Vera - Smarter Home Control Forum

General => Temperature Monitoring & HVAC Control => Topic started by: save on September 29, 2014, 05:20:50 am

Title: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: save on September 29, 2014, 05:20:50 am
Hi,

Anybody have tested the Secure SRT321 with the new UI7 firmware of Veralite.  This thermostat have been runnig very well with the UI5. And NOT with UI7

Is it going to run with it?

Regards
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: zwaved on September 29, 2014, 11:00:28 am
Hi
I wouldn't recommend upgrading. I am having problems getting it to function properly.

see: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,26924.0.html


Tech support is unable to help

doesn't work under UI6 or 7

considering to downgrade to 5

Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: rostmo on September 29, 2014, 03:00:13 pm
It worked fine on UI7 until upgrading to 1.7.374 this weekend. Then all my SRT321 was set to a new ID so they lost connection with the switches. I had to reconfigure them all over. Now all SRT321 works fine again, and controls the switches without problems.

To get SRT321 to work this is what I did (after register/learning into Vera):

1: Under Device Option for the SRT321 assign Group ID 2. Press "Set" and link to the switch which controls the heating.
2: Under Device Option for the switch assign group ID 2. Press "Set" and link to the SRT321.
3: To get temperature displayed on UI and to be able to control the thermostat from ImperiHome etc. go into Advanced for SRT321. In the "New service/variable/value" add the following:
  New service: urn:upnp-org:serviceId:HVAC_UserOperatingMode1
  New variable: ModeStatus
  New value: HeatOn
4: Dip switch #1 on SRT321 to On and turn Wheel until "n" is showed in the display and press the Wheel ...wait until "nP" is replied. Wait a few seconds. Dip switch #1 back to Off.

This I had to do on both releases on UI7.

Hope this helps.
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: zwaved on September 29, 2014, 05:23:58 pm
You are awesome :-)


Now it finally works :-)

I have been talking to Vera for about a month without any result?

Thank you
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: rostmo on October 01, 2014, 10:17:39 am
I'm glad it was helpfull.

Step 3 is described at http://support.betaalbare-domotica.eu/get-setpoints-working-in-ui7/ (http://support.betaalbare-domotica.eu/get-setpoints-working-in-ui7/) which I used as source. I guess this is the troublesome part for most SRT321 users

Step 1,2,and 4 was from the "cryptic" SRT321 manual.
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: zwaved on October 05, 2014, 03:35:27 pm
Hey everybody

New problem?


I thought I would reset the VeraLight and install the latest firmware before I added all my devices.

Now when I install the Secure it does not show the ambient temperature just the SetTemp.

Anyone know what is wrong this time?

I am getting tired of Vera :-(
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: save on October 06, 2014, 04:16:00 pm
Hello,

It happen the same to me: I have created the new service but  in the browser it's not showed the ambient temperature just the SetTemp. In the apk (ImperiHome), it runs very well.

It also happen with the virtual thermostat, I can use it through the apk, but I see nothing in the browser (chrome, mozzilla,..)

So The UI7 interface does't run with thermostats. Is it going to be solved by mios team?
Regards

Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: schenkl on October 10, 2014, 10:50:41 am
This seems to be a big issue with UI7 and the SRT321.  Has anyone just given up and gone back to UI5?  How difficult would that be?  I've followed all the posts that I could find, and have only gotten the set temperature to show up, but I still can not set the temperature on the unit (I have no issues with UI5).....Has anyone gotten the unit to work with UI7?

If not, can someone point me in the direction to installing UI5 on my VeraLite.

Many thanks,
schenkl

Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: schenkl on October 16, 2014, 10:37:42 am
Greeting:
I admitted defeat.  I retreated to UI5.  Now everything work just fine.

I hope everyone else has better luck.

schenkl
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: zwaved on October 17, 2014, 09:06:47 am
Hey Schenkl

How did you revert to Ui?

Do you have a link to a guide?


Thanx
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: cityboy on January 13, 2015, 01:28:52 pm
I'm also having problems. I've got three of these and the latest firmware. The old ones work fine, the new one I tried to add configures, but won't allow me to set the temperature. I suspect the reason is that the Heat On Heat Off button doesn't work on this thermostat, and therefore a new thermostat can't be turned on to set the temp.
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: d55m14 on January 13, 2015, 02:42:12 pm
I've migrated the SRT321 from Veralite UI5 (where it was working fine) to VeraEdge UI7.

I followed the instructions of rostmo and it seems working but after some tests I was not able to set the temperature : it seems that the SRT321 doesn't wake up (I've set the wake up interval to 300) but it wakes up every 1800 seconds.

So the change in wakeup interval seems not to be applied also if in the advanced parameters the value is 300.


If I force the wakeup (nP or LI) then the temperature is set.

any idea ?

tnks
donato
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: jespolini on January 14, 2015, 05:12:47 am
I have two of these, and it seems they are working as they should in UI7 after some trial and error.

I`m pretty certain I only used the "L" function when pairing the thermostat. After that - all settings were done one by one (i.e. wakeupinterval - save - send to SRT with "configure node now" - refresh..etc), and sent to the SRT with the LI (listen) function.

To get the setpoints working, add the parameters in Advanced mentioned above:

New service: urn:upnp-org:serviceId:HVAC_UserOperatingMode1
New variable: ModeStatus
New value: HeatOn

I tried the different steps mentioned here and other places, but was not successful before I restricted myself to only use the LI mode and add parameters and changes one by one.

