Author Topic: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5  (Read 5313 times)

Offline sghionea

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Hello! This app looks perfect for my needs!

However I am having trouble getting started. I have a Vera3 with UI5 1.5.254 firmware.

I followed the instructions at this link http://www.fawepark.com/android-software/veralertfiles/instructions in order to create the Vera Alert device.

My issue is... how do I actually assign in a scene that an alert should be sent through this Vera Alert device??


Offline ragmondo

  • Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 06:09:30 am »
Ok . I will try and upgrade my vera to see what the issue was. I think someone else has recommended using a different http call - so I will try that.

Offline ragmondo

  • Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2012, 06:13:26 am »
Can you try the U15 files uploaded to http://www.fawepark.com/android-software/veralertfiles ?

Offline sghionea

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2012, 11:15:29 am »
Hello, thank you! I got it to work. I think I was actually having trouble getting the xml files in the right locations earlier. They are supposed to be in /etc/cmh-ludl and they ended up being in a tmp subdirectory when I tried to upload using the web interface.

Thank you,
Simon

Offline lolodomo

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2012, 05:37:14 am »
Can you try the U15 files uploaded to http://www.fawepark.com/android-software/veralertfiles ?

Is it expected that the ZIP file for UI5 does not contain the JSON file but contain a PNG file ?
Do we need the JSON file present in the "normal" ZIP file ?

Offline lolodomo

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2012, 04:10:55 pm »
Can you try the U15 files uploaded to http://www.fawepark.com/android-software/veralertfiles ?

Is it expected that the ZIP file for UI5 does not contain the JSON file but contain a PNG file ?
Do we need the JSON file present in the "normal" ZIP file ?

Can someone please confirm that UI5 users have to use the ZIP file without the JSON file ?

Offline Quinten

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 273
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2012, 05:41:17 pm »
I've just installed the 3 .xml files out of the zip file for UI5 and it works fine.  No .json file required it seems
VeraLite - UI7 1.7.947 | 8x Fibaro FGD211 | 2x Fibaro FGS221 | 1x Fibaro FGBS321 | 3x Fibaro FGRGBW | 1x Everspring SP814 | 2x Everspring AN157-3 | 2x Heatmiser PRT-TS WiFi | 1x Logitech Harmony Hub | 1x Philips LivingColour

Offline lolodomo

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 3484
  • Karma: +74/-10
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2012, 02:39:01 pm »
I've just installed the 3 .xml files out of the zip file for UI5 and it works fine.  No .json file required it seems

Ok, thank you, I will try.

Offline fba

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • If it ain't broke, I ain't touched it yet.
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2012, 06:59:27 pm »
Trying to get this going myself.  I went through the instructions on http://www.fawepark.com/android-software/veralertfiles/instructions and uploaded the U15 files.   When I saved and reloaded the Vera Alert "tile" shows up.   

If I understand correctly, the way this works is it is a virtual device that you set up under "Advanced" in a scene.   When I attempt to do that, I get an "Invalid JSON" file.   

I am running UI5 1.5.322 and have never had Vera Alert working previously.  (This is my first try.)

Any suggestions on what to try next?
Vera 3, Altsteon, (Insteon: Relay (Smarthome & Icon), Dimmer (Smarthome), Keypadlinc, 2420M, Triggerlinc, IOLinc, Garage Hawk, Venstar Thermostat, Fanlinc, MI lock, Appliancelinc, Synchrolinc, iMeter), CurrentCost, (Z-Wave: Schlage lock, GE Appliance switch), AutHomation

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2012, 07:10:39 pm »
Trying to get this going myself.  I went through the instructions on http://www.fawepark.com/android-software/veralertfiles/instructions and uploaded the U15 files.   When I saved and reloaded the Vera Alert "tile" shows up.   

If I understand correctly, the way this works is it is a virtual device that you set up under "Advanced" in a scene.   When I attempt to do that, I get an "Invalid JSON" file.   

I am running UI5 1.5.322 and have never had Vera Alert working previously.  (This is my first try.)

Any suggestions on what to try next?
try uploading the file with ssh client instead of the ui upload as it seems to cripple some files
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline fba

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • If it ain't broke, I ain't touched it yet.
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2012, 10:38:52 pm »
Wow!  I can't believe that worked!

Thanks!!!!
Vera 3, Altsteon, (Insteon: Relay (Smarthome & Icon), Dimmer (Smarthome), Keypadlinc, 2420M, Triggerlinc, IOLinc, Garage Hawk, Venstar Thermostat, Fanlinc, MI lock, Appliancelinc, Synchrolinc, iMeter), CurrentCost, (Z-Wave: Schlage lock, GE Appliance switch), AutHomation

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2012, 10:04:30 am »
(on a goat sent to him and his friends by some kids in Afghanistan....):
 It's an Afghanistan goat, so it can't stay here,
or else it'll choke on the sweet air of freedom.
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline fba

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • If it ain't broke, I ain't touched it yet.
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2012, 05:10:42 pm »
Sadly, the one I relate to the most is Tweak.   With maybe a little Kenny thrown in.   I just hope I survive next week when I am in Colorado!  ;D
Vera 3, Altsteon, (Insteon: Relay (Smarthome & Icon), Dimmer (Smarthome), Keypadlinc, 2420M, Triggerlinc, IOLinc, Garage Hawk, Venstar Thermostat, Fanlinc, MI lock, Appliancelinc, Synchrolinc, iMeter), CurrentCost, (Z-Wave: Schlage lock, GE Appliance switch), AutHomation

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Trying out app, looks promising, but trouble installing on VERA3 UI5
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2012, 06:47:03 pm »
You better ! 
i need someone to help out to avoid my own unbearable lightness of being (stoned) lol
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl