The Vera Community forums have moved!

General => Remote Control => ZHOUSE HomeControl (Android) => Topic started by: zhouse on June 23, 2012, 04:08:38 pm

Title: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on June 23, 2012, 04:08:38 pm
Hi.

We are glad to show You new android app for control Vera. We hope You like it. Link to google play:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.zhouse.vera

Application version:
********************
v1.9.2.0

-bug fixes
-speedup connection

********************
v1.8.4.0

-remaking graphics for android 4.0
-bugfixes for android 4.0
-pan/tilt for camera view
-tested on Samsung galaxy S III and Goclever A73 TAB

********************
v1.7.3.0

-added support for camera
-added support for camera stream

********************
v1.7.2.0

-change user window v2 with gesture
-checking connection working on asynctasks

********************
v1.7.1.0

-added change user window
-added taskbar queue, seems be stable
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: big517 on June 23, 2012, 04:28:12 pm
Wow,  for $25.00, I better love it.  No free demo at least?

 2
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: chris66 on June 23, 2012, 04:44:33 pm
Nice, but I'm already happy with my three freeware Android apps  :-*Will you provide a light version for 5$?
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on June 23, 2012, 06:35:02 pm
We working on free version. Will be very soon.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: big517 on June 23, 2012, 09:51:04 pm
Thats the only way to get people to jump ship after all the great freeware, it will be hard to support a new app.   I love homebuddy and Authomation.  I'll never drop this kind of cash on an app that doesn't even have English screen shots.  I cant confirm that English is even supported.   I am, however, looking forward to seeing it in action, and I hope it will deliver.

 2
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: vera_nc on June 24, 2012, 12:52:52 am
Not to mention $25 for a Beta version? Even the developer webpage doesn't have an English version.

 2
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: Aaron on June 29, 2012, 09:26:35 pm
Zhouse,
It is always great to see new apps - and your looks very nice.

Though, $25 will be a tough sell around here. I could only see spending $25 if the app controlled (without me programming it) ALL my HA/HT (XBMC, Vera, EventGhost, Windows Media Center, JR Media Center, Sickbeard, SABnzbd, etc) in a single shot and did it as well as the individual free apps do... this is highly unlikely to happen.

Right now, I have a collection of very good, very free (no ads), apps that do all of these, separately... which is fine, since it takes only 2 seconds to launch any of them.

I wish you the best with your app.

regards
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on July 02, 2012, 10:25:21 pm
I know that You dont like the price.... but i must explain something to You.

We hire 3 programist, as the only one Vera reseller in Poland but we have some competition. The competition that dont hire programist, dont spend money on graphics, etc. The app was writen to our clients. We adding it to Vera for free. And this is our advance.

We cant sell it for 5$ for now because we will lose our advance. When we will release new version with new features we can open older one (still we are talking about it). We didnt expect much sell on the market (this is not angry birds ;) ). Why we was put application there... Well... this is additional earnings for programist and graphic. From 25$: 7,5$ gets google, 5$ gets our goverment, 3,1$ get every person that was working on it ;)

Also there was ability to get it for free. There was 10 beta tester licenses (there was info on forum and facebook), and we have 4 left!!

About english version: for now app is in polish and english language.

About english screenshot: please give us some time. We have a lot of work on new version with very cool functions, testing on every android version, testing on diffrent devices, new plugins for vera. In fact we are very overloaded. It is 4AM and im still working :)

By the way.... i was add first video: http://youtu.be/QgTt-yMrFU0 ... sorry... in polish ;)
Title: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: teonebello on July 03, 2012, 12:01:37 am
iOS?

Thanks
Matteo
Title: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: Brientim on July 03, 2012, 01:29:20 am
If you need an IOS tester. I am up for it if you need someone.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: teonebello on July 03, 2012, 04:35:52 am
If you need an IOS tester. I am up for it if you need someone.

me too as iOS tester :-)
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on July 03, 2012, 08:47:44 am
At this moment we are speaking with iOS programist. iOS version will be for sure but we need some time. Please send me Your emails. I will write it :)
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: Aaron on July 03, 2012, 09:42:52 pm
if you need another Android beta tester I'd be happy to help... I have about 30 devices in Vera and use the Vera Android app several times a day.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: davidd1205 on July 04, 2012, 05:31:40 pm
hello

i can test ios and android (ice cream)

i follow you on facebook

regards
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on July 07, 2012, 06:34:16 am
davidd: Great, You have last beta license. Please send me Your android gmail.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: davidd1205 on July 08, 2012, 08:07:03 pm
davidd: Great, You have last beta license. Please send me Your android gmail.

yes

sent to pm

thank you very much
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: chixxi on August 15, 2012, 03:58:19 am
I love the modern UI style of your app and it works fine on my galaxy s3!

