The Vera Community forums have moved!

General => Temperature Monitoring & HVAC Control => Topic started by: Xenon@alphapixel.com on January 15, 2015, 11:47:16 pm

Title: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: Xenon@alphapixel.com on January 15, 2015, 11:47:16 pm
I have a Veralite, firmware  1.7.481.

I have the Monoprice motion/temp sensor http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=122&cp_id=12212&cs_id=1221201&p_id=10796&seq=1&format=2
and it's working great as a motion sensor. I don't NEED the temp sensor feature but I figured I'd like to have it if it's available. So in installed the iDoorContact plugin, v 0.9 ( http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/IDoorContact ).

It automatically creates a new device representing my temp sensor, and I can name it and assign a room, but it doesn't ever actually SHOW anything either in the dashboard, or in the Devices view.

Settings, Advanced, and Device Options for this device are all blank.

If I go into the Advanced tab for the main Motion Sensor device, I can see the field where it's reporting the temperature, so it's actually working, it's just not showing up in the iDoorContact device.

Am I missing some configuration step?

I've tried uninstalling an reinstalling the iDoorContact plugin, and rebooting the Veralite and nothing has changed.

Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: batman on January 18, 2015, 10:58:22 pm
I have the same issue with the latest firmware.  :'(  Is the author available to update the plugin? I would be willing to do the testing if needed.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: Xenon@alphapixel.com on February 18, 2015, 12:32:31 am
For what it's worth, my logfile says " No iDoorContact devices to monitor."

I'm not smart enough to debug the plugin myself yet. It'd sure be nice to have this working.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: BOFH on February 18, 2015, 12:21:26 pm
I'm running it on Ui7 (7.04 on a Vera 3) with 3 of the Monoprice sensors. You do have to add the sensor ID's to the plugin and set a Wakeup interval  time.

In the idoorplugin:

Settings
Set the Wakeup interval to 1800

Advanced
On the Variables tab, in the iDoorContacts field (Add it if it is not there via New Variable - it is case sensitive) enter the device numbers of the MonoPrice PIR sensors separated by commas, eg 57,93,64

Reload the LUUP engine and it will create the devices. Wait a few hours and it should retrieve the temperatures and put them on the devices.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: Pducharme on March 06, 2015, 09:47:05 pm
I have the same sensor, I added and I added the IDoorContact plugin 0.9 and add the Sensor ID for the virtual Temperature sensor. 

My issue... it always display 0C or 0F (I switch from C to F in case it works only in F...).  I guess the the temp sensor never get pull ?

Anyone can help? I contacted support, no reply yet.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: Wekurtz74 on May 09, 2015, 11:56:29 pm
Is this plug in still available?  I can seem to locate it anymore.   Has it been superceded by the iTemp plugin?

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

EDIT:  Apparently now called Additional Temperature Device.  Description of it makes it appear it is different from IDoorContacts. 
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: mrmengo on September 25, 2015, 10:08:49 pm
I too am having the same result as the OP.  There just is no new additional devices added after idoor .  The app says there is, but it does not show in devices.  I need both temp and motion for these devices to work for me.  :-(

Does anyone know why this might not add a new device.  Until that happens, I can not add the device numbers of the MonoPrice PIR sensor.

UI7 - 1.7.690
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: BOFH on September 25, 2015, 11:35:17 pm
I just checked my setup. The 'Additional temperature' device that was on my devices page is no longer there. That device is where you add the ID's. Me thinks one of the firmware upgrades since 7.04 may have broken this plugin. GetVera would have to look into this I fear...
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: cybrmage on September 26, 2015, 07:09:55 am
Attached are two files that are needed to fix the "Additional Temperature Device" under UI7...

The plugin does not specify a json file for the device... and newer versions of UI7 will not show the device without a json file. The attached files are a generic json file and the device file that specifies this new json file...

Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: BOFH on September 26, 2015, 08:09:56 am
And again , Cybrmage to the rescue! Thank You!

I just downloaded the files and pushed them to my Vera. After a LUUP reload, the device is now again visible.

