The Vera Community forums have moved!

General => General => Topic started by: BruceWayne on February 05, 2016, 09:37:17 am

Title: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: BruceWayne on February 05, 2016, 09:37:17 am
Hi,

For a week i have not been able to access my vera edge.
Nothing changed before that, no updates, no new devices.

- No scenes are running
- Tried several times to reboot, no change
- direct access also does not help
- firmware update not successful

I get this error message:
"Luup engine is taking longer to reload."

Any suggestions what i can do? The support has not replied to me for days, and it starts to get really annoying. :(

Thank you very much!
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: carletoncompz on February 06, 2016, 03:28:03 pm
Have you figured this out? I am having a similar problem with my VeraEdge. It has gone out twice in the last few weeks for days on end, and will not connect to the internet.
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: myhomeserver on February 07, 2016, 01:02:00 pm
Same here, This just happened on Feb 1st and I've been down since
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: Zooz on February 07, 2016, 02:11:37 pm
Are you guys trying to connect locally or from the outside via servers?
I was not able to connect for a about a week, until yesterday (Vera3/UI5). Local connection was just normal.
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: integlikewhoa on February 07, 2016, 02:17:39 pm
If your update failed a you need to power reset and try again, if that doesn't work they will have you hold down the reset button with a paperclip to wipe the unit clean then you can restore to a previous backup. If that doesn't work they are going to say unit is bricked.

Calling vera on Monday using a phone is your best bet. For the others you first need to unplug vera and replug back in.
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: Santos on February 08, 2016, 04:55:37 am
Guys, what browser are you using? I have problems with Internet Explorer but Firefox works as expected. Previously Internet Explorer was working from within my wifi network and only failing when I was accessing Vera Edge remotely.

Maybe that's your problem. Try using a different browser.
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: BruceWayne on February 08, 2016, 06:46:27 am
Sorry, i have not been able to fix this issue yet.
I get this error code after i have been provided with two links by the support team:

When you?re on the same network as the Vera controller, please go to the first link:
http://192.168.1.96/cgi-bin/cmh/tech_ra_check.sh?cmd=disable 
then go to the second one:
http://192.168.1.96/cgi-bin/cmh/tech_ra.sh

Obviously, the IP address is the internal one of the controller in my network.

"Provide this code: {serial number of my unit}-474501 to the support representative"

I will update as soon as i get a solution.

- I tried several browsers, and the apps (Vera and VeraMate)
- Update did not fail, it was an option on the trouble shooting page, but nothing happened
- i could not access the device from network or remotely
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: legend99 on February 08, 2016, 08:14:23 am
Just happened to me yesterday! Anyone thinking maybe there is a problem!

Same here, This just happened on Feb 1st and I've been down since
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: Chrisfraser05 on February 08, 2016, 08:19:00 am
I had the same problem and had to do a hard reset holding in the button with a pin
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: BruceWayne on February 08, 2016, 08:23:46 am
If you do a hard reset, do you have to pair all the devices again? And before that, unpair them? This would be quite some hassle.
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: legend99 on February 08, 2016, 10:35:35 am
Once you do a reset, you then can use a previous backup that is stored by Vera.

If you do a hard reset, do you have to pair all the devices again? And before that, unpair them? This would be quite some hassle.
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: integlikewhoa on February 08, 2016, 11:39:39 am
Once you do a reset, you then can use a previous backup that is stored by Vera.

If you do a hard reset, do you have to pair all the devices again? And before that, unpair them? This would be quite some hassle.


^^^^^ Yup as long as you have a back up with Z-wave network! And when you restore you check "restore z-wave network". This is why before you do an update or any major changes you run a backup, more importantly when you run that backup you use the button to backup the z-wave network first. By default it backups your settings but not all your z-wave devices. Your z-wave device backup is important when your restoring a device that has went missing, lost communication or like in your case missing all z-wave devices.
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: Z-Waver on February 08, 2016, 01:58:14 pm
Just adding my two cents for clarity.

Vera should and usually does perform a Z-Wave network backup when the nightly backup runs, after including a new device. For your safety, in the event that this does not occur as it should, it is best to do a Z-Wave network backup after the successful inclusion or exclusion of a Z-Wave node.

The Z-Wave network backup is stored as file on Vera. That file is included with every Vera backup. But, if you do backups without checking the backup Z-Wave network option, it is possible that the file could be out of date.

When restoring Vera, checking the restore Z-Wave network option applies the Z-Wave network backup file to your Z-Wave dongle. If the Z-Wave network backup file is from a few days ago, that's probably a good thing, but if it is months or years old, you might have to exclude and include devices that are not part of that backup.
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: integlikewhoa on February 08, 2016, 02:19:52 pm
Just adding my two cents for clarity.

Vera should and usually does perform a Z-Wave network backup when the nightly backup runs, after including a new device. For your safety, in the event that this does not occur as it should, it is best to do a Z-Wave network backup after the successful inclusion or exclusion of a Z-Wave node.

The Z-Wave network backup is stored as file on Vera. That file is included with every Vera backup. But, if you do backups without checking the backup Z-Wave network option, it is possible that the file could be out of date.

When restoring Vera, checking the restore Z-Wave network option applies the Z-Wave network backup file to your Z-Wave dongle. If the Z-Wave network backup file is from a few days ago, that's probably a good thing, but if it is months or years old, you might have to exclude and include devices that are not part of that backup.

Thanks for this!
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: BruceWayne on February 09, 2016, 03:46:00 am
Good news,

The support has been able to fix the issue remotely. All back to normal.
I did not have to do a hard reset, apparently they could update the firmware, as well as installing a working backup.
All devices and scenes are working again.

Thumbs up for great support.

So if you have the same issue, they can help you.

Thanks everyone!
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: winger on February 24, 2016, 10:24:20 am
Hello I am a newbie. I had the same problem as you all have described and when I logged in thru the website and tried to connect it would time out. I have the vera edge connected to my modem via an ethernet connection. I was using Windows 10's Edge. I then switched over to IE that is still available in Windows 10 and was able to connect to the vera edge through the website. I also was able to connect to the vera edge through the internal IP address as well. Hope this helps someone.
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: Z-Waver on February 24, 2016, 12:18:56 pm
You're best off if you use Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome with Vera. Internet Explorer is known to have issues, as well as Edge, Safari...
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: winger on February 24, 2016, 03:32:43 pm
Thanks Z-Waver. I think I will try Firefox. I got IE to work but for how long and edge definitely does not work.
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: Clems on December 06, 2017, 04:54:07 am
I figure exactly the same problem, I contacted the support by mail, I hope they will fix the problem.
Title: Re: VeraEdge: no access. "Luup engine is taking longer to reload."
Post by: W1johnston on March 01, 2019, 09:00:59 am
For the benefit of anyone else experiencing this issue, I thought I would share my experience. I received my first Vera product today, a Vera Plus, I set everything up on IE, all went well, then all of a sudden I started to get this error. I restored the unit to factory settings, then tried to connect, same issue. Tried a second and third reset to no avail. Just as I was about to give up and prepare to send this brand new brick back to the supplier I found this thread. Tried again with firefox and bingo. None of that makes any sense to me and the best part is that I have to go through the whole set up again as I don't have a back up. Can't really say my first impressions of Vera are that good.