The Vera Community forums have moved!

Beta and Pre-Release (Public) => Vera UI discussion => Topic started by: intveltr on March 02, 2012, 10:02:12 pm

Title: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: intveltr on March 02, 2012, 10:02:12 pm
I've recently upgraded to UI5, and I'm now having issues bringing up the UI on my iPad.  It has worked a few times while I went around the house with the iPad configuring Zwave devices.  But now it has stopped working; the UI5 page appears but gets stuck on 'loading data' and never finishes.  On my PC it works fine.

Has anyone else run into this issue, and is there a fix?  The iPad is great for configuring devices in situ, and it would be a bummer if I can't do that anymore.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: jwlehman on March 02, 2012, 10:32:08 pm
Try going into Settings > Safari > Clear Cookies and Data

I tried mine today (iPad 2) and it worked fine.

Regards,
Jeff
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: intveltr on March 03, 2012, 05:48:05 am
I've tried that, as well as resetting the iPad completely and power cycling Vera.  It's still not working on my iPad 1, nor my iPhone 4S.

Compared to UI4, my browser (Firefox) takes longer to reload UI5 as well; it will sit there "not responding" for a few seconds, or a warning pops up about an unresponsive Javascript.  Then the "loading data" bar starts moving.  I see the same on the iPad; the browser appears to hang for a few moments, then "loading data" starts.  On the iPad it never stops...
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: Brientim on March 03, 2012, 06:05:10 am
Try downloading Fing app to confirm the ip addresses on your network.

Shut down Vera, and router. Restart router, wait for it to cycle, and then restart your Vera. Use Fing to confirm the ip address. If it is reaming at loading data, leave it, do not try to refresh all the time as this may also cause other issues. It should clear itself giving time. You can also check it is running by SSH.

The latest Firmware does speed up the loading under UI5.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: intveltr on March 03, 2012, 06:27:10 am
The IP addres I am using is correct; I can access Vera by the same address via my PC's browser.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: Brientim on March 03, 2012, 07:50:53 am
I have two units and one upgrade to UI5 today, the other was on UI5 already. The only thing I had to do today with the one upgrade was ipadress/cmh and initially it took a while to load but worked great after that.

I did not clear my cache which would have made it take a little longer than it should have.

You can test this by assigning a new ip address and seeing the results.

On a side note: irrigation system integration I use EtherRain which I found easy to install and use, it can be found at http://quicksmart.com/
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: intveltr on March 03, 2012, 10:11:57 am
I tried re-enabling WiFi on the Vera and connecting the iPad/iPhone to that.  Still no joy, it gets stuck on "loading data" like before.  The strange thing is that it worked perfectly for a short while atfer I upgraded, then suddenly stopped working.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: Brientim on March 03, 2012, 10:25:21 am
Do you still have full access via PC?  You may need to see if you connect via ssh to check the logs to se what is happening. The first time I upgraded to UI5, my system got stuck in a loop downloading a plugin that no longer exists. I upgrade again yesterday without any issues.

I had to upgrade from the PC.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: intveltr on March 03, 2012, 11:09:26 am
I have access through the PC; Vera is functioning perfectly other than not letting me use the UI on my iPad.

The logs do not show anything unusual going on (or indeed any evidence of any web client connecting)
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: Brientim on March 03, 2012, 01:53:43 pm
The only suggestion I have at the moment is to try connecting via cp.mios.com, cp.mios.com/mobile and mios.com/phone.  Do you have multiple access points that you may try connect through a different one just Asa process of elimination.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: davem2421 on March 04, 2012, 10:00:41 am
For UI5 the external website is cpui5.mios.com

You may try that as well
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: Brientim on March 05, 2012, 11:21:52 am
Hello @intveltr,

How did you go, did you manage to connect via the iPad. Did the other activities you conducted make a differences?
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: intveltr on March 05, 2012, 11:33:03 am
Sadly not, I am still unable to get past "loading data" from iPhone or iPod. 

