Vera - Smarter Home Control Forum

General => Remote Control => SQ Remote / Square Connect (iOS) => Topic started by: alsocel on July 25, 2014, 08:34:44 am

Title: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: alsocel on July 25, 2014, 08:34:44 am
 :-[ Hello folks, last week I did a sq designer interface for iphone.. in sq designer was everything ok, saved in box.net..

in the iPhone, share and backup, accoun, authenticate.. BUT! a msg appears...

AUTHENTICATION FAILED - INTERNAL ERROR. API KEY NOT AUTHORIZED. CONTACT SUPPORT.

someone get this error already??

thanks!
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: privus on July 28, 2014, 01:29:28 pm
I have the same problem here, tried to talk with Square Connect, but with no answer...

Don't what to do...
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: slajgaj on July 29, 2014, 05:13:02 pm
Me too!
In May was worked...and now not working!
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: conradodse on July 30, 2014, 10:14:33 am
Same Here!!!!

My veraLite works fine, SQ blaster doesnt respond  in my old SQ designer Template (iphone)

when tried to update my new template (ipad) doesnt connect to Box.net

 ??? ??? ??? ???
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: alsocel on July 31, 2014, 07:14:43 am
Its back! I send an email to box.net, directly, yesterday with pics and infos about it.. and now its working again!
finally *-*
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: conradodse on August 01, 2014, 06:51:15 pm
Its back! I send an email to box.net, directly, yesterday with pics and infos about it.. and now its working again!
finally *-*

Same Here, hahah
But now every morning my SQ blaster doesnt work =(, it wont connect!!
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: mikee123 on August 16, 2014, 08:19:38 am
When i open my Sq Designer, my box account is empty, and if i save something to it, it says saving but it doesnt show up in either box.net or SQ designer. The only way around it is downloading it from box.net onto the PC, then open it in SQ designer, edit it, upload it manually to box.net . It is a pain but it works. I guess SQ is now defunct ?
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: conradodse on August 28, 2014, 05:12:35 pm
When i open my Sq Designer, my box account is empty, and if i save something to it, it says saving but it doesnt show up in either box.net or SQ designer. The only way around it is downloading it from box.net onto the PC, then open it in SQ designer, edit it, upload it manually to box.net . It is a pain but it works. I guess SQ is now defunct ?

yepp,

All manually!!! It suxx!!
It works fine in the ipad, iphone! up and downloading
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: blingal on November 01, 2014, 08:28:32 pm
So is the solution to send an email to box.com?
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: umtauscher on November 05, 2014, 10:08:18 am
Its back! I send an email to box.net, directly, yesterday with pics and infos about it.. and now its working again!
finally *-*
Could you please tell us a bit more what you did/sent and what the actual outcome is? What works and what doesn't.
Thanks in advance

Umtauscher
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: umtauscher on November 06, 2014, 04:06:43 pm
ok, relplying to myself just to let you know:

I just received an answer from box.net
They switched off the API that SQRemote and SQDesigner are using.

Another selling point for cloud based services!

Cheers
Umtauscher
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: conradodse on November 06, 2014, 05:58:28 pm
so what should we do now?? dont save or edit our remotes??
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: umtauscher on November 07, 2014, 04:00:16 am
I have attached the last response from BOX that I received yesterday.
Quote
Wilhelm,

This was brought to my attention in Platform support.

We have reached out to SQ Remote a number of times in the past, unfortunately their developers were not willing to switch over to the new V2 API.

We released the V2 API in December of 2012, and warned developers that we will begin turning off functionality in December of 2013. With SQ Remote, we told them a number of times to update their code, even extending their grace period for the switchover almost an extra year. They were one of the last remaining applications still using the V1 API. We have made the final steps to completely end of life our V1 API. I apologize that this has impacted you negatively, but we've made these final steps as the V1 API has been replaced by a much more efficient, robust and secure V2 API.

I'm sorry, but this is out of our hands. We can't force anyone who has built their product off of our product to do anything, and we have been more than accommodating with the developers.

Best,

Paul
Box Platform Support Engineer
I am quite angry to read how long Squareconnect knew, that this was going to happen and they still did nothing to prevent it.

