The Vera Community forums have moved!

General => Connected Objects => Amazon Alexa => Topic started by: vas5150 on January 24, 2018, 09:44:37 pm

Title: Australian Vera skill
Post by: vas5150 on January 24, 2018, 09:44:37 pm
Hi Guys, So Amazon has released echo and dot officially in Australia, US skill has stopped working, (it stopped before i even moved to Aus account)  wondering if there is an ETA on release.

Cheers
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: Brientim on January 25, 2018, 12:43:21 am
The offical communication addressed this issue:

To enjoy the Alexa experience for Australia and New Zealand, please select English (Australian) within the Alexa App?s settings (Settings > Device > Language).

If you prefer your current set of Alexa skills, please change your device country settings to the US. Click here to change your device country settings.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: vas5150 on January 25, 2018, 05:39:05 am
Setting to US has not worked for me. Anyway, I would prefer to be able to use vera and have the Australian experience as well if that is ok.

I understand this may take some time but I am just wondering if there is some sort of ETA.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: Sorin on January 25, 2018, 09:06:43 am
Hello Everyone,

Similar to Amazon Alexa localization for our Canadian customers, Australian version requires re-certification which is a time-consuming process.

Don't get me wrong, we really wish to be possible to keep it up with Amazon's new regions and have Amazon Alexa ready the same day, but we are not entirely in control of the process.
We are considering a few temporary solutions like a some beta's like we had for the original Vera Skill but these still remain to be discussed and approved internally.

If it's of any help, I see that some of the people already found a few other temporary solutions in the Canada thread: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,52100.0.html

I will keep you posted with any new updates related to the subject.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: vas5150 on January 25, 2018, 09:22:23 am
Thanks for the info. I have 3 houses I have setup with Vera and Alexa and have let them know it could be a while till skill is released here. If they get desperate I will try the thread you suggested. Thanks again for the update.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: MarcusB on January 25, 2018, 03:57:02 pm
Hey, I have Vera and Alexa in Australia.
Set the country to US on your amazon account. This re-enables the Vera skill.  Then, in the settings for the Alexa devices themselves you can now give them Australian locations.
Everything now works perfectly and Vera integrates.  There are a lot of new enhancements in the Alexa app too.
The end user should have no way of seeing they have a US setting in the amazon account.

Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: zedrally on January 25, 2018, 08:07:52 pm
Happy Australia Day!


I think this is a hit and miss similar to the latest Vera FW.


I lost all control of Vera and scene controls.
All US Skills were erased and it appears that there are no Australian skills available yet (I get a blank screen).
Reverted back to US settings with Alexa advising the 2 devices that it had found had worked (turn on lights).
They didn't.
I think I will ask Alexa to play some river sounds, crack open a tinnie and throw a prawn on the barbie, then wait until Amazon get the Oz skills set up.


Have a good one  :)

Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: vas5150 on January 25, 2018, 08:13:18 pm
Happy Australia Day!  Yeah I also tried this morning to do as Marcus said but no go. Might try the beta route at some point but hopefully we don't have to wait too long.  I'm with you Zedrally. Time for a beer!
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: Don Phillips on January 25, 2018, 09:22:32 pm
"Fosters - Australian for Beer."
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: MarcusB on January 28, 2018, 03:01:19 pm
Happy Australia Day!  Yeah I also tried this morning to do as Marcus said but no go. Might try the beta route at some point but hopefully we don't have to wait too long.  I'm with you Zedrally. Time for a beer!

What didn?t work?
You have to make sure you move your amazon account back to US, not the Alexa location. Do you get the option to re-enable the Vera skill?
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: delbz on March 06, 2018, 04:27:50 pm
If you move back to the US skill store, do you lose the Australian skills and Alexa's Aussie speech localisation?
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: zedrally on March 06, 2018, 08:19:02 pm
^^^
Yes, I'm still waiting on Vera to update before changing over the AUS version.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: jarrodirwin on March 08, 2018, 10:56:46 pm
If you move back to the US skill store, do you lose the Australian skills and Alexa's Aussie speech localisation?

If you have your amazon account set to US, you can still set your location, timezone and preferred speech localisation to AU (or NZ in my case) as this seems to be a per device setting. Well on the amazon Echo this is the case anyway.

I have 2 echos which this works on. I also imported a Ecobee4 from the US which has Alexa built in. I can set my location and timezone however can not change the speech localisation so am stuck with the US version for this which isn't ideal. This is understandable though seeing as they only are officially released in the US and am not sure if they plan to spread worldwide. With the different localisation, most of the time the Echo's respond to me even if i'm standing right by the Ecobee which is an interesting experiment.

