The Vera Community forums have moved!

General => Temperature Monitoring & HVAC Control => Topic started by: cw-kid on August 11, 2013, 09:51:53 am

Title: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: cw-kid on August 11, 2013, 09:51:53 am
Hi

I am looking at these devices here (http://store.zwaveeurope.com/product_info.php?products_id=12337) and here (http://store.zwaveeurope.com/product_info.php?products_id=12269) seems there is a Z-wave.me and Wintop one, not sure what the difference is if any?

There is a VERA setup guide for it here (http://www.vesternet.com/resources/application-notes/apnt-33#.UgYowJJwq5J)

I am looking for a Z-wave device I can use with a regular Doorbell push button do you think this device would work for that? So scenes can be triggered in Vera when the doorbell button is pressed.

The other option is to use the dry input connection on a Fibaro Door/Window sensor.

Also I am not sure if I could use a regular doorbell chime unit or if I'd need to get the Everspring one here (http://store.zwaveeurope.com/product_info.php?products_id=12288&XTCsid=fa5ec17b9ad04c539578b006652082f4).

Thanks for any tips!
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: Frode on August 11, 2013, 10:14:07 am
U can use both options that u mention.
As for the doorbell the switch has to be voltage/potensial free, so you might have to disconnect the wiring or the powersupply on your existing doorbell.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: RexBeckett on August 11, 2013, 10:24:05 am
If you have a wired doorbell already, you can add a small relay of appropriate coil voltage across the chime unit's terminals and use the relay contacts to trigger the dry-contact Z-Wave transmitter.

Depending on what the power supply in the doorbell is, you may even be able to power a Fibaro Universal Binary Sensor from it and avoid the need for changing batteries. The Fibaro board will run from 9V to 30V DC supply.
 
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: cw-kid on August 11, 2013, 10:42:05 am
U can use both options that u mention.
As for the doorbell the switch has to be voltage/potensial free, so you might have to disconnect the wiring or the powersupply on your existing doorbell.

Hi thanks for the replies!

I wasn't sure if I would be able to also wire in a regular doorbell chime? Which is why I was thinking I may need the Everspring Z-wave doorbell chime unit instead. I know that the doorbell button that comes with the Everspring doorbell set doesn't work, which is why I am looking at this Wintop iTemp device and connecting it to a regular doorbell button etc.

Quote from: RexBeckett link=topic=16050.msg122333.html#msg122333

If you have a wired doorbell already, you can add a small relay of appropriate coil voltage across the chime unit's terminals and use the relay contacts to trigger the dry-contact Z-Wave transmitter.

Depending on what the power supply in the doorbell is, you may even be able to power a Fibaro Universal Binary Sensor from it and avoid the need for changing batteries. The Fibaro board will run from 9V to 30V DC supply.

There is an existing doorbell chime unit in place, I have never used it and there is currently no doorbell button attached but there are two wires poking outside for where a doorbell push button can be connected. The chime unit takes 4 x batteries and it says they are 1.5 volts each so 6 volts.

I am happy to purchase a newer / better chime unit as I need to get a push button as well, but looking for an easy / cheapish way of setting up a Z-wave enabled doorbell.

I've taken some photos of what is currently in place, please see attached.

Many thanks
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: RexBeckett on August 11, 2013, 11:12:28 am
Your cheapest solution would probably be to buy a new bell-push, batteries for the existing chime, a small 6V relay and either of the dry-contact Z-Wave transmitters. This assumes the existing chime still works (stick some batteries in it and short the two wires on the door frame). This sort of door-chime is inexpensive so, even if it has expired, a complete replacement would probably not blow your budget.  ;D

The Z-Wave chime plus a new bell-push plus a dry-contact transmitter is the most expensive option but it does allow you to position the chime where you want it - and you don't need to mess with wiring-up a relay.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: cw-kid on August 11, 2013, 11:20:29 am
Your cheapest solution would probably be to buy a new bell-push, batteries for the existing chime, a small 6V relay and either of the dry-contact Z-Wave transmitters. This assumes the existing chime still works (stick some batteries in it and short the two wires on the door frame). This sort of door-chime is inexpensive so, even if it has expired, a complete replacement would probably not blow your budget.  ;D

The Z-Wave chime plus a new bell-push plus a dry-contact transmitter is the most expensive option but it does allow you to position the chime where you want it - and you don't need to mess with wiring-up a relay.