Access through cpui5.mios.com is stuck on "loading data" as well, after I provide my credentials and select the right Vera.  That URL does work from a regular browser on my PC.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: Brientim on March 05, 2012, 12:10:01 pm
Just wondering... Are you monitoring power usage? I just did a test and added multiple items to monitor and it took a lot longer to load via my iPad - from 20 seconds to 5 - 7minutes.  I removed them did speed it up again but not back to what it was previously.

Last test I can think of is to assign your unit different ip address from you router.

From you iPad wifi connection in setting try renew lease.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: intveltr on March 05, 2012, 01:23:00 pm
I'm not monitoring energy; the ERGY plugin is disabled.  I do see live power usage for a few devices, but that's all.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: Brientim on March 05, 2012, 02:24:59 pm
I have sent you an email.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: Brientim on March 05, 2012, 05:10:42 pm
I received you email, try and log in via cp.mios.com. You should see another unit. I got a mail delivery error when I responded
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: Brientim on March 05, 2012, 05:38:38 pm
The email delivery error was for another email and not you - should have read it more closely.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: intveltr on March 05, 2012, 06:24:05 pm
Thanks for the help :)

I can see your test unit in the MIOS screen on my iPad, and when I select it, the dashboard comes up correctly.  My own Vera still has me stuck at Loading Data...
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: Brientim on March 05, 2012, 06:56:13 pm
That is indicating to me it is a local network issues. Do you connect directly to the wifi of your unit or via another wifi access point? May try resetting the wifi on you unit.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: intveltr on March 05, 2012, 07:20:06 pm
I've tried connecting via the local LAN, via Vera's own WiFi, and via MIOS while on the LAN and from the Internet, all with the same result.  I have also reset my WiFi router as well as Vera, and cleared all Safari data on my iPhone and the iPad. I have also changed ip addresses. 

The fact that it worked before, and that nothing in my network changed before it stopped working,leads me to believe it's an issue with the Vera, possibly something screwy that got migrated from the Vera2 backup.  Tomorrow someone from MVC will be poking around in my system, hopefully something will turnp.
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: intveltr on March 20, 2012, 04:57:51 pm
Issue was resolved after installing the latest firmware update
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: oTi@ on March 20, 2012, 11:55:06 pm
Issue was resolved after installing the latest firmware update
Did MCV find anything when they poked around?
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: intveltr on March 21, 2012, 11:09:30 am
They did look around but found nothing, then they asked me to upgrade, which fixed the iPad issue.

The system is still not 100%; the GUI takes ages to load compared to UI4.  Also, scenes sometimes take ages to complete.  One scene that turns on 10 lights and heating when I come home took over 3 minutes to complete yesterday; with as much as 20 seconds between turning on one light and the next one.  That scene ended in a crash, I might add... :p  But at other times, scenes run very fast.

I've no idea if these problems are in any way related...
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: parkerc on June 09, 2012, 05:23:29 pm
Hi

Does anyone else who is using the iPad to connect to Vera find that they're unable to select to and devices when under Automation in Ui5?

Most things work for me, that seems to be the only thing I can see ai an issue.

On the browser front Chrome on the PC seems to be he most compatible, IE and Safari have some quirks (much like the Ui5 ;)
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: aschwalb on June 12, 2012, 09:28:29 am
Hi

Does anyone else who is using the iPad to connect to Vera find that they're unable to select to and devices when under Automation in Ui5?

Most things work for me, that seems to be the only thing I can see ai an issue.

On the browser front Chrome on the PC seems to be he most compatible, IE and Safari have some quirks (much like the Ui5 ;)

Without much testing I just went into new scene and I can select devices on and off in my iPad. 
Title: Re: UI5 and iPad issues?
Post by: strangely on June 15, 2012, 02:27:17 pm
I find the second set of tabs to select the device type in automation do not work for me on my iPad or iPhone.