As I see it, there are only 2 courses of action:

1. Make BOX reactivate their API V1 again, at least for the customers that used it before
2. Jailbreak your Apple devices and copy the configuration to it via iFile or a similar tool.

And for the future. Never buy anything that uses a cloud based service, if you don't want to throw everything away when the firm goes bust.
Cheers
Wilhelm

Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: umtauscher on November 07, 2014, 05:06:16 am
Trying to figure things out:

1. The app folder on the ios device is "/var/mobile/Applications/SQRemote HD"
2. in that folder is a folder "Documents" that seems to store the configuration files
3. the file BRSDownload.zip seems to be the last downloaded setup file.

What I don't know is, how to unpack the content of the zip file to the proper directories or how I can trigger SQRemote to do it by itsself.
I have to be careful not to destroy the installed app, because I could never restore it.
I hate this!
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: blazinace on November 07, 2014, 11:47:40 am
I deleted my SQ app on my iphone and I'm trying to set it manually but it keeps telling me that it cannot connect to my vera because of an "invalid user/pass" message. My username and password are correct because I can use my other apps and am able to login into mios. I don't know how to proceed.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: umtauscher on November 07, 2014, 11:53:39 am
Try connecting it with the local IP, I think you don't need a User/pass for that.
And I would appreciate if you wouldn't highjack this thread instead of creating a new one. This has nothing to do with box.net
Cheers
Umtauscher
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: blazinace on November 07, 2014, 02:26:58 pm
Sorry about that umtauscher.  I didn't mean to hijack it.  I forgot to mention that I was also receiving the API Key error message at the beginning, then l deleted it without thinking. Thanks for the advice.
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: umtauscher on November 07, 2014, 02:47:33 pm
Well, the API problem is estblished right now. I thought BOX would at least forward the API documentation of the V1 API, but they claimed that such a documentation doesn't exist.
Hard to believe..

Anyway I am still trying to find another way to keep using the Blaster, but I'm not out of the woods. Maybe during the next week.
Cheers
Umtauscher
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: vbrett on November 08, 2014, 07:01:24 am
I just noticed this problem yesterday. I have one Original Vera and one Vera 2, both running on UI5 software. I couldn't get my Vera 2 to connect with SQ. Did not have the problem with my original Vera. So here is what I had to do: (Summary, Delete the unit and reinstall it back, then assign the devices back to the buttons)

1. Go into Set-up, then MIOS Systems, the Edit MIOS Unit Settings (Under your MIOS Unit - MIOS-XXXXX)
2. Once you get in the Edit MIOS Settings you will need to "Delete This System".
3. Then go back to myMIOS Service Settings, enter your User Name and Password and hit Continue.
4. You will then see your Configured Units. Place a check by the unit you want to reinstall. Hit Configure.
5. This should reinstall all of your registered UPnP devices and reconnect SQ to the Vera. I closed the SQ App and reopened it to make sure that it saved the new settings. It re-opened the SQ app and it  is working fine for me.

The negative to this is you will name have reassign all of the devices back to the buttons on your SQ Control Panels. I have 2 separate houses running of off two Vera's that work with 3 IPads and 2 IPhones. I had to do this for all 5 devices. In the past I would save the IPhone template in Box and then upload it to the next Iphone. Same for the IPads.
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: mikee123 on November 11, 2014, 06:03:42 pm
Everything was working ok ish... until I upgraded my iOS on my iPad, reinstalled SQ Remote HD, and now I cannot login to my box account from SQ Remote, i get invalid api. So now even though i bought the app, i cannot use it as i cannot download my configuration files to my iPad any more. If you use SQ remote do not upgrade your iOS, you might loose everything. I still have another iPad which is running SQ Remote, luckily both iPads are jailbroken, the one still working on iOS 6.1.2, the other one on iOS 8.1. I just installed iFile to see if i can possibly find out where the configuration files are stored. If i find a way to get it working again i will post it here. The file location mentioned earlier in the thread here does not exist for 8.1. I will need some time to search and compare, maybe i can find something
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: Jep71 on November 20, 2014, 06:38:21 am
Same problems here  :(

I have updated the configuration files with some more switches, but it's not possible to download the files to the IPad.

