The Vera Community forums have moved!

General => Remote Control => Topic started by: n0ir on March 27, 2013, 11:00:59 am

Title: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: n0ir on March 27, 2013, 11:00:59 am
Hi!

I am doing some research before I start my smart home project in our new house.

I  work as a clinical psychologist with cognitive aids for patients with cognitive impairments, and there is a neat product called C.STATUS I would like to replicate in my own Z-Wave installation.

It is a very clear panel which shows the status on different sensors, i.e. if the fridge is closed or if the lamp is on or off. The point is to have it installed by the front door to act as a visual remainder when leaving the home.

http://www.sensagon.se/show/object.asp?lng=en&oid=22

From Sensagons website:

Quote
The information can be presented with text in different languages or pictures and is adaptable to different needs. The standard panel has six clear display fields and can manage information from up to 48 sensors. Several segments can be combined in order to give a bigger and even clearer display field.

I would like something similiar, that shows the status of a selection of Z-Wave units in a very clear and easy way. I guess I could do this by buying a Android tablet and mount it on the wall but it seems like overkill... ;)

Sensagons panel is also very expensive ($350-400).
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: RichardTSchaefer on March 27, 2013, 11:13:15 am
If you wait a month ... I will have and android APP that tells you the status!
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: n0ir on March 27, 2013, 11:19:08 am
If you wait a month ... I will have and android APP that tells you the status!

Sound good RichardTSchaefer (the existing apps could need some competition! ;)), but I was looking for a solution that doesn?t involve a smartphone or tablet.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: Piwtorak on March 27, 2013, 11:52:12 am
Hello Richard...

I'm happy with your notice ! I will wait to use my Samsung galaxy tab 7".

actually nothing solve my problem like homewave have solved but I have to use apple tablets and no Money for this.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: n0ir on March 27, 2013, 12:07:19 pm
I agree, Piwtorak. Homewave is a nice iOS app but I would love an alternative for Android!

I?m leaning towards buying Android tablets for each room in the house and connect them to wall mounted speakers. Then I could have my home speak remainders (with Vera Alerts and Google TTS), play music (from Google Music or even stream from iOS devices with AirBubble) and use them as remote controllers.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: BobS on March 27, 2013, 12:59:08 pm
One thing I have noticed about android vs ios tablets and the viability of wall mounting them is that the iPad has its "wake-up" button on the front of the device.  All other tablets have the button the side somewhere.  This means that a wall mounted android tablet would need to provide access to the side of the device in some fashion.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: NickTheGreat on March 27, 2013, 01:06:56 pm
If you wait a month ... I will have and android APP that tells you the status!

If you're talking something similar to Homewave for Android I'm gonna be first in line  8)
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: Piwtorak on March 27, 2013, 01:30:10 pm
Maybe intveltr isnthinking launch homewave to android...thought..
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: guest13549 on March 27, 2013, 07:20:05 pm
One thing I have noticed about android vs ios tablets and the viability of wall mounting them is that the iPad has its "wake-up" button on the front of the device.  All other tablets have the button the side somewhere.  This means that a wall mounted android tablet would need to provide access to the side of the device in some fashion.
This is a good point, but I guess you wouldn't want it to to go to sleep for that kind of application - it will need to be always on, otherwise you would not see if/that you had forgotten the iron etc. But IIRC this is possible with androids when plugged. Used to be anyway.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: shady on March 27, 2013, 07:40:58 pm
Android tab all the way, as @BobS mentioned the trick is figuring out how to mount the tab without any wires showing and still have access to the home/side buttons and still have it charge and allow for portrait or landscape mount (since apps vary) and hopefully still be able to use it as a tablet if you want.

My answer is in the attached pictures...

edit:  my iPad sticks to the wall in the same spot thanks to the steel plate I placed inside it, sadly doesn't charge since Apple doesn't see the value in inductive charging...yet
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: intveltr on March 27, 2013, 08:24:08 pm
Maybe intveltr isnthinking launch homewave to android...thought..

I would like to if I can find the time!  At the moment I am hard pressed even to supply timely updates for the iOS app, but in 2 or 3 versions things might have stabilized enough to start thinking about Android.  Wall mounted devices is what HomeWave was intended for originally, and these days there are some nice and cheap Android tablets out there.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: Piwtorak on March 27, 2013, 11:39:09 pm
I understand Intveltr...

Think in create a parameter to homewave stay active for use like controller. We will can set this parameter if we use the ipad or another apple device like wall controller, then homewave do not close your screen... And no more need to activate ipad and slide the bar.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: intveltr on March 28, 2013, 06:35:35 am
HomeWave already has that parameter: when enabled, the iPhone/iPad will never go to sleep while the app runs and the device is on a charger.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: guest13549 on March 28, 2013, 06:40:22 am
I guess the coolest solution would be for vera to 'wake' any screen where there's movement. (From z-wave sensors etc)



Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: rdotten on March 28, 2013, 10:57:01 am
If you wait a month ... I will have and android APP that tells you the status!

