The Vera Community forums have moved!

General => General => Topic started by: rlmalisz on June 16, 2011, 05:07:18 pm

Title: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: rlmalisz on June 16, 2011, 05:07:18 pm
So I have run these before, and always deselected the (self-selecting) option to "Re-configure all nodes when done".  I ran one of these today, but left that selected.  Am starting to think it should say "De-configure all nodes when done", but we'll see if things settle back down--have at least one HRSD1 that lost its marbles--at least some of them, and one Schlage lock that seems less happy than it used to seem.

Four questions:

1) in general, should this "re-configure" not be allowed to happen to a network of well-configured devices (and if so, wouldn't having this off be a better default)?
2) if this option is de-selected, does the routing information at the nodes get updated, or is having this turned on required to "heal" routing info?
3) I see folks talking about nightly autonomous network heals.  I am seeing no evidence (logs) that those are happening.  I'm guessing this is something MCV only has enabled for V2?
4) wouldn't it be lovely if there was a choice to do a global heal that *only* updated routing and neighbor data?  You get this option for individual devices.

--Richard
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: Henk on June 17, 2011, 03:02:07 am
@rlmalisz

Im starting to wonder if this behaviour was introduced by the new Z-wave firmware (3.20L) or the new firmware (1.1.1245)
But the fact is i see more and more of these messages appear in the forum (in different threads).

I would think someone (who is having this issue and can confirm it) should open a bug ticket for it on the Mantis site of MCV (bugs.mios.com).

Question remaining for me so far: is it zwave firmare or mios firmware related?
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: FlyBoyBob on June 17, 2011, 08:51:15 am
Question remaining for me so far: is it zwave firmare or mios firmware related?

As I stated in another thread you are participating in Henk:

1. My similar problems started the day my Vera2 got the firmware update
2. Upgrading Z-Wave firmware made no difference whatsoever

Also - there is definately corruption of device variables that happened during the box firmware upgrade, and I have a problem ticket in at the request of MCV with a reply stating "We are currently investigating this issue and we think we can come up with a solution in the next few days."
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: JOD on June 17, 2011, 09:21:56 am
Re: Four questions:

Quote
1) in general, should this "re-configure" not be allowed to happen to a network of well-configured devices (and if so, wouldn't having this off be a better default)?
this has been suggested to MCV before, more than likely this is required "as is" by Sigma.
Quote
2) if this option is de-selected, does the routing information at the nodes get updated, or is having this turned on required to "heal" routing info?
routing and neighbors will update with it unchecked.
Quote
3) I see folks talking about nightly autonomous network heals.  I am seeing no evidence (logs) that those are happening.  I'm guessing this is something MCV only has enabled for V2?
this is only an issue when using 3.20
Quote
4) wouldn't it be lovely if there was a choice to do a global heal that *only* updated routing and neighbor data?  You get this option for individual devices.
See 2) above.

JOD.
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: rlmalisz on June 17, 2011, 09:43:56 am
Re: Four questions:

Quote
1) in general, should this "re-configure" not be allowed to happen to a network of well-configured devices (and if so, wouldn't having this off be a better default)?
this has been suggested to MCV before, more than likely this is required "as is" by Sigma.
Quote
2) if this option is de-selected, does the routing information at the nodes get updated, or is having this turned on required to "heal" routing info?
routing and neighbors will update with it unchecked.
Quote
3) I see folks talking about nightly autonomous network heals.  I am seeing no evidence (logs) that those are happening.  I'm guessing this is something MCV only has enabled for V2?
this is only an issue when using 3.20
Quote
4) wouldn't it be lovely if there was a choice to do a global heal that *only* updated routing and neighbor data?  You get this option for individual devices.
See 2) above.

JOD.

Thanks for the explicit, clear answers.  I'll never do a network repair with the pin pulled on this particular grenade again!  I'll give the one thing that hasn't successfully renegotiated its relationship with my V1 and her dongle, the Schlage lever on our garden shed, a bit more time, but suspect I will need to pull the lock apart (again) and bring it inside for configuration.  Sigh.