However, I use the two plugins VirtualSwitch and the VirtualContainer very often (I am the creator of these) and they are both not supported by your app. Any chance this will be implemented in the feature?
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on August 16, 2012, 05:44:04 pm
In TODO list. Please check for update in next week :)
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: Aaron on August 16, 2012, 11:28:23 pm
I never did get my beta license  :'(
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on August 17, 2012, 08:50:31 am
Really i dont know why. I added Your gmail to betatesters. Do You have installed Google Play on Your device? Because licensing is checking by google play app.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: Aaron on August 26, 2012, 06:46:42 pm
Really i dont know why. I added Your gmail to betatesters. Do You have installed Google Play on Your device? Because licensing is checking by google play app.

Yes, alwAys have. I will try uninstall then reinstall.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: Aaron on August 26, 2012, 06:57:48 pm
Really i dont know why. I added Your gmail to betatesters. Do You have installed Google Play on Your device? Because licensing is checking by google play app.

Just uninstalled then reinstall. It allows me to login then the app pops  a box saying i do not have a license?
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: Learic on September 13, 2012, 08:47:31 pm
Thank you for lowering the price so I could purchase your app! So far, I like the professional look of the UI. It is very clean and functional. Are there any known issues with the camera features? When I click on one of the camera devices, it brings up a "Busy Circle" and nothing shows up. The app will eventually crash giving me the option to send a report. The other items seem to function fine! Overall, I love the layout that you have and I can't wait to see what else you will be offering!
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on September 25, 2012, 09:15:35 am
Thank You :)

I dont know why You have busy window. Is it always busa also on remote and local connection? What is Your camera configuration?

For better understanding:
Camer for now takes info from three data: url, streaming and ip. App always trying to launch steraming if it is avilable. So if in Your lu_sdata there is "streaming" variable, then app try to reach streaming video. If "streaming" is not empty there could be second reason: app doesnt get user and password data, so if Your camera is password protected, then app cannot reach streaming.

The best thing to set the camera parameters is to set ip (by DynDNS) parameter with login and password data. So username and data parameters in Vera leave empty and set ip something like this: user:pass@83.57.125.1

This is temporary solution because from my information the camera streaming is not finished by MiCasa yet (i could be wrong). There are some changes. So we waiting to fix this, and make this with programming art.

At this moment U can set DynDNS and set parameters as i written above and all will be work fine. If U have problem to do this, please write me PM with Your lu_sdata file.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: Learic on September 25, 2012, 08:27:00 pm
Thanks for the explanation of how it works! I'm not worried about it. Sometimes the video feed is there and sometimes it's not. When it's not, that is when I get the "send a report" dialog. I'm thinking it has to do with the vera unit and the IP camera and not your application! Everything else is working great and it is very dependable! Thanks for the good work!
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: chixxi on October 29, 2012, 02:37:28 pm
Are you still working on the app? Still waiting on the support for the virtual switch and the virtual container. Any information you need? I could provide it...
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on November 08, 2012, 06:34:37 am
Yes, we still working. Virtual Switch and Variable Container is now suported but at this moment we testing version 2.0. In this version the app is rebuild so we need some time to tests.

Version 2.0 has its own API, so there is possibility to write own apps, that cooperate with our. Also with it we want to release new app: electric widgets.

For virtual switch and variable container we added to Your plugin <Category_Num> variable, so if You can please add category number 38 for vswitch and 39 for vcontainer.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: chixxi on November 08, 2012, 07:08:10 am
Oh, very excited to hear this!

So what you are saying is that I should add a variable "category_num" to the plugins and set them to 38/39? Did I get this right?
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on November 08, 2012, 07:28:51 am
Yes. This is the files that we was remake.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: chixxi on November 08, 2012, 08:04:11 am
Can you maybe have a look at this and tell us your opinion about it? http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,12444.msg91150.html#msg91150
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on November 08, 2012, 12:48:29 pm
With this there is some problem. App gets data every time it will change. As Garett said with this method it can take long time. So each time when someone want to change vera, must wait for ask every device about its category.