And yes, I did this from work. I trust Cybrmage's capabilities.

This should hopefully fix everyone's issues.

Download the files attached to Cybrmage's post to your computer.
On your UI7 Vera, go to APP -> Develop Plugin and click the UPLOAD button and upload these two files. Then restart LUUP
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: mrmengo on September 26, 2015, 02:53:17 pm
Files are downloaded.
UI7 Vera, go to APP -> Develop Plugin and click the UPLOAD button and uploaded the two files.  Verified files exist. Restarted LUUP. 
Device still does not show under devices.  Restarted veralite. No joy. I tried deleting the app and re installing thinking that if the files were now in veralite that any issue not creating the generic device would no longer happen. No luck.

Note: Sensors are functioning and reporting including temp from the the advance variables CurrentTemperature'. This is a new veralite (parents house) and the sensors are new to it. I previously never had idoorcontact ever working.  I say this thinking that my issue might not be solved the same way as BOFH. I am gathering that BOFH's generic device was already in the system. 

Thank you all for any help.  Am I missing a step? Is there anything else that I can do?

To add: In addition to the two files that I added, there is also I_iDoorContact.xml.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: mrmengo on September 26, 2015, 05:49:02 pm
Further Discovery.  I went out and purchased an Aeotec Multisensor 6-1 (I really needed that temp) and when I paired it, the 'Additional temperatu' (limited chars in UI7) showed up.  Totally not what I was expecting.  I am guessing that I should have tried to pair the motion sensor again after installing iDoorContact?  I have added the device id to the iDoorContacts variables.  Nothing showing up yet, but hopes are high.  I have since excluded the 6-1.  Pretty slick sensor, but I want to keep things simple for now.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: mrmengo on September 28, 2015, 09:44:23 pm
Just wanted to add to the thread that this did work after the 'Additional temperatu' showed up and the new iDoor device appeared.  The mobile iOS app shows C rather than what is correctly displayed on the web gui.  But that is another issue. 
Thank you all for the help. 
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: andreyklinger on October 05, 2015, 08:26:39 am
Also note that when a "iDoor #45 XXX" device is created, you can't rename it, otherwise the code won't work. It assumes that the name starts with "iDoor #%d""
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: dbldown768 on November 11, 2015, 10:32:15 am
Im having a hell of a time to get the temp to work. First off, it appears that some field changed since this thread.  I have updated the xml and json file.  I do see my motion sensor device (id#9), additional temporature device (#10).  I selected the additional temp device, went to advanced, then variables and put in 9 in the IDoorContacts variable, to match my motion sensor device.

Then I go to settings->z-wave settings->advanced->reload engine.  After it loads up I do see a new device, iDoor #9 temp sensor.  However this sensor does not display anything but 0F.

In the motion sensor (#9) advanced variables, i have tried putting in 9, 10, or 11 in the iDoorContacts variable.  None of these seem to do anything to the temperature.  I know Im close and must be missing something.  If a picture helps, please let me know, i would upload one.  Also the #9 device has wakeupIterval of 1800 set.  I do see the temp in the variables of the motion sensor (#9) device

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: trswyo on November 12, 2015, 10:11:12 pm
Im having a hell of a time to get the temp to work. First off, it appears that some field changed since this thread.  I have updated the xml and json file.  I do see my motion sensor device (id#9), additional temporature device (#10).  I selected the additional temp device, went to advanced, then variables and put in 9 in the IDoorContacts variable, to match my motion sensor device.

Then I go to settings->z-wave settings->advanced->reload engine.  After it loads up I do see a new device, iDoor #9 temp sensor.  However this sensor does not display anything but 0F.

In the motion sensor (#9) advanced variables, i have tried putting in 9, 10, or 11 in the iDoorContacts variable.  None of these seem to do anything to the temperature.  I know Im close and must be missing something.  If a picture helps, please let me know, i would upload one.  Also the #9 device has wakeupIterval of 1800 set.  I do see the temp in the variables of the motion sensor (#9) device

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Did you ever find a solution to this? I am having the same issue.

