Author Topic: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin  (Read 23391 times)

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +33/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #30 on: February 10, 2014, 01:10:43 pm »
@robertmm,

Looks like everything is reporting correctly now along with the other changes you've incorporated.

Thanks!
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
  • Karma: +18/-13
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #31 on: February 25, 2014, 04:14:46 pm »
I just built a notification on this plug-in in order to try to tell when the power is out.  My first attempt was to trigger on <10 Watts of usage, thinking maybe the meter still responds during a brief outage.

Just a minute ago it alerted - but when I logged into the VERA GUI all the readings were "nan".  Power, From Grid, to Grid, Net - they all displayed the alpha "nan".

Maybe a message was sent?  I haven't updated to the latest code or firmware (unless the firmware was pushed to the Eagle, I guess...)
Long Live UI5!

Offline robertmm

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #32 on: February 25, 2014, 04:20:33 pm »
nan is "not a number". Did your Eagle have power loss too?
If you do the following from the command line (replace IP.OF.YOUR.EAGLE and 0xEAGLESMACADDRESS with your own), we could try to force "usage" to 0:

telnet IP.OF.YOUR.EAGLE 5002
<LocalCommand>
<Name>get_device_data</Name>
<MacId>0xEAGLESMACADDRESS</MacId>
</LocalCommand>


I just built a notification on this plug-in in order to try to tell when the power is out.  My first attempt was to trigger on <10 Watts of usage, thinking maybe the meter still responds during a brief outage.

Just a minute ago it alerted - but when I logged into the VERA GUI all the readings were "nan".  Power, From Grid, to Grid, Net - they all displayed the alpha "nan".

Maybe a message was sent?  I haven't updated to the latest code or firmware (unless the firmware was pushed to the Eagle, I guess...)

Offline thegazelle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #33 on: March 04, 2014, 09:47:39 am »
Can anyone confirm if this interfaces with the DataMine plugin? I can't see why DataMine wouldn't work but wanted to confirm.

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
  • Karma: +18/-13
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #34 on: March 12, 2014, 05:36:56 pm »
What changes would be needed to get the usage monitored in EventWatcher?  I think the Device Category Needs to be "M" AKA "21", but I don't know what controls the category...

http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Luup_UPNP_Files#Device_Categories
Long Live UI5!

Offline robertmm

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #35 on: March 12, 2014, 10:24:10 pm »
Can anyone confirm if this interfaces with the DataMine plugin? I can't see why DataMine wouldn't work but wanted to confirm.

Yes it works with DataMine

Offline tagyoureit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #36 on: April 28, 2014, 12:09:09 am »
Hi,

I am very excited, and grateful, to have found this thread.  I am a brand new VeraLite user and primarily want this to help control my energy costs, and secondarily to automate my home.  I already received some of my modules (mostly Aeotec smart switches) and discovered some key energy uses.  I also have two of the Aeotec Z-Wave Smart Energy meter (one 1st and one 2nd edition) on order (will be here very soon).  However, I have 400 amps  coming into my house currently divided  into 100A/100A/70A/50A (distr box, distr box, pool, A/C).  If you don't know the specs of the Aeotec by heart, it is limited to 100A.  So I would need to order another 2 (for 4 total) at $80 to $100 each just to monitor my home energy.  I started looking at other solutions (mostly through the forums) and went through NorthQ, YouLess, Ergy, Brultech... finally I came across this thread which lead me to the Rainforest Eagle and my compatible PG&E (Northern California) AXR-SD compatible meter.  And I can enable it completely through the web with PG&E.  I ordered the Rainforest Eagle tonight on Amazon with 2 day shipping.

I am super excited to receive this.  It saves me money, has a direct connection to my electric meter, and I'm looking forward to the next step: data analysis!  Much thanks to @robertmm and I would likewise (@wilme2) be happy to make a donation for this plug-in to continue support/development. 