Excellent think I will go with plan A,  I am looking for a push button now, found this one here (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Byron-7910-Hard-Wired-Door-Bell-Push-Doorbell-Press-Button-White-/121152587906?pt=UK_Home_Garden_Door_Accessories_LE&hash=item1c3541c882). As for the relay something like this (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/12-Amp-contacts-6V-volt-Relay-coil-12A-Power-PCB-124D-/270578013737?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Components_Supplies_ET&hash=item3effb4d629)?

The wiring for the chime unit to the relay and then the relay to the Z-wave dry input I am hoping won't be too difficult to figure out.

Many thanks
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: RexBeckett on August 11, 2013, 12:29:28 pm
The bell-push looks fine but the relay is a bit over the top for this application. Something more like: This (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/OMRON-COMPONENTS-G5V-1-6DC-SPDT-Relay-6-volt-miniature-PCB-relay-BRAND-NEW-/321178570818?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Components_Supplies_ET&hash=item4ac7bc1042) would be better and make your batteries last longer.

Looking at the photo of your chime, I think you would need to connect the relay coil to the two screws on the left of the black housing. Polarity matters - I think the lower screw connects to the battery positive and should therefore connect to the relay coil positive but check this.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: cw-kid on August 11, 2013, 12:45:28 pm
Thank you for the great advice!  ;D I will order that relay and push button then.

I have uploaded a much higher res image of the chime unit HERE (https://qvtiua.dm1.livefilestore.com/y2pIzpTXXnCJtGLZKHh4QffeUsTi5Sql0SCeXzsDcSk7L4WyRoaNuI3tmcGIaYigpqjlKr2ipjg6JZuoOcvMgRNTUJgBQNVo21ma-nUoFM8zhc/Hi-Res-Doorbell.jpg?psid=1). Looks like the manufacturer is Friedland, I will get some batteries for it tomorrow test it still works? I've been in this house for 13 years and never used it lol.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: RexBeckett on August 11, 2013, 01:35:34 pm
The hi-res photo makes it easier to see! It looks as though the relay coil should be connected between terminal 2 (lower left) and terminal 1 (upper right). The Omron datasheet here (http://www.omron.com/ecb/products/pdf/en-g5v_1.pdf) shows the pinout of the relay and also suggests that coil polarity is not important - they should know.  ;)

I hope you have access to a soldering iron...
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: RexBeckett on August 11, 2013, 06:47:00 pm
Before you put batteries in the chime just check that it isn't connected to a transformer. This would probably be somewhere near your consumer unit (or fuse-box). It would be a small box with similar thin white wires connected to it. It isn't too likely but it's worth checking.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: cw-kid on August 11, 2013, 07:13:29 pm
I can handle a soldering iron ok. Pretty sure there is no mains power to it, saw only one wire that leads out side. Only thing I'm not totally sure about is what pins to use on the relay, there appears to be six pins. Hopefully we can figure that out when I've got the parts here.

Thanks again!
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: RexBeckett on August 11, 2013, 07:42:35 pm
Quote
Only thing I'm not totally sure about is what pins to use on the relay
The coil is on pins 2 and 9. This connects to the chime. Pins 1 and 5 are normally-open contacts for connection to the dry-contact transmitter. The attached diagram is from the underside of the relay.

The only thing I'm not sure about is the connections to the chime. It looks like terminals 1 and 2 but then again... Do you have a voltmeter so you can check which terminals get the 6V across them when the bell-push gets pushed?

