We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 (Closed: Official Release in Market)  (Read 52356 times)

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 8
« Reply #210 on: May 13, 2012, 05:00:55 am »
thnx
it was more a suggestion to new options for garretts program but it allways nice to have the functionality allready in the meanwhile
my little brother is very happy with the tasker program but i dont want to buy it. i rather see garretts program evolve into the best all-in-one solutions since i put a lot of time allready in it and i like it a lot :-)
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline garrettwp

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 8
« Reply #211 on: May 13, 2012, 07:20:18 am »
I plan to have the ability to do what homebuddy does and allow you to activate a scene with tasker. This is on my list and will be added in future version of version 2, (2.1 maybe). It would be easier to allow the create of those actions via a scene in vera and have tasker activate the specified scene. I am trying to keep AutHomation more of a control type app and not a replacement for Vera. Glad you still like the app Da_JoJo. I hope others are getting good use out of it as well. I know it is not perfect, but I hope it meets everyones needs.

 I just uploaded a new build beta 9. I will post what has changed (mainly bug fixes).

- Garrett

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #212 on: May 14, 2012, 07:22:57 am »
Just installed 9 beta and now im even more happy :-D
the speechrecognition is not waiting for initialisation anymore and i fiddled a bit with settings on the voice part in my android. it seems to work good with any speechvoice for the output of spoken voice.  speaking to the device works the best if one sets it to english US language and the voice to English(Generic).
at first start of the VR from the dashboard widget it doesnt seem to respond right all the time, but when i turn my screen from landscape to normal it resets the VR and then it works ok. i get confused sometimes whether if i can start speaking the command or not. sometimes i start talking and the VR tells me its ready and sometimes it just tell me it could understand : "im sorry bladiebla"   (kinda annoying to hear it 10 times if command not recognised , make this something like : request failed   or maybe even user-settable (i like to make it : Boss, i failed !)
i understand your view on the gps thing..maybe its the better way but the tasker prog dont even run on my dell streak :(
its not a big deal though . primary goal is usablity.
well maybe it is not perfect yet but you getting close  ;D
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline garrettwp

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #213 on: May 14, 2012, 08:09:27 am »
I just put one of the android phones I have back on Android 2.3 (Gingerbread). It was running Ice Cream Sandwich. Hopefully this week I can have some time to test everything out. Most of the testing has been on my HTC Evo running Ice Cream and also on the Droid X on Ice Cream as well. Since the Droid X is a test phone and my HTC Evo will soon be another test phone (Replacing with HTC One X). I can have a few more devices to test running different versions of android.

I found that some of the manufactures do not follow the standards of Android. For example using the mute api function to mute the mic during the playing of the beep does not work on some handsets e.g. Droid X. It does work on my HTC Evo, Asus Transformer tablet, and Galaxy Nexus. I did some searching and found that other manufactures are hit or miss with this as well. Others are reporting similar issues. It really makes it hard to try and get the voice recognition to work 100% across all devices. That is the reason for putting in the option to disable the beeping sound before listening for speech.

I can add an option to allow the user to input their own phrase to speak when it can not recognize the command. Would take a whole of two seconds to add. I know what you man when it can get annoying. Sometimes I mispronounce the room name or mess up the speaking of the command and I get tired of hearing the voice saying the phrase. I can also add an option to disable the speech.

- Garrett

Offline chris66

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • Karma: +9/-8
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #214 on: May 14, 2012, 08:10:33 am »
Hello Garett, Great app!

What do you need to display a wind sensor, like Oregon WTGR800? I can see it through the RFXCOM interface, but not in your android solution.


Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #215 on: May 14, 2012, 08:52:11 am »
still happening.. mostly after resume from standby of the phone. probably it gets confused as i have my wifi settings to automaticly connect to mobile internet whenever it looses wifi connection or is in standby.
its telling me it got an empty response.. not sure whats causing it. seems to have improved with latest version though.
 
found the problem.. when one has set the extra security on the vera it needs a login and password which somehow doesnt passthrough to the vera. when one opens the dashboard on local network with local ip and login to it, the problem dissapears and authomation works ok again. not sure what causing this, authomation , the vera itself or the portal.



edit: must be the portal since i experience same issue with firmware upgrade, it wont connect then ..only after loggin in local first with the http-login.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2012, 09:39:08 am by Da_JoJo »
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #216 on: May 14, 2012, 08:56:44 am »
....an option to allow the user to input their own phrase to speak when it can not recognize the command. Would take a whole of two seconds to add. I know what you man when it can get annoying. Sometimes I mispronounce the room name or mess up the speaking of the command and I get tired of hearing the voice saying the phrase. I can also add an option to disable the speech.

- Garrett
that would be even better :-)  disable or be able to set it to user defined phrase.


edit: while ur at it .. voice command for all on / all off  would be nice too
edit2: on the other hand one could make a scene where everything is being turned off and call it "Mi Shizzle"  and open VR and say : "run Mi Shizzle"  .. or "activate mi shizzle" it works but its ehh weird.. :-)

i have also a scene where it turns on light and heating for my pet .. i sorta dislike the idea of :  "execute my pet"
« Last Edit: May 14, 2012, 09:17:09 am by Da_JoJo »
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline garrettwp

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #217 on: May 15, 2012, 02:52:02 am »
Hello Garett, Great app!

What do you need to display a wind sensor, like Oregon WTGR800? I can see it through the RFXCOM interface, but not in your android solution.

3rd party plugins are hit or miss with AutHomation. If they use the standard vera device types it should show up fine. If the plugins use custom device types, I will need to add support for them and this can be tricky. MCV added a feature for me to be able to figure out the device type. This will be in UI5 firmware 1.5.372 or newer. I hope to implement this into AutHomtion in version 2.1.

If you can provide me your lu_sdata:

You can retrieve the lu_sdata by going to the following link:

http://ip:3480/data_request?id=lu_sdata

Where ip is the vera ip address. Before you send it off, please go through the data and carefully remove any passwords or sensitive data you might have. You can take the data and put it into a json formatter found here: http://jsonformatter.curiousconcept.com/ to have the data be easily readable. You can than send the data to authomation at garrettpower.com.

If the data is for the windspeed is in the lu_sdata and I can easily figure out how to distinguish the device, I can add it to AutHomation.

- Garrett

Offline garrettwp

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #218 on: May 15, 2012, 02:56:22 am »
....an option to allow the user to input their own phrase to speak when it can not recognize the command. Would take a whole of two seconds to add. I know what you man when it can get annoying. Sometimes I mispronounce the room name or mess up the speaking of the command and I get tired of hearing the voice saying the phrase. I can also add an option to disable the speech.

- Garrett
that would be even better :-)  disable or be able to set it to user defined phrase.


edit: while ur at it .. voice command for all on / all off  would be nice too
edit2: on the other hand one could make a scene where everything is being turned off and call it "Mi Shizzle"  and open VR and say : "run Mi Shizzle"  .. or "activate mi shizzle" it works but its ehh weird.. :-)

i have also a scene where it turns on light and heating for my pet .. i sorta dislike the idea of :  "execute my pet"

Let me see what I can do. I just bought a new laptop and will not have everything transferred over until I receive some additional goodies to have installed. Hopefully if all goes well with this beta, I can publish it to the play store. Adding the the additional option should not have any effect on the app, so I am not worried that it will cause any regressions. I hear you on some of the pronouncing of the commands. Depending on the device names, it can get quite interesting lol.

