The Vera Community forums have moved!

General => General => Topic started by: dwighthenry61 on October 30, 2017, 08:06:03 pm

Title: SONOS plugin
Post by: dwighthenry61 on October 30, 2017, 08:06:03 pm
My device recently updated to the new firmware and now SONOS is not working again using TTS. I was using Mary running on my home server which worked perfectly until now, so I followed the forum messages on using responsive voice and updated my Sonos file. However this fails as well, however I can play music from the plugin but everything else fails. This is what I really hate about Vera, you can never reach consistency and stability once you get everything working.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: rafale77 on October 30, 2017, 08:50:44 pm
Try uninstalling and reinstalling the plugin. I am suspecting some files got corrupted during the upgrade.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: michelhamelin on October 31, 2017, 02:34:39 pm
Where can i get newest update?
Mine is 1.4
Try uninstalling and reinstalling the plugin. I am suspecting some files got corrupted during the upgrade.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: shadow2506 on October 31, 2017, 06:11:23 pm
Hi All,

I'm having the same issue since the firmware upgrade on my Vera Edge.

All 3 Sonos showing offline and showing discovery patch not installed. I added manual IP address but no joy, so uninstalled plugin and reinstalled but still the same.

Even tried resetting controller to default and restoring from back up but nothing still.

Currently not able to discover Sonos or install discovery patch as clicking buttons does nothing so it would appear.

-S
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: dwighthenry61 on November 01, 2017, 09:24:42 pm
Shadow, uninstall the UpNP plugin and reinstall that fixed that problem for me. However it wont fix the patch issue, but it will detect your sonos.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: markoe on November 02, 2017, 01:46:24 am
Atleast for me this Sonos plugin is so important that I think Vera shoud buy this and add to the product.  That way we can get support and propably new development to this.

 
Title: SONOS plugin
Post by: PrincessCleavage on November 14, 2017, 11:18:57 pm
I went and bought a Sonos One mainly because of this app and I find that I can not even discover the Sonos even if I enter the I.p address in advanced field the device still shows as off line. Does anyone have a fix for this please?
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: markoe on November 14, 2017, 11:52:27 pm
I went and bought a Sonos One mainly because of this app and I find that I can not even discover the Sonos even if I enter the I.p address in advanced field the device still shows as off line. Does anyone have a fix for this please?
I did downgrade the firmware to fix this.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: PrincessCleavage on November 15, 2017, 12:18:59 am
I went and bought a Sonos One mainly because of this app and I find that I can not even discover the Sonos even if I enter the I.p address in advanced field the device still shows as off line. Does anyone have a fix for this please?
I did downgrade the firmware to fix this.
Unfortunately the recent Vera firmware update has actually resolved some of the geo fencing issues I had so that would not be desirable. Is there any other work around? Is the app developer still active?
Title: SONOS plugin
Post by: PrincessCleavage on November 15, 2017, 06:46:47 am
My Sonos has suddenly become active after I entered the ip address in the advanced section and left it for some time. I can now play and pause music from Vera and I did a quick test with some lup code for tts from this URL
http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_sonos-wireless-music-systems
Very handy URL.
The tts test with google translator did work at first but then stopped working and I assume this is due to google limitations. I am downloading marytts and will report back when I get it configured
Title: SONOS plugin
Post by: PrincessCleavage on November 17, 2017, 07:10:42 pm
Has anyone been able to intergrate the app with responsivevoice (as suggested by Bofh  in the below thread)
https://responsivevoice.org

New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?share_fid=24007&share_tid=33223&share_pid=334411&url=http%3A%2F%2Fforum%2Emicasaverde%2Ecom%2Findex%2Ephp%3Ftopic%3D33223%2Emsg334411%23msg334411&share_type=t
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: markoe on November 19, 2017, 09:53:21 am
Has anyone been able to intergrate the app with responsivevoice (as suggested by Bofh  in the below thread)
https://responsivevoice.org

New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?share_fid=24007&share_tid=33223&share_pid=334411&url=http%3A%2F%2Fforum%2Emicasaverde%2Ecom%2Findex%2Ephp%3Ftopic%3D33223%2Emsg334411%23msg334411&share_type=t

workes for me . I did have problems with sonos plugin with latest firmaware and I did downgrade the firmware though. I did notice that the national special characters does not work but with out them everything works nice.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: michelhamelin on November 19, 2017, 10:25:31 am
With the latest firmware and Sonos plugin 1.4 it work but,it do not work for testing in the text box.
Has anyone been able to intergrate the app with responsivevoice (as suggested by Bofh  in the below thread)
https://responsivevoice.org

