The Vera Community forums have moved!

General => Upgrading => Topic started by: Inzax on April 18, 2018, 07:41:37 pm

Title: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: Inzax on April 18, 2018, 07:41:37 pm
Installed earlier today on my vera secure.  Solid so far.  I was having an issue with simultaneous recording uploads, which this hopefully resolves. 

Released today.  Jump if you dare....

http://support.getvera.com/customer/portal/articles/2934426-ui7-%E2%96%BE-vera-software-update-%E2%96%BE-version-7-0-26b-april-17-2018?utm_source=7.0.26%20Beta%20RN&utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=7.0.26%20Beta%20RN&utm_content=7.0.26%20Beta%20RN (http://support.getvera.com/customer/portal/articles/2934426-ui7-%E2%96%BE-vera-software-update-%E2%96%BE-version-7-0-26b-april-17-2018?utm_source=7.0.26%20Beta%20RN&utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=7.0.26%20Beta%20RN&utm_content=7.0.26%20Beta%20RN)
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.2b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: HSD99 on April 18, 2018, 08:18:20 pm
Installed on the test Vera Plus. No issues.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.2b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: Don Phillips on April 18, 2018, 09:43:51 pm
I'll probably wait for the full release. Mine is stable at the moment.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.2b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: korttoma on April 19, 2018, 02:32:40 am
Installed on my Veralite (manually), no issue so far.

@Inzax please correct the heading from 7.0.2b to 7.0.26b
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: Mobilniy on April 19, 2018, 04:33:24 am
Vera Secure, Vera Plus - all smooth, no issues
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: Sorin on April 19, 2018, 08:31:03 am
The new Z-Wave SDK is included in this build as well
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: rafale77 on April 19, 2018, 11:21:10 am
@Sorin,

1. Very impressed by the increased UI speed. I have a lot of devices and UI7 always had a long lag to load the device page. It is significantly faster on this beta.
2. Something strange: The choice of icon for the binary light device "indoor switch" subcategory 1 is a plug while the "outdoor" one is a light bulb. Seems to be a mistake. Only the inwall switch (subcat 3) and on/off switch(subcat 0)should be a plug I believe. I can always go an edit all my subcategories but it seems odd.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: kwieto on April 19, 2018, 11:52:22 am
Does the upgrade of Z-wave SDK mean that there is no longer "restoring backup issue" for those, who already received such upgrade from Customer Care as a solution for stability issues?
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: rafale77 on April 19, 2018, 12:22:32 pm
A problem on my vera edge, My amcrest camera now shows device not detected and "invalid credentials". I reverted back and it is working again. Something odd going on with the cameras. I checked that all the attributes were unchanged.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: Repe on April 19, 2018, 02:11:15 pm
Same here on my veraplus. My d-link cameras says invalid credentials.
When I try to reinstall them, vera don't accept password.
They work ok with safari.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: cokeman on April 19, 2018, 03:59:28 pm
Hi,

 after upgrade i have some issues

1) Cant enable Remote access, it just keeps un spinning, and when it stops it's still disabled

2) LogFile:   FileUtils::WriteBufferIntoFile cannot write to /etc/cmh/user_data.json.lzo.new err No space left on device <0x77607320>
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: kwieto on April 19, 2018, 04:46:05 pm
There is something with icons: some of my lights are now presented as wallplugs.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: rafale77 on April 19, 2018, 05:25:50 pm
There is something with icons: some of my lights are now presented as wallplugs.

Yeah see my first post. There are some odd choices of icons according to their descriptions...

