Author Topic: Logitech harmony ultimate  (Read 157035 times)

Offline Rbcarnevale

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #30 on: January 31, 2014, 07:34:30 pm »
Success!

The HarmonyHubControl code has been ported to BSD sockets (to remove the Qt dependency) and cross-compiled with OpenWRT 10.03 (Backfire) to run natively on the VeraLite.  The resulting self-contained binary (located in the attached zip file) is 99.9K in size and runs on the VeraLite exactly as it does on Linux and Windows. 

Also attached is an updated Readme file based on the one posted on SourceForge.  The Readme contains instructions to run the executable.

The next step will be to os.execute the binary from a Lua plug-in, parse the output to populate virtual devices and activities in Vera and build UI to send commands to the Harmony Hub. 

I've been looking at some existing plug-ins and the Wake-On-Lan plug-in seems to do something very similar using the wol executable.  I'm thinking of using that as a starting point. 

Given my (very) limited knowledge of Lua and Vera Plugins I could really use some pointers with this next part.

I could also use some feedback on the command-line output.  Now that the cross-compile environment is set up it's fairly easy to make modifications.

You're great!

Plz, continue!

I've no words to thank you.

Offline kenray536

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +1/-2
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #31 on: February 05, 2014, 05:13:14 pm »
Great work so far!

I'm looking to pick up the Logitech 915-000194 now that I see the plugin is being worked on.

Thank so much for all of your hard work and efforts.

I had previously considering getting one of the iTach products, but I like how a physical remote can also be used with the harmony.

Keep up the great work!
Vera 3 1.5.677 - DSC Envisalink 3 - Wemo - Philips Hue - Harmony - Wink Hub - Sonos - Echo Vera Bridge - HomeKit Bridge - GE - AEON Labs - Evolve - Leviton - Schlage - Honeywell - Ring Doorbell - Eagle Rainforest Bidgely

Offline NickTheGreat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +2/-4
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #32 on: February 07, 2014, 11:31:53 am »
I came in here saying I'd kill a man to integrate my Harmony with my Z-Wave stuff.  You have saved me (and my family) the stress of all that prison time.  Thank you so much.  8)

I am in the market for a remote for my new theater room anyways.  This really tips the scale in favor the the Ultimate.   :D

Offline aechelon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #33 on: February 07, 2014, 02:48:55 pm »
Thanks for the encouragement all! 

Just a quick update: I've been doing some refactoring on the code in preparation for publishing the first cut on code.mios.com. 
Thanks to Andrei for setting up the project.

The binary is down to 67K with no external dependencies and I've started working on the UI. 

Stay tuned.

Offline haavard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #34 on: February 09, 2014, 06:51:18 am »
I just want to applaud the development of this app.
I have really been thinking about how to solve the AV control in my house.
This could be the best solution! Cant wait to try it.

regards

Offline Juggler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #35 on: February 09, 2014, 11:18:19 am »
This is great news... very excited to see/hear more.

One question that I think I know the answer too... Will this plugin allow for bi-directional communication, or one-way only? i.e. I'm assuming the plugin will allow MiOS to control the Harmony Hub, can the Harmony Hub in turn send commands to MiOS? Or is some sort of IR bridge required?

Offline pathduck

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #36 on: February 10, 2014, 03:30:59 pm »
Thanks for the encouragement all! 

Just a quick update: I've been doing some refactoring on the code in preparation for publishing the first cut on code.mios.com. 
Thanks to Andrei for setting up the project.

The binary is down to 67K with no external dependencies and I've started working on the UI. 

Stay tuned.

You are amazing. I have been hacking Harmony ultimate by using a rooted android device with tasker to simulate screen presses to be able to control the Harmony app. If this works it will be a HUGE time saver :)

Offline aechelon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #37 on: February 12, 2014, 02:04:04 pm »
This is great news... very excited to see/hear more.

One question that I think I know the answer too... Will this plugin allow for bi-directional communication, or one-way only? i.e. I'm assuming the plugin will allow MiOS to control the Harmony Hub, can the Harmony Hub in turn send commands to MiOS? Or is some sort of IR bridge required?

Yes, the commands are 1-way.  The Vera can send commands to the Harmony, and the the Harmony can be queried to for the current activity, but since the Vera doesn't have either an IR or Bluetooth receiver, it cannot receive commands from the Vera. 

Offline haavard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #38 on: February 12, 2014, 04:13:43 pm »
Is there any indication of when a beta could be available?

Regards

Offline jimpapa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
  • Karma: +28/-1
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #39 on: February 12, 2014, 05:28:29 pm »
This is one plug in I am eagerly awaiting  :)

 

Offline aechelon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #40 on: February 13, 2014, 11:51:55 am »
Is there any indication of when a beta could be available?

Regards

I hope to have something ready to beta over the next few weeks.  ;)

Offline Rbcarnevale

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #41 on: February 15, 2014, 08:27:59 pm »
Yeahhh!

I'm waiting for news!!M

Offline alexzen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #42 on: February 21, 2014, 03:22:04 pm »
Yes !!! Good news !!

Thank you :)

Offline huveu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • Karma: +5/-1
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #43 on: February 24, 2014, 09:44:48 am »
Thanks for your work on this!

If I wanted to try the binary in Vera, how would I go about running it? I know someone posted saying it worked great, but there were no instructions.

Offline jimpapa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
  • Karma: +28/-1
Re: Logitech harmony ultimate
« Reply #44 on: February 24, 2014, 10:46:44 am »
Thanks for your work on this!

If I wanted to try the binary in Vera, how would I go about running it? I know someone posted saying it worked great, but there were no instructions.

aechelon is the developer on this.. and of course runs the binary.  But it is not released yet as he is still working on it.
So we need to wait till he is ready to be able to install and run it