--Richard
 
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: robinnes on June 17, 2011, 10:09:48 am
I started a thread here: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=6743.0
Asking for a way to disable the troublesome nightly auto heal and reconfigure which seems to break more things then it fixes.
To save you a lot of reading- in the end there is currently no way to stop the nightly "heal" nor the nightly "reconfigure devices".

Reminds me of the 10+ years TiVo users have been requesting a way to see hard drive usage. TiVo has never addressed this simple request that is always the number one question new TiVo owners ask.
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: rlmalisz on June 17, 2011, 10:41:02 am
I started a thread here: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=6743.0
Asking for a way to disable the troublesome nightly auto heal and reconfigure which seems to break more things that it fixes.
To save you a lot of reading- in the end there is currently no way to stop the nightly "heal" nor the nightly "reconfigure devices".

Reminds me of the 10+ years TiVo users have been requesting a way to see hard drive usage. TiVo has never addressed this simple request that is always the number one question new TiVo owners ask.

WRT Tivo: if you have a Windows platform, there's a Rube Goldberg way to do this.  I had to install BonJour in my XP VM.  There's a package written by a guy that installs and runs in your Windows platform, which, while running, then shows up in "Music, Photos and Showcases" on the Tivo as TivoDiskUsage.  Weird, but it works.

--Richard


Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: robinnes on June 17, 2011, 11:14:57 am
Reminds me of the 10+ years TiVo users have been requesting a way to see hard drive usage. TiVo has never addressed this simple request that is always the number one question new TiVo owners ask.

WRT Tivo: if you have a Windows platform, there's a Rube Goldberg way to do this.  I had to install BonJour in my XP VM.  There's a package written by a guy that installs and runs in your Windows platform, which, while running, then shows up in "Music, Photos and Showcases" on the Tivo as TivoDiskUsage.  Weird, but it works.

--Richard



Thanks Richard,
My point exactly- look at the hoops you have to go through just to see your hard disk usage on the TiVo. Hopefully this won't happen with the request to disable nightly heal/reconfigure in Vera.
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: rlmalisz on June 17, 2011, 12:40:12 pm
Reminds me of the 10+ years TiVo users have been requesting a way to see hard drive usage. TiVo has never addressed this simple request that is always the number one question new TiVo owners ask.

WRT Tivo: if you have a Windows platform, there's a Rube Goldberg way to do this.  I had to install BonJour in my XP VM.  There's a package written by a guy that installs and runs in your Windows platform, which, while running, then shows up in "Music, Photos and Showcases" on the Tivo as TivoDiskUsage.  Weird, but it works.

--Richard



Thanks Richard,
My point exactly- look at the hoops you have to go through just to see your hard disk usage on the TiVo. Hopefully this won't happen with the request to disable nightly heal/reconfigure in Vera.

So do you have the ability to SSH into your V2?  I'm not seeing how they would be inflicting this nightly "heal" in any way than through a cron job.  I just looked at my /etc/crontabs/root, and there's nothing suspect in there--but I am on a V1 with the external dongle, and it's possible/likely that as part of the 3.2 firmware upgrade, they cram something else in there.  If you can get at it, can you post it?

--Richard
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: robinnes on June 17, 2011, 01:46:21 pm
Richard-
Are you questioning the fact that Vera2 performs an unrequested, unpreventable, automated nightly heal- maybe I don't understand your last post??

Take a look at my "heal report" logs...
I'm certainly not getting up at 2am every morning to perform a heal- so Vera2's scheduling  and executing it for me without my input or permission.
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: rlmalisz on June 17, 2011, 01:52:23 pm
Richard-
Are you questioning the fact that Vera2 performs an unrequested, unpreventable, automated nightly heal- maybe I don't understand your last post??

