Author Topic: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development  (Read 112255 times)

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« on: February 26, 2013, 05:18:15 pm »
Hi all, just a note to say that I've done most of the development for a new plug-in for ecobee thermostats.  I'm not sure exactly when it will be available, but it will work with both their consumer- and commercial-level thermostats.

The current state of the plug-in is documented here: http://cocu.la/vera/ecobee/README.md.  One of the "fun" features of this thermostat (and the plug-in) is the ability to automate a text message from Vera that will go to the thermostat's display (or to all of your thermostats at once) in a simple UPnP SendMessage action.  So property managers can send "close the window" or "pay the rent" message to their rental properties! :)

If you have any thoughts, ideas or suggestions of what should be in the plug-in, please share!

Regards,
watou

Offline Barlow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 05:45:29 pm »
Hi Watou,

I just read your announcement and just wanted to let you know that I am really excited about your project. I use Ecobee thermostats in our house and summerhouse and the prospect of being able to integrate with Vera is great. It has been on my wish list for a long time. Keep up the good work. I look forward to work with the plugin when ready - or if ever you need testing done.

Kind regards,
Barry


Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2013, 09:47:04 pm »
I'm very glad to hear that, Barry!  I'm eager to release it to get some more testing with it, but it's looking good so far.  I will post here when it's ready for testing.

Thanks very much for the encouragement.

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2013, 04:50:55 pm »
Do any ecobee thermostat users out there have a "My Apps" widget in their ecobee web portals, like on the settings tab?  My plugin is working fine with the current state of the web API, but I would like to involve others to test the code before official release. 

Thanks for any assistance,
watou

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2013, 02:40:51 pm »
Sorry for the late reply; very spotty Internet here.

I don't have better info regarding when My Apps will be generally available.  Hopefully soon.

The plugin ought to work with all of their thermostats, but it's only been tested against about 18 Smart Si thermostats so far.

Sorry I don't have better info. I tried to accommodate more testers but was rebuffed.

Regards,
watou

Offline dmcstroud2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2013, 08:35:07 pm »
I got a message saying need firmware 1.5.408 but my vera lite is on 1.5.262 and says it is the most current version??

Offline futzle

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3243
  • Karma: +187/-9
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2013, 08:57:05 pm »
You have to update by visiting a special web page. Finding the announcement on the forum is left as an exercise.

Offline Brientim

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
  • Karma: +77/-7
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2013, 10:36:24 pm »

Try cp.mios.com/firmware and follow the instructions

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
IMPORTANT NEWS for ecobee thermostat plugin users
« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2013, 02:41:32 pm »
To anyone who has installed the ecobee plugin from the app store but who has not yet entered the PIN in the ecobee.com web portal (since it's still in beta and not generally available):

Please uninstall the plugin for now until ecobee has made their API publicly available to all ecobee customers, and version 0.7 of the plugin is avaible in the Apps store. 

To uninstall the plugin, log into your Vera UI5 web interface, go to the Apps tab, find "ecobee Thermostat" under the "My apps" sub-tab, and press Uninstall.  Follow the remaining instructions, and monitor this thread for exciting news about the upcoming GA release of ecobee.com's API!

Regards,
watou

Offline Michele

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: +0/-3
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2013, 02:03:14 pm »
I just installed the ecobee plugin on my new Vera 3 and I have to say I'm very impressed.  This is a great service - thanks so much.  Nice job!

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2013, 03:00:48 pm »
I just installed the ecobee plugin on my new Vera 3 and I have to say I'm very impressed.  This is a great service - thanks so much.  Nice job!
You're very welcome!

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2013, 05:05:56 pm »
How did you get PIN code login working?
Please report if the information in the README.md is insufficient.

http://cocu.la/vera/ecobee/README.md

Offline watou

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +43/-12
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2013, 06:25:57 pm »
I don't see "My Apps" widget in my ecobee.com web portal.
So I wonder how others are logging in since Ecobee beta is closed.

Unfortunately I have no information about when the API was/will be generally available. If it's not already, it ought to be very soon. Make sure you check the settings tab in the web portal to be sure. Version 0.7 of the plugin is available because 1) I believe that My Apps will be GA soon if not already, and 2) it is the only viable path to make the beta plugin available to testers.

If you learn anything definitive,  please share it here!

Thanks,
watou

Offline Michele

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: +0/-3
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2013, 08:28:42 pm »
Michele,

How did you get PIN code login working?

I have no idea.  First I went to the apps tab on Vera and installed the ecobee app.  Then I saw an ecobee icon appear on my Dashboard with a button that said "get pin".  So I clicked that.  I got a four digit number but nothing else happened, so I went back and read the documentation that said I had to type that into ecobee's web interface.  So I opened that, went to the ecobee Apps tab, loaded the Vera app and typed the pin into the otherwise anonymous gray box I found there.

Once again, nothing happened.  I then went back to Vera and typed my thermostat's serial number into the "thermostats" section of the advanced tab of the ecobee icon.  And still nothing happened.

But a few minutes later, while I was searching the web for more information on how to get this mystery to work, suddenly my thermostat appeared in UI5.  Yippee!

I guess sometimes just stumbling around blindly can be a productive strategy.

Offline theal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: +0/-3
Re: Plug-in for ecobee thermostats in development
« Reply #14 on: June 14, 2013, 12:58:25 am »
I got my API!

Thank you WATOU, your plug-in works beautifully!