
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=27481

Since they monitor power usage, standard scene logic allows for example, "not to exceed X Watts", "notify if less than X watts" etc.
So they read and report power.
I'd like to know when power goes out to an appliance (freezer) but of course if power is out, it can't transmit.
What I'd like is to have some kind of code that will poll the device (LUUP?) and report if it does not get a response. Vera obviously checks for "current status" and shows devices not functioning on the dashboard. Would like a way to get notified right away like other alerts.
It feels like there should be a solution out there, but I can't figure it out.
Any ideas?
Thanks

Offline tomtcom

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 948
  • Karma: +21/-31
Re: Detect power loss
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2018, 11:56:31 pm »
In your scene click the advanced editor button. In there you can action on pollststus and all kinds of other things. See if that helps.
Have searched other solutions and have not yet found answer.
I have a few Monoprice Smart Plugs which I think are great and a good price.
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=27481

Since they monitor power usage, standard scene logic allows for example, "not to exceed X Watts", "notify if less than X watts" etc.
So they read and report power.
I'd like to know when power goes out to an appliance (freezer) but of course if power is out, it can't transmit.
What I'd like is to have some kind of code that will poll the device (LUUP?) and report if it does not get a response. Vera obviously checks for "current status" and shows devices not functioning on the dashboard. Would like a way to get notified right away like other alerts.
It feels like there should be a solution out there, but I can't figure it out.
Any ideas?
Thanks

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk


Offline Paulb4333

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Detect power loss
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2018, 11:41:58 am »
Never noticed that before. It looks like it has a lot of function, but I don't see exactly what to do.

I was able to get this far, but am lost on how to set up logic e.g. if poll is negative, then notify....

584 MonoPrice SmartPlug   
Service: urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1
GetStatus
#584 MonoPrice SmartPlug   
Service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HaDevice1
Poll


Any suggestions most welcomed~!

Offline tomtcom

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 948
  • Karma: +21/-31
Re: Detect power loss
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2018, 12:23:39 pm »
My suggestion may not help but this forum has many scenarios and examples to play with and see if you can put some creative ideas together.

For example, code ideas are here in this post > http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=26229.0

Then perhaps you use the virtual switch plugin and combine the luup code with it for your scene.

Quote from: Paulb4333 link=topic=86959.msg391216#msg391216 date=1
528645318
Never noticed that before. It looks like it has a lot of function, but I don't see exactly what to do.

I was able to get this far, but am lost on how to set up logic e.g. if poll is negative, then notify....

584 MonoPrice SmartPlug   
Service: urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1
GetStatus
#584 MonoPrice SmartPlug   
Service: urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HaDevice1
Poll


Any suggestions most welcomed~!

Offline HSD99

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Detect power loss
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2018, 12:28:02 pm »

Offline Paulb4333

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Detect power loss
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2018, 12:34:23 pm »
Thank you! I forgot to put this on "notify" so I did not see it.
I think this will work for me.
Will give it a shot