Skills on the other hand are global so you either can use AU or US skills. This is the most annoying part as NZ now are releasing NZ/AU locked skills. Not sure what the rationale behind that is... =/

I really hope Vera release an AU skill sometime soon.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: MrJoshua on March 15, 2018, 03:42:27 pm
Grrrrrrrrr
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: zachattac on March 15, 2018, 11:27:07 pm
Hello Vera, I am very annoyed that there isn't the alexa skill for Australia yet, if you look in the skills section in the Alexa app a lot of other home automation vendors have got their skill for Australia. From my point of view this is not very good , I am loosing faith in your company, please advise us WHEN it will be available.
regards zachattac
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: rastas80 on March 17, 2018, 06:37:30 pm
I am also annoyed (to say the least) - none of the workarounds work!
Can you please provide an ETA on Alexa skill for Australia???
Regards
Steve
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: rastas80 on March 28, 2018, 07:15:36 am
Hello?????
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: Tillsy on March 28, 2018, 06:30:49 pm
Hello?????

G'day ;)
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: Sorin on March 29, 2018, 04:00:10 am
I'd really love to give you more details guys but I really don't have them atm.  :-[

As soon as I'll have more on this I'll keep you posted
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: MarcusB on April 04, 2018, 09:27:42 pm
Still not sure of the problem.
Mine works perfectly with Vera.
I had to initially set the skill up in the US store to configure Vera connection (as we all did).
When the Alexa was officially supported in Australia, My Alexa automatically switched to Australia and I lost the Vera connection.  I changed back to the US, configured the connection again then kept it as is. 
Once the integration was set up, I switched back to the Australian store and all works well. The australian app works and all my addresses, etc are australian.

Sorin, It seems like there shouldn't be any changes to allow the Australian Alexa to work easily. It just needs to acknowledge the Australian store. 
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: djkai18 on April 06, 2018, 12:24:59 am
If you're happy to change your location this has worked for me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dO5rExW-7I8&feature=youtu.be

This will change your default skills store from Australia to US.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: bigmusic11 on April 09, 2018, 09:48:19 pm
Try this out. Not sure if any one has posted this link before.

http://support.mios.com/customer/en/portal/articles/2648086-alexa-user-guide
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on May 07, 2018, 10:37:57 pm
So Im pretty frustrated right now, I got my Vera Plus yesterday and setup has been going great until I went to add "Vera Control" to my Alexa Skills and found there isnt one for Aussies. It's doubly frustrating as we have echo's in basically every room of the house now and Alexa integration was a huge selling point for Vera Plus.  :o

I googled it to make sure I wasnt being dense and I found it but cant use it because "You are not eligible to enable this skill due to geographical restrictions."

https://www.amazon.com/MiOS-Ltd-Vera-Control/dp/B01N4RQS4F

I dont understand the Geo-blocking as Australia is an officially supported region for Vera (for years?) and Amazon echo (for 4 months) products! 
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on May 07, 2018, 10:57:00 pm
Try this out. Not sure if any one has posted this link before.

http://support.mios.com/customer/en/portal/articles/2648086-alexa-user-guide

That only works if you switch over to a US Amazon account - I like my Aussie account for the local news services etc.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on May 13, 2018, 11:24:07 pm
if anyone has a spare RasPi lying around, I've found that HA-Bridge is excellent for integrating Vera and Alexa together.

https://github.com/bwssytems/ha-bridge/wiki

It pretends to be a Hue Hub and gives you full control over what on your Vera is visible to Alexa, including scenes - I'm pretty impressed with it.

I have my old Pi Model B running in console only mode @ 800mhz (100Mhz over-clock) and it's very responsive.  8)

https://i.imgur.com/NYhhVlLh.jpg (https://i.imgur.com/NYhhVlLh.jpg)

https://i.imgur.com/KXaxLm6h.png (https://i.imgur.com/KXaxLm6h.png)
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: Sorin on June 04, 2018, 08:33:23 am
Hello guys, just a friendly tap on the back. It's happening now.  8)

https://status.getvera.com/incidents/ztm8526hjrcx

Alexa V3 comes with support for English UK, US, CA, AU, IN.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: MarcusB on June 04, 2018, 06:59:11 pm
Try this out. Not sure if any one has posted this link before.

http://support.mios.com/customer/en/portal/articles/2648086-alexa-user-guide

That only works if you switch over to a US Amazon account - I like my Aussie account for the local news services etc.