 I think the better way it will be use Category and Subcategory number. This variables are sending with every lu_sdata anyway. So i konw that this is some harder because nobody usues category and subcategory but in long time it will be better to clean this up.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: garrettwp on November 08, 2012, 01:39:36 pm
Wrong, category and subcategory should be specified by MicasaVerde. We should not be creating our own categories and sub-categories. This is why standards are developed. The new api call data is not retrieved every time a change is made. It is only done on first import of the data and only when a new devices gets added to vera. All other times full or partial refresh updates are very fast.

- Garrett
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: guessed on November 08, 2012, 05:11:35 pm
Garrett is correct.  These are defined by MCV and we simply follow them.  If new ones are required, then the appropriate bug'ing and lobbying are required to get them established.  It's effectively what was done during the standardization effort for Alarm Panels...

If you wanted something more flexible, then looking at the serviceId's implemented would also be viable, if the UI was somehow "composited" from, and it's UI elements bound to, those services... so far though, no-one has done that.

Wrong, category and subcategory should be specified by MicasaVerde. We should not be creating our own categories and sub-categories. This is why standards are developed. The new api call data is not retrieved every time a change is made. It is only done on first import of the data and only when a new devices gets added to vera. All other times full or partial refresh updates are very fast.

- Garrett
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: chixxi on November 09, 2012, 01:02:12 am
I am not exactly sure what to do now. Are you changing your approach for zhouse?

Or shall I still add the category number as a temporary solution, which is not official and may therefore cause problems later on? I love your app and I would love to see my plugins supported!
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on November 09, 2012, 09:42:51 am
I agree that we should not creating category and subcategory but.... what for they are? In all lu_sdata we get category and subcategory but we should not used this?

Secondlly what for there is option to define category and subcategory when nobody wants to define them?

Or these section are reserved only for actual devices.

I'm waiting what is position of MCV.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: garrettwp on November 09, 2012, 09:55:18 am
You'll need to contact MCV if you want to hear their position on this. The category and sub-category numbers in the lu_sdata are for supporting most devices that are not 3rd party plugins with custom device types. So this works well. But when you want to start supporting 3rd party plugins, that changes things. To still use lu_sdata, you'll need to use what I posted in the other thread linked by chixxi.

- Garrett
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: mcvflorin on November 09, 2012, 12:27:08 pm
I don't recommend using categories because it could lead to problems down the line. Use the altid instead. For example the Variable Container plugin could have the altid set to variable_container. And in the ZHouse app you could check if the category is empty, and if it is, check if the altid matches one supported by the app.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: garrettwp on November 09, 2012, 12:57:55 pm
Problem with the altid is that other plugins use this for child devices etc. So that is not a good solution either for other plugins. I've been down this road, the final solution was to use the device type.

- Garrett

Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: chixxi on November 09, 2012, 02:11:49 pm
@mcvflorin and everybody else, thanks for taking part in this discussion.

You know, I guess your discussion is going over my level. But it is not the first time I raise this discussion, in fact I raised a couple of times since I try to get the mighty android app developers to support my plugins.

In fact a plugin variable called "plugin" already exists, but it is not shown in lu_sdata. Would it be an option to add this one to lu_sdata for mcv? Adding this variable would not really increase the size of lu_sdata (since it only exists for plugin devices and it is only a number), it would not be any additional effort for plugin developers, and it would be a definite way to identify plugins/devices for app developers.

I think it is now really time to define kind of a "final solution" to recognize devices. It should be documented in the wiki...

wish you all a nice weekend!
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: garrettwp on November 09, 2012, 04:20:26 pm
This was another option discussed with MCV. It does identify the plugin, but if the plugin has children, how would they no the controls to display?

- Garrett

Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: mcvflorin on November 12, 2012, 06:19:18 am
The best solution is to get the device type using this request:
http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Luup_Requests#finddevice
finddevice was updated by Aaron specifically for this purpose.


Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on November 28, 2012, 03:05:39 pm
It is not good solution for us. This will slow down connection very much. Fast connection is for us priority.

Chixxi if You can please put to lu_sdata any unique variable that can be identify by our app. Thats how we recognize apps like google weather. Can You do this? You can put some variable in altid as mcvflorin said.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: garrettwp on November 28, 2012, 03:11:37 pm
This will not slow down the connection. You only need to do this once and for any new device that gets added. As a developer your solution is more a hack and should not have to force the developer to add something to distinguish their plugin when you can retrieve the device type via the api command. Again this only needs to be done on the initial loading of the Vera data and no more. If a user adds a new device, you can call the api to get the device type.

