Vera - Smarter Home Control Forum

Beta and Pre-Release (Public) => UI6 Discussion => Topic started by: kyle.dawson on February 09, 2014, 08:50:30 pm

Title: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: kyle.dawson on February 09, 2014, 08:50:30 pm
I did not notice that this was beta.  I upgraded and have been in shambles every since(Login issue, mobile issues, plugin issues).  I am looking to go back to UI5 and see the instructions but have not seen anyone do it successfully? Has anyone done this yea?  Go from UI6 back to UI5? Can I back up the devices and restore or I lose everything?  At this point, I am ok with rebuilding my Zwave network,the state I am in is worse. No remote access via android apps, tried both.  I just need it working again. Vera alerts only half works now, just too many problems to deal with.

Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: S-F on February 09, 2014, 09:40:08 pm
You don't backup your devices per se. Wat you do is load the most recent UI5 firmware, factory reset the device and then restore from a backup of your entire Vera made before the move to UI6. I personally haven't done it from UI6 to UI5 but I did it from UI5 to UI4 several times and it was not only painless but it was less painful than using UI5 was.
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: kyle.dawson on February 09, 2014, 11:31:09 pm
Thanks, when I try to load the UI5 fireware, it says it is this:


Wrong firmware for current platform : Vera3Lite. Intended for wl500gP


I use this URL to get Firmware, is it correct?

http://cp.mios.com/mios_unit.php?PK_AccessPoint=16207



Also, I setup for daily backup but where does it store them so I can recover?
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: kyle.dawson on February 10, 2014, 12:09:28 am
I gave it a try and I am back in UI5 and all devices, plugins, etc all works...

Here is the steps I just did and worked for me.

1) Setup | Firmware
2) URL Verea  -  http://download.mios.com/rt3662_betafirmware/rt3662_Luup_ui5-1.5.622-en-mios.squashfs
3) Save Backup
4) Keep Current Settings and configs
5) Start Upgrade
6) Wait 15 min, clock will not move but your device will reboot
7) Setup | Backup
8) Restore from backup

 :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: guessed on February 10, 2014, 12:46:52 am
I split, and re-titled this post to make it easier to find...

The URL you [originally] used to determine the Firmware(s) is being passed a parameter from a Vera2 (or Vera1) HW device, so it's returning the Firmware for that platform.

Looks like you worked out that you'd need to pass it the Id for your Vera unit for it to return the correct firmware for your platform*... which ultimately is:
    http://download.mios.com/rt3662_betafirmware/rt3662_Luup_ui5-1.5.622-en-mios.squashfs


* Side-note: Interesting to know that you can use the URL:
    http://cpui5.mios.com/firmware/unit.php?PK_AccessPoint=3500xxxxx

for any Vera unit, and it will tell you what version of the software it's running....  interesting...
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: mitch.thompson on March 06, 2014, 08:53:39 pm
I gave it a try and I am back in UI5 and all devices, plugins, etc all works...

Here is the steps I just did and worked for me.

1) Setup | Firmware
2) URL Verea  -  http://download.mios.com/rt3662_betafirmware/rt3662_Luup_ui5-1.5.622-en-mios.squashfs
3) Save Backup
4) Keep Current Settings and configs
5) Start Upgrade
6) Wait 15 min, clock will not move but your device will reboot
7) Setup | Backup
8) Restore from backup

 :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Bleh,  didn't work for me. I opened a ticket with support, they asked me to enable remote access, but I can't.

I think I'm hosed...
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: garrettwp on March 06, 2014, 09:17:51 pm
It's usually best when downgrading firmware to reset to factory defaults.

- Garrett

Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: mitch.thompson on March 06, 2014, 09:30:32 pm
It's usually best when downgrading firmware to reset to factory defaults.

- Garrett

Yep, did that  (though thanks for the reminder).

The error message make it seem as if the flash is write protected, because there were several settings I couldn't save, plus that strange error that I needed to upgrade to the professional version to be able to save settings.

I notice there's an SSH port open. What are the chances I'll find a default login on Google, or even be able to do some sort of fsck if I can get in?
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: mitch.thompson on March 07, 2014, 06:20:19 am
It's usually best when downgrading firmware to reset to factory defaults.

- Garrett

Yep, did that  (though thanks for the reminder).

The error message make it seem as if the flash is write protected, because there were several settings I couldn't save, plus that strange error that I needed to upgrade to the professional version to be able to save settings.

I notice there's an SSH port open. What are the chances I'll find a default login on Google, or even be able to do some sort of fsck if I can get in?


I'm back to UI5, albeit with a clean slate. Not a big deal,  only four devices and a few scenes. But, I did learn, so that's good.

Thanks everyone!
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: AvocadoKnight on May 14, 2014, 10:49:50 pm
I gave it a try and I am back in UI5 and all devices, plugins, etc all works...

Here is the steps I just did and worked for me.