Thanks
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: dbldown768 on November 13, 2015, 08:06:54 am
Nope. Was just going to ask, if anyone has any suggestions or comments, it would be much appreciated. Right now this thing is sitting on my counter as I really wanted the temp part of this sensor.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: rafale77 on November 13, 2015, 10:22:33 am
I manually created a temperature sensor device and created a scene to poll the temperature from the motion sensor every 5 minutes. I found this somewhere in this forum. Didn't need any plugging to do this. If interested, maybe do a search on Vision Motion sensor. I would have to look it up.

Edit: Found it

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,13041.msg146816.html#msg146816
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: cybrmage on November 14, 2015, 02:35:59 am
I've been seeing a lot of posts where people can't get the Additional Temperature Device plugin configured properly...

So, I automated the device configuration.... updated implementation file is attached...

To use this:

1) Install the plugin, if you haven't already.
2) Once your Vera has finished reloading, find the "Additional Temperature Device" that was created in the dashboard.
3) Go to the device settings/advanced page and change the impl_file attribute to "I_iDoorContact-auto.xml"
4) Go to Apps/Develop Apps/Luup files... Make sure "restart luup after upload" is checked, and upload the L_iDoorContact-auto.xml" file to your Vera.

When your Vera reloads, the new implimentation will create a temperature sensor device for each installed device that:
A) Is a Z-Wave device
B) reports that it supports COMMAND_CLASS_SENSOR_MULTILEVEL
C) contains a populated "CurrentTemperature" variable.

NOTE 1: When you initially add a Z-Wave device with temperature sensor (such a a vision, monoprice,etc) to your Vera, the "CurrentTemperature" variable may not be populated immediately... If the additional temperature device does not appear immediately, wait 30 minutes and try again.

NOTE 2: The default name given to the created temperature sensors can be changed without affecting the operation of the plugin.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: dbldown768 on November 14, 2015, 10:08:33 am
cybrmage, thanks for the update.  I tried you latest auto setup.  It seems to have the same result when i tried manually.  Maybe i have to unpair the sensor and start all over again?  i took some screenshot of what i see.  let me know if more information would help
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: cybrmage on November 14, 2015, 02:25:26 pm
let me know if more information would help

More information would be good... The variables look like they are from a motion sensor... but the iDoorContacts variable should not be present on the motion sensor...

First... look in the LuaUPnP.log... I added some debug logging to the updated implementation, so you should be able to see what is happening...

It should look something like:
Code: [Select]
02      11/14/15 11:36:33.295   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::Startup) Starting iDoorContact ATS controller with autodetect <0x76bc6520>
02      11/14/15 11:36:33.296   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::findDevices) Discovering eligable devices <0x76bc6520>
02      11/14/15 11:36:33.297   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::findDevices) found device -  id [291] name [LR ZW Motion Sensor] type [urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:MotionSensor:1] <0x76bc6520>
50      11/14/15 11:36:33.298   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::CreateChildDevices) Creating/updating ATS device for Z-Wave device [291] <0x76bc6520>
50      11/14/15 11:36:33.300   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::GetChildDevices) Found ATS device [294] for Z-Wave device [291] <0x76bc6520>
50      11/14/15 11:36:33.301   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::Startup) Monitoring device [291] <0x76bc6520>
02      11/14/15 11:36:33.302   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::Startup) Startup complete <0x76bc6520>

The temperature value that is diaplayed (0 - zero), indicated that the temperature device has never been updated... Have you waited for at least the pool interval? The motion sensor does not update the temperature reading continuously... only when the device determines that the temperature has changed enough to sent a new report.

So the next step is to test that a change in the CurrentTemperature variable actually updated the ATS device... Go to the advanced/variables tab for the motion sensor device and change the CurrentTemperature variable to 1... then look in the log... you should see something like...

Code: [Select]
50      11/14/15 11:51:14.573   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::UpdateLevel) Updating ATS device [294] for Z-Wave device [291] <0x72661520>
50      11/14/15 11:51:14.575   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::getAverageTemp) Calculated average temperature [1] from [1] devices. <0x72661520>

This verifies that the plugin works.

