Author Topic: OLD Generation 1 - HAL lelujah --- You can now talk to your vera  (Read 33850 times)

Offline abbey

Re: HAL lelujah --- You can now talk to your vera
« Reply #90 on: January 31, 2013, 08:10:33 am »
Hello,

I am pretty new to all this Zwave technology, but I would really like to get Hal working with the few devices that I have. I had been getting a connection problem when I try a voice command. I went into Windows 7 firewall and made an inbound rule to allow certain ports, and I also tried to stop Avast from causing any problem. I don't know if either of these were causing the problem to begin with, but it didn't fix it. I went back to the HAL settings and clicked on the button to "Find HalServer" and I get an error "Could not find a running HalServer!". Also, I am using a router, and I have Vera hooked directly into the router. And, the HalServer software is on the same pc as the HalClient that I am trying to set up, which are all on the same wifi as the Vera.

I have another question, too. Getting this to work for myself is really just the first step in getting my disabled brother set up with voice activated lights, tv, music, etc. He is in a wheelchair and doesn't have use of his hands to press a button or switch to do those tasks. His speech is a bit hard to understand, but he can say words consistently. Can the voice recognition software learn how he pronounces words? I know you can train the software, but to what extent?

Offline Cor

« Reply #91 on: March 23, 2013, 07:16:23 pm »
Hi ,

I installed Hal remote in the last couple of days, but it isn't working, and I am not sure why.

Some issues where with the port forwarding, but when I changed the firewall settings for windows 7 I could see port 6106 to be open when I use "www.canyouseeme.org"   But no luck with port 6107 UDP and 6108 UDP , should this be the same as with port 6106 in TCP, or doesn't this work with "www.canyouseeme.org" ?