Author Topic: Ping Sensor  (Read 139109 times)

Offline Cor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1080
  • Karma: +4/-4
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #570 on: December 15, 2016, 01:52:59 pm »

I have a ping sensor polling the AT&T Uplink IP address. If the poll fails for more than 20 minutes,

What have you setup at:
Poll Period   
Device Timeout 

?

Thanks,
Cor

Offline Newzwaver

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: +4/-3
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #571 on: December 30, 2016, 07:06:55 am »
Hi All,

I need help.  I am trying to use the ping sensor as a way to adjust heat and lights in my kids rooms.  However I have not been able to get Vera to report the correct state of the phone (i.e. the sensor will report the phone as being on the server and it is not or it is and the sensors state is not on).  I have changed the invert to report the correct state and then it still happens.  I noticed the earlier versions had two extra files S_AwarenessSensor.xml and I_AwarenessSensor.xml.  The plugin you download from the plugin store doesn't.  DO i need the files?  How do i get this to work correctly? 

Thanks

Offline clippermiami

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1382
  • Karma: +27/-6
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #572 on: March 05, 2017, 03:45:58 pm »
Does Ping Sensor work with FQDN or only physical IP addresses? I made some changes to configuration today and in the process I replaced some IP addresses with FQDN and it appears to not have worked.
Two Vera Plus UI7 Linked via HTTP, 90+ Devices. PlugIns: PLEG, DSC, Blue Iris, MySensors,  AutoVera, ImperiHome, VeraAlerts, EventWatcher

Offline ojovilla

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #573 on: April 25, 2017, 04:35:46 pm »
I downloaded and installed ping sensor from the vera app store. I do not see any options for adding multiple devices?

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 422
  • Karma: +5/-11
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #574 on: April 25, 2017, 08:42:55 pm »
You add multiple ping sensors....   :)

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • Worthington Engineering, Inc.
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #575 on: April 25, 2017, 09:26:09 pm »
+1 to Mike - only because of all the bad karma  8)
Vera 3, UI7 1.7.947, CT101 t-stat, Everspring motion detector, GE/Jasco switch, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs door sensor, Insteon garage control, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual & Multi Switch, Weather, Sys. Mon.

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 422
  • Karma: +5/-11
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #576 on: April 26, 2017, 04:01:47 pm »
I have no idea what's with the karma thing other than I had a run in with an idiot a while back....

Offline twiseva

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #577 on: April 27, 2017, 09:04:03 am »
So, trying to setup a decent geofencing setup based on iphone location and LAN pings. I have to use the LAN part as my daughters phone when at school in her locker wonders into my home zone (its not far away).

My issue is that the pings are not very reliable. For example, right now my iphone is home and on my local network. I can ping from my desktop. The ping plugin is not seeing the iphone (tripped -== 0). I have a 15 sec poll and 0 for device timeout. I am using a specific local IP address (statically assigned to my iPhone). My test was to remove from network (turn of wifi) and then add it back on. Like 5 minutes later, the ping sensor still thinks my phone is not pingable (but it is).

Any thoughts? Places I could look at for issues?

CHeers, Tony.

Offline John M.

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 403
  • Karma: +25/-3
    • getvera.com
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #578 on: April 27, 2017, 09:44:29 am »
I have no idea what's with the karma thing other than I had a run in with an idiot a while back....


Fixed  ;D
John.M. ▾ Senior Customer Care Advocate
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION (Pacific Time Zone, UTC -8 )
Monday - Friday   12:00 am ? 06:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday   04:00 am ? 06:00 pm

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • Worthington Engineering, Inc.
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #579 on: April 27, 2017, 08:11:30 pm »
Since Mike's karma has been fixed, can I have my +1 back?  ;D
Vera 3, UI7 1.7.947, CT101 t-stat, Everspring motion detector, GE/Jasco switch, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs door sensor, Insteon garage control, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual & Multi Switch, Weather, Sys. Mon.

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 422
  • Karma: +5/-11
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #580 on: April 27, 2017, 09:38:21 pm »
Thanks...  I wasn't worried about it though. It doesn't affect anything as far as I know.   ;D ;D ;D ;D

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 691
  • Karma: +4/-6
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #581 on: April 28, 2017, 04:27:55 pm »
@twiseva, were you successful in getting ping to work for you? I am trying to do something similar with my iPhone but I also seem to be getting erratic results, of those of you who have gotten your ping sensor to work, can you provide what you've solution was e.g. Poll Period and Device Timeout settings are you using virtual switches and are you using PLEG conditions and/or device to monitor. Also for slow witted I'm assuming that a tripped sensor (red running man) = successful IP address pinged. Mike
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 691
  • Karma: +4/-6
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #582 on: April 28, 2017, 04:49:53 pm »
@clippermiami, would you be so kind and share your PLEG solution for rebooting your router/access point? thanxs in advance
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 422
  • Karma: +5/-11
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #583 on: April 28, 2017, 09:31:52 pm »
Yes, the red running man showing the sensor tripped means it's got you. I have mine set to poll every 90 seconds and I allow 3 failures before it untrips. I am using an android phone so I can't speak for iPhones, but I've read they have wifi sleep issues. My android seems to sleep even though I've told it not to so I use PLEG to monitor for the tripped sensor for 10 minutes AFTER a door is opened and to set a multiswitch (virtual device). If the wifi on the phone goes to sleep and the door hasn't been opened recently, the sensor untrips, but the multiswitch stays set. It's not perfect, but I'm still tweaking it....

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 691
  • Karma: +4/-6
Re: Ping Sensor
« Reply #584 on: April 29, 2017, 10:35:14 am »
@Mike Yeager, thanxs for the comeback, question how do you set for 3 failures and what do you set the device timeout to? I've setup a watch variable via Datayours to monitor the Ping device to see what the duration of non-detect I have (The phone in question has been home for the last 2 days). It kind of sounds like you've created a "Wasp in the box" scenario as you've described using PLEG, Mike
« Last Edit: April 29, 2017, 10:36:59 am by MNB »
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's