The Vera Community forums have moved!

General => Upgrading => Topic started by: whoamib on August 27, 2014, 11:15:42 am

Title: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: whoamib on August 27, 2014, 11:15:42 am
I have been trying to downgrade my vera3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5 for many days now and all of the current forum suggestions haven't work.  Does anyone have a .bin file that I could use to flash UI5 onto my vera so I can get back to UI5? 

I have spent years making massive amounts of logic work in my vera and then the vera died and I got a new Vera 3 but it had UI6 loaded on it which is crap and doesn't support all of the functions that UI5 supports.  Hence why I have to get back to UI5 so I can import my previous backup from UI5.

Thanks in advanced for any help!

Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: oTi@ on August 27, 2014, 02:26:06 pm
So this (http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,23161.msg186124.html#msg186124)  topic/post didn't help?
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: whoamib on August 27, 2014, 09:34:52 pm
oTi@ - no that topic did not help initially but I read it again and saw that someone was able to get through to support using the Chat method and that was super useful!  I had left about 5 messages and called about 30 times, and sent about 3 messages using the web form.  I tried this all over at least a week and got no responses.  So then I read that post again an realized that someone got through to support quickly using the live chat option which I completely overlooked previously.

So then after having Support take my force upgrade flag off I was able to downgrade from UI7 to UI5.  I figured that I would be able to downgrade then see the upgrades happen if I had the flag on my account, but nope I think the flag actually doesn't allow you to downgrade which was my problem.

The other thing that other topics don't explain very well is that you have to use the top URL entry box "You use the "URL for Vera custom firmware" box" to do the downgrade.

1) Setup | Firmware
2) URL for Vera custom firmware box:  -  http://download.mios.com/rt3662_betafirmware/rt3662_Luup_ui5-1.5.622-en-mios.squashfs
             Not the lower box: URL for OpenWRT custom firmware
3) Save Backup
4) Select: Restore to Factory Default State  ---- This is required for downgrades
5) Click button: Start Upgrade
6) Wait 4-10 min, clock may not move but your device will reboot

Once your device has a solid green power light and the z-wave light is solid also you will know it's done.  It took about 4 minutes for me.

I hope this helps people like me who got stuck on the downgrade process.  Knowledge is power!
-whoamib
7) Setup | Backup
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: oTi@ on August 27, 2014, 09:42:05 pm
Thanks for (re-)confirming the existence of the upgrade flag and that it seemed to also prevent a downgrade; as well as for providing the steps.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: Brientim on August 27, 2014, 10:21:00 pm
There was a related thread and post that someone did immediately after that last post but was not crossed referenced. 
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: oTi@ on August 28, 2014, 05:59:41 am
Right; there's been a handful of reports now. And I've actually seen my own Vera auto-change to UI6; haven't tried the downgrade. Conflicting reports about whether it actually prevents a downgrade, or will accept the downgrade, and then immediately update again. End result is the same of course.


I figured that I would be able to downgrade then see the upgrades happen if I had the flag on my account, but nope I think the flag actually doesn't allow you to downgrade which was my problem.

After my 8th downgrade attempt, i figured out that after a successful downgrade vera is rebooting & auto-upgrading to UI 6. So it appeared as if the downgrade to UI5 never happened.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: Charlie H on August 30, 2014, 02:27:13 am
Hi everyone.
I am totally new on this matter. I have tried to downgrade my Vera 3 from Ui7 to Ui5. Something went wrong because the "power" led is flashing green and orange...nothing happens after that. What should I do? Thanks.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: helraiser on September 07, 2014, 04:42:26 am
Just got my new Vera 3 and after spending hours trying to configure it to work with my alarm panel, and finding out UI7 is buggy with serial ports, I tried downgrading. It seemed like it took but then started the auto upgrade back to UI7. Unacceptable. Logging a ticket with support to remove this auto-upgrade setting. Why that is mandatory is beyond me.

I'm one step away from going back to my other controller and sending this one back to Amazon.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: oTi@ on September 07, 2014, 01:08:05 pm
Logging a ticket with support to remove this auto-upgrade setting.
Try chat. I was done in 4 minutes yesterday (Saturday).