If you do NOT see the log output for the UpdateLevel function, then verify that you are changing the variable for the correct motion sensor device.

If everything in the logs looks ok, then test your motion sensor... Remove it from the wal/ceiling/test bench and place it in the freezer for a few minutes... then replace the sensor in its original location... As the sensor cools down and warms up, it should send updated temperature reports... and you should see this reflected in the logs.

Code: [Select]
50      11/14/15 12:05:29.510   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::UpdateLevel) Updating ATS device [294] for Z-Wave device [291] <0x76dc6520>
50      11/14/15 12:05:29.511   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::getAverageTemp) Calculated average temperature [23] from [1] devices. <0x76dc6520>
50      11/14/15 12:06:48.624   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::UpdateLevel) Updating ATS device [294] for Z-Wave device [291] <0x76dc6520>
50      11/14/15 12:06:48.626   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::getAverageTemp) Calculated average temperature [17] from [1] devices. <0x76dc6520>

50      11/14/15 12:13:43.374   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::UpdateLevel) Updating ATS device [294] for Z-Wave device [291] <0x76dc6520>
50      11/14/15 12:13:43.376   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::getAverageTemp) Calculated average temperature [19] from [1] devices. <0x76dc6520>
50      11/14/15 12:15:58.684   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::UpdateLevel) Updating ATS device [294] for Z-Wave device [291] <0x76dc6520>
50      11/14/15 12:15:58.686   luup_log:293: (iDoorContact::getAverageTemp) Calculated average temperature [21] from [1] devices. <0x76dc6520>

If you do not see the UpdateLevel function being triggered, you may have a defective sensor, or the sensor did not pair with your Vera properly, in which case you should unpair (exclude) the sensor... make sure the Vera device is removed from the UI, and re-pair (include) the sensor.

The other possibility... Some of the more recent monoprice sensors have been ZP3102-5 instead of ZP3102... These newer sensors are Z-Wave Plus, and may not report temperature (and may not even pair correctly) with a VeraLite/Vera3... Check the model number reported on the motion sensors advanced/parameters page...

Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: BOFH on November 14, 2015, 04:08:36 pm
@Cybrmage: I have several Monoprice (Vision) ZP3102-5 PIR sensors on my UI7 Vera 3 and for all of them I have a working temperature sensor using the original ATS plugin. Granted. I installed them way back somewhere between 7.02 and 7.04. I lost the ATS device (without losing the temp sensor functionality) but your fix resolved that.

I'm wondering if something changed in a recent firmware that is causing new temp sensors no longer to work. Unfortunately I don't have any spare ZP3102-5's and I really don't want to remove and re-add an existing one and lose my temperature sensor for it.

If I install your auto config, will it mess with my existing ones? If not I can try that if you need logs. Worst case I run a backup before and restore to that.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: cybrmage on November 14, 2015, 04:37:24 pm
I have several Monoprice (Vision) ZP3102-5 PIR sensors on my UI7 Vera 3 and for all of them I have a working temperature sensor
So... that eliminates the possibility of it being a Z-Wave plus issue...

I'm wondering if something changed in a recent firmware that is causing new temp sensors no longer to work.
Something has changed... The main ATS device now displays a generic default icon... the filename of the default icon has changed... but that's only cosmetic...

Also, the z-wave firmware changed (sometime around 7.0.8)... this may be causing an issue with veralite/vera3...

Did you follow the troubleshooting steps I posted above?? what was the results?? Does the motion sensor device has a CurrentTemperature variable? does it update with the current temperature??


If I install your auto config, will it mess with my existing ones?
It shouldn't... The new implementation file does not change the mechanism for creating the child devices... It just eliminates the need to configure the plugin... Instead of storing the list of iDoorContact devices in a variable, it creates the list on startup by testing the installed devices. It also extends the base main ATS device with Average temperature (for the devices it monitors)...