BTW: Your profile shows local time as being in the US but you referenced UK Ebay. Are you incognito?  ;D
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: cw-kid on August 12, 2013, 03:19:21 am
Hi

I'm in the UK, sunny Yorkshire! Maybe my profile has wrong time zone?

Yeah I have a multimeter so can test which terminal on the chime unit has 6v on it.


Cheers
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: cw-kid on August 12, 2013, 05:42:07 am
Well the good news is I now have a working doorbell! I went down to Toolstation this morning and bought a doorbell push button for ?1.24 and some batteries.

I have tested the terminals with a volt meter, there are 3 x terminals marked 0 , 1 , 2 I've uploaded another photo here (https://qvtiua.dm1.livefilestore.com/y2pn--Vu9e7PSwWBKOfAAy6Cnxkz9blenNOxIHk2imOMpg4Rs0txdPQucUcQlU0ccnxmsCONpXER4s3ZjbTOn8fELEjFtWXbIMmMeYME1dSENk/Hi-Res-Doorbell-2.jpg?psid=1) and marked on the picture which terminals are which.

If I put the red positive pin of the volt meter on to terminal 2 and the black negative pin of the volt meter on to terminal 0 I get 6.40 volts.

If I then put the black negative pin on to terminal 1 I get 0.00 volts.

I'll order the relay now off ebay and I need to get the Z-wave module from the distributor, think I will go for the Z-wave.me iTemp one.

EDIT: If I have the red pin of the volt meter on terminal 2 and the black pin of the volt meter on terminal 1 this gives me 0 volts, when I press the door bell it jumps up to about 5.5 volts. So terminal 1 is the one that gets the voltage when the doorbell is pressed down. I think this is right.  :-\
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: RexBeckett on August 12, 2013, 07:58:22 am
Quote
If I have the red pin of the volt meter on terminal 2 and the black pin of the volt meter on terminal 1 this gives me 0 volts, when I press the door bell it jumps up to about 5.5 volts. So terminal 1 is the one that gets the voltage when the doorbell is pressed down. I think this is right.  :-\
Sounds good. Connect the relay coil to terminals 1 and 2 and you should be in business.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: cw-kid on August 12, 2013, 08:09:02 am
Quote
If I have the red pin of the volt meter on terminal 2 and the black pin of the volt meter on terminal 1 this gives me 0 volts, when I press the door bell it jumps up to about 5.5 volts. So terminal 1 is the one that gets the voltage when the doorbell is pressed down. I think this is right.  :-\
Sounds good. Connect the relay coil to terminals 1 and 2 and you should be in business.

So its pins 2 and 9 on the relay coil connect to terminals 1 and 2 on the chime (no polarity) and then pins 1 and 5 on the relay go to the Z-wave.me iTemp Dry contact

I've ordered the Z-wave.me iTemp device will take a few days to arrive from Germany. I also treated myself to a second Aeon Minimote, one for downstairs and one for upstairs.  ;D

I'll let you know if it all works out with the doorbell, will have to do a little how-to write up on my blog (http://windowsmediacenter.blogspot.co.uk/) and give you the credit.

I think I am also at some point going to invest in one of those Keene IR over IP boxes and use your add-on for that to get the Logitech Harmony talking to Vera.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: cw-kid on August 14, 2013, 11:51:51 am
Just an update if people are following this, I got the Z-wave.me iTemp device this morning in the post, I have it setup already in Vera following these instructions here (http://www.vesternet.com/resources/application-notes/apnt-33#.UgYowJJwq5J).

I have both a new Temperature device and a Binary Contact device now showing in the Vera UI. Some issues with the temp sensor its displaying in farenheit and not in celsius as I would like, reading the instructions that came with the iTemp there doesn't appear to be a parameter to change this? Although the screen shots on the setup guide look like its in celsius. Will confirm this with the distributor.

Also I am not convinced yet that the temp being displayed from this device in Vera is correct? It currently reads 73F my other temp sensor in nearby area says 78F.