Richard,
Will the app be able to run on a generic 2.3 tablet? If  so, it would be great to give it a try in the android player on my Playbook. I'd be happy to help test on that device if you need a hand.

Cheers,
Rob
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: wseverino on March 28, 2013, 11:14:09 am
I just bought the HomeSeer HST-IWAC7 for 199.00 bucks. Come with Android 4.0 loaded in on it!. Gonna load Authomation on it once I get it.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: shady on March 28, 2013, 02:45:26 pm
@wseverino that is a great deal for $199 being white, in-wall, Android, etc.  I had been looking at getting one myself.  I have been living with my HP Touchpad magnetic in/on-wall for close to a year and it has served me well, but I see the value in the Homeseer offering.  Please give us a thorough review once you get it set up.  Curious about speed, how apps fit the screen, getting it rooted for the marketplaces, etc.

It also might be worth mentioning that Nook Simple Touch (now free with purchase of a Nook HD+) can be made to run Android:

http://lifehacker.com/5889158/turn-a-99-nook-into-a-fully-fledged-android-tablet-in-four-easy-steps

So a touchscreen E-Ink display with a battery that will last 3 weeks with WiFi on, so you always could skip running power to it and charge it periodically for in/on-wall applications.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: WhiteBeard on March 28, 2013, 02:57:09 pm
I've been keeping my eyes on these units for some time now, but they only seem to be available in bulk, like this one:

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/682187370/7_inch_In_Wall_Android_Touch.html

I'll try to contact one of the aliexpress sellers to see if they carry them and be willing to sell them individually.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: dferrey on March 28, 2013, 03:52:50 pm
I've been keeping my eyes on these units for some time now, but they only seem to be available in bulk, like this one:

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/682187370/7_inch_In_Wall_Android_Touch.html

I'll try to contact one of the aliexpress sellers to see if they carry them and be willing to sell them individually.
Ok, I'll go in with you, that makes 2, only 998 to go :D
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: WhiteBeard on March 28, 2013, 03:54:39 pm
@dferrey: LOL, I've never considered a group buy!  ;D
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: shady on March 28, 2013, 05:47:42 pm
I've been keeping my eyes on these units for some time now, but they only seem to be available in bulk, like this one:

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/682187370/7_inch_In_Wall_Android_Touch.html

I'll try to contact one of the aliexpress sellers to see if they carry them and be willing to sell them individually.

You might have luck convincing DealExtreme.com to carry them and then you could buy individually.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: bucko on March 28, 2013, 09:35:56 pm
I happen to be living in China and building my HA project as we speak. I just finished running 4000 meters of data and signal wire and leaving for HK in 4 days to make yet another electronics run. Normally I go to Shenzhen, but I'll be getting my AE8000 projector from HK and avoiding the 20% import tax China wants to hit me with.

Go see my project blog at http://cocoontech.com/forums/blog/38-buckos-blog/ (http://cocoontech.com/forums/blog/38-buckos-blog/) .

Shenzhen is like a second home for me. I buy much of my HA stuff there.  Next week my 9' custom server rack will be completed and delivered to my worksite to install in the server room. I paid  $370.00.

I have relationships with many of these suppliers in Shenzhen via Alibaba and could work out a deal to obtain these Android Tablets without buying 1000.

Question is... how many of you are REALLY interested to buy one? I will have to check further into the cost, but first I need to know is it worth my time & expense to travel to Shenzhen and get these units to ship to you guys.

What do you all think??
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: RichardTSchaefer on March 28, 2013, 09:46:19 pm
Do you get a good deal on things like the AE8000 ?

I have wired my Great room for a projector ... but have not got around to that phase of my new home yet.
I have a huge wall to use ... but expect to display with a 12' diagonal. (Optimized ceiling mount location for this size). Need to get a remote controlled screen as well. That's already wired as well ...

People ask why I have so many wall outlets above 9' high ....
You never know when you want to add holiday lighting !!! And no extension chords!



Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: shady on March 29, 2013, 12:44:49 am
@bucko, after a little more research and deciding on placement, I might be in for 1-3 of them at Shenzhen prices
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: bucko on March 29, 2013, 10:19:19 am
Do you get a good deal on things like the AE8000 ?

On the AE8000 there is no joy. You can buy it cheaper in the US. I pay about $250 more for it in HK AND I do not get the 2 pair of free 3D glasses.