I have heard that the technical guy with all the know-how no longer works for SC anymore, so they have some challenges in order to solve these problems.

Luckily my blaster is still in the warranty period. I have discussed the possibilities for returning the blaster to the shop (despite all the work I've put into it), if there's no solution to these problems by the end of this year. I consider this system as 'defect' as long as I cannot update my remote app.
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: mikee123 on November 20, 2014, 09:31:01 am
They should pull the app from iTunes as well, as you cannot use it any more. I tried with all my ipads and iphones, none of them can download any configurations any more. I tried manually transfering files to them via iFile, but have not managed tio get that working (iOS 8.1, jailbroken)
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: umtauscher on November 20, 2014, 09:54:24 am
They should pull the app from iTunes as well, as you cannot use it any more.
I don't think so. The app works well, the only thing is at the moment, that you cannot up- and download the setup.
Nevertheless you can configure each device individualy.
If Apple would delete the app from the appstore, it would render the hardware useless.
That certainly is not an option.
I have managed to get a lifesign from one of SQ's developers. Lets see what he can come up with. (fingers crossed)

BTW, If you have jailbroken devices, you can transfer the complete app including the setup from one device to another.
I have tried that, it works.
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: umtauscher on November 20, 2014, 10:25:39 am
BTW, lets not forget, that BOX.NET is to blame here. They disabled an API that is in use by an application that is made by another company.
In my opinion it is unacceptable that a company that sells cloud space disables hardware and software at their will just because they can.

Cheers
Umtauscher
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: Jep71 on November 20, 2014, 11:59:35 am
Don't know the reason why Box did change the API key, but I think that if you choose to work with third party services for your product, you can expect that development has to be done from time to time. It is the same with the aps on your IPad. They also get updates from time to time because Apple makes changes to iOS. Welcom to the world of software  :-X

Box informed SC almost 2 years ago (??) about the upcoming changes with the API key! If they were able to update the software, we would certainly not have had these problems. Unfortunately the problems of SC became our problems. Removing the app and the blaster from the store until problems are solved seems fair to me.
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: umtauscher on November 20, 2014, 12:18:19 pm
Welcom to the world of software
That is in no way the fault of software. Its the fault of greedy companies. (I am a software developer myself)

Sorry, but to me it is totally irrelevant if box informed anyone or not. (I doubt it though)
They modified their API it to be inkompatible with the previous version.
I fact I asked them for the old API documentation and they claimed it wasn't available.
(The idea was to setup a local server with an emulation of the old api so we could use it to transfer the files)

So from BOX.NET they are  in no way willing to help to solve a problem they produced themselves.
I think the change was intentional to kick out old users/apps.
Just my 2 ct.

What would you gain if the App were removed from the App store? Up- and downloading the setup files is not the only purpose of the app.

Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: Jep71 on November 20, 2014, 01:23:26 pm
Hi Umtauscher,

I don't say it's the fault of software. I think that if you make an application, you cannot expect that it will work 'forever' despite software development around you (operating systems, third party systems). And again I don't know the reason why Box did change the API key. Maybe it is 'greed', maybe not.

I see the app and the blaster and the designer software as a complete system and as user, it is reasonable to expect that it will work. The remote app doesn't work if it is not able to download config files. Up- and downloading config files is not a purpose, it is an important function of the app. Okay, you can create some buttons local in the app, but saving your creation is not working. If you need to re-install the app, you can start all over again. New buyers of this system must at least be made aware of these problems. They will be disappointed until the problems are solved. Temporary removing this app is only fair. But that's my opinion  ;)
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: Felipesilva on November 20, 2014, 01:29:40 pm
https://www.facebook.com/SquareConnect

update full

;)
tanks
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: mikee123 on November 20, 2014, 01:40:02 pm
@Jep71
That is exactly what i meant. Yes i can create something on my iPad. But if you see my setup that'll take days or even weeks to do on the iPad. And i had to upgrade the iOS on one of my iPads, and as i cannot download the setup nor access box.net, it is useless.