The Binary Contact sensor appears as a regular sensor device in Vera with Arm / Bypass buttons etc, which you can't use as it says "No Implementation"

However as a test I have used two wires in the iTemp devices binary contact sockets and when shorting them together, the doorbell scene I have created with some Luup code triggers and sends a pop-up notification to all XBMC Media Center PCs / TVs in the house and pauses their playback, so it is working!  ;D

I also plan to have lights come on and I am going to look at installing and setting up Vera Alerts to send notifications to our Android phones. Would be nice to be able to bring up the IP camera in XBMC as well if I can figure out how to do that.

I am still waiting for the relay to arrive from eBay so have not connected the iTemp to the relay / chime unit yet.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: cw-kid on August 20, 2013, 08:51:02 am
I fixed the Temp Sensor showing farenheit rather than celsius. In Vera - Setup - Location I changed the Temp format here to celsius. Also my location had been reset from London back to Abidjan. Must have been a recent system restore that did this. Anyway's the iTemp temp device is now showing in celsius.

I got the relay today I have just soldered pins 2 & 9 on the relay to terminals 1 & 2 on the chime unit. If I connect the volt meter to pins 5 & 6 on the relay and then press the door bell there is a small amount of voltage shown like 0.20 volts. I then proceeded to connect pins 5 & 6 on the relay to the iTemp dry contact.

I pressed the doorbell and VeraAlerts on my Android tablet said "There is someone at the door" I had previously installed and setup VeraAlerts for it to do this. However the iTemp Binary Contact device in Vera is now showing as constantly tripped the RED icon and is not going back to the GREEN icon.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: cw-kid on August 20, 2013, 09:32:44 am
Think its working I had it wired up wrong  >:(

I have connected the iTemp Dry contact to pins 1 & 5 now on the relay and not pins 5 & 6.

Now the iTemp is GREEN when all the wires are connected up. It only goes RED now when I press the doorbell!

You did say to use pins 1 & 5 here (http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?action=post;quote=122365;topic=16050.0;last_msg=122675) not sure how I got it wrong, anyway's its working so well pleased!

Thank you very much for your assistance in creating a relatively cheap Z-wave doorbell solution.  ;D

I can recommend the Z-wave.me iTemp device its very small only a little bigger than 3x AAA batteries. I used two cables within a CAT5 cable and ran a length from the porch in to the living room where the iTemp is mounted, better to have the temp of this room than that of the porch.

I have attached some pictures as well.

Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: RexBeckett on August 20, 2013, 09:46:02 am
I'm happy to hear it is working. It's good when a plan comes together.  ;D
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: cw-kid on August 20, 2013, 11:20:12 am
I've done a write up about this project on my blogs here (http://thedigitallifestyle.com/w/index.php/2013/08/20/how-to-z-wave-your-existing-wired-doorbell-with-vera/) and here (http://windowsmediacenter.blogspot.co.uk/2013/08/how-to-z-wave-your-existing-wired.html)  ;D

EDIT: HAHA I've just had some guy from Safe Style windows come to the door and knock on it rather than push the door bell. Well I guess you can't account for everything LOL.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: Rich1983 on December 26, 2013, 03:50:53 pm
Perfect guides.

Going to give this a try and will report back


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: Rich1983 on December 29, 2013, 01:32:35 pm
Perfect guides.

Going to give this a try and will report back


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

Hi

Done a trial setup on the desk with this setup but using a fibaro door/window sensor but only had a 24v relay. I just used what i had for testing and it works a treat. Just awaiting on proper relay and then i will proper fit it all but i like to thank you for this thread / guide as it made the job alot easier

Rich
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: jamesm1985 on February 24, 2014, 06:21:41 am
hi guys, am i right in thinking that i can bypass the chime unit and just have the bell push wired directly to the binary sensor without the need for wiring any relays. This would then trigger the sound come from a sonos player
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: topf1973 on March 20, 2014, 01:31:16 pm
Hello,
I works also with a iTemp sensor. It is in my greenhouse and i want to regulate a automatcally windows opener. But I have a bad connection from iTemp to my VERA 3, maybe to far away. I have between a repeater and also a socket, but my iTemp had no neighbors. Is it correct? In the manual is written:
It is possible to set the node ID to 255 to send wakeup notifications as broadcast. In this mode device takes more time to
go to sleep and drains battery faster, but can notify all it's direct neighbors about a wakeup.

