We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: openLuup: Data Historian  (Read 5944 times)

Offline streilu

Re: openLuup: Data Historian
« Reply #75 on: August 22, 2018, 11:30:53 am »
Hello guys!
I'm pretty new to Vera and openLuup. At first I want to thank akbooer for this awesome work!

I bought a Vera Plus some weeks ago and now I'm playing around with it a bit. I was searching for a way to archive data for analysis if scenes would work properly (for example opening my venetian blinds when my anemeter measures strong gusts, etc.).

After walking throgh DataMine and so on. I saw that you added the Historian feature to openLuup, so I setup a Raspi with openLuup and connected the Vera with Verabridge. Historian is working basically and Grafana os a really nice tool to analyse the data.

Some questions:
- Is the Historian the right tool for longterm archiving data? Is it possible to change the aggregation to save the high resolution data say for example 3 months?
- I read that the resolution thing is configured in the header of the Whisper database files, is there manual somewhere? Is it planed to add the possibility to change these configs from the webconsole?

And a short remark to binary data:
I read through the thread and have seen you guys discussing about binary values and how to process them. I'm a plant automator, so I have quite some experience with archiving analog and binary data for analysis of malfunction and things like that.
I found out that archiving of binary data (in plant automating mostly alarms and things like pump running) works best with timestamp based data triggered by a change, without any aggregation.

In most industry automation systems analog and binary signals are used in different ways.

Offline akbooer

• Master Member
  • "Less is more"
« Reply #76 on: August 24, 2018, 10:27:13 am »
Hello guys!
I'm pretty new to Vera and openLuup. At first I want to thank akbooer for this awesome work!