Author Topic: New System for Vacation Home  (Read 4817 times)

Offline gmoore

New System for Vacation Home
« on: January 12, 2012, 02:18:37 am »
Newbie here and I am looking at options for home automation for my vacation home, this is a vacation rental that I used periodically through the year and is 1200 miles away.  I would like to be able to program codes into my door lock, control the thermostat and possibly the alarm panel, some lights and an external camera.  Since I do not have anything currently I will need to purchase everything and would like to save time in obtaining compatible devices with good track records.

For front door locks it appears that Schlage and Yale are good choices and the thermostats being Trane and Honeywell (if there are other recommendations, please provide).

My current alarm panel is a 1998ish Ademco wired in panel.  Does anyone know if a module can be added or do I need to change it out to an Ademco Vista in order for the Nutech AD2USB to connect?  Are there other options such as changing out the keypad to a model that would communicate with Vera as well as the older wired Ademco panel?  I would like to be able to remotely enter alarm codes for cleaners, maintenance personnel and guests, I imagine I would still want my alarm company to monitor the alarm panel due to occasional power outages, etc.   I would also be interested in an experienced installer performing this for me (Phoenix area) since I have no experience and all the alarm companies I have contacted want to charge me a monthly fee for remote access as well as sign me up for a lengthy contract.

For the external camera, any recommendations for one that would have good night vision and works well with the Vera?  Ideally I would prefer not to go the dvr route and I would like the camera/vera to email me when the camera sensors are tripped.

Any and all recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Greg

Offline Les F

Re: New System for Vacation Home