- Garrett

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #219 on: May 15, 2012, 04:29:20 am »
a new laptop means building speed increase ^^
the naming convention is tricky, it will on a point damage user interaction by removing certain commands on the other hand it might need a look-over since there could be up to 256 devices attached to the vera.
the all-on and all-off  function shouldnt be much of a problem to impent since these are native commands and vera does support these.
you could make an extra tile for this like a  light-switch. since it needs a separate section for uncommon devices anyways might as well put it ther ?
it deserves a spot in de marktplaats :)
there are a lot of programs in the market that either crash or dont work greatly and this authomation has never let me down not even with the 2 time crash i actually experienced with the early beta build. for it to be on the market it is way more eaasy to update and maintain the prog. if it where to have a bug by accident it'll send a bug report anyways. besides you can allways blame the ui5 lol
 
« Last Edit: May 15, 2012, 04:39:35 am by Da_JoJo »
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline baxy_AU

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #220 on: May 16, 2012, 08:13:20 am »
Hi garrettwp
I have been using your app for a while now and have to say it is coming along fantastically...however I just noticed today, after changing my Aeon Labs motor controllers from D_DimmableLight to D_WindowCovering as described in this thread: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,5977.0.html
that these devices still appear as dimmable lights within AutHomation although they now appear as window coverings in UI4 and in Home Buddy.
Do you have any ideas why this is? btw I have tried removing and reinstalling and refreshing the app + data

Offline garrettwp

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #221 on: May 16, 2012, 12:03:07 pm »
Hi garrettwp
I have been using your app for a while now and have to say it is coming along fantastically...however I just noticed today, after changing my Aeon Labs motor controllers from D_DimmableLight to D_WindowCovering as described in this thread: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,5977.0.html
that these devices still appear as dimmable lights within AutHomation although they now appear as window coverings in UI4 and in Home Buddy.
Do you have any ideas why this is? btw I have tried removing and reinstalling and refreshing the app + data

Can you enlighten me and tell me what the device_type is set to? Is it set to urn:upnp-org:serviceId:WindowCovering1 or is it set to something like urn:upnp-org:serviceId:Dimming1? The way that AutHomation figures out what type of device it is, is by looking at the device category. It appears that your window covering has a category of 2 (dimmable light). Going by device categories is a limitation of the lu_sdata and MCV has added a feature for me that will be in a future UI5 release 1.5.372 or newer that will allow me to go by device types. This code will not be implemented into AutHomation until version 2.1. I am trying to get 2.0 out the door very very soon (hopefully by next week).

If you are willing to provide me your lu_sdata, I can have a peek and see what is going on.

You can retrieve the lu_sdata by going to the following link:

http://ip:3480/data_request?id=lu_sdata

Where ip is the vera ip address. Before you send it off, please go through the data and carefully remove any passwords or sensitive data you might have. You can take the data and put it into a json formatter found here: http://jsonformatter.curiousconcept.com/ to have the data be easily readable. You can than send the data to authomation at garrettpower.com.

- Garrett

Offline baxy_AU

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #222 on: May 16, 2012, 07:36:52 pm »
Hi garrettwp
thanks for the tip, changing the D_DimmableLight to D_WindowCovering had also changed the device type to urn:upnp-org:serviceId:WindowCovering1 after saving. The category number however was still 2, I have now changed them all to 8 and all is good.
Off topic I have been thinking about upgrading my Vera2 to UI5 as there are a few new features but in your opinion, is UI5 on the Vera2 worth it yet (or will the Vera 2 ever be capable of a stable UI5 experience)?

Offline garrettwp

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #223 on: May 17, 2012, 04:04:06 am »
UI5 has come a long way since I started using it in the very early stages of development. For Vera 2, if you want to run UI5, it is recommended to have a usb flash drive to enable usb logging and also to enable swapping onto the usb drive as well to help with the lack of ram in the unit. Future builds of AutHomation will have features that can only work with UI5, it will still maintain compatibility with UI4, but some things will not function.

- Garrett

Offline baxy_AU

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: Public Beta Build of Version 2.0 Beta 9
« Reply #224 on: May 17, 2012, 06:37:44 am »
I already use USB for logging, how do I enable swap to USB?

Also when upgrading do scenes remain intact or are they lost in the upgrade process? Do you have any other tips for upgrading?

Sorry for asking you in this thread but its sometimes difficult to find up-to-date information
« Last Edit: May 17, 2012, 06:47:52 am by baxy_AU »