Where can I find the node ID and how can I set the node ID to 255. Im a newbie in z-wave.
Greetings from Germany
Torsten
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: haavard on March 27, 2014, 04:51:06 pm
I have read this thread and find it very helpful. I am also trying to automate my door bell/ chime. My chime is powered from a 8v ac power supply. The chime looks similar or equal to the one in the pictures above. I also have a smal light in the door button.
Can someone advice on a relay that can match?

Regards
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: denix on April 23, 2015, 09:09:26 pm
Does anyone know if there is an US version of this device? Thanks.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: cw-kid on April 24, 2015, 03:15:58 am
Does anyone know if there is an US version of this device? Thanks.

I don't know, but it's not the best device. Mine eats batteries and the battery status reporting is hit and miss. I'd look for another device if I were you.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: denix on April 28, 2015, 01:50:04 pm
Hmm, from the discussion above, it looks like your doorbell operates on 6 VDC, which you interface via relay to a Z-Wave dry contact device. Has anyone looked at doing similar thing to a regular 12-16 VAC doorbell in the US? I don't know which relay to use - any recommendations? Thanks.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: RexBeckett on April 28, 2015, 02:21:01 pm
Hmm, from the discussion above, it looks like your doorbell operates on 6 VDC, which you interface via relay to a Z-Wave dry contact device. Has anyone looked at doing similar thing to a regular 12-16 VAC doorbell in the US? I don't know which relay to use - any recommendations? Thanks.

Low-voltage AC relays are not so common. You could use a 12 VDC relay and feed it via a small bridge rectifier.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: cw-kid on April 28, 2015, 03:18:36 pm
This maybe of Interest here (http://www.zwave.eu/blog/?p=627) Aeotec are releasing a new doorbell device.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: SteveZ on April 28, 2015, 10:30:46 pm
Hmm, from the discussion above, it looks like your doorbell operates on 6 VDC, which you interface via relay to a Z-Wave dry contact device. Has anyone looked at doing similar thing to a regular 12-16 VAC doorbell in the US? I don't know which relay to use - any recommendations? Thanks.

I use one of these (http://www.amazon.com/Functional-Devices-Ribu1C-Relay-Enclosed/dp/B000LESCI2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1430274478&sr=8-1&keywords=rib+relay) RIB relays that works on 10-30 volts ac or dc.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: denix on April 29, 2015, 02:40:59 pm
Hmm, from the discussion above, it looks like your doorbell operates on 6 VDC, which you interface via relay to a Z-Wave dry contact device. Has anyone looked at doing similar thing to a regular 12-16 VAC doorbell in the US? I don't know which relay to use - any recommendations? Thanks.

I use one of these (http://www.amazon.com/Functional-Devices-Ribu1C-Relay-Enclosed/dp/B000LESCI2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1430274478&sr=8-1&keywords=rib+relay) RIB relays that works on 10-30 volts ac or dc.

Thanks! That seems to be exactly what I need! I ordered one and will try it out soon.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: denix on April 30, 2015, 07:16:21 pm
Hmm, from the discussion above, it looks like your doorbell operates on 6 VDC, which you interface via relay to a Z-Wave dry contact device. Has anyone looked at doing similar thing to a regular 12-16 VAC doorbell in the US? I don't know which relay to use - any recommendations? Thanks.

I use one of these (http://www.amazon.com/Functional-Devices-Ribu1C-Relay-Enclosed/dp/B000LESCI2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1430274478&sr=8-1&keywords=rib+relay) RIB relays that works on 10-30 volts ac or dc.

Thanks! That seems to be exactly what I need! I ordered one and will try it out soon.