The new D_iDoorContact1.json file, that fixes the icon and displays the average temperature, is attached.





Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: BOFH on November 14, 2015, 06:10:41 pm
My temp sensors have worked correctly since I installed the plugin. The only issue I ever ran into was that the ATS device no longer displayed.Your file fixed that. But even then, and still, my temp sensors are displaying correctly. So whatever changed in the firmware does not seem to affect already set up devices.

The ATS device does have a default zwave icon on my now. All temp sensor devices it has created have a CurrentTemperature variable that shows the current temperature and does change appropriately.

I just got home from work and am trying to wind down. I'll give your file a try tomorrow after I create a backup just in case. :)
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: dbldown768 on November 15, 2015, 10:12:06 am
Hey, thanks for all the help. I left for the day, came back and now i am seeing temp readings on the new device. I guess I'll need to see how often it updates.  I'm guessing every 30 mins.

Now I will need to research on how to use this to adjust my nest. The plan was to use this like an ecobee sensor in my daughter's room. When the temp gets too low, I want to turn the heat up on the nest.  I'll ask in the appropriate thread. Any tips welcome. Thanks again!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: dbldown768 on November 16, 2015, 06:52:13 pm
If I change the polling interval of the sensor, does that also change how often the temperature is updated in vera?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: dbldown768 on November 21, 2015, 09:56:20 am
I ended up switching to use a scene to update temperatures as described in this link:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,13041.msg146816.html#msg146816

It works well.  Will update on whatever interval i need.  Thanks all for the help.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: wrk24wheel on November 28, 2015, 12:44:55 pm
Installed this as per directions.  I see my two temperature sensors, but both have had 0F listed for a couple of days now.  I have the newer ZP3102-5 sensors.  It looks like maybe they broke something or changed something that doesn't like these new sensors.  I have tried just about everything and can not get them to display a temp.  Anyone else get these new sensors actually showing a temp?
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: meathead88 on January 02, 2016, 04:21:04 pm
Same problem here :(
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: meathead88 on January 19, 2016, 09:28:26 am
OK, i'm really not understanding this.  I paired my monoprice motion/temp sensor using add "generic device".
I even get a "CurrentTemperature" variable in the "advanced" then "variables" page in UI7 for the added motion sensor!

I've followed all these instructions multiple times but nothing!

If the temp seems to be in the motion sensor device's variables correctly, how can this be so hard to display in UI7 somewhere?!
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: meathead88 on January 19, 2016, 09:42:07 am
Note:
Installing as a Vision ZP3102-5 also gives the "CurrentTemperature" variable
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: meathead88 on January 19, 2016, 11:09:03 am
Well now i have some success.  WTF did i do? :(
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: pjblink on January 26, 2016, 08:16:08 am
Hi guys,

Not sure if I'm missing something here, but when including my vision as a "Generic Device" its automatically creating the temperature sensor, and its updating regularly. All is well, however its not reporting any motion?! Any ideas? The sensor's LED is flashing for motion.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: meathead88 on January 26, 2016, 11:29:57 am
i would un-enroll the motion sensor then pop out its battery and wait a bit then re-enroll it as a Vision ZP3102-5 after you have all the pieces in place for the "additional temperature sensor" to auto find the temperature sensor that were included earlier in this thread.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: pjblink on January 26, 2016, 05:50:34 pm
Still no luck :( When I initially include the sensor, I get two devices, a motion sensor and a temp sensor. After a few wakes, I get a value on the temperature sensor, but then it stops detecting motion. A little more time, and I lose the temperature device and the motion sensor itself starts detecting motion. At no point do I get an extra device for the sensor from the plugin.

I followed reply 18, installing the plugin, updating the advanced settings and then uploading the xml.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: pjblink on January 26, 2016, 05:52:40 pm
CurrentTemperature is present and populated.
Title: Re: Monoprice Z-Wave motion/temp sensor and IDoorContact
Post by: cybrmage on January 26, 2016, 08:42:39 pm
CurrentTemperature is present and populated.

And what does your LuaUPnP log show for the plugin during a restart?