Vera - Smarter Home Control Forum

General => Pool Control => Topic started by: rstrouse on October 12, 2017, 04:29:08 pm

Title: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on October 12, 2017, 04:29:08 pm
Version 1.0 Released
I have created a plugin for IAquaLink that interfaces with the Autelis device for Jandy.

The plugin can currently control and report the following features of your pool.


Release Version 1.0 - 10-12-17

You must manually install this from the Apps menu on your Vera.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Sammy2 on October 12, 2017, 04:38:21 pm
rstrouse, will this write right over beta 0.42 no problem? Any changes?

I thought I'd never see an official release!

Thanks again!

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on October 12, 2017, 04:41:10 pm
rstrouse, will this write right over beta 0.42 no problem? Any changes?

I thought I'd never see an official release!

Thanks again!

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk



Yes this will write over the .42 beta.  This is primarily cleanup code from the beta since it seems to work pretty well.  Simply copy the files to your Vera and let it reload the luup engine.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Sammy2 on October 13, 2017, 08:41:12 am
Downloaded and installed. All is well!
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Hottoy on December 09, 2017, 05:30:24 pm
I would love to install this iAqualink plugin.  Thanks for the development work.  I have never done a manual install.   I downloaded the zip file and looked for a readme txt file no luck.   I searched the forum for "manual install from apps menu"  and found nothing.  Can someone walk me thru the manual installation process? 

Also will this plugin work with UI7? 

Thanks in advance for the help
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on December 10, 2017, 11:04:30 am
@Hottoy,

This plugin is specifically designed for UI7 and UI5 and requires an Autelis controller.  To install you can use the installation guide I developed for the Pentair system.  It can be found at the link below.
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,30275.msg217728.html#msg217728

Please note:  The installation guide was written for Pentair equipment.  For Jandy equipment enter D_AutelisJandy.xml with no spaces exactly as you see here when you get to the Creat Device section of the document. 

Also, after you have completed the install make sure you go into your Autelis software and identify the plugin device.  This will provide instant status whenever anything changes on your pool.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Hottoy on December 10, 2017, 11:23:39 pm
Thank you for the work on the plugin and the help.  Cannot wait to get this installation completed. 
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Hottoy on December 11, 2017, 10:20:15 am
Hello Rstrouse,

I hit a snag when I tried to restart the luup engine after creating the parent device.  I don't have the selection to restart the luup engine selection on my serial port configuration.  See attached screen shot.   
I tried the following:   hit the save on serial screen,  restarted the wifi connection, went into another device selected the advanced tab and restarted the lupp there.   I still don't see the pool control device in my device list.  I entered the Upnp device filename for the Jandy equipment  D_AutelisJandy.xml with no spaces while creating the device.  Did I do something wrong?  Did a firmware remove the luup engine restart from the serial screen?    I'm running ui7 firmware 1.7.3232

Thanks for the continuing help. 
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on December 11, 2017, 12:18:22 pm
Hello Rstrouse,

I hit a snag when I tried to restart the luup engine after creating the parent device.  I don't have the selection to restart the luup engine selection on my serial port configuration.  See attached screen shot.   
I tried the following:   hit the save on serial screen,  restarted the wifi connection, went into another device selected the advanced tab and restarted the lupp there.   I still don't see the pool control device in my device list.  I entered the Upnp device filename for the Jandy equipment  D_AutelisJandy.xml with no spaces while creating the device.  Did I do something wrong?  Did a firmware remove the luup engine restart from the serial screen?    I'm running ui7 firmware 1.7.3232

Thanks for the continuing help. 
Yes a firmware removed the Reload Luup button from the serial port screen.  That button has migrated all over the place.  Please clear your cache Reload the Luup engine again then reload the page.  Also, the notifications that used to display when the when the luup engine was reloading have been removed by default.  You can turn these back on by going to Users & Account Info --> Notifications.  It will be the last check on the bottom.

If this does not show the Pool Control device under Devices in No Room then please verify the following files exist on your Vera.  To do this...  Open Apps-->Develop Apps-->Luup Files and verify that the following files exist on your Vera.  These should appear in your list.  If any of them do not exist please upload them by dragging them onto the Upload drag and drop files portion of the screen.