1) Setup | Firmware
2) URL Verea  -  http://download.mios.com/rt3662_betafirmware/rt3662_Luup_ui5-1.5.622-en-mios.squashfs
3) Save Backup
4) Keep Current Settings and configs
5) Start Upgrade
6) Wait 15 min, clock will not move but your device will reboot
7) Setup | Backup
8) Restore from backup

 :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

I applied until 6) after 15min I refreshed, but it show no found. I relogin to Getvera, I can login, but it is a totally blank page only show my user name and serial number, no other thing. I doubt that my vera lite get connected..I am also not sure whether I've alrdy downgrade the veralite to UI5...? Using MiOs still can't detect the vera lite.

Can someone give me a tips? Thanks in advance!
AK
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: Zooz on May 20, 2014, 03:52:22 am
I gave it a try and I am back in UI5 and all devices, plugins, etc all works...

Here is the steps I just did and worked for me.

1) Setup | Firmware
2) URL Verea  -  http://download.mios.com/rt3662_betafirmware/rt3662_Luup_ui5-1.5.622-en-mios.squashfs
3) Save Backup
4) Keep Current Settings and configs
5) Start Upgrade
6) Wait 15 min, clock will not move but your device will reboot
7) Setup | Backup
8) Restore from backup

 :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

I applied until 6) after 15min I refreshed, but it show no found. I relogin to Getvera, I can login, but it is a totally blank page only show my user name and serial number, no other thing. I doubt that my vera lite get connected..I am also not sure whether I've alrdy downgrade the veralite to UI5...? Using MiOs still can't detect the vera lite.

Can someone give me a tips? Thanks in advance!
AK

Same thing here. Had to update back to UI6. Did you find out a working way to downgrade?
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: Brientim on May 21, 2014, 05:28:29 am
They haven't communicated this well for the new users... When you downgrade to UI5, you need to create a UI5 account via cp.mios.com. It can be the same username but the distinct difference is, where the getvera account contained special characters, the cp.mios.com account cannot.

Once, you created the account, you can then assign the unit to the account. If you use multiple account, they will also need to be recreated. You can then log in via, cp.mios.com, cpui5.mios.com or through getvera.com. If you use getvera.com, it will establish the account type according the the password entered.  See

http://bugs.micasaverde.com/view.php?id=3887
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: Zooz on May 21, 2014, 02:35:41 pm
They haven't communicated this well for the new users... When you downgrade to UI5, you need to create a UI5 account via cp.mios.com. It can be the same username but the distinct difference is, where the getvera account contained special characters, the cp.mios.com account cannot.

Once, you created the account, you can then assign the unit to the account. If you use multiple account, they will also need to be recreated. You can then log in via, cp.mios.com, cpui5.mios.com or through getvera.com. If you use getvera.com, it will establish the account type according the the password entered.  See

http://bugs.micasaverde.com/view.php?id=3887

Thank You Brientim for your detailed explanation on various accounts and addresses. I was (finally) able to downgrade. Onwards!
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: AvocadoKnight on May 22, 2014, 11:14:47 am
Thanks all! Mine one is working also :)
My case is like when I gave it a try the other day, it is working again.
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: doc1000101 on June 08, 2014, 07:33:22 pm
Ive tried these directions a few times, including adding the account at cp.mios.com with no luck.  After all of that when I try to log in (locally or through cp.mios.com) I always get the error it cant retrieve data from the unit and try again later.

Anyone have this problem?
Ive opened a ticket with micasa, we'll see what they say.

BTW, going back to UI 6 seems to work just fine.  But I want outside access from Android devices and have yet to find one that works.
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: fmzip on June 08, 2014, 11:31:52 pm
How do you get back to UI5 if you didn't backup first??
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: JoeTomasone on June 12, 2014, 07:32:04 am
They haven't communicated this well for the new users... When you downgrade to UI5, you need to create a UI5 account via cp.mios.com. It can be the same username but the distinct difference is, where the getvera account contained special characters, the cp.mios.com account cannot.


Do we put that URL in the "URL for Vera custom firmware" box or the "URL for OpenWRT custom firmware" box?

EDIT: I winged it and it worked: You use the "URL for Vera custom firmware" box.

Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: mikelux57 on June 19, 2014, 02:46:06 pm
HI all, I have been upgrading to 1.6.641 and regret it ! So I have now 2 options:
1. wait for UI7 and hope that it will be better, BUT I wonder if it will happen and also if all the plugin I am using will work with it (Visonic, Pilot Wire, ImperiHome, VirtualSwitch and DataMine)
2. go back to UI5

If I go back to UI5, I read the instructions here, but I also notice this in the Firmware page of my VeraLite: "Note: Firmware DOWNGRADE it's not supported with 'Preserve settings'. In order to go back to an older firmware version do a 'Restore to factory defaults' and then restore a backup from that specific firmware version."
So does it means that if I Factory reset my VeraLite and use one of my old backup (hopefully done with UI5), this will restore my VERALITE to UI5 and all my settings (fro the date of the backup)?

