The Vera Community forums have moved!

Advanced => Plugins & Plugin Development => Programming => USB RFXtrx Transceiver Plugin => Topic started by: watsondesign on October 15, 2017, 08:35:42 am

Title: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: watsondesign on October 15, 2017, 08:35:42 am
Hi Guys,

I had my somfy blinds working great but when I did a update of the vera firmware I managed to lose all connectivity (DOH) I've tried redoing all the steps I originally did to connect up my somfy blinds via RFXtrx but it seems to be getting stuck on the add device stage. I get the vera will reload to validate the changes notification but then noting. I reload the page manually and no devices have been added.

Any Idea what i'm doing wrong, or is there a bug in the plugin?

Thanks!
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: watsondesign on October 15, 2017, 08:47:52 am
Just to mention I'm running vera firmware 1.7.3232 and version 1.22 of the plugin.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: tinman on October 15, 2017, 11:09:46 am
If everything was working with version 1.22 of the plugin before upgrading the Vera firmware it's tough to imagine what the problem could be. None of the plugin code having to do with Somfy blinds has been modified. Have you tried to look at the Vera log files?

If you have MS Excel, the easiest way to retrieve and explore log files is to use the ELVira Excel Log Viewer. Check this posting: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,30265.0.html
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: zedrally on October 15, 2017, 06:39:08 pm
^^^
Thanks for the heads up, you have given me a good reason NOT to upgrade. The last upgrade gave me grief but now if the blinds don't work then it looses it's WAF.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: tinman on October 16, 2017, 08:50:19 am
What type (typ1, typ2, ext, ext2) and version of firmware is installed in the transceiver?
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: TDMA on October 16, 2017, 11:29:07 am
I have this issue as well after upgrading to newest firmware on Vera Edge.
I can't manually add a new device for the RFXtrx or start to auto creation mode. Tried to flash newest ext2 firmware to my RFXtrx as well but same issue.

Using the RFXtrx433E
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: afranquet on October 16, 2017, 03:36:53 pm
Same issue for me...
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Forzaalfa on October 17, 2017, 02:52:38 am
None of the changes i do in the RFXTRX controller plugin does anything in vera.. I tried to delete some auto generated motion sensors, and it just stops with the message in the topic here..

I'd like to prevent auto generation on these ID's (probably my neighbours), but i can't now..
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: tinman on October 17, 2017, 09:55:21 am
OK, I upgraded to the latest version of the Vera firmware on 11 Oct. I hadn't attempted to do anything in the way of adding or removing RFXtrx devices since then. Tried AutoCreate just now and I can see that although clicking on the Automatic creation radio button changes its state, the state variable never gets updated. I'll try to look into this sometime today.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: watsondesign on October 18, 2017, 07:56:52 am
That would be fantastic. Its a real shame not having my blinds connected and automated like they used to be!

I've tried contacting vera support too and they also seem baffled. They did however, give me some instructions to downgrade:

In order to downgrade your Vera unit, you will need to access the Settings tab → Firmware → Copy the following line in the ?URL for custom Vera firmware:? field → Download → Use the option to Keep the current settings and configuration → Wait about 20 minutes until the firmware downgrade is done → Once the unit is up and running, you will need to restore a backup (With the option to restore z-wave network) from before the upgrade.
Here is the link that you will need to enter:
http://dl.mios.com/rl/BETA/722/mt7621_Luup_ui7-1.7.3015-en-mios.squashfs
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: tinman on October 18, 2017, 11:25:47 am
I've spent some time trying to find out the source of this problem. No luck so far but I have some suggestions for possible work-arounds. To enable or disable AutoCreate, change the setting in the variables for the RFXtrx transceiver device. You can do this in the Advanced tab page the device by selecting the Variables tab. Click on the Edit link (this is new in the latest Vera firmware) for the AutoCreate variable. Set it to 1 to enable AutoCreate or to 0 to disable it.
Deleting device from the RFXtrx Managed Devices page doesn't work but you can delete them individually from the Vera Devices page. For each device click on the '>' to show the device details and at the lower right click on the Delete Device button.
I'll continue to look into these problems as time permits. Right now doing some work on my house that I have to finish before the cold weather sets in.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: GreenMoose on October 22, 2017, 11:30:23 am
Same issue for me, cannot add new devices after firmware upgrade.

