We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Chamberlain/Liftmaster MyQ Operation Plugin  (Read 69363 times)

Offline mbonadio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Chamberlain/Liftmaster MyQ Operation Plugin
« Reply #105 on: August 05, 2015, 03:50:51 am »
Hi,

I tried soldering two wires to the switch on the 882LM and even though the wire are not connected to anything, as soon as I cannot the red and black wire to the GDO, the wall unit LED flashes slowly and the button no longer works. I don't understand why this is happening, the wires are not even connected to anything. If I remove the wires the wall unit starts working again. I checked to see if it was locking, but the locking is a different set of flashes. Has anyone seen this before?

Thanks
Michael

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4437
  • Karma: +249/-120
Re: Chamberlain/Liftmaster MyQ Operation Plugin
« Reply #106 on: August 08, 2015, 08:27:52 am »
Is there a possibility that your soldering was sloppy and has shorted two contacts or traces on the circuit board?


Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Chamberlain/Liftmaster MyQ Operation Plugin
« Reply #107 on: August 08, 2015, 10:57:59 am »
Try just using a plain wire between those 2 contacts you soldered the black and red wires to. No need to solder. Just make sure the wire connects to those 2 terminals. If the door opens, you have the correct terminals, if you get the same flashing, you have the wrong terminals. If I recall correctly from installing mine, there are 4 connector pads near where the switch pushes down. You may simply have used the wrong pair.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4437
  • Karma: +249/-120
Re: Chamberlain/Liftmaster MyQ Operation Plugin
« Reply #108 on: August 08, 2015, 12:44:42 pm »
While it's entirely possible that he used the wrong pair, that shouldn't cause it to act as he describes when the wires are not connected to anything.

His description of a malfunctioning button suggests a short.

Offline maja

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Chamberlain/Liftmaster MyQ Operation Plugin
« Reply #109 on: September 21, 2015, 02:09:19 am »
We looked at using the remote, but wanted to avoid the need to replace batteries.  ...

The link below says: "The MyQ systems also has line voltage on the wire going from the GDO to the wall button [882LM] to power various items contained in the wall button."

http://www.007systems.com/blog/how-to-automate-your-chamberlain-or-liftmaster-myq-garage-door-opener-with-home-automation-controller-like-the-vera

If I understand this correctly, there is line voltage (120V in the US) to the button. Is this really true? I know the amperage is low but I am a bit surprised this is the case considering the type of wire and type of connection. If it is not line voltage than what is it that provides power to the 882LM?

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Chamberlain/Liftmaster MyQ Operation Plugin
« Reply #110 on: September 21, 2015, 10:01:40 am »
There's most definitely not 120V going from the GDO to the wall controller as the supplied wire is far to thin a gauge to carry that amount of current. I'd have to put a multi meter on mine but I'm assuming it's like 5V. Enough to prower the LED's and the circuitry on the wall controller.

Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline Jamr

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 847
  • Karma: +30/-8
Re: Chamberlain/Liftmaster MyQ Operation Plugin
« Reply #111 on: September 21, 2015, 01:08:55 pm »
We looked at using the remote, but wanted to avoid the need to replace batteries.  ...

The link below says: "The MyQ systems also has line voltage on the wire going from the GDO to the wall button [882LM] to power various items contained in the wall button."

http://www.007systems.com/blog/how-to-automate-your-chamberlain-or-liftmaster-myq-garage-door-opener-with-home-automation-controller-like-the-vera

If I understand this correctly, there is line voltage (120V in the US) to the button. Is this really true? I know the amperage is low but I am a bit surprised this is the case considering the type of wire and type of connection. If it is not line voltage than what is it that provides power to the 882LM?

Thanks for spotting that. It is a n error and has been fixed. I meant voltage not line voltage. It is definitely NOT 120vac.
As BofH mentioned, it is most likely something small like 5 volts.

As for the problem at hand. It sounds to me like your connection is shorting somewhere.


Offline maja

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Chamberlain/Liftmaster MyQ Operation Plugin
« Reply #112 on: September 21, 2015, 01:34:41 pm »
Thanks for spotting that. It is a n error and has been fixed. I meant voltage not line voltage. It is definitely NOT 120vac.
As BofH mentioned, it is most likely something small like 5 volts.
...

Thanks for the responses. So that wire is carrying a small DC voltage to the 882 while also serving as the communication line. That all makes a lot more sense now.

Offline kendad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +1/-4
Re: Chamberlain/Liftmaster MyQ Operation Plugin
« Reply #113 on: February 09, 2016, 09:31:19 am »
I recently replaced a failed garage door opener with a Chamberlain myQ unit. I was happy to see there was a Vera plugin for myQ. I installed the GDO and then setup the plugin. Everything seemed to go smoothly and I can open and close my new GDO through my VeraLite. My question has to do with the device type. The myQ plugin creates a device type of a Door Lock (category 7, sub 0) while my Linear GD00Z-4 creates a device type of a Garage Door Switch (category 3, sub 5). I was wondering why? I would like to have both Garage Door Openers listed in the same grouping so I don't have to scan up and down the page to find my right and left GDO. Does anyone know if there are any plans to update this plugin? If so, would you please consider making it a Garage Door Switch with the next update? I only suggest the myQ be changed since the Linear is part of the MCV baseline now so, it should be the standard.