Take a look at my "heal report" logs...
I'm certainly not getting up at 2am every morning to perform a heal- so Vera2's scheduling  and executing it for me without my input or permission.


I'm suggesting that the 3.2 firmware update is adding a crontab entry to /etc/crontabs/root that is causing this activity you'd like to kill.  I am not questioning that it's happening.  I am trying to help figure out if there's an easy way to drive a stake through its heart for you.

But there's no way to do this through the GUI.  If this is a cron job (highly likely), then it should be possible to scupper it in the crontab file.  My V1 has no such entry, and I haven't got this problem.  If, when I ask if you have the ability to ssh into the box and look at it, I am talking mumbo-jumbo for you, I apologize.  But it would be informative if someone who knows what I mean could do this, and see if there's a crontab line kicking this network "heal" (AKA "kill") off each night.

--Richard
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: oTi@ on June 17, 2011, 01:55:30 pm
But it would be informative [...] see if there's a crontab line kicking this network "heal"
There is not.
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: Henk on June 17, 2011, 02:01:27 pm
But it would be informative [...] see if there's a crontab line kicking this network "heal"
There is not.

Affirmative, there is not!
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: rlmalisz on June 17, 2011, 02:11:42 pm
But it would be informative [...] see if there's a crontab line kicking this network "heal"
There is not.

Ok.  Sigh.  Worth a poke.  I am done repairing my last "repair", and am getting pretty good about uninstalling and reinstalling the Schlage lever lock.  But if I had moved to a V2 (there's one sitting on the shelf here) and I had this unavoidable "nightly heal" shooting my feet off constantly, I'd be pretty cheesed off.

--Richard
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: Henk on June 17, 2011, 02:24:48 pm
But it would be informative [...] see if there's a crontab line kicking this network "heal"
There is not.

Ok.  Sigh.  Worth a poke.  I am done repairing my last "repair", and am getting pretty good about uninstalling and reinstalling the Schlage lever lock.  But if I had moved to a V2 (there's one sitting on the shelf here) and I had this unavoidable "nightly heal" shooting my feet off constantly, I'd be pretty cheesed off..

--Richard

@rlmalisz

Just to put your mind at ease... im on a Vera2, Z-wave 3.20L and a beta release above 1245, no problems here.....
No automatic nightly heals, no erratic logging, no erratic cron jobs...

As far as the logging goes... one CAN modify that
http://forum.mios.com/index.php?topic=6649.msg41677#msg41677

Maybe some entries there are crooked?
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: robinnes on June 17, 2011, 02:42:59 pm
Just to put your mind at ease... im on a Vera2, Z-wave 3.20L and a beta release above 1245, no problems here.....
No automatic nightly heals, no erratic logging, no erratic cron jobs...

As far as the logging goes... one CAN modify that
http://forum.mios.com/index.php?topic=6649.msg41677#msg41677

Maybe some entries there are crooked?
Hmmmm....
My Vera2 does something every night at 2am... nothing "crooked" about it.
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: oTi@ on June 17, 2011, 03:01:26 pm
Ok.  Sigh.  Worth a poke.  [...] if I had moved to a V2 [...] and I had this unavoidable "nightly heal" shooting my feet off constantly, I'd be pretty cheesed off.
Yep. And understood.

I suspect the nightly check is to keep routing information consistent, now that manual routing (i.e. routing by software) is supported in 3.20. You could give .1245 with 2.78 a shot (as hinted at by @JOD as well). Or, possibly, .1245 with 3.20 with 'MiOS routing' disabled may kill the consistency check at 2am. (A quick test looked promising.)

Find the combo of settings that works for you. Personally, .1245/3.20 with MiOS routing (seemingly the preferred option by MCV) has been fine for me.
Title: Re: Vera1 and UI4 network repair...
Post by: Henk on June 22, 2011, 03:27:54 pm
More info linked:
http://forum.mios.com/index.php?topic=6898.0