Vera - Smarter Home Control Forum

General => General => Topic started by: itsligo on December 20, 2017, 08:10:11 am

Title: Zig bee dongle
Post by: itsligo on December 20, 2017, 08:10:11 am
Hi, is it exist zig bee usb dongle for vera Edge?
Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: rafale77 on December 22, 2017, 02:22:16 pm
No, it is not just having a dongle. It is also having a driver for it on linux. I only know of one zigbee USB dongle and it combines zwave and zigbee.
Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: vosmont on December 22, 2017, 04:10:01 pm
Hello,

there is ZiGate : https://zigate.fr/

If you want to use it on the Vera, you can use my plugin : https://github.com/vosmont/Vera-Plugin-ZiGateGateway
Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: ranneman on December 23, 2017, 02:17:47 am
Vosmont, looks very impressive, really good. I was not aware of this option, good to know it exists. So I can look into Zigbee alternatives for the lights.
Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: rafale77 on December 23, 2017, 02:42:45 am
very nice indeed. Not available everywhere though. It's a French company. I might actually get one of these.
Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: markcm on April 16, 2018, 03:53:27 pm
If any USA sources for this zigate zigbee adapter come available I would be interested. I see someone on ebay US selling these for $125, isn't that about 100% markup?
Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: Domoworking on April 16, 2018, 06:49:48 pm
It's unbelievable that the Vera Plus with built in zigbee seems to be so poorly supported, and that ZiGate seems to be the only solution. It a nonsense.... is there any comment from Vera?
Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: rafale77 on April 16, 2018, 09:46:25 pm
As I wrote in many other threads, I am afraid that even if mcv wanted to add all these profiles to support devices, the hardware would not be able to follow. The CPU, DRAM and flash storage are very limited and are at the source of many problems people are reporting here. If you plan on just having a handful of devices the vera is fine but once you start growing the system, it just won't cut it. One solution could be to go with multiple controllers but then why would you want to run multiple interconnected zwave network meshes and zigbee meshes when you know that a larger mesh is more reliable? Anyway, I am planning to move to the Zigate on Openluup, and likely move to something else for zwave. I could help bring a few back for members here if people are interested when I go visit in September. I already ordered mine and my brother received it promptly in Paris.
Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: jeubanks on April 16, 2018, 11:03:25 pm
Not sure if it will work with Vera (haven't tried)

There's the ConBee that is a USB stick that supports Zigbee (ZLL and ZHA) from the deCONZ project, they also have RaspBee for rpi.
Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: jchin on April 17, 2018, 12:18:45 am
Doesn't ZigBee use WiFi signal channels?  Does it interfere with 2.4GHz WiFi?
Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: rafale77 on April 17, 2018, 12:52:03 am
Doesn't ZigBee use WiFi signal channels?  Does it interfere with 2.4GHz WiFi?

Yes except for Zigbee channel 26 which is outside of the US wifi spectrum.
Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: markcm on December 23, 2018, 02:24:47 pm
Hello,

there is ZiGate : https://zigate.fr/

If you want to use it on the Vera, you can use my plugin : https://github.com/vosmont/Vera-Plugin-ZiGateGateway

Hello vosmont

Thank you for this contribution of zigate.

I have purchased a zigate and I am trying to integrate with my vera edge. Several other USA vera users are having the same issue I am having. We are hoping you can offer some help.

The ZIGATE app does install and can be accessed from both the VERA and ALTUI interface. The problem is that zigbee devices are not showing in the vera after using the inclusion function. I have followed the guidance from both the zigate.fr site (using google translate from French to English), and also followed the instruction from the read.me at github. Here are some additional details:


The ALTUI window for Discovered Devices reads "There's no discovered ZiGate device." It appears the zigate is communicating with both the vera and the zigbee device but with some error.

Can you offer any recommendations for me or the other USA users? Please let me know if you need additional information about my setup.

Again, thank you for any help you can offer.

Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: rafale77 on February 11, 2019, 12:10:43 pm
@Vosmont,

I have tested the same thing on openLuup and though I can see that the plugin is communicating with the dongle, that it goes into inclusion mode, it also includes the device (my devices stop blinking when included), they do not show up at all on the plugin. As markcm reported, no error and no new device reported. I tested 3 different types of devices all with the same result.
Title: Re: Zig bee dongle
Post by: rafale77 on February 11, 2019, 11:03:11 pm
The Plugin is very immature. I now upgraded to v1.3 in the development branch and it is able to report discovered devices but is unable to "learn" i.e. configure them. The plugin doesn't allow you to select the device discovered...