The Vera Community forums have moved!

General => Temperature Monitoring & HVAC Control => Topic started by: Domoworking on April 11, 2018, 04:35:24 am

Title: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: Domoworking on April 11, 2018, 04:35:24 am
Does anybody succesfully tried those sensors?
the are very cheap and also good looking and small.

Regards
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: cmille34 on April 12, 2018, 08:57:29 am
I've really liked all the Xiaomi sensors I bought recently from aliexpress (motion, temp, door, etc). They are so cheap!  I've basically converted to using my VeraPlus simply as a ZWave gateway and then using HomeAssistant in a docker on an old laptop.  The Xiaomi motion sensors going through the Xiaomi gateway, and then into HomeAssistant is still more responsive than all 3 of my other native ZWave motion sensors at a third of the price of a single ZWave sensor.  YMMV of course but I've really enjoyed tinkering with HomeAssistant and being able to expand my home automation stuff on the cheap.
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: Mike Yeager on April 12, 2018, 08:11:55 pm
Will they work with the Vera natively???
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: cmille34 on April 13, 2018, 12:12:58 pm
Will they work with the Vera natively???
No
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: vosmont on April 13, 2018, 01:04:28 pm
You can plug a ZiGate dongle : http://zigate.fr/
and install plugin : https://github.com/vosmont/Vera-Plugin-ZiGateGateway

As said cmille34, these little devices work very well.
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: jswim788 on April 13, 2018, 01:49:44 pm
Doesn't look like you can get a ZiGate in the USA.  Anyone know of an importer of them?
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: therealdb on April 14, 2018, 01:59:36 am
You can plug a ZiGate dongle : http://zigate.fr/
and install plugin : https://github.com/vosmont/Vera-Plugin-ZiGateGateway

As said cmille34, these little devices work very well.

Vosmont, your solution seems very clever. Technically speaking, zigbee devices are created as child devices and then mapped normally in scenes, etc. Am I correc?
Is the response from zigbee devices instant?

Thanks.
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: vosmont on April 14, 2018, 04:12:49 am
Yes, the Zigbee equipments are seen as normal devices on the Vera.
You can use them as the Zwave devices.
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: therealdb on April 14, 2018, 08:37:47 am
Wow, I'll think about this system. Zigbee devices are so cheap that it could be worthwhile to add this support.
Thanks.
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: Mike Yeager on April 14, 2018, 07:40:54 pm
One says yes, the other says no. What does one need to be able to use these sensors with a Vera Plus? I don't mind adding hardware to be able to use a less expensive sensor. Besides, the few Zigbee sensors I have now seem more reliable than the Z-Wave ones they replaced...
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: jswim788 on April 14, 2018, 10:42:38 pm
Vosmont mentioned the ZiGate dongle to connect the ZigBee devices to Vera and there is a plugin available.  Alas for me, ZiGate doesn't appear to ship to the US.  Otherwise I would have already ordered one.  I know it is possible to get a ZigBee dongle here, the problem is writing a plugin for it.  I don't know if there is anything special in the ZiGate that couldn't be easily replicated with other dongles - for example, the Linear HUSBZB-1.  It may be that the magic in the ZiGate is that they have figured out the Xiaomi protocol and embedded it.

Or you can go the Xiaomi gateway route.  I'm looking a bit into that as well.

Or move to France to get the ZiGate...
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: Domoworking on April 15, 2018, 12:44:59 pm
You can plug a ZiGate dongle : http://zigate.fr/
and install plugin : https://github.com/vosmont/Vera-Plugin-ZiGateGateway

As said cmille34, these little devices work very well.

Vera Plus is supposed to handle ZigBee natively....
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: jswim788 on April 15, 2018, 03:24:11 pm
Vera Plus is supposed to handle ZigBee natively....
Alas, Vera Plus has very poor ZigBee support.  Which is why many of us are looking at alternatives such as ZiGate.
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: markcm on April 16, 2018, 02:41:09 pm
How Do we get this zigate in USA? I was looking at their site although there is no contact-us link. I can add a zigate to the shopping cart although I'm not sure if I can check out.

Vosmont- Do you have ability to order these? Maybe you would be willing to proxy purchase these for some of us?

What is the Xiaomi hub that was mentioned? I'm familiar with other Xiaomi products such as fitness bands which I own several of but just discovered their range of home sensors and would like to get some but it looks like I need either a zigate or xiaomi hub.

It is confirmed that the veraplus zigbee is problematic? Does it not work natively with Xiaomi sensors?
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: jswim788 on April 16, 2018, 04:19:09 pm
Look for this on Amazon: "Xiaomi Mi Smart WiFi Remote Control Multi-functional Router Multi-functional Gateway".  No Vera support that I'm aware of.  SmartThings and Domiticz have plugins, so it must not be impossible to write a plugin.