New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?share_fid=24007&share_tid=33223&share_pid=334411&url=http%3A%2F%2Fforum%2Emicasaverde%2Ecom%2Findex%2Ephp%3Ftopic%3D33223%2Emsg334411%23msg334411&share_type=t

Works for me . I did have problems with sonos plugin with latest firmaware and I did downgrade the firmware though. I did notice that the national special characters does not work but with out them everything works nice.
Title: SONOS plugin
Post by: PrincessCleavage on November 19, 2017, 02:36:02 pm
Has anyone been able to intergrate the app with responsivevoice (as suggested by Bofh  in the below thread)
https://responsivevoice.org

New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?share_fid=24007&share_tid=33223&share_pid=334411&url=http%3A%2F%2Fforum%2Emicasaverde%2Ecom%2Findex%2Ephp%3Ftopic%3D33223%2Emsg334411%23msg334411&share_type=t

workes for me . I did have problems with sonos plugin with latest firmaware and I did downgrade the firmware though. I did notice that the national special characters does not work but with out them everything works nice.
I have the latest firmware installed and I have the plugin working by using all the settings in advanced tap and lup code for tts calls. None of the setting in the tts tab do anything for me and only play/stop is the only thing that seems to function normally.
Where in the Sonos app have you configured responsivevoice.org ?

Edit:
Details can be found in the below thread post #197 has the updated files attached to enable responsive voice
New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?share_fid=24007&share_tid=33223&url=http%3A%2F%2Fforum%2Emicasaverde%2Ecom%2Findex%2Ephp%3Ftopic%3D33223&share_type=t
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Hoekeren on March 03, 2018, 11:19:43 am
Hi All,

I'm having the same issue since the firmware upgrade on my Vera Edge.

All 3 Sonos showing offline and showing discovery patch not installed. I added manual IP address but no joy, so uninstalled plugin and reinstalled but still the same.

Even tried resetting controller to default and restoring from back up but nothing still.

Currently not able to discover Sonos or install discovery patch as clicking buttons does nothing so it would appear.

-S

Same story on my VeraPlus. !!! :-\

Did anyone find a solution?

BR H?keren
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Sorin on March 14, 2018, 09:00:24 am
Hello guys,

Just some updates on this topic. We have initiated talks with Sonos and also got samples of the Sonos products for R&D.
However, R&D is on standby as we are waiting for the NEW API Sonos is working on. As soon as we have clearance from them, we will have this on our working bench.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Mai Pensato on March 14, 2018, 04:46:00 pm
Hi Sorin,  what is your plan? Integrate Sonos natively or fix the existing plugin that worked great till a recent firmware upgrade of Vera did break it ?
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Sorin on March 15, 2018, 07:22:46 am
We can't really touch the existing plugin because of multiple reasons.

It will be official Sonos integration done together with the Sonos team. We already got the hardware, we're waiting for their kickstart signal and API access.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Mai Pensato on March 15, 2018, 01:20:03 pm
Hi Sorin, that is good news......but my experience with Vera is that it can take months (if not years....) before you have this working. And if it is working it is no guarantee it will keep on working. Just one example: Hue plugin developed by Vera is not working anymore since one of the recent firmware updates and I'm waiting for 3-4 weeks already on your promised next firmware update that will fix this. Sorry I am so negative but just too many big dissapointments with Vera past months after 4 years of being a satisfied user.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Sorin on March 15, 2018, 02:35:54 pm
@Mai Pensato

Tried to find existing tickets of your related to HUE and could not find one. Maybe you are using a different email?
Please log a ticket with our Customer Care team because as far as I remember they might have a possible solution for this. Let's keep the sonos topic clean. I will delete these two unrelated posts tomorrow morning..

Thanks.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Mai Pensato on March 15, 2018, 07:30:23 pm
Hi Sorin,

I just mentioned the issue with the Hue plugin as an example.
Off  topic (but to answer your question) I did not file a ticket for this issue, I mentioned the problem in the Hue plugin topic and your own reply was (#354  31st jan 2018 so 6 weeks ago) that it will be fixed in the next firmware update 7.26. My main VeraPlus is still on an old but stable firmware so Hue and Sonos plugin still work, a second VeraPlus That I use for testing is giving problems with both plugins). I did file tickets on other issues and mostly they were solved although not always structural.