I hooked my Alexa up to a US account in the very early days.  Now Alexa is supported in Australia too, mine is still linked to the US but I have access to all the local content, weather, skills etc.  Seems to work exactly like an Australian one except I have full integration with Vera too.

Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 04, 2018, 07:20:05 pm
Hello guys, just a friendly tap on the back. It's happening now.  8)

https://status.getvera.com/incidents/ztm8526hjrcx

Alexa V3 comes with support for English UK, US, CA, AU, IN.

There's still no Vera Control skill in the aussie Alexa Skills store.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: Sorin on June 05, 2018, 02:36:53 am
Cloud-related, portal updates and the new plugin push will take up to 24 hours, then, there will be another few days until it's gonna show up in the new stores.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: MrJoshua on June 07, 2018, 01:54:20 am
Impatiently twiddling my thumbs!! . . .
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 07, 2018, 03:51:19 am
Impatiently twiddling my thumbs!! . . .

Me too!
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: Sorin on June 07, 2018, 05:30:03 am
Slight update, so until now, we've updated the Vera portal and the Vera Helper plugin on the customer's units with support for Alexa V3. But as far as I understood from the Alexa team, it might take up to a week or two for the Skill to be analyzed by Amazon and make it available in their stores. We're almost there...

Thank your for the patience
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 07, 2018, 05:33:38 am
Slight update, so until now, we've updated the Vera portal and the Vera Helper plugin on the customer's units with support for Alexa V3. But as far as I understood from the Alexa team, it might take up to a week or two for the Skill to be analyzed by Amazon and make it available in their stores. We're almost there...

Thank your for the patience

Ok, thanks for letting us know. I'm looking forward to decommissioning my ha-bridge.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: markd on June 07, 2018, 05:37:30 pm
Sorin, off topic I know but how have you updated the helper plugin without customer intervention and without a new FW release?
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: Sorin on June 08, 2018, 04:19:43 am
Hello Markd

The plugin is updated automatically if your checkbox for Auto Updates of the plugin is checked, which it is, by default.
If it's not, once you go to the plugin details it will tell you there is a new version.

Something like:

App id :8840
Current Version:1.36
Latest Version1.36

1.36 being the latest V3 capable plugin.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: markd on June 08, 2018, 12:25:30 pm
Ok thanks for the info
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: rweisback on June 09, 2018, 09:07:40 am
Vera for Australian Alexa now available.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 09, 2018, 05:36:48 pm
Vera for Australian Alexa now available.

So it is, awesome!
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 10, 2018, 06:41:47 pm
Ok so the new Vera skill works great!!! It definitely has slightly lower latency than my previous solution (HA-Bridge) and now I ca control my Nest's using Alexa via Vera too!

However I've found an issue, my Vera and Echo's are all configured to use Metric (you know the base 10 system that actually makes sense) .... but my Nest Temps show as Fahrenheit in the Alexa App. I can still issue temp changes in metric, without specifying Celsius, but it'd be nice if the set-point was in the correct format.


oh and I have a question, I excluded a couple of devices during initial Vera Control skill setup, how do I add them back in later on if I want to? NVM, I found the Manage Alexa options.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: HSD99 on June 10, 2018, 06:48:37 pm
Ok so the new Vera skill works great!!! It definitely has slightly lower latency than my previous solution (HA-Bridge) and now I ca control my Nest's using Alexa via Vera too!

However I've found an issue, my Vera and Echo's are all configured to use Metric (you know the base 10 system that actually makes sense) .... but my Nest Temps show as Fahrenheit in the Alexa App. I can still issue temp changes in metric, without specifying Celsius, but it'd be nice if the set-point was in the correct format.


oh and I have a question, I excluded a couple of devices during initial Vera Control skill setup, how do I add them back in later on if I want to? NVM, I found the Manage Alexa options.
Actually, for humans, Fahrenheit makes more sense. Here's why:

Faherenheit

0 - pretty cold     100 - pretty hot

Celsius

0 - kinda cold      100 - dead

Kelvin

0 - dead              100 - dead

 ;)
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 10, 2018, 07:04:12 pm
Ok so the new Vera skill works great!!! It definitely has slightly lower latency than my previous solution (HA-Bridge) and now I ca control my Nest's using Alexa via Vera too!