I'm happy to report that it works great! I connected this RIB relay's 10-30 VAC input coil to the bell, output NC coil to Everspring's Door/Window Dry Contacts and it gets triggered when the doorbell rings. Thanks!

BTW, the doorbell is actually 10 VAC exactly when energized.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: jonstrasser on August 06, 2015, 10:49:46 pm
Denix
My doorbell is running at 9.6V - according to my digital meter.   Do you think this will still work?
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device?
Post by: cw-kid on August 26, 2015, 09:14:02 am
Before you put batteries in the chime just check that it isn't connected to a transformer. This would probably be somewhere near your consumer unit (or fuse-box). It would be a small box with similar thin white wires connected to it. It isn't too likely but it's worth checking.

Hi RexBeeckett

My door chime that I used in this setup has died. I bought a new Byron 1217 wired doorbell chime kit. I think I have worked out which terminals I should use to wire in the existing relay but its no longer working when I press the doorbell.

The old door chime had 4x 1.5v batteries totalling 6V. The new Byron one only has 2x 1.5v batteries totalling 3v.

Should my existing 6v Omron relay work with the new 3v chime unit? Or do I need a new relay (http://uk.farnell.com/omron-electronic-components/g5v-1-3dc/relay-spdt-1a-3vdc/dp/2065727?ost=2065727&mckv=zCNnJewn&CMP=KNC-GUK-FUK-GEN-SHOPPING-OMRON_ELECTRONIC_COMPONENTS&CAGPSPN=pla&gclid=CKfZxcfsxscCFUFmGwod60kKyA&CAWELAID=120173390001531314&gross_price=true) only rated for 3v ?

Thanks.

I've just ordered a 3VDC relay only ?1.73 delivered will try it with that one.

EDIT: Its working again with the new 3VDC relay!
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: cw-kid on November 19, 2015, 05:15:19 am
Hi

The Z-Wave.me iTemp device no longer works properly on UI7 / VeraEdge

I recently moved from a VeraLite UI5 to a new VeraEdge UI7. The Z-Wave.me iTemp device did include and the temperature sensor device does appear OK in the device list in the web GUI.

However as per the original instructions here (http://www.vesternet.com/resources/application-notes/apnt-33), you also need to install the iTemp Plugin to get the binary sensor / dry contact part of the device to work.

The iTemp Plugin does seemingly install OK and says This plugin has created the following devices: # 94 iTemp Plugin
however in the device list in the UI7 web GUI  the iTemp Plugin cannot be seen or found anywhere.

So you then cannot configure the binary sensor and set it up properly. Strangely the Vera Mobile Android app does list a device called iTemp Plugin in the No Room section but you can't click on it or do anything with it in the mobile app.

I am unsure why the iTemp Plugin device is just not visible in UI7? I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the plugin but its the same.

So this device is no longer working, I did raise a ticket with support but not had a full response as yet.

Attached are the D_iTemp.xml and I_iTemp.xml files which I downloaded from my Vera unit. If anyone has the skills to understand what might be wrong with the plugin code?

Thanks.
Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: cw-kid on November 19, 2015, 05:20:45 am
Also attached is the user  manual for the Z-Wave.me iTemp device

Title: Re: Anyone using Wintop / Z-Wave.me Temperature / Dry Contact device? DOORBELL
Post by: cw-kid on November 29, 2015, 10:24:36 am
Just an update, Vera support say that they have updated the iTemp plugin in the marketplace.

They manually updated a json file on my VeraEdge and now the iTemp plugin and the binary sensor portion of the Z-Wave.me iTemp device are shown correctly in the UI7 device list. I can confirm that the binary sensor is working and is tripped when I push my door bell and my door bell scene is then run.

If I look at the iTemp plugin app on the VeraEdge it says: Current Version:0.2 not sure if this said version 0.1 previously I think it may have.

Only remaining issue is with the Temperature Sensor device portion of the Z-Wave.me iTemp device, this always seems to say Can't Detect Device. I can manually poll it and the error goes away for a while but then always comes back later.