One other thing, the upgrade also crashed my Aeon HEM, I had to reconfigure it to get it working again. I suspect I need to wait for a couple of nightly heals to get all the devices back to normal but some may just crash due to the new zwave firmware and will need to be reconfigured.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: kwieto on April 19, 2018, 05:37:41 pm
In fact icon is more or less correct (cat. 3 subcat. 3), but these switches are reported as lights in shortcuts section (turn all on/off).
I don't mind that they became switches (in fact they should be), but then they also should disappear from "lithts" shortcut.
The funny thing is that outdoor switch (subcat. 2) still presents itself as bulb, while it is not reported as "light" by the shortcut.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: Tillsy on April 19, 2018, 07:09:47 pm
Shouldn't you guys report these bugs to that beta email address?  I don't think the developers are reading this thread are they?
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: rafale77 on April 19, 2018, 10:17:26 pm
Shouldn't you guys report these bugs to that beta email address?  I don't think the developers are reading this thread are they?

Well I just did. Good suggestion.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: kwieto on April 20, 2018, 02:43:03 am
Does anyone have connection issues after upgrade?
I've lost connection to my remote controller. It was upgraded yesterday and worked fine till this morning, so probably issue is not related to the beta.
But maybe update has something with connection to Vera relays, or connection to router over WiFi?
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: Sorin on April 20, 2018, 04:22:20 am
@Sorin,

1. Very impressed by the increased UI speed. I have a lot of devices and UI7 always had a long lag to load the device page. It is significantly faster on this beta.
2. Something strange: The choice of icon for the binary light device "indoor switch" subcategory 1 is a plug while the "outdoor" one is a light bulb. Seems to be a mistake. Only the inwall switch (subcat 3) and on/off switch(subcat 0)should be a plug I believe. I can always go an edit all my subcategories but it seems odd.

Although not a very "visible" release, it has been but a lot of effort instability of on the Vera side, but also on the cloud side, starting with hardware updates, see https://status.getvera.com/ for past events: and continuing with the MMS software updates.

Does the upgrade of Z-wave SDK mean that there is no longer "restoring backup issue" for those, who already received such upgrade from Customer Care as a solution for stability issues?

Yes, the beta adds the final version of the Z-wave firmware, the Customer Care was uploading by hand.

There is something with icons: some of my lights are now presented as wallplugs.

Please report these to beta@getvera.com but make sure it's not some kind of a cache browser issue in the first place.

If you have critical problems, like loss of control of your Vera controller or similar, please contact our Customer Care at support@getvera.com or +1 866 966 2272 (toll free)

Shouldn't you guys report these bugs to that beta email address?  I don't think the developers are reading this thread are they?

Please report issues to beta@getvera.com. I will also keep an eye in here for critical reports.

Also, A BIG THANKS to everyone participating and making Vera a better place to be, by reporting vital feedback.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: Tsviper on April 20, 2018, 01:16:11 pm
Just updated yesterday.  Everything seemed to go well except after trying to verify the updated version on the firmware screen I got a message stating that the memory was full.  Everything went downhill from there and I was getting errors like "Error in Lua code in scenes and events" at the top of the UI.  I was no longer able to remotely access the unit or save any scenes or settings.  Turns out the memory on the unit was 98% full.  Called tech support and they were able to fix the issue by deleting the z-wave firmware files from other countries that were included in the update to release some memory.  Now I'm down to 81% full memory and everything is working again.  I email the beta feedback but just wanted to post my finding here in case anyone else had the same issue with the lates beta release.  Great experience with support and happy they were able to answer my call right away and resolve the issue.  These are beta after all and am very happy that they are willing to help resolve these issues right away.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: rgmessick on April 20, 2018, 01:27:18 pm
Just updated yesterday.  Everything seemed to go well except after trying to verify the updated version on the firmware screen I got a message stating that the memory was full.  Everything went downhill from there and I was getting errors like "Error in Lua code in scenes and events" at the top of the UI.  I was no longer able to remotely access the unit or save any scenes or settings.  Turns out the memory on the unit was 98% full.  Called tech support and they were able to fix the issue by deleting the z-wave firmware files from other countries that were included in the update to release some memory.  Now I'm down to 81% full memory and everything is working again.  I email the beta feedback but just wanted to post my finding here in case anyone else had the same issue with the lates beta release.  Great experience with support and happy they were able to answer my call right away and resolve the issue.  These are beta after all and am very happy that they are willing to help resolve these issues right away.