Best to get it in the US.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: stephenmoore on March 29, 2013, 02:53:53 pm
I think its bit expensive..
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: wseverino on March 30, 2013, 05:23:45 pm
Got my HST-IWAC7 from Homeseer today. First thing I did was uninstall HSTouch and the Sibo custom loader. Next I installed AutHomation HD and took a quick picture so everyone could see what it looks like on a 800 x 480 screen. Must say its easy to navigate. The touch screen is quiet responsive on the HST-IWAC7.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: shady on March 30, 2013, 07:56:30 pm
@wseverino

Thank you for the quick update.  So it sounds like there is no problem getting the Play or Amazon store or did you install Authomationhd via .apk?   The spp scales nicely.   Looking forward to hearing more.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: wseverino on March 30, 2013, 09:52:18 pm
Downloaded right of the google play store, installed it and was good to go.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: garrettwp on April 02, 2013, 01:50:01 pm
Got my HST-IWAC7 from Homeseer today. First thing I did was uninstall HSTouch and the Sibo custom loader. Next I installed AutHomation HD and took a quick picture so everyone could see what it looks like on a 800 x 480 screen. Must say its easy to navigate. The touch screen is quiet responsive on the HST-IWAC7.

wseverino,

I received your email and apologize for not getting back to you sooner. I have been really busy lately. I am glad to see you have AutHomationHD running on the device. You might want to side load the AutHomationHD beta as it offers more refinement for screen real estate and personally is much better than the current version in the play market.

- Garrett
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: guest13871 on April 03, 2013, 09:51:45 am
Question is... how many of you are REALLY interested to buy one? I will have to check further into the cost, but first I need to know is it worth my time & expense to travel to Shenzhen and get these units to ship to you guys.

What do you all think??

Depending in the price you could get I would be in for 1 or 2.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: akashk on April 03, 2013, 09:56:57 am
Android tab all the way, as @BobS mentioned the trick is figuring out how to mount the tab without any wires showing and still have access to the home/side buttons and still have it charge and allow for portrait or landscape mount (since apps vary) and hopefully still be able to use it as a tablet if you want.

My answer is in the attached pictures...

edit:  my iPad sticks to the wall in the same spot thanks to the steel plate I placed inside it, sadly doesn't charge since Apple doesn't see the value in inductive charging...yet

@shady
This looks awesome!! I have a couple of touchpads lying idle at home that could use some time on the wall. How did you mount it so cleanly on the wall? Seems like an inductive charger behind the wall (which I happen to have lying around as well). Also, what is that UI on the screen - android themed with windows? Please do tell!!
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: shady on April 03, 2013, 07:22:40 pm
@akashk

Thank you for noticing, I think it is pretty awesome too.  No solution is completely ideal when it comes to adding touchscreens to your walls, even expensive Crestron solutions aren't the best looking and are quickly deemed obsolete.  I really like how my solution looks whether on or off of the dock, and I'm not giving up the handheld use of a $200 tablet.  I had been struggling with the best way to stick an iPod Touch in the wall and then looked into expensive and often not attractive iPad wall docks, but nothing gave me everything I wanted.  Then came the Touchpad Fire Sale which had me up for 24 hours trying to grab as many as I could and I once I held one I couldn't believe this thing was being scrapped by HP when it had built-in inductive charging.  Why every device doesn't have this feature I will never know, since charging ports get loose and dirty fairly easily.

I have a full pictured tutorial I have been sitting on for about a year partly because I have been so busy and partly because I wanted to make sure it didn't start a fire before showing the world.  I can say it has been great, charges just as it should, and overall I am very happy (so is the wife) with how it looks and works.  I think you'll be surprised at how well the Touchstone Dock works in this manner and how easy the install can be (if you are handy).  I have set up a website to display the slideshow tutorial, but I am waiting for the DNS changes to stick (can take up to 24hrs).  So as soon as it goes live, I will post a link in a new thread, linking here to that thread.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: Piwtorak on April 03, 2013, 08:17:35 pm
I bought expensive iport charge for ipad to put in my wall
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: shady on April 03, 2013, 09:20:02 pm
Here are more E-Ink ideas for a wall mounted information panel showing status...

http://www.mpetroff.net/archives/2012/09/14/kindle-weather-display/

http://hackaday.com/2013/04/01/kindle-weather-and-recycling-display/
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: Piwtorak on April 03, 2013, 09:24:51 pm
Kindle runs what ?
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: akashk on April 04, 2013, 07:50:15 am
@shady,
Lol, I have a few touchpads from the fire sale myself  ;D. I did manage to port Android ICS over to it as well. Just have not been able to find the right mount for it yet. My latest thought was to screw the HP cover with the inductive charger behind it on the wall, but your setup looks much more professional. Will wait for your tutorial/pictures.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: cubs2b23 on April 04, 2013, 09:54:42 am
Question is... how many of you are REALLY interested to buy one? I will have to check further into the cost, but first I need to know is it worth my time & expense to travel to Shenzhen and get these units to ship to you guys.