FWIW, the request for saving returns 404 not found from my vera controller so that is probably why it borks out:
Request:
http://<VERAIP>/port_49451/data_request?id=lu_action&output_format=xml&DeviceNum=5&serviceId=urn%3Aupnp-rfxcom-com%3AserviceId%3Arfxtrx1&action=CreateNewDevice&CategoryType=ANSLUT&DeviceType=SWITCH_LIGHT&Name=Light%2520Sensor&RemoteId=10001&UnitCode=1

Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: ben04917425 on October 23, 2017, 07:15:10 am
I'm seeing the same thing for the request URL (404 not found).
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: GreenMoose on October 23, 2017, 12:19:33 pm
FYI
Quote
Thank you for contacting Vera Support.

The plugin which is controlling the behavior of your RFX gateway is using a port ( 49451 ) which has been blocked on the latest firmware version. This is why you are not able to add new devices and unfortunately I can not do nothing to unblock that because one the customer care department we do not have access to the source code of the software engine driving the unit.

It has been reported to our development team. They are working on it, but I don?t have an exact ETA for this, but more details to be announced through our official channels and on our release notes as they are being published with every new update: http://support.getvera.com/customer/en/portal/topics/666697-release-notes/articles
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: tinman on October 23, 2017, 12:43:07 pm
Thanks for the FYI. I don't have any idea where that port number comes from. I'll look elsewhere. It's not in any of the plugin code and the ports used by an ajax.request are beyond my experience.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Forzaalfa on October 27, 2017, 02:09:14 pm
Any news on this?

Can't create devices, can't delete devices (through "Managed devices"), can't edit the "managed devices" list what so ever.. Hope this issue has some priority at vera!
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: tinman on October 27, 2017, 02:30:57 pm
Well, as I said before this is an area in which I have little experience but I installed nmap on my PC and using the Zenmap GUI I ran a scan against my Vera Plus. Looks like to port is open for tcp but blocked for udp:

PORT      STATE  SERVICE VERSION
49451/tcp open   upnp    Portable SDK for UPnP devices 1.6.6 (Linux 3.10.14; UPnP 1.0)
49451/udp closed unknown

I would think that a fix for this would be a straightforward use of iptables.

The RFXtrx plugin requests the url from Vera using "command_url' (the Javascropt API function now being getCommandURL() ), If Vera replies with the port that should be used then I'm surprised that they also block the port.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Sorin on October 27, 2017, 04:23:27 pm
Hello guys,


49451 port block is part of the upcoming upnp revamping and securing.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Forzaalfa on October 28, 2017, 05:28:02 am
I just downgraded to the previous using this link: http://dl.mios.com/rl/BETA/722/mt7621_Luup_ui7-1.7.3015-en-mios.squashfs

Everything is fine now, don't think i need many of the improvements in 3232 now, so i'll hold til the next one.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: halo on November 09, 2017, 09:52:22 am
Just thinking
Where this port is defined?

Maybe it is possible to change it in the plugin configuration?
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: tinman on November 09, 2017, 06:06:49 pm
It's not defined ion the plugin. I believe that it's a configuration problem in the Vera firmware. I'm not sure but I believe that it goes something like this: The plugin asks the Vera web server what port it should use. Vera responds with the port number which unfortunately Vera also blocks.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: thomasx on November 12, 2017, 05:08:53 pm
I am really getting fed up with the vera. Everytime I'm just going to do a 5-minute update of something, one gets stuck for ours with problems that ends up to be "oh, that doesn't work". Rubbish, is what it is. Autocreate on/off doesn't work, deleting devices doesn't work, not even ADDING DEVICES!!!!. How hard can it be? Clearly autocreate On/off didn't work last time either. So now my vera is filled up with unknown devices. And I have to go in on each and every one and delete them manually one by one? And now it isn't even possible to do something so basic as to add a new device, and it's been like this for at least a month, and nothing is happening from Vera to fix such a blunt bug?   Really? Can I get my money back please!?!?!
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Forzaalfa on November 13, 2017, 05:17:56 am
I've spent some time trying to find out the source of this problem. No luck so far but I have some suggestions for possible work-arounds. To enable or disable AutoCreate, change the setting in the variables for the RFXtrx transceiver device. You can do this in the Advanced tab page the device by selecting the Variables tab. Click on the Edit link (this is new in the latest Vera firmware) for the AutoCreate variable. Set it to 1 to enable AutoCreate or to 0 to disable it.
Deleting device from the RFXtrx Managed Devices page doesn't work but you can delete them individually from the Vera Devices page. For each device click on the '>' to show the device details and at the lower right click on the Delete Device button.
I'll continue to look into these problems as time permits. Right now doing some work on my house that I have to finish before the cold weather sets in.