OpenHAB has native support for ZigBee- since I also run OH on my RPi, I'm a bit tempted to buy the HUSBZB-1 and bridge the sensors over to Vera.

I wouldn't wait for Vera, see: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,38994.msg343536.html#msg343536
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: Domoworking on April 16, 2018, 06:40:13 pm
Vera Plus is supposed to handle ZigBee natively....
Alas, Vera Plus has very poor ZigBee support.  Which is why many of us are looking at alternatives such as ZiGate.

You gave me a really bad news... i bought Vera Plus just be cause of The zigbee support  :(
I might sent it Back to Amazon and eventually take The cheaper one.

Regards
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: Mike Yeager on April 16, 2018, 09:36:51 pm
There are quite a few things that work well, problem is there are too many variables to Zigbee. They don't all use the same (or any) standard.
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: Domoworking on April 18, 2018, 03:47:11 pm
Well, after reading many post and complains about Vera ZigBee support, I still wonder why there is no support for some devices.
I'm in Europe, so the market might be different from outher countries, but I think the most spread ZigBee devices are Philips Hue, Ikea Tradfri (or how you spell it!!!) and eventually Xiaomi (there are very, very cheap devices that seems to work well!!!).

If I could set priorities I would start from Xiaomi.....
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: weblike on October 29, 2018, 06:01:59 am
Hi,
Reading the forum, few days ago I have bought a ZiGate device.
I see the device in the VeraPlus dashboard, but the problem is that I cannot discover my Aqara Sensors.
I have installed this plugin: https://github.com/vosmont/Vera-Plugin-ZiGateGateway

When I click on "Inclusion" button, nothing happens.
Please advice.
Thank you
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: Mike Yeager on October 29, 2018, 11:18:22 am
Are you following the directions on the actual device itself to include it? Clicking on include doesn't do anything if there's no device looking to join the network. I only ask because you didn't mention putting the device itself into pairing mode.
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: cetou on November 28, 2018, 04:39:20 pm
Hello,

I also have the same problem. The Zigate device is well recognized in the Dashboard. When I try the inclusion mode, nothing happens in the box vera. I try to discover a sensor Xiaomi window opening. I use the user manual to put the sensor in inclusion mode (press the button for 5 seconds). Could you help me ?
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: Mike Yeager on December 02, 2018, 08:21:18 pm
The device will pair to the Zigate, not to the Vera itself. I'm not familiar with the operation of the Zigate device, but I'm assuming there is some kind of a plugin to support it. There may be a way to trigger pairing from there. I doubt the built in add device mode in Vera is going to handle it. Wish I could offer more help, but my Vera instance is pretty much just for Alexa integration at this point. The lack of support and device compatibility sent me looking for more and, for the moment, I found it with Home Assistant...
Title: Zigate zigbee on vera
Post by: markcm on December 23, 2018, 01:46:01 pm
Hi Folks,

I just installed a zigate bridge on my vera edge and I am having the same issue. No devices are discovered in the zigate app. For those of you unfamiliar, there is a zigate app which sees the zigbee devices which are paired to the zigate and then the app creates a pseudo Z-wave device which you can manage in vera; atelast that's how its supposed to work.

I followed the zigate and github instructions:

Installed zigate drivers on my PC
Installed TESTGUI on my PC (this is a serial programmer app)
Ran the steps in TESTGUI which indicated the zigate was seeing my zigbee device
Install lua files via vera apps develop window
configured the serial port in vera apps develop window (as directed from zigate instructions)

With the zigate connected to the vera edge, I used both Vera and ALTUI trying to include the zigbee device (in the zigate app), with no devices found in either case.

The interesting part is that the LED on the zigate responds to all of this activity, indicating "stuff and things" are happening, but the vera and ALTUI all show no zigate devices found

I also installed ALTUI Alt App Store and installed the zigate app from within ALTUI which returned a response of "successful" so I'm feeling pretty confident that I have all the necessary files.

Does anyone have a zigate working on their vera?

I reached out to vosmont, the author of zigate in this thread here http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,52745.0.html
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: Mike Yeager on December 23, 2018, 02:15:48 pm
If you've got the Zigate (and the plugin) then I don't know what to tell you. I have none of that but I am getting ready to try a few of the sensors with HomeAssistant. If I have to get the gateway, so be it. Still cheaper than zwave sensors and likely work just as good. I have two of the zigbee hinge sensors (NYCE) and they are flawless under HA. Never could rely on them in vera...
Title: Re: Xiaomi Aqara Temperature sensor
Post by: jbfoster on January 01, 2019, 01:45:56 am
Aqara WXKG11LM Smart Wireless Switch Asia Pacific Version on sale for $6.99

what does Asia Pacific Version mean? Are there different frequencies for different countries like z-wave?

https://us.gearbest.com/smart-home-controls/pp_009395405312.html?wid=1433363

Thanks
Jim