What do you all think??

Depending in the price you could get I would be in for 1 or 2.

I would be in for a couple as well at the right price.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: Mynameisjim on April 04, 2013, 01:06:40 pm
I would also probably buy two if the price came down from $199.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: WhiteBeard on April 04, 2013, 01:58:30 pm
I received a quote for 1 sample from one of the vendors on China - the white 9" unit is about $140 (US) or $143 for POE.  Black 7" display is $117, $125 for POE.  I'm not sure if one has to commit to a larger purchase when ordering a sample?
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: shady on April 04, 2013, 03:22:38 pm
@WhiteBeard thank you for doing the legwork.  I imagine they will sell you small quantities if they gave you pricing, maybe we should group together our purchases by locale.

For anyone who is interested, I posted my link to my HP Touchpad in-wall dock here:

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,14359.0.html
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: Mynameisjim on April 04, 2013, 05:24:09 pm
I'd commit to two with POE at those prices, though I'd need white. Is the 7" available in white?
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: dferrey on April 04, 2013, 05:31:52 pm
Pardon my ignorance, but what is POE?
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: RichardTSchaefer on April 04, 2013, 05:36:59 pm
Power over ethernet ... So you do not have to have a local power adapter.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: NickTheGreat on April 05, 2013, 12:47:53 pm
I'd probably be down for one.  Depending on how well I could integrate it with my Vera
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: shady on April 08, 2013, 07:56:21 pm
I thought this was at least worth mentioning, since I hadn't seen it before, even though it would mean you would be taking the E-Ink information panel everywhere you took your iPhone (which could be good for some):

http://www.popslate.com/

I still like the idea of having something mounted near the door as you leave that doesn't need to be accessed, but just displays what you need to see as you leave.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: silencery on April 22, 2013, 06:37:16 pm
Shady,

Saw your tutorial with the HP touchpad, and just wanted to say its brilliant.  Great work!  I actually have a couple touchpads i'd like to mount up myself. 

Just curious.  Have you ever figured out a way to use the front facing camera to detect motion and turn on the screen?  I would also like to see if we can create a virtual device in vera and use the front facing camera as a motion sensor device to trigger scenes.  Anyone have any tips for pulling this off? 
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: S-F on April 22, 2013, 06:44:20 pm
You could probably do all of that with Tasker and AutHomation. I'm not sure if Tasker works with cameras though. I've never looked into that. Good idea.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: silencery on April 22, 2013, 07:59:36 pm
There are a few apps in the play store which work GREAT for detecting motion with the front camera, but I haven't been able to find a way to expose these events to tasker yet. 

Here are a couple:
Motion Detector (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.jastrzab.move&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEsIm9yZy5qYXN0cnphYi5tb3ZlIl0.)
Motion Detector Pro (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=dk.mvainformatics.android.motiondetectorpro.activity&feature=more_from_developer#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEwMiwiZGsubXZhaW5mb3JtYXRpY3MuYW5kcm9pZC5tb3Rpb25kZXRlY3RvcnByby5hY3Rpdml0eSJd)

Tasker supporty proximity sensors, but this is out of the question for me since this idea would only work well for motion detected more than a few centimeters away (and my particular device, the HP Touchpad, doesn't have one anyway). 

I'm coming from iOS, so i'm pretty newbie at this.  Can any tasker/android pros shed some light if this is possible?  Should be a fun project to try :)
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: Vreo on May 29, 2013, 01:25:26 pm
Hey Richard, did you make the app you mentioned? I am looking for something like that.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: cw-kid on February 01, 2014, 03:42:31 pm
I've been keeping my eyes on these units for some time now, but they only seem to be available in bulk, like this one:

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/682187370/7_inch_In_Wall_Android_Touch.html

I'll try to contact one of the aliexpress sellers to see if they carry them and be willing to sell them individually.

Micasaverde should OEM those in wall touch screens and rebrand them as Vera units. That's what HomeSeer have done presumably.

The only way you would be able to purchase one from Sibo directly is to blag them and ask for one or a few "sample" units.

Can you still buy the HomeSeer versions? I couldn't see them on their shop.

I think if I could get my hands on a POE version it would be pretty good running Authomation HD app.
Title: Re: Wall mounted information panel showing status?
Post by: Vodden on November 20, 2014, 01:16:02 pm
Hello all.

I'm waking a dead thread here, but for those of you still looking for Android wall mount tablets, the model used by HomeSeer (Sibo) is available thru geekland (http://www.geekland.co/Wall-Mounted-Tablets_c70.htm) in the US in both 9" and 7" models.  9" comes in black or white.  No minimum quantities and various options available.