This is a functioning workaround for autocreate on/off. I ended up going to the previous FW build, and i'm staying here until the next one comes, skipping .3232 (for vera plus) all together.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: thomasx on November 13, 2017, 02:50:33 pm
I downgraded to 3231, 3014 and 2139, same issue will all three. No adding, no deleting, no switching autocreate on/off. And no fixes from Vera. Rubbish!
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Forzaalfa on November 13, 2017, 03:47:28 pm
wow. I went to 1.7.3015, and all of that works fine.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: thomasx on November 13, 2017, 04:42:20 pm
Where can I find a 3015 firmware link for download?
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: zedrally on November 13, 2017, 05:01:43 pm
Best open a ticket and have CS do it.
Ask them when they will have a fix for this as well, I'm in need of this updated FW but can't do it until they fix the bug.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Forzaalfa on November 14, 2017, 03:00:51 am
I just downgraded to the previous using this link: http://dl.mios.com/rl/BETA/722/mt7621_Luup_ui7-1.7.3015-en-mios.squashfs

Everything is fine now, don't think i need many of the improvements in 3232 now, so i'll hold til the next one.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: halo on November 14, 2017, 10:24:15 am
I have just one question related to downgrade.

Can a datamine date stored on external USB be affected using this downgrade?

Do you need to restore some data after downgrade? is it mandatory?
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Don Phillips on November 14, 2017, 08:16:00 pm
I have found a firmware change will "break" Datamine in the sense that the app does not link to the old data including any channels you are monitoring.  That is the main reason I have not updated lately.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: otakup0pe on November 14, 2017, 10:28:23 pm
This is a huge regression and no response yet?

My poking around has shown that the "data requests" can also be sent to the vera on port 3480. The problem I am seeing is that the web interface for some plugins makes use of the command_url javascript variable for AJAX requests.  More poking around seems to indicate that in web ui at least, you should use the data_command_url var...
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: halo on November 15, 2017, 04:22:48 am
Lack of Datamine hostory is a blocking point for downgrade. Any news when new software will be released?
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: halo on November 24, 2017, 04:28:16 pm
Good news. Problem resolved.

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,52229.0.html

"Vera reload....still exist", but at least new manually created devices are fully operational.

Auto creation works also OK.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Pixcels on January 09, 2018, 10:03:54 am
Having the same problem as  the people listed above in that I cannot add any Lightwave switch/dimmers to my Vera Edge and I am getting CROSS.
Have tried the workaround for AutoCreate and at least now the button says that AutoCreate is ON but that hasn't helped in actually creating a new device.
So now I am prepared to go for reloading another version of the Firmware BUT I have no idea what I'm doing. !!
Have downloaded the link http://dl.mios.com/rl/BETA/722/mt7621_Luup_ui7-1.7.3015-en-mios.squashfs  so what do I do with it ?
Sorry to appear so stupid but I come from a time when things had switches and buttons that worked - nobody asked me to get inside the damn boxes and re-route all the wires [-(
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: zedrally on January 09, 2018, 08:32:39 pm
^^^
Go to Settings>Firmware and you will see the window for the download link.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Pixcels on January 10, 2018, 08:51:32 am
Have attempted to upload the firmware version at http://dl.mios.com/rl/BETA/722/mt7621_Luup_ui7-1.7.3015-en-mios.squashfs
but get an error message stating: Wrong firmware for current platform: Vera4Lite. Intended for mt7621
Is there something else I should be doing ?


Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Forzaalfa on January 16, 2018, 04:01:53 pm
Anyone know if Vera or the developer of the plugin will be able to fix this? So many good functions are unavailable..  :-\ I know the auto create is available, but i need to change a sensor from light to motion.. When i do i get the message in the topic, and nothing happens.
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: tinman on January 16, 2018, 04:39:17 pm
Forgive me but I don't understand the problem you are describing. The problem that started this thread has been resolved by the files given in the thread: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,52229.0.html
AFAIK the RFXtrx plugin is working as it should.

Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Forzaalfa on January 17, 2018, 01:09:24 am
Good! I misread then, I thought that only fixed a small part of the problem. I will test it tonight. Thanks. ☺
Title: Re: vera will reload to validate the changes...
Post by: Forzaalfa on January 17, 2018, 05:33:39 pm
All function is re-established. Thanks for the update, you programmer guy(s?) that keep the Vera in the game. 😁

Unimportant side question: how come this very good plug in is not in the mios app store?