Apparently some units are shipped with a flag set that causes them to upgrade automatically. When the owners have re-installed UI5, the flag continues to download UI7. Support can remove the flag.
Affirmative. As said on other threads, just start a chat with support and the flag may get disabled within 5 minutes; even on the weekends (or at least on Saturday).
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: helraiser on September 07, 2014, 03:54:36 pm
Logging a ticket with support to remove this auto-upgrade setting.
Try chat. I was done in 4 minutes yesterday (Saturday).

Looks like I'll have to wait till tomorrow. No support on the weekend. :(
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: tyarmas on September 09, 2014, 11:40:25 pm
Where is there an option for using chat with support?

I have called a dozen times and sent 3 emails in 12 hours. No response at all.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: oTi@ on September 10, 2014, 10:04:08 am
Right on this support website (http://support.getvera.com/)...
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: tyarmas on September 10, 2014, 05:43:04 pm
Doh! I must have looked at that page 10 times and never saw the chat icon.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: imowt on September 11, 2014, 08:51:13 pm
This is very interesting, because I just purchased my Vera3 online and found out that the UI that is associated with it is UI5. Guessing it was from the previous owner or that it was never updated. When I found out I was under the impression I was going to have to upgrade ( if possible ) download the latest firmware. But maybe it is a good thing that I am running UI5
 I haven't actually installed it yet since I am still installing switched and what not, but I guess my question is ...
 Which version is best?  and should I even upgrade?
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: integlikewhoa on September 11, 2014, 09:26:18 pm
But maybe it is a good thing that I am running UI5
 I haven't actually installed it yet since I am still installing switched and what not, but I guess my question is ...
 Which version is best?  and should I even upgrade?

I can't think of a good reason to upgrade to anything higher then UI5 at the moment. I'm currently running UI5
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: integlikewhoa on September 11, 2014, 09:27:58 pm
Just got my new Vera 3 and after spending hours trying to configure it to work with my alarm panel, and finding out UI7 is buggy with serial ports, I tried downgrading. It seemed like it took but then started the auto upgrade back to UI7. Unacceptable. Logging a ticket with support to remove this auto-upgrade setting. Why that is mandatory is beyond me.

I'm one step away from going back to my other controller and sending this one back to Amazon.

Did you login into cp.mios.com after downgrading? If you try and login into getvera.com thats for UI6 and UI7 only. It will find your vera and update it. You need to make a new account under cp.mios.com for UI5 and login there.
Title: Cant seem do downgrade from UI7 to UI5
Post by: croft1972 on September 17, 2014, 06:57:13 pm
I received my second Vera Light which Im going to use at my office.  It came with UI7.  Im trying to downgrade it to UI5 so I can see both my HOME Vera and OFFICE Vera on my account. 

Ive followed the directions to Downgrade it and it won't drop to UI5.  Everything seems to go correctly but it keeps coming back up on UI7.

Or is this just impossible to do?

Thanks
Chris
Title: Re: Cant seem do downgrade from UI7 to UI5
Post by: RexBeckett on September 17, 2014, 07:10:48 pm
Contact Support at support@getvera.com or via the chat link on the web page at support.getvera.com

They can remove the flag that is causing your Vera to auto-update to UI7.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: fall-line on September 29, 2014, 02:03:42 pm
For what it's worth, I had a great chat with support on the phone this morning after having called in and left a message. They called be back within ~30 minutes.

They confirmed that the 'auto upgrade' flag is really only in effect for newer vera units shipped in the last year (actually I'm unsure on exactly the time period). I have one of the very first Vera 3s as well as a Vera Lite and a Vera2, none of which had the flag set (obviously on the vera2). I was able to downgrade from UI7 to UI5 (1.5.622) without issue, using the steps described above.

I have some devices to reconfigure now, but this gets me back up and mostly operational after UI7 unfortunately broke a few things such as my Leviton 4 button scene controllers.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: spudjr on September 30, 2014, 03:03:23 pm
Downgraded a new Vera3 from UI7 to UI5. The process took all of 5 min. Contacted Online Chat and they removed the upgrade flag. all of a 2 min chat. Downgraded the software and good to good. Just need to copy the config from my Veralite to the new Vera3
Hear lots of complaints about support, but all I can say the online chat service was great.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: destinet on October 14, 2014, 09:34:30 am
i dont see the chat button anymore?
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: ndoty on October 25, 2014, 07:14:00 pm
No chat for me either. Tried calling a bunch of times and sent an email already. Still nothing. I am getting really irritated that i cant control my devices with this garbage they call a product.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: teonebello on December 19, 2014, 10:02:21 am
oTi@ - no that topic did not help initially but I read it again and saw that someone was able to get through to support using the Chat method and that was super useful!  I had left about 5 messages and called about 30 times, and sent about 3 messages using the web form.  I tried this all over at least a week and got no responses.  So then I read that post again an realized that someone got through to support quickly using the live chat option which I completely overlooked previously.