- Garrett
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on November 29, 2012, 01:11:58 pm
Garret i really dont know what is the problem with altid for You. Belive me it will slow down the app in some cases and will make some troubles. I know how our connection engine works.

Especially it will slow down app with changing server. After change server You must send several dozen of requests. When You are on remote connection it will take really lot of time.

Secondly there are situations when You are changing device type file. What about then? Option in app to refresh device types? No. It must work full automatically.

I think the best solution for this problem is to reserve about 3 categories as plugins eg. 44,45,46 are plugins and recognize them by subcategory. But Mcvflorin said than there can be problems. So altid is also good solution. Especially that altid is send always anyway. So what is the problem. This is not a hack. This is what for these variables are (i think. if not, mcvflorin please correct me)
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: garrettwp on November 29, 2012, 02:45:15 pm
Garret i really dont know what is the problem with altid for You. Belive me it will slow down the app in some cases and will make some troubles. I know how our connection engine works.

Especially it will slow down app with changing server. After change server You must send several dozen of requests. When You are on remote connection it will take really lot of time.

Secondly there are situations when You are changing device type file. What about then? Option in app to refresh device types? No. It must work full automatically.

I think the best solution for this problem is to reserve about 3 categories as plugins eg. 44,45,46 are plugins and recognize them by subcategory. But Mcvflorin said than there can be problems. So altid is also good solution. Especially that altid is send always anyway. So what is the problem. This is not a hack. This is what for these variables are (i think. if not, mcvflorin please correct me)

I do not know how you developed the app to retrieve and store the data. I am not sure if you are misunderstanding how I get the device data. The device data is not retrieved all of the time. It is only retrieved once when first configuring the app. It does not issue the api call any other time when updating the data. However, if a new device or plugin is added, the device type api call will get called. When parsing the full data, you check to see if the device type is setup, if not you call the device type api to retrieve the data and store it. It will never have to be called again. So the only slowness you will experience is on the initial loading of the data at first run.

You should never have to change the device file type. So that is not an issue. The altid is a bad idea because many 3rd party plugins use this field already. Some examples are DSC alarm panel plugin, Altsteon plugin, Weather Underground plugin, and the list goes on. The altid field gets used for plugins that have child devices.

I have been down this path and worked with MCV on this very issue with my app. I worked with the lead developer of Vera to come up with a solution that we can both agree with. We discussed using the plugin id, but this will not tell you what type of device controls to use if the plugin has child devices with different device types. I asked to have the device type added to the lu_sdata, but they turned that down to to increasing the size of the data. It all came down to using the finddevice api. Yes, it causes x number of additional requests, but only on the initial setup of the app and the vera unit. So that compromise is a small price to pay.

- Garrett
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: zhouse on November 29, 2012, 07:51:17 pm
Garett i understand..... really. I told You that it is NOT good solution for us. Really. And we will NOT apply this solution for our app. Please read what i said before.

I understand that U r using this solution and it is good for You, but not for us.

And we cannot take this "compromise". App must be fast as it can.
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: guessed on November 30, 2012, 01:35:04 am
@zhouse,
I've read through this conversation, and Garrett is correct.  Everything else is a hack, and something that has a likelihood of breaking in a future release of MiOS.

Garrett's suggestion is merely to call, out of band, to get the additional supporting metadata when you first see a new device.  This can then be cached to a persistent store, within in the device, so that no subsequent calls need ever be done, ever.

For example, both SQRemote and AutHomation both have similar caches.   Although they're done differently, the caching/intent is the same - not forcing plugin changes, not utilizing something that'll break in future MiOS releases, and to maintain overall performance with minimal first-time-only impact to the user.  I'm sure a number of the other control points are doing the same thing.

Seems like a reasonable internal architecture to have, no?
Title: Re: Introducing ZHOUSE HomeControl
Post by: RichardTSchaefer on November 30, 2012, 02:02:55 am
Fast and NOT functional  will get your app removed from a phone.

Messing with properties that can have negative side effects to apps using the properties as intended will get folks to avoid your app like the plague for all eternity.

As a plugin writer I am unlikely to change things to support a remote app.
There are too many out there to allow this type of coupling.
Not to mention that it violates a fundamental design principal.

If you present a use case for new functionality for an end user that's a different story.