Code: [Select]
C_JandyChemSim.xml
C_JandyNamesSim.xml
C_JandyPumpsSim.xml
C_JandyStatusSim.xml
D_AquaPure.json
D_AquaPure.xml
D_AquaPure_UI5.xml
D_AutelisJandy.xml
D_AutelisJandy_UI5.xml
D_JandyColors.xml
D_JandyColors_UI5.json
D_JandyHeater.json
D_JandyHeater.xml
D_JandyHeater_UI5.xml
D_JandyHeaterSolar.json
D_JandyHeaterSolar_UI5.json
D_JandyMacros.xml
D_JandyPump.json
D_JandyPump_UI5.json
D_JandyPump.xml
D_JandySolar.json
D_JandySolar.xml
D_JandySolar_UI5.json
D_JandyWaterColors.json
D_JandyWaterColors.xml
D_JandyWaterColors_UI5.json
I_AutelisJandy.xml
J_AutelisJandy.js
L_AutelisJandy.lua
S_Aquapure.xml
S_AutelisJandy.xml
S_JandyColors.xml
S_JandyHeater.xml
S_JandyMacros.xml
S_JandyPump.xml
S_JandyWaterColors.xml
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Sammy2 on December 11, 2017, 02:39:08 pm
Is this going to get to the store?
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Hottoy on December 13, 2017, 07:08:39 am
Thanks for the help Rstrouse.  Got it communicating.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Sammy2 on January 19, 2018, 02:57:14 pm
rstrouse,

I'm looking into using openLuup to run my Vera. Will Pool Control work? It isn't an "installed" plugin per se but rather a bunch of files dumped into Vera. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on January 19, 2018, 04:48:43 pm
I don't actually know how openLuup works.  Haven't messed with it.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Sammy2 on January 19, 2018, 06:09:36 pm
I don't actually know how openLuup works.  Haven't messed with it.

Neither do I other than it is a Vera emulator that runs on a PC or rPi to offload the heavy lifting and then just ties into the controller to issue commands to the devices. I'm just researching right now. The latest f/w didn't do me good and Vera seems to not be able to get things right with getting the status from Schlage Locks so I can run other scenes or PLEG from their state to arm the house in Away Mode.

https://github.com/akbooer/openLuup
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on January 19, 2018, 06:28:24 pm
Read through the doc but still aren't any smarter.  I guess old dogs applies.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Sammy2 on January 19, 2018, 06:38:27 pm
Read through the doc but still aren't any smarter.  I guess old dogs applies.

More in-depth information:

https://github.com/akbooer/openLuup/blob/master/Documentation/openLuup%20User%20Guide.pdf
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on January 20, 2018, 11:18:16 am
Yep that's what I read... no new dendrites.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: V3r4 on March 04, 2018, 09:42:03 pm
thanks for the info. will check that out
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Sammy2 on March 30, 2018, 01:23:53 pm
thanks for the info. will check that out

Robert.. IDK what is happening here but the heater control is not showing itself in Pool Control on my VeraPlus interface right now and I sorta need it coming into swimming season!

Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Sammy2 on March 30, 2018, 01:30:31 pm
thanks for the info. will check that out

Robert.. IDK what is happening here but the heater control is not showing itself in Pool Control on my VeraPlus interface right now and I sorta need it coming into swimming season!

NM..

Somehow it was disabled in the Configuration Screen. It's back now but why would that happen? Maybe when Vera Support was fiddling with my VeraPlus after the f/w update a few months ago broke A LOT of stuff??
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on April 02, 2018, 10:52:03 am
Just curious was it disabled on your Aqualink?
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: Sammy2 on April 02, 2018, 12:44:13 pm
Just curious was it disabled on your Aqualink?

I never checked the Aqualink. At this time it is in a box in the garage and I only use Autelis on my phone or pretty much always Vera to control the pool, thank you very much!!. In the configuration page, heaters were not enabled for whatever reason. I don't know how long this condition existed as I haven't even looked at the pool heaters in months.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: eyoung71 on April 28, 2018, 07:22:27 pm
I hope someone sees this. I have everything installed and it's mostly working. I am able to turn on/off the pool filter, spa filter, pool light, spa light.

I had to add waterfall. It is a pump that is linked to Aux1.

I am unable to make 'waterfall' turn on via Alexa. It seems all of the other switches simply loaded with plugin. I attached a screenshot.

Any ideas on what to try to get it to work with Alexa? THANKS!

Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on April 28, 2018, 09:54:54 pm
@eyoung,

I am not quite sure what dictates whether Alexa finds a device.  Are you saying it finds the other pool circuits but doesn?t find the waterfall?  I have seen some posts re the category and subcategory being one of the criteria.  Your waterfall is simply a binary switch so perhaps changing the category and subcategory to the same as a binary switch that it finds might make a difference.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: eyoung71 on April 29, 2018, 08:58:02 am
What you said makes sense. I had tried many things. In the end I decided to uninstall the Alexa skill for Vera and reinstall. When I did it found it!
All is well again.  :)
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on April 29, 2018, 11:48:17 am
@eyoung,

I noticed that the firmware you are running on your Autelis says Standard.  Are you using the Autelis firmware where you enter the Device Id of the plugin into Autelis?  I use the Pentair version and that is tagged as Advanced not Standard.  However, this may just be a difference between the Pentair and Jandy gear and I have no way to determine this.

If you have the correct firmware and have entered your Vera creds in the isy page, then you will find that as soon as any change occurs on the iAquaLink it will be immediately reflected on Vera.  This keeps it all in sync without polling the panel using 2-way communication.