I have to do the same thing after every upgrade. Before upgrading the device was at 71%, after upgrading 92% (I think), and after removing the other country's z-wave firmware was back down to 73%.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: Tsviper on April 20, 2018, 05:06:47 pm
rgmessick,

Thank for commenting on this.  This is the first time I have ran into this issue and I usually try all the latest beta's.  Not sure why this time I ran into the problem.  The memory on these things is incredibly small (8.6mb).  The only thing I have installed that is using a lot of this space is the DataMine plugin.  Shows it using 2.6mb but other than that not sure what else I can eliminate to get more free space.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: kwieto on April 21, 2018, 03:17:51 am
Seems that there is problem with updating status of the devices.
Yesterday I had problem with Fibaro RGBW controller (one channel was reported as ON, when in fact it was ON), today I've tracked similar issue with Qubino (device is ON, in the system reported as OFF, but showing correct power consumption)
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: rgmessick on April 21, 2018, 07:45:00 am
Tsviper,

Another problem that takes up space are plugin-ins, even if uninstalled.  Not thinking it would be a problem, I tried lots of them just to see what they did or how they could help automate things; then I would uninstall them.  Unfortunately the problem with that is some files are left behind even after uninstalling the plug-ins.  I searched this site and found bits here and there on how to clean this up and deleted almost 200 plug-in files that were no longer installed on my system. At that time I was running at around 90 percent even with the other country's z-wave firmware removed.  After removing the left behind plug-in files it was down to 71 percent. 
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: rafale77 on April 21, 2018, 11:57:09 am
Tsviper,

Another problem that takes up space are plugin-ins, even if uninstalled.  Not thinking it would be a problem, I tried lots of them just to see what they did or how they could help automate things; then I would uninstall them.  Unfortunately the problem with that is some files are left behind even after uninstalling the plug-ins.  I searched this site and found bits here and there on how to clean this up and deleted almost 200 plug-in files that were no longer installed on my system. At that time I was running at around 90 percent even with the other country's z-wave firmware removed.  After removing the left behind plug-in files it was down to 71 percent.

Actually... plugin never really get deleted in my experience. Once you install it, the files never go away unless you go delete them manually. They just accumulate in the /etc/cmh-ludl folder. When a plugin is deleted, it just deletes the associated devices in the user file and the lines from the startup.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: kwieto on April 21, 2018, 02:53:13 pm
I've lost connection to my remote controller. It was upgraded yesterday and worked fine till this morning, so probably issue is not related to the beta.
But maybe update has something with connection to Vera relays, or connection to router over WiFi?

I've checked and the controller was not available online (remotely), while at the same time perfectly fine when connected locally.
I was prepared to make hard reset, but surprisingly connecting it via LAN (default was WiFi) solved the issue - it appeared as online on the web interface and worked without issues.
No change in network settings was needed.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: therealdb on April 23, 2018, 01:43:26 pm
uhm, I wanted to add some code to my startup.lua, and added a bunch of lines (12) to my 1735 line of codes (I prefer to use scene to handle event and move much of the logic into a central place, under source control, etc).

I noticed that if I go over 1750 lines (more or less), no matter what the lines have inside, the LUUP engine crash at startup and I'm not able to recover it unless I go back to 1735. Code is working for sure, I double checked. Even commented code seems to trigger it.

I understand I can move some code to external files, but this seems a nasty bug to me...
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: rafale77 on April 23, 2018, 01:46:40 pm
uhm, I wanted to add some code to my startup.lua, and added a bunch of lines (12) to my 1735 line of codes (I prefer to use scene to handle event and move much of the logic into a central place, under source control, etc).