However I've found an issue, my Vera and Echo's are all configured to use Metric (you know the base 10 system that actually makes sense) .... but my Nest Temps show as Fahrenheit in the Alexa App. I can still issue temp changes in metric, without specifying Celsius, but it'd be nice if the set-point was in the correct format.


oh and I have a question, I excluded a couple of devices during initial Vera Control skill setup, how do I add them back in later on if I want to? NVM, I found the Manage Alexa options.
Actually, for humans, Fahrenheit makes more sense. Here's why:

Faherenheit

0 - pretty cold     100 - pretty hot

Celsius

0 - kinda cold      100 - dead

Kelvin

0 - dead              100 - dead

 ;)

I was referring more to the length, distance etc measurements, they make no sense at all compared to Metric in which everything is multiples of 10.  8)

However in Temperature, 0 Celsius = equals water freezing (aka known as bl@@dy cold) so that makes sense, and 100 Celsius = water boiling, so that also makes a lot of sense. 100F is just silly because here in Straya' we spend huge chunks of our Summer, here in the southern States, well over 110F or 44c - using Fahrenheit just seems a bit melodramatic!   ;D
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: HSD99 on June 10, 2018, 10:51:53 pm
Ok so the new Vera skill works great!!! It definitely has slightly lower latency than my previous solution (HA-Bridge) and now I ca control my Nest's using Alexa via Vera too!

However I've found an issue, my Vera and Echo's are all configured to use Metric (you know the base 10 system that actually makes sense) .... but my Nest Temps show as Fahrenheit in the Alexa App. I can still issue temp changes in metric, without specifying Celsius, but it'd be nice if the set-point was in the correct format.


oh and I have a question, I excluded a couple of devices during initial Vera Control skill setup, how do I add them back in later on if I want to? NVM, I found the Manage Alexa options.
Actually, for humans, Fahrenheit makes more sense. Here's why:

Faherenheit

0 - pretty cold     100 - pretty hot

Celsius

0 - kinda cold      100 - dead

Kelvin

0 - dead              100 - dead

 ;)

I was referring more to the length, distance etc measurements, they make no sense at all compared to Metric in which everything is multiples of 10.  8)

However in Temperature, 0 Celsius = equals water freezing (aka known as bl@@dy cold) so that makes sense, and 100 Celsius = water boiling, so that also makes a lot of sense. 100F is just silly because here in Straya' we spend huge chunks of our Summer, here in the southern States, well over 110F or 44c - using Fahrenheit just seems a bit melodramatic!   ;D

I'm a physicist so I agree 100% with the ease of use of metric units of measure, and C for scientific temperature measurement. I live in the Pacific Northwestern US, and winter temperatures in some areas are far below Fahrenheit zero in winter and well above 100F in summer. The scale of Fahrenheit is more human friendly as you have to get really cold before you have negative temperatures, and a temperature over 100 conveys the message that it's really hot.  It's totally about the drama!  ;D
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 10, 2018, 11:22:57 pm
I'm a physicist so I agree 100% with the ease of use of metric units of measure, and C for scientific temperature measurement. I live in the Pacific Northwestern US, and winter temperatures in some areas are far below Fahrenheit zero in winter and well above 100F in summer. The scale of Fahrenheit is more human friendly as you have to get really cold before you have negative temperatures, and a temperature over 100 conveys the message that it's really hot.  It's totally about the drama!  ;D

I've got a wife and daughter so I already have all the drama I need in my life. ;D
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: mios.toddbt on June 11, 2018, 02:40:49 am
The Alexa app has settings of its own regarding Fahrenheit or Celsius, under This Device.

Please check to see if it's set to Celsius.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 11, 2018, 02:47:08 am
The Alexa app has settings of its own regarding Fahrenheit or Celsius, under This Device.

Please check to see if it's set to Celsius.

Thanks.

I hate to be snarky, but If you read my post you'd know this is the case for every echo. It was the first thing I checked.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: mios.toddbt on June 11, 2018, 02:52:58 am
I'm just trying to help, i don't mind.

What i'm saying is that Alexa has the list of all the physical devices ( Echo's ), but the Alexa App itself is considered as a separate Alexa Device and has its own settings.

If not, i am mistaken and i will get to fix it ASAP.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 11, 2018, 03:02:17 am
I'm just trying to help, i don't mind.

What i'm saying is that Alexa has the list of all the physical devices ( Echo's ), but the Alexa App itself is considered as a separate Alexa Device and has its own settings.

If not, i am mistaken and i will get to fix it ASAP.

All good, I try to be as precise as possible to avoid obvious questions as I'm quite technically competent (ex server admin).

