Author Topic: Vera 6 years later..... Home Assistant!  (Read 4879 times)

Offline undertoe

Vera 6 years later..... Home Assistant!
« on: June 22, 2018, 12:00:26 am »
I just wanted to share with all you who are looking at vera or have been using vera for a long time. So let me start of by saying vera was a great system when it came out. It offered a lot in the ways of locally controlled devices and offered customization even though it was a bit complex.

Over the years i feel vera has become clunky and out dated from the backend all the way to the ui. I am a coder by profession so I would always want to write stuff for vera and have written 3 published plugins for it. But again the code and the backend were just average.

So for about the past 2 years i been on the hunt for the perfect home automation solution that would cover everything i threw at it. So openhab right, seems like it was exactly my flavor. Well long story short i did not like it.

Ok next option pony up and drop some coin on homeseer, because it "looks" great? Why the I will not swear not. So I buy a homeseer system and hated it. Surprisingly for all the reason I grew to hate my Vera. Let me just make this personal assessment about homeseer from a coder. It's hands down a bloated pieces of poop. Its slow, overly complex and UI is horrible.

Then about a month ago i somehow found out about Home Assistant, which i am not sure how i missed this out. Runs on a raspberry pi, docker, etc. Has premade images so with 3 clicks you have a sd card you throw in your pi and your off and running.

After an hour of reading and browsing their components page i realized i had found true home automation love. They had support for everything i can think of and had in my home or had wanted to buy for my home. Just to name a few: Hue, Lutron, Neato, Honeywell Alarm Panel, Zwave. They even had support for I will not swear I have not even thought about!