Below is what it looks like in Pentair.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: ceskelund on May 09, 2018, 10:56:33 am
@rstrouse - let me just say this is awesome work.  I have been looking for automated pool control for a long time and you have done excellent work.  I appreciate everyone's involvement in getting stuff like this working.

Having said that, is there any chance I could interest you in modifying this code to work with the Hayward Goldline Autelis unit?

Little background; I have the Autelis for Goldline unit and first installed your original app for Pentair from the App store and could not get it to connect.  I then installed the Jandy version and am able to control most things in my pool - I am very excited about this and more excited about the possibilities.  I am able to control my pool pump, spa, blower, waterfalls, cleaner and lights.  This is leaps and bounds above anything I had before.  One thing I haven't been able to configure is the heater settings.  When I load the Jandy app, I only see Filter Pump, Spa, and Water Fall as Standard Circuits.  Nowhere in the configuration can I find the heater settings.  I am, however, able to see and control the heater from within the Autelis native interface.

If this is something you would be willing to undertake, I would greatly appreciate it and I'm sure more people would benefit from your fantastic abilities.

Thanks

Chris
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on May 09, 2018, 11:13:51 am
@ceskelund, just for shucks can you post the output of your status.xml.  To do this type http://<your autelis ip>/status.xml in a browser.  I don't see a setpoint temp for the heater in the docs.  Maybe it is hidden somewhere.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: ceskelund on May 09, 2018, 11:20:14 am
absolutely.  attached is the output.

Thanks
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on May 09, 2018, 11:23:27 am
Do you have setpoints on your heater and can you set them from Autelis?  I don't see these here.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: ceskelund on May 09, 2018, 01:32:55 pm
Yeah, this may be a little tricky.  There don't appear to be setpoints (see screenshot attached).  If I want to change the heater settings, I have to go to the virtual keypad and increase or decrease the temp.  I think this may be because I have the auto heater control set up where I have a temp set for pool and a temp set for spa and then in that mode, the Goldline tells the heater when to come on and when to turn off based on the current temp.  Would love to be able to control it via the plugin though.

One other thing I noticed missing is the ON/OFF for the SuperChlor setting.  I have a Salt Water pool with a Chlorine Generator.

Thanks again for taking a look
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on May 09, 2018, 03:11:20 pm
For heaters that is the normal operation where there are different setpoints based upon the body configuration of the pool (either pool or spa mode).  Both Pentair and Jandy operate this way with Pentair adding a heating source component to switch it between solar, heatpump, or traditional heater depending on outside temperature.  It appears that the Goldline controller is similar to some of the features on the Jandy where they may only be controlled by navigating around the menus.  In looking at the Autelis forum it appears that is a Hayward limitation which makes it really ugly to get or set the values.

As for the superchlor, get the results of http://<your autelis ip>/chem.xml.  Hopefully it is not a 404.  If it is then control of the SWG might only be limited to the SuperChlor function.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: ceskelund on May 09, 2018, 03:26:51 pm
http://<your autelis ip>/chem.xml yields a 404 unfortunately

Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: ceskelund on May 09, 2018, 03:42:54 pm
I just re-read your reply - are you saying that it is possible to get a SuperChlor button on the interface?  There is one that turns it on and off in Autelis but doesn't come through on the plugin in Vera.  My normal chlorine settings are pretty static but I often do turn on SuperChlor when the pool is heavily used.  That would be nice to have that feature available.

Thanks
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on May 09, 2018, 03:58:12 pm
Type this into a browser and see if it turns the super chlorination on.

http://<your autelis ip>/set.cgi?schlor=1

Check to see if it starts superchlorinating.  If it does then type the following into a browser and see if it goes off.

http://<your autelis ip>/set.cgi?schlor=0
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: ceskelund on May 09, 2018, 04:22:13 pm
Thanks for working with me...

With SuperChlor off, I ran the first command and SuperChlor did not some on.  I turned it on manually with my AquaPod and then ran the second command and it did not turn off.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: ceskelund on May 09, 2018, 04:32:47 pm
I looked at the source for the Autelis Equipment page and found that the button is very close to what you recommended but included another key word.  I entered the below and it turns on and off the SuperClor

set.cgi?name=schlor&value=0

Thank you
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: rstrouse on May 09, 2018, 05:00:19 pm
Do you know how to create a scene that executes a Luup command?  If you do you can simply create a scene for off and on sending a luup.inet.wget.
Code: [Select]
luup.inet.wget("http://<your autelis ip>/set.cgi?name=schlor&value=1", 5, "<autelis username>", "<autelis password>")

You can then hook it up in the macros section of the plugin.
Title: Re: Jandy Pool Control
Post by: ceskelund on May 09, 2018, 07:20:05 pm
Thanks again for taking the time to work through this with me.  I created a virtual switch and created scenes with the code you referenced.  I also added the macro in the Pool switch and it is working well.  The next thing I have to figure out is how to change the switch status when it is turned on or off using the AquaPod or the keypad.