Also - it should not be neccesary to group both the switches AND the SRT in Vera. I have four different pluginmodules working fine, and the grouping in group 2 is only done on the SRT`s settings-page.
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: d55m14 on January 14, 2015, 09:19:57 am
Hi,

thank you very much for your suggestion. I've update the parameter one by one and now the thermostat wake up interval seems ok.

donato 

I have two of these, and it seems they are working as they should in UI7 after some trial and error.

I`m pretty certain I only used the "L" function when pairing the thermostat. After that - all settings were done one by one (i.e. wakeupinterval - save - send to SRT with "configure node now" - refresh..etc), and sent to the SRT with the LI (listen) function.

To get the setpoints working, add the parameters in Advanced mentioned above:

New service: urn:upnp-org:serviceId:HVAC_UserOperatingMode1
New variable: ModeStatus
New value: HeatOn

I tried the different steps mentioned here and other places, but was not successful before I restricted myself to only use the LI mode and add parameters and changes one by one.

Also - it should not be neccesary to group both the switches AND the SRT in Vera. I have four different pluginmodules working fine, and the grouping in group 2 is only done on the SRT`s settings-page.
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: filwa on January 14, 2015, 01:11:06 pm
Thanks for the solution. My SRT321 answers now, but it doesnt transmit it to my srt322.

Anyone that have a solution for this?
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: jespolini on January 15, 2015, 04:57:47 am
My pleasure. Hope it stays that way  :)

Quote
Posted by: filwa
Thanks for the solution. My SRT321 answers now, but it doesnt transmit it to my srt322. Anyone that have a solution for this?

It should transmit if you created a group 2 on the thermostats settings-page:

Device options-->Add group (type 2 in the box)-->Set-->Chose your SRT322-->Back-->Save-->LI mode on SRT321-->"configure node right now" and finally DIP switch back to normal on SRT321...
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: filwa on January 16, 2015, 01:14:59 pm
Thank you.

Had to exclude and include a few times but now it works.

Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: jespolini on January 17, 2015, 11:48:15 am
Nice!
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: diegocastanogonzalez on January 22, 2015, 08:07:11 pm
I have a problem with this thermostats and the modes, because I would like change the temperature when I change to the away or night mode, but I tried and the thermostats don?t change when the mode change. Any idea?
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: filwa on January 28, 2015, 03:48:30 pm
diegocastanogonzalez

Have you solved this?

I am thinking of gooing through Luua.

Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: diegocastanogonzalez on January 29, 2015, 07:15:33 am
I couldn?t solved the problem, I?m looking for a solution.
Any idea?
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: jespolini on January 29, 2015, 09:10:39 am
Sorry - never tried the HOME/AWAY modes, and frankly hope they include an option to remove them from the GUI in next fw.. :-)

I have the thermostats Setpoints controlled with PLEG. I have different rules for day/night/weekends etc. This works very well for me. When I need to change the temp outside of the preset periods, I turn the dials manually :-)

Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: Brighters on March 02, 2015, 09:10:49 am
I got both included into Vera with UI7. It works, but basic. I had to exclude and include again after upgrading from UI5 to UI7.

However, changing setpoints through Vera does NOT work. I have to manually turn the dial on the device.
Quite annoying! Does anyone know a fix for this?
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: RexBeckett on March 02, 2015, 09:35:58 am
Did you try this fix (http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,27402.msg213497.html#msg213497)?
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: mistrypritz on March 07, 2015, 07:02:12 pm
Hey all, I have noticed a strange issue with my setup it all worked fine on UI5 then my veralite died an I got a new veralite which was on UI7 which I had to downgrade as I couldn't see the heating modules but Ill admit I need to check if I'm on UI5/6 but through out the day the heating just turns itself on an I come home to the house pretty hot...

I look at the thermo an it will be set to 18 degrees but the room temp will be 23... An I can't turn the heating off at all no matter what I do as it's not showing as on via the device or veralite.

There is something wrong as I plugged the old heating system back in an it works as it should so it has to be an issue with veralite UI...
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: webdesco on July 02, 2015, 05:49:39 am
UPDATE!
The latest firmware release of UI7 appears to have addressed the setpoint issue as when I went into settings Advanced->Variables, ModeStatus was already configured to HeatOn.

Some things to note however, when I first included the device (position L in the thermostat) UI7 recognised it and showed a device that had about 4 buttons (HEAT,COLD plus two others)  then after a while (can't remember whether it coincided with me turning the dial to LI and pressing 'configure node right now' or not) all the buttons disapeared (see attachment).  When I turn the thermostat dial to demand heat the device information on the screen shows the new stepping temperature but there is no indication that heat is in demand.  I have associated group 2 on the device to the Zone valve of the kitchen, saved and configured the device successfully and it DOES work (zone valve and boiler kick in) but no visual indication on the thermostat device 'icon'.  I'm sure in UI5 there was a visual indication.  Can anyone confirm please.
Also quickly created a test scene to manually change the setpoint and can confirm that once the thermostat woke up (5 mins) the new setpoint was displayed on the thermostat LCD.
Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: cw-kid on April 10, 2018, 08:21:34 am
I don't have the OFF / COOL / HEAT buttons either like they are shown on this screen shot.

How do you get those buttons to appear on the UI ?

Thanks

Title: Re: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: rayshields on May 21, 2018, 06:03:54 pm
Add Heat button http://support.betaalbare-domotica.eu/get-setpoints-working-in-ui7-2/
Title: SRT321 thermostat with UI7
Post by: andreysunomb on May 21, 2018, 06:16:22 pm
so I need to install new 6 wires cables, but the most 2 stage thermostats would work with that furnace?  I hate nest, and looking into Honeywell Wifi thermostat like this one