I really hope to see some progress on short term, because I like the flexibility that Vera had in the past and the big potential it has and also I hope that not more plugin developers leave because their plugins suddenly don't work anymore.
So please work on this in stead of just deleting my posts..... :)
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Matsohl on June 30, 2018, 01:21:33 pm
I can not control my Sonos anymore  :-\ Anyone else? .. well play and stop functions in the ui7 interface works but when I use the API calls including TTS nothing happens. Worked fine earlier today and nothing is changed afterwards
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: electnixon on August 27, 2018, 08:46:14 pm
Bump due to lack of solution.  My TTS stopped working but it still ups the volume, so now whenever it's supposed to make an announcement, instead it stops playing, then ups the volume, then continues playing music at a VERY LOUD volume with no announcement.  Previously it stated the announcement then went back to the prior volume.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Matsohl on October 03, 2018, 01:21:57 pm
Now the plugin goes from OFF to ON and back in just a second and shows as offline in the Plugin. The IP is correct.
I have not changed anything. Anyone else?
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Matsohl on October 03, 2018, 01:23:11 pm
We can't really touch the existing plugin because of multiple reasons.

It will be official Sonos integration done together with the Sonos team. We already got the hardware, we're waiting for their kickstart signal and API access.

Any news on this?
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: rafale77 on October 03, 2018, 06:39:01 pm
I am not sure why but I have been able to control most of my Sonos with the original plugin but I am running it on openLuup. The only thing not working is the volume. Everything else works. I even get the artwork etc...

So I don't think it has to do with the API or the plugin. It is all due to uncontrolled changes in the vera firmware.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Spanners on October 03, 2018, 09:32:18 pm
We can't really touch the existing plugin because of multiple reasons.

It will be official Sonos integration done together with the Sonos team. We already got the hardware, we're waiting for their kickstart signal and API access.

Hi Sorin - does this mean the integration will be Cloud based rather than local direct control? For those of us at the bottom of the world on less than stellar internet, that's a step backwards in responsiveness.

For those looking for an alternative, and don't mind a bit of DIY I can recommend this: https://github.com/jishi/node-sonos-http-api running in a Docker container as a means of controlling your Sonos via simple http requests. I use that and still use the Sonos Plugin and it works great for me, I've modified it a bit though to incorporate some fixes that have been posted on the forums over time. You can find it here: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,55317.msg415040.html#msg415040


Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Sorin on October 04, 2018, 04:09:29 am
@Spanners,

I'm not sure exactly what are the specs of the Sonos API. We already have Sonos hardware in our lab and initiated discussion with the manufacturer.

We will, of course, use and develop based on what the official Sonos API offers. Not sure if it's local, cloud or hybrid.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: Matsohl on October 05, 2018, 11:48:24 am
I can not control my Sonos anymore  :-\ Anyone else? .. well play and stop functions in the ui7 interface works but when I use the API calls including TTS nothing happens. Worked fine earlier today and nothing is changed afterwards

[SOLVED] It was sorted out by deleting the plugin and re-installing it. Unfortunately the device ID was changed so I had to update several of my scenes. I might use the device ID as a global variable next time.
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: rafale77 on October 05, 2018, 02:19:32 pm
I can not control my Sonos anymore  :-\ Anyone else? .. well play and stop functions in the ui7 interface works but when I use the API calls including TTS nothing happens. Worked fine earlier today and nothing is changed afterwards

[SOLVED] It was sorted out by deleting the plugin and re-installing it. Unfortunately the device ID was changed so I had to update several of my scenes. I might use the device ID as a global variable next time.

you know you can go to the attributes of the device and change the device ID back to the original one right?
Title: Re: SONOS plugin
Post by: bRock on February 12, 2019, 01:26:54 am
Just some updates on this topic. We have initiated talks with Sonos and also got samples of the Sonos products for R&D.
However, R&D is on standby as we are waiting for the NEW API Sonos is working on. As soon as we have clearance from them, we will have this on our working bench.

Sorin, any update on this? You've had samples since March last year....

Thanks.