I noticed that if I go over 1750 lines (more or less), no matter what the lines have inside, the LUUP engine crash at startup and I'm not able to recover it unless I go back to 1735. Code is working for sure, I double checked. Even commented code seems to trigger it.

I understand I can move some code to external files, but this seems a nasty bug to me...

Wow... you probably want to spin off some of your code into a file to include in you lua startup. I am pretty sure it crashes because your vera times out trying to load the startup lua.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: therealdb on April 23, 2018, 01:49:57 pm
it's working OK. what they do is to get all the code in scenes and append before the startup.lua, so that will not change very much.

I think I found the bug, related to char limits -> http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=53039.0
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: rafale77 on April 23, 2018, 03:03:23 pm
it's working OK. what they do is to get all the code in scenes and append before the startup.lua, so that will not change very much.

I think I found the bug, related to char limits -> http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=53039.0

This is for scenes though. We may have the same thing for the startup lua in terms of # of lines?
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: xeinth on April 23, 2018, 10:41:04 pm

Just updated yesterday.  Everything seemed to go well except after trying to verify the updated version on the firmware screen I got a message stating that the memory was full.  Everything went downhill from there and I was getting errors like "Error in Lua code in scenes and events" at the top of the UI.  I was no longer able to remotely access the unit or save any scenes or settings.  Turns out the memory on the unit was 98% full.  Called tech support and they were able to fix the issue by deleting the z-wave firmware files from other countries that were included in the update to release some memory.  Now I'm down to 81% full memory and everything is working again.  I email the beta feedback but just wanted to post my finding here in case anyone else had the same issue with the lates beta release.  Great experience with support and happy they were able to answer my call right away and resolve the issue.  These are beta after all and am very happy that they are willing to help resolve these issues right away.

I have to do the same thing after every upgrade. Before upgrading the device was at 71%, after upgrading 92% (I think), and after removing the other country's z-wave firmware was back down to 73%.

I have to do the same thing as well.  Why Vera refuses to fix this and instead manage all of these supoprt tickets manually doing the same thing is beyond me.  At the very least, automate deleting the unneeded files if you wont fix the partition.

X
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: Tsviper on April 24, 2018, 12:42:26 pm

Just updated yesterday.  Everything seemed to go well except after trying to verify the updated version on the firmware screen I got a message stating that the memory was full.  Everything went downhill from there and I was getting errors like "Error in Lua code in scenes and events" at the top of the UI.  I was no longer able to remotely access the unit or save any scenes or settings.  Turns out the memory on the unit was 98% full.  Called tech support and they were able to fix the issue by deleting the z-wave firmware files from other countries that were included in the update to release some memory.  Now I'm down to 81% full memory and everything is working again.  I email the beta feedback but just wanted to post my finding here in case anyone else had the same issue with the lates beta release.  Great experience with support and happy they were able to answer my call right away and resolve the issue.  These are beta after all and am very happy that they are willing to help resolve these issues right away.

I have to do the same thing after every upgrade. Before upgrading the device was at 71%, after upgrading 92% (I think), and after removing the other country's z-wave firmware was back down to 73%.

I have to do the same thing as well.  Why Vera refuses to fix this and instead manage all of these supoprt tickets manually doing the same thing is beyond me.  At the very least, automate deleting the unneeded files if you wont fix the partition.

X

So each day for some reason the z-wave firmware files re-download or something because they are back after deleting them the previous day.  I downgraded back to the last public firmware and at least I'm down to 90% full with the z-wave files.  Deleting them gets me down to 75% full but then the next day they reappear and I'm back to 90%.  Very strange.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: rafale77 on April 24, 2018, 01:38:35 pm

Just updated yesterday.  Everything seemed to go well except after trying to verify the updated version on the firmware screen I got a message stating that the memory was full.  Everything went downhill from there and I was getting errors like "Error in Lua code in scenes and events" at the top of the UI.  I was no longer able to remotely access the unit or save any scenes or settings.  Turns out the memory on the unit was 98% full.  Called tech support and they were able to fix the issue by deleting the z-wave firmware files from other countries that were included in the update to release some memory.  Now I'm down to 81% full memory and everything is working again.  I email the beta feedback but just wanted to post my finding here in case anyone else had the same issue with the lates beta release.  Great experience with support and happy they were able to answer my call right away and resolve the issue.  These are beta after all and am very happy that they are willing to help resolve these issues right away.