Offline tagyoureit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #37 on: April 30, 2014, 01:41:57 am »
Hey all,
So my Rainforest Eagle arrived today!  Setup was actually really easy.  I was able to pair the unit through the PGE.com website in about 5 minutes and the signal says it is really strong which is surprising because it feels far away... kudos to Zigbee. 

So everything seems to be logging well except... every 10-12 minutes if I have the UI open the Eagle device stops recording the data.  I went out of the house for 3+ hours and it recorded fine, and then I opened the UI again and it stopped recording shortly thereafter.  See screenshots... any advice?  I have tried different settings for the pulse time but it doesn't seem to make a difference.

If I click 'reload' on the UI it comes back again, but otherwise it just goes to sleep after a little while.
thanks!
Russ

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +33/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #38 on: April 30, 2014, 02:27:06 am »
Sorry to answer questions with questions:

Do you use any of the cloud services like Bidgely that you could correlate this against?
What are you using to log with currently? Perhaps we can use the same check if the behavior is the similar!?

Also what software versions do you have in your Eagle? I had mine updated by Rainforest a few months back, so perhaps this will have a bearing.
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline tagyoureit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #39 on: April 30, 2014, 02:55:30 am »
Sorry to answer questions with questions:
No worries!

Do you use any of the cloud services like Bidgely that you could correlate this against?
What are you using to log with currently? Perhaps we can use the same check if the behavior is the similar!?
Also what software versions do you have in your Eagle? I had mine updated by Rainforest a few months back, so perhaps this will have a bearing.
I do not have this hooked up to any cloud services (yet).  I am using the rainforest UI and watching the numbers change there and they get stuck in the Vera UI.  I then go to the dataMine plugin (previous attachments) and can see that there has been no change in the data (either kWh or watts) for the same period of time.

These are the Eagle firmware versions:
HW   1.2.3
FW   2.0.24
ZB   1.4
RFA ID   20131030.40 (6200)

Russ

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +33/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #40 on: April 30, 2014, 11:28:48 am »
So it does look like there are some differences as mine is:

HW   3.2.3
FW   2.0.20
ZB   1.4

I will try the same on mine within a couple of days or so to see if I can reproduce this. If I cant then I guess its likely that its some sort of issue you'll need to raise to RainForest against your versions.

I think having it log to Bidgely or somewhere else (cant remember what the other choice is) will give you better idea to pinpoint if its a Vera or RainForest issue.
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline tagyoureit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #41 on: May 01, 2014, 07:08:50 am »
I didn't respond the last couple of days because it seemed to be working pretty well, but then I noticed something odd in the Datamine logs.  The watts appeared to have stop recording even though the total kWh is still working properly.  Not sure if this would be an eagle device issue or Datamine issue (I'm actually guessing the latter, as I _can_ see the watts changing in the device tab).

Offline poohbah

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #42 on: July 29, 2014, 10:30:25 pm »
Thank you for this plugin. I just received my Eagle and it's paired up with the utility company and the Vera.

It would be great if more useful information could be added from this plugin to automationHD. Currently, it appears that automationHD just shows a question mark on the tile and doesn't show any wattage information or anything else on the tile, and it just dumps all of the data from the plugin when clicked (which is much better than nothing, but not perfect).
« Last Edit: July 29, 2014, 10:42:46 pm by poohbah »

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
  • Karma: +18/-13
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #43 on: September 09, 2014, 01:14:07 pm »
Just wondering if this plug-in has been tested on UI7?  I am not in ANY hurry to upgrade, but checking on some of the plug-ins I use that haven't been discussed on the UI7 threads...
Long Live UI5!

Offline shay

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Rainforest Automation Eagle ZigBee Smart Meter HAN Gateway Plugin
« Reply #44 on: July 14, 2015, 11:17:15 pm »
robertmm, thank you for the information about Oncor.  I had the 1000X usage and was able to get it corrected with your help.