We are behind on the app version etc here in Straya' so the app doesn't have the voice functionality and isn't counted as a "Device" in the physical device list.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: zedrally on June 11, 2018, 10:08:00 pm
Why did I change to the Australian skill, knowing that it could all fall over....and it has with devices not responding.
Changing back to US doesn't work either so now I have no VC at all while CS tries to find out why I have no local log in.
In the space of a few clicks I've gone from a system that worked but wasn't accessible, to a system that doesn't respond.
Change with caution is all I can add....
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 11, 2018, 10:39:02 pm
Why did I change to the Australian skill, knowing that it could all fall over....and it has with devices not responding.
Changing back to US doesn't work either so now I have no VC at all while CS tries to find out why I have no local log in.
In the space of a few clicks I've gone from a system that worked but wasn't accessible, to a system that doesn't respond.
Change with caution is all I can add....

My Vera Plus system is working perfectly today using the Aussie Vera skill - perhaps something else is causing your issues?
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: MrJoshua on June 12, 2018, 03:05:12 am
Yay! WooHoo,  Alexa just turned on the kitchen light.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: zedrally on June 12, 2018, 03:09:22 am
That prompted me to try my Kitchen Lights.
Image my surprise that it now works.

Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 12, 2018, 03:10:53 am
That prompted me to try my Kitchen Lights.
Image my surprise that it now works.

Awesome, maybe it just needed time to sync up?
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: MrJoshua on June 12, 2018, 03:55:21 am
Ive read somewhere lots of people were having issues with scenes not working?

It seems when i add 'Groups' in Alexa, it stops the scenes from working, Alexa always says "Sorry, that command does not work for that device",  I delete everything rediscover the devices, all works again..... Until i re-add a group..

Does anybody know anything about this?

Cheers,
Mr Joshua.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 12, 2018, 07:32:11 pm
Ive read somewhere lots of people were having issues with scenes not working?

It seems when i add 'Groups' in Alexa, it stops the scenes from working, Alexa always says "Sorry, that command does not work for that device",  I delete everything rediscover the devices, all works again..... Until i re-add a group..

Does anybody know anything about this?

Cheers,
Mr Joshua.

Today the Alexa integration is flaky as hell!

Im getting devices randomly "refusing to respond" according to my echo's but they work perfectly thru both the Alexa and Vera mobile apps.

e.g. last night my nests wouldn't "respond" at all to voice commands and the vera scene I use to set them to overnight temps was failing - but then they were fine after rebooting my Vera Plus.

This morning however I had a couple of Z-wave devices not responding to Alexa voice commands, but once again working perfectly in both the Alexa and Vera mobile apps.  ???

EDIT: but now everything seems fine again after a Vera Plus reboot.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: zedrally on June 12, 2018, 07:37:03 pm
unusually, I don't have a problem, the demon appears to be exorcised?
Not sure if I like the Aussie accent but I had better be careful just in case Alexa gets testy !


Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: dJOS on June 12, 2018, 07:42:13 pm
unusually, I don't have a problem, the demon appears to be exorcised?
Not sure if I like the Aussie accent but I had better be careful just in case Alexa gets testy !

Yeah seems to be fine now ... very odd!

I've gotten used to the "Aussie" accent now and so has the family - maybe they've toned it down since launch as it was pretty rubbish to start with.
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: zachattac on June 21, 2018, 03:16:53 am
HI Vera , I am trying to enable the Alexa skill but when linking my account  in the app, it says that I don't have an account, I am using my login that I have had for ages.
regards Dene
Title: Re: Australian Vera skill
Post by: jarrodirwin on June 26, 2018, 11:02:45 pm
I live in New Zealand so my "local" region is Australia now Amazon/Alexa is there I guess.

I've got 2 Echo Dots, 1 Ecobee4 Smarth Therostat (with Alexa built in) and a VeraPlus.

Currently I have my Amazon account still set to US but both Echos are set to Australian Voice. The Ecobee4, since not officially released outside the US, can not be changed from the default US voice (which is pretty annoying as it's no where near as good at interpreting me as the Dots due to the Australian voice recognition!).

Anyway, real question is, what's the benefit of switching my Amazon account to AU now that the AU Vera Skill is available? Anything? I already have skills from Stuff.co.nz and somewhat accurate weather reporting that must have been released to the US Alexa store. Is there a way to get a list of skills in each regions store?

Also not 100% sure what the Ecobee4 would think of the change of region either but that's another issue for another day =/