Since Visonic and Pilot Wire plugin are key for me (I run all my heating with it), if UI7 does not support that then, the option 1 is gone!
So what do you think is the best option?
Thanks to all
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: JoeTomasone on June 19, 2014, 03:40:49 pm
I made a backup in UI6, restored to UI5 factory settings, and restored the UI6 backup to it.   I had to refresh PLEG to get the UI5 versions, but other than that I had no problems.  If you have a UI5 backup to restore, so much the better.

Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: chuckl on July 16, 2014, 10:41:07 am
FYI

I just bought a new unit and tried to downgrade several times to 1.5.622 unsuccessfully.

I emailed support and discover there is a force upgrade flag on their servers.

Just send them your serial number and they can turn it off for you.

 
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: DennisBham on July 24, 2014, 10:39:20 am
I just bought a new unit and tried to downgrade several times to 1.5.622 unsuccessfully.

I emailed support and discover there is a force upgrade flag on their servers.

Just send them your serial number and they can turn it off for you.

I also just bought a new veralite and am unable to downgrade to 1.5.622 using the working procedure documented in this thread.

I e-mailed support this morning and asked them about the "force upgrade flag" and requested it be removed.

---
Dennis
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: tp546 on July 25, 2014, 09:17:54 pm
I was able to downgrade my firmware after asking support to turn off my flag but now I have a new problem - I restored my backup and all my devices show up, but none of them have usable controls. This is extremely frustrating and I had an hour to get support on the phone before they closed for the weekend and of course I couldn't get any help. I don't even know how I can upgrade back to UI6 for the weekend so I can at least use my Vera - anyone have a URL? Or if you have any suggestions on how to fix this, that would be even better - all my devices show up with a blue circular icon and no controls. Thanks in advance for any help.
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: pucki on July 27, 2014, 10:05:07 am
I'm just not to UI5 back.
Has one the recovery firmware for Vera3.
For the recovery tool.
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: DennisBham on July 29, 2014, 07:14:53 pm
I also just bought a new veralite and am unable to downgrade to 1.5.622 using the working procedure documented in this thread.
I e-mailed support this morning and asked them about the "force upgrade flag" and requested it be removed.

30 hours later and no answer to my email request, but then I tried a chat, got a rep in 60 seconds, and 2 minutes later my flag was removed. Then I downgraded successfully. 

---
Dennis
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: Brientim on August 06, 2014, 02:41:39 am
I have not seen this mentioned before and the forced firmware update seem to be a little out of character to other reported downgrades.... There, I would immediately raise a ticket with MCV support and not go through this time and time again.
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: Brientim on August 28, 2014, 06:00:47 am
To finalise this thread the xref to the other thread/post see
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,22637.msg187086.html#msg187086
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: Pestus on September 20, 2014, 04:46:02 pm
Hello all,

If I was to pick up a new Veralite or Vera3, am I now to expect this UI6 nonsense, and a force update flag?

I heard somewhere they if you get the "kits", it's UI6, but if you straight up buy a standalone Vera, it's a UI5 version.  Can anyone clarify this?

Thanks!
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: Xceptiona1 on October 02, 2014, 10:53:54 am
I just setup my first Veralite last night and attempted to get it working with a garage door. The insructions were created for what I presume is UI5 and mine is running the latest version. Being that I am a noob to using a Veralite, would it be a good idea to contact support and reset my Veralite to UI5 to get it functional?
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: Pestus on October 04, 2014, 06:10:59 pm
I'm not sure.  I haven't played with UI6 yet.

From what I can tell given the various forum threads on the subject, UI6 doesn't have universal support for the various apps that were made for UI5.  It at least appears that the roll out of the UI6 has been fraught with problems.

I personally will wait until things sort themselves out.   (If they ever actually do...)
Title: How to revert UI7 back to UI5?
Post by: wideglidejrp on October 29, 2014, 04:39:54 pm
I have tried multiple times to revert to I5 with no luck. The "upgrade" fails. Is there a way to download a .bin file and update the Vera?
Title: Re: How to revert UI7 back to UI5?
Post by: aa6vh on October 30, 2014, 10:29:37 am
I have tried multiple times to revert to I5 with no luck. The "upgrade" fails. Is there a way to download a .bin file and update the Vera?

Have you called Vera support to get the force upgrade flag reset?
Title: Re: How to revert UI6 back to UI5?
Post by: daniel.codo on November 03, 2014, 05:29:08 am
Hi there everyone! I'm a newbie at the forum and using Vera and had the same problem some of you had after trying to downgrade the unit to UI5. My dashboard is completely blank and when I click at the "Advanced settings" I just get a blank page with the message "404 - Not found". I understand you managed to fix it, right? Can you help me please? Thank you very much in advance!! Best, Daniel
Title: How to revert UI6 back to UI5
Post by: Anitadot on February 28, 2017, 09:02:05 pm
Hi,

How to back up all the folders/files created in Knowledge base?
I have accidentally deleted a folder before and I cannot find it anywhere so I have to do it all over again.

Can you please advise how can I create a back up for all the files in Knowledge base?

Thanks in advance.