Author Topic: Zooz 4-in-1 Not working  (Read 202 times)

Online jeubanks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 209
  • Karma: +6/-1
Zooz 4-in-1 Not working
« on: June 09, 2018, 05:19:08 pm »
Has anyone else added a Zooz 4-in-1 since the last firmware update?  This same sensor worked before and I had it in another system running it there.

I pulled it from the other system, reset the sensor then added it to my test Vera Plus with latest firmware.  The Zooz pairs but only 3 of the 4 sensors are created.  No motion sensor is created.  I have removed, added, reset... still no motion sensor is created. 

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Karma: +52/-21
Re: Zooz 4-in-1 Not working
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2018, 05:47:31 pm »
Does it fail at exchanging secure class keys?
openLuup (96 devices, 128 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (133 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 200 devices, 25 scenes , 1 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa

Online jeubanks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 209
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: Zooz 4-in-1 Not working
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2018, 06:37:00 pm »
Does it fail at exchanging secure class keys?

It never gives any messages at all.  Just pairs and waits for a name as normal.  I'm betting it is the secure pairing that's failing though.

Can you force/set unsecure pairing with a Vera Plus?

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Karma: +52/-21
Re: Zooz 4-in-1 Not working
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2018, 08:57:59 pm »
As far as I know, no you can't. I struggled for the longest time with this as well. I posted on another thread that I managed to pair it properly at the 30 something tries. Mine too was working perfectly until it dropped off 6 months later out of the blue and had to re-add it to my network. At the end, when going through the pairing without the secure keys, everything works except... the signal classes which require the secure class. I spent about 2h without a CC without success and finally got it t pair by... going as far as I could away from the vera. The device sends its secure class keys immediately after the pairing signal and the vera which, by now I suppose has a network and some plugins to deal with, can't be ready soon enough to accept the key so going far away from it adds some latency and some extra hops to the signal and gives it a chance to be received by the vera.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2018, 09:08:42 pm by rafale77 »
openLuup (96 devices, 128 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (133 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 200 devices, 25 scenes , 1 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa

Online jeubanks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 209
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: Zooz 4-in-1 Not working
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2018, 09:04:35 pm »
As far as I know, no you can't. I struggled for the longest time with this as well. I posted on another thread that I managed to pair it properly at the 30 something try. Mine too was working perfectly until it dropped of 6 months later out of the blue and had to re-add it to my network. At the end, when going through the pairing without the secure keys, everything works except... the signal classes which require the secure class. I spent about 2h without a CC without success and finally got it t pair by... going as far as I could away from the vera. The device sends its secure class keys immediately after the pairing signal and the vera which, by now I suppose has a network and some plugins to deal with, can't be ready soon enough to accept the key so going far away from it adds some latency and some extra hops to the signal and gives it a chance to be received by the vera.

Lots of devices to deal with?  This Vera Plus box has 1 Z-wave switch associated and 1 Zigbee plug-in module.  THAT'S IT!!  :)  Too many devices for it to deal with a key exchange I guess.

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Karma: +52/-21
Re: Zooz 4-in-1 Not working
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2018, 09:10:14 pm »
Well who knows what is running on the vera's newer firmwares... I went as far as buying a second one to test and yup... Exact same behavior. They would both pair fine to the Vera edge with 0 device and would both fail the security key exchange on the Vera plus.
openLuup (96 devices, 128 scenes, 20 apps) controlling HomeAss + VeraPlus (133 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 200 devices, 25 scenes , 1 app) Bridged to Homekit and Alexa

Online jeubanks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 209
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: Zooz 4-in-1 Not working
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2018, 09:55:22 pm »
Well who knows what is running on the vera's newer firmwares... I went as far as buying a second one to test and yup... Exact same behavior. They would both pair fine to the Vera edge with 0 device and would both fail the security key exchange on the Vera plus.

Yeah I have two Vera Plus units as well and my sensor won't pair correctly to either one of them now with the new firmware.  The new firmware also broke other plugins (Lutron RadioRA2) if you do a new install of the plugin.  I worked with CC and no luck so I finally backed down firmware until I found the last one before all of their new "security" updates and plugins worked again.  I didn't think to try the sensor at that time as I was testing the Lutron plugin.  Oh well.