So then after having Support take my force upgrade flag off I was able to downgrade from UI7 to UI5.  I figured that I would be able to downgrade then see the upgrades happen if I had the flag on my account, but nope I think the flag actually doesn't allow you to downgrade which was my problem.

The other thing that other topics don't explain very well is that you have to use the top URL entry box "You use the "URL for Vera custom firmware" box" to do the downgrade.

1) Setup | Firmware
2) URL for Vera custom firmware box:  -  http://download.mios.com/rt3662_betafirmware/rt3662_Luup_ui5-1.5.622-en-mios.squashfs
             Not the lower box: URL for OpenWRT custom firmware
3) Save Backup
4) Select: Restore to Factory Default State  ---- This is required for downgrades
5) Click button: Start Upgrade
6) Wait 4-10 min, clock may not move but your device will reboot

Once your device has a solid green power light and the z-wave light is solid also you will know it's done.  It took about 4 minutes for me.

I hope this helps people like me who got stuck on the downgrade process.  Knowledge is power!
-whoamib
7) Setup | Backup

Hi, where can I find that flag?

Thank you in advance
Regards,
Matteo
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: destinet on December 19, 2014, 10:10:56 am

Hi, where can I find that flag?

Thank you in advance
Regards,
Matteo

You need to contact the VERA support team.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: guest141575 on December 20, 2014, 12:33:40 pm
You need to contact the VERA support team.

Is this a very complicated flag to set or is it a secret for some reason?
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: integlikewhoa on December 20, 2014, 02:37:20 pm
It's not a button on our side to press. It's on their side of the servers. So YES
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: chickenlegs on January 11, 2015, 12:42:29 pm
Can you can downgrade and use the new vera edge with UI5 or UI6. I'm finding UI7 very buggy and extremely basic ...
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: integlikewhoa on January 12, 2015, 10:39:27 am
No vera edge is ui7 only due to new zwave plus chip.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: sely on January 13, 2015, 10:01:31 pm
Unfortunately my VeraLite is on UI7.  Contacting support a couple of times creating support tickets, since 4 days ago and no response.  I guess I will call tomorrow and see if I can downgrade remotely.  Things I can't get to work:
MimoLite Plugin
MIMOlite Garage Door Contoller
Can't change associations once set
PLEG using Modes trigger (this one might be me not understanding the plugin)
Random reboots and disconnects while configuring at home.
If I can't get fixed off it goes back to Amazon.

Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: integlikewhoa on January 13, 2015, 10:25:33 pm
Unfortunately my VeraLite is on UI7.  Contacting support a couple of times creating support tickets, since 4 days ago and no response.  I guess I will call tomorrow and see if I can downgrade remotely.  Things I can't get to work:
MimoLite Plugin
MIMOlite Garage Door Contoller
Can't change associations once set
PLEG using Modes trigger (this one might be me not understanding the plugin)
Random reboots and disconnects while configuring at home.
If I can't get fixed off it goes back to Amazon.

OK
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: sely on January 14, 2015, 02:27:33 pm
OK!  I was able to get UI5 after all without getting support.  The Veralite kept all my devices.  I only had to exclude/include my locks again.  So far everything works.  Mimolite  works.  woohooo!
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: integlikewhoa on January 14, 2015, 07:30:48 pm
OK!  I was able to get UI5 after all without getting support.  The Veralite kept all my devices.  I only had to exclude/include my locks again.  So far everything works.  Mimolite  works.  woohooo!

That's great news.
Title: Re: Downgrade Vera 3 from UI6 or UI7 to UI5
Post by: Jakey69 on February 13, 2015, 09:41:59 am
OK!  I was able to get UI5 after all without getting support.  The Veralite kept all my devices.  I only had to exclude/include my locks again.  So far everything works.  Mimolite  works.  woohooo!

Could you share how you accomplished that?

Thanks,
Jack