I have to do the same thing after every upgrade. Before upgrading the device was at 71%, after upgrading 92% (I think), and after removing the other country's z-wave firmware was back down to 73%.

I have to do the same thing as well.  Why Vera refuses to fix this and instead manage all of these supoprt tickets manually doing the same thing is beyond me.  At the very least, automate deleting the unneeded files if you wont fix the partition.

X

So each day for some reason the z-wave firmware files re-download or something because they are back after deleting them the previous day.  I downgraded back to the last public firmware and at least I'm down to 90% full with the z-wave files.  Deleting them gets me down to 75% full but then the next day they reappear and I'm back to 90%.  Very strange.

If you don't use a USB stick to store your logs, you might want to flush that too. There are a number of obsolete files the Vera keeps. Usually CS will log in and try to flush them for you if you contact them but yeah... it's not the most efficient use of time.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: therealdb on April 24, 2018, 02:31:37 pm
This is for scenes though. We may have the same thing for the startup lua in terms of # of lines?

yes, it seems to be limited to 65k chars. now I must decide to refactor everything (and that's not so easy?) or just move some logic to my Raspberry PI (via OpenLuup or C# under .NET Core). anyway, that's really bad, because modules in LUA are not very different in terms of performance from writing everything in a single block.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: therealdb on April 24, 2018, 02:36:30 pm
Anyway, I got a couple of "cannot write user data" today (at least 3) and subsequent unit freeze. I also had a couple of devices re-configured, loosing their correct configuration.

So far, I'm not impressed in a good way.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: hellovn on April 27, 2018, 02:18:56 pm
My Veraplus is showing "Can't detect device" for my hue bulbs. I have set the status "FailedStatusReport" in the hub and it was working great until the latest beta firmware.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: kwieto on April 28, 2018, 03:55:21 pm
Anyway, I got a couple of "cannot write user data" today (at least 3)

Same here. In my case it results with problems with accessing the unit remotely, error about writing user data, but I don't have freezing of the controller
But I have such problems in one out of three controllers.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: zedrally on April 28, 2018, 05:48:07 pm
With one of my test Edge's, the latest Beta flashed the UZB dongle (ACM0) back to default (tty) and deleted all devices. When reset back to ACMO it appears not to communicate, with CS ATM seeking a solution.
Otherwise I'll need to revert to the last "good" known FW version, but it's not good news for users who use a external radio.
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: Mai Pensato on April 30, 2018, 06:01:59 pm
Installed this Beta on my test VeraPlus.  Paired a Fibaro Wallplug and Vera create two devices: the plug itself with on/off icon and an unnamed device with Watts and KWH. But this 2nd device does notning... Energy usage in Watts is shown on the main device as usual.  I never saw this before and I have several Fibaro wallplugs and also Everspring and Benext. Never saw this before...
When searching for a certain device when you want to pair it now all devices are listed randomly in stead of alphabetic order. Very difficult to find the right one.
These are certainly no improvements!!
Title: Re: Beta Version 7.0.26b (1.7.1026/1.7.3754/1.7.3755/1.7.3760)
Post by: markd on May 01, 2018, 01:45:36 pm
Also seen that devices are random order when including so tricky to find!
Title: Beta Version 7 0 26b 1 7 1026/1 7 3754/1 7 3755/1 7 3760
Post by: Marieamase on May 07, 2018, 06:57:41 pm
There has been a new beta version posted to the forum that should address all problems reported to this point. I apologize for the extreme delay in getting this to you guys.  Thank you for your patience