Author Topic: Russound RNET Plugin v1.4  (Read 30378 times)

Offline kabdalla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #30 on: July 31, 2013, 04:55:47 pm »
It provides the "set" codes, which is what I used for my modified I_RNET file for you, but doesn't offer any "get" codes.  It also doesn't provide the structure for controller responses to "get" codes.  Look at the "Russound_Controllers_Protocol_v1_00_04.pdf" document for examples.

I've put in my own request to Russound so we'll see what they respond with.

Offline kabdalla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #31 on: July 31, 2013, 05:35:24 pm »
Just got off the phone with a Russound integration engineer who was extremely helpful.  I think I can write a single I_RNET document that will work with all controllers.  Once I confirm it's working on my, I'll upload it here for testing on an MCA controller.

Offline big517

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #32 on: July 31, 2013, 06:34:07 pm »
Awesome!  I've been impressed with Russound's support.  the ONE thing that still bothers me is the lack of "MUTE ON, and MUTE OFF" for RIO protocol.  Someone I spoke with said they added it to their list to implement, but I didn't see it in this last update....

Offline kabdalla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #33 on: July 31, 2013, 06:40:12 pm »
What I found out is the legacy "70" version (my plugin) only works on CA-series but this new "71" version works on all controllers.  The issues you were seeing are that it's a much more "chatty" version.  I sent one volume status request and got 5 responses of what the level is.  That's why your CPU was spiking and why buttons were sometimes working and sometimes not, the serial interface was busy.

Working on getting the status part working, though don't know how long it will take.  Hopefully have something up today.

Offline big517

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #34 on: July 31, 2013, 06:50:14 pm »
Take your time... your efforts are appreciated.  Interesting to know there is a less chatty version.  Hopefully you don't have to re-work the entire plugin.

Offline kabdalla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #35 on: July 31, 2013, 08:33:19 pm »
Ok, I've got a file for you to test @big517.  I have to say, understanding this new version of RNET is making this much easier.  I've got status coming back based on any change in state, volume, or source, whether its from Vera, keypad, or remote, without having to explicitly request.

The one gotcha I have is that I don't have the exact structure for these responses.  I built the updates based on my logs and analysis so I hope they hold true on the C-series.

Please test out all the buttons, I'm particularly interested in the "All On" command.  Good luck!
« Last Edit: July 31, 2013, 08:52:25 pm by kabdalla »

Offline big517

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #36 on: July 31, 2013, 09:25:20 pm »
That is interesting... so it "listens" instead of queries?

Offline S-F

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1247
  • Karma: +61/-12
  • Clueless N00b
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #37 on: July 31, 2013, 09:37:41 pm »
This rapid development is stupendous. This is shaping up to be a grade A plugin.

Yeah eBay. New though and from a Russound dealer so I can RMA it through Russound. Looks like it will be a while until I can play with you guys.
My forum account was apparently hacked by a leprechaun. And he's drunk all of the time. If a post of mine seems a little off kilter, it's probably because he made it.

Offline kabdalla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #38 on: July 31, 2013, 10:33:27 pm »
@big517: That is what's confusing me.  I understand the new "set" commands can also prompt the controller to respond with a status but that doesn't explain how the controller also sends this status when controlled by keypad or remote.  I could have swore during my initial plugin development that when I changed volume or state from the keypad, the log showed nothing.  It could just be that I overlooked something.  It's not that there is "listening" going on, it's the controller is sending status whenever something is changed, regardless of what is changing it.


Offline big517

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #39 on: August 01, 2013, 06:02:38 am »
I remember in RIO you had to initialize the zone to broadcast that info. 
Not sure about RNET, but the "Reading RNET" documents leads me to beleive this as well.
Maybe you should call to that Russound person again?

Code: [Select]
Tech Tip
Reading Real-Time RNET Display and Status Messages:
This document is a supplement to the Russound_Controllers_Protocol_V1_00_03.doc. While the
RNET protocol document describes methods of controlling and polling the CAV 6.6, this
document concentrates on processing real-time RNET display and status messages. You will
need to read the standard protocol document to understand some of the concepts used.
1) How To Determine That A Message Should be Read
2) Handling Locally Rendered Display Messages
3) Handling Pre-formatted Display Messages
4) Handling Special Status / Display Element Messages
5) Handling Event Messages
6) String ID Tables
There are four types of display/status messages used by RNET controllers and peripherals. These messages are
used to update text displays, display icons, and to other system states such as zone power state, etc.
1) Locally rendered display messages (Rendered by the display device).
2) Pre-formatted display messages (Rendered by the CAV 6.6 or other peripheral RNET device).
3) Status messages to update special values such as source sharing, party mode, etc.
4) Event messages to change states of certain parameters such as zone power state

Offline kabdalla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #40 on: August 01, 2013, 08:20:54 am »
I may do that if people are having problems with this but I did nothing to initialize....except maybe use the "71" codes from Vera which may have triggered something.

Did you get a chance to try out the new I_RNET file?  Eager for some feedback.

Offline kabdalla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #41 on: August 01, 2013, 12:41:59 pm »
Once I get confirmation that this works on the C-series controllers I'll upload version 1.1 of the plugin.  It will include:

1) New I_RNET file with C-series support
2) Mute toggle button
3) Support for additional messages to display (including Mute)
4) New icon for zones
5) Incoming status parsing cleanup


Offline big517

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #42 on: August 01, 2013, 03:26:24 pm »
ALL ON and ALL OFF Working...  Still major bug with Source Selection.  volume and conrol work as well.  Seem like the only issue are the Source buttons.  Only Source 1 does anything and it switches to Tuner and crashes the unit completely!  I have to turn the MCA off to regain control.

Offline kabdalla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #43 on: August 01, 2013, 03:38:30 pm »
Ok.  Can you do the following for:

1) On the Vera under Setup > Logs, turn on verbose logging.  It will reboot the Vera.

2) In a terminal window, ssh into the Vera, chdir to /var/log/cmh

3) Type   tail -f LuaUPnP.log | grep '^5' > log.txt

4) Back on the Vera web interface, click a couple of Source buttons that are causing the crash.

5) Back in the terminal window, control-c to kill the last command.

6) Attach the log.txt file here.


Hopefully that all made sense.  I also have an email in to Russound.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2013, 07:27:49 pm by kabdalla »

Offline kabdalla

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Russound RNET Plugin
« Reply #44 on: August 02, 2013, 04:20:22 pm »
Also, if anyone else has a Russound MCA controller and is interested in helping troubleshoot, please let me know.  I'm trying to get this hammered out pretty quick.