@Umtauscher
I have tried copying everything in the directory from my iPad mini (iOS 6.1.2) to my iPad3 (iOS 8.1) both jailbroken. It did not work. Opening SQ remote on the iPad3 after i copied everything over just gave me a blank or empty carousel. Nothing was there. I think part of the problem is the folder structure is different, and even though i copied everything into the equivalent folders, it did not work. It is possible that i missed something, i might have to spend some more time to try but it is certainly not straight forward, and i do have some knowledge although not an expert unfortunately
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: umtauscher on November 20, 2014, 01:47:28 pm
Hmm, I copied the app from my iOS6.1.3 iPad3 to my iOS5 iPad1 (that's the only device that I have that could be completely restored without risking having to upgrade to iOS8)
I took the complete application directory and copied it to the other device.

I don' know about iOS8, sorry
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: hifs on November 20, 2014, 08:57:33 pm
There have been some great points made here. Unfortunately this type of thing will happen increasingly as we purchase hardware that has a reliance on the cloud. Some companies will fold or get bought and there will be semi-useful or useless products left that still have life left in them. That's one thing I do like about the vera. If MCV folded, I could still access my system remotely with some work by a VPN setup until I could find something else.

That being said, it would be nice if Square Connect would fix this issue or make their existing apps open source so we could fix this.
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: blingal on November 21, 2014, 05:11:21 pm
That being said, it would be nice if Square Connect would fix this issue or make their existing apps open source so we could fix this.

Hooray for open source  ;D
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: umtauscher on November 22, 2014, 04:40:07 am
I think that will not happen due to licensing issues.
The thing that I would like to have is to be able to send the setup via mail from one device to the other.
I think the problem is, that Apple insists on an app being updated for IOS8 if they upload a new version, which might be much additional work.
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: kev b on November 24, 2014, 09:33:03 am
Square Connect just announced on their facebook page that they are now aware of the problem and will provide an update when it is available. Their post: "box API issue: Box.com have changed their API. We are working on a solution and will update this page when it is available. Many apologies for the inconvenience."
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: privus on November 24, 2014, 01:08:59 pm
I've found a way to put the configuration inside ipads and iphones, using the softwareiexplorer i can change the files of the app and overwrite them for the one i've created on the sq designer.
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: mikee123 on November 24, 2014, 02:58:29 pm
@privus
Could you please let us know of what you copied from wheer, and which iOS version ? That would help quite a few people myself included
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: privus on November 28, 2014, 07:48:41 am
Inside the App, there is the folder Documents, inside you will find the files SQ.... and devices.... , open the zip that sq designer created and extract that, you will have packge.... and the devices....  , trade the name of the packge....  files by SQ.... the files inside the app and paste the inside the app. Open the app and you will see it runing the newest version of your desing. Also the files are all .xml so you can change little things easyer if you need it to.

All IOS Versions are ok.

Srry about my english.
Regards
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: sameri on December 03, 2014, 06:50:08 pm
Just came across this issue today. I noticed a few months back that Square Connect didn't seem to exist any more and wondered how long it would be before things started breaking.

Hopefully they get a fix sorted soon or I'll be moving over to iTach.
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: balez1 on January 18, 2015, 11:34:59 am
Hi together,

I use a lot of idevice as remotecontrol for Mios Control

When you have an internal access to your iphone:

go to /private/var/mobile/Applications/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/Documents, you must found your own directory xxxxxx of your SQremote.app in your idevice, then past all the xml file.

It works  ;D,

Bye and happy new year 2015 ....
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: lwinter on January 19, 2015, 02:26:11 pm
This is a solution when your iphone or ipad is jailbreaked. My ipad isn't it.
Title: Re: SQ Remote won`t authorize with BOX.NET
Post by: hayden989 on April 30, 2016, 02:25:51 am
Hi,

I managed to replicate SQ Remote configurations from one iPad to another without jailbreaking my phone using explore in demo mode.

SQ Remote Configuration

How to copy configuration to multiple iPads

1. Sync/backup iPad with sq remote configuration to iTunes.
2. Use iexplore to access backup files for the iPad.
3. Find SQ Remote backup files

4. Export all files in documents folder to computer.
5. Plug new iPad
6. Go to iexplore
7. Go to Apps on the connected iPad
8. Copy saved files to document folder CLICK REPLACE FILES.