Author Topic: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)  (Read 46491 times)

Offline milillicuti

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #15 on: November 30, 2014, 08:32:58 pm »
Hey

Do you think there is a chance to control the RM locally from the Vera ?

Thx

Offline milillicuti

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #16 on: December 22, 2014, 03:40:02 am »
Hi folks,

Any idea of how to control this device?

Thx

Offline milillicuti

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #17 on: January 05, 2015, 11:24:32 am »
New UP  ;)

Offline hhalibo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #18 on: January 14, 2015, 03:57:54 am »
New up!I want it too!

Offline conradodse

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #19 on: January 26, 2015, 05:14:17 pm »
Just order mine from DX.com

does any one know how to use with vera?

Offline bwoods113

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #20 on: February 09, 2015, 06:35:37 am »
I would be willing to beta test.

Offline bwoods113

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #21 on: February 18, 2015, 07:45:47 am »
Anyone able to get this working in Vera?

Offline zuNN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #22 on: March 11, 2015, 05:32:40 am »
I think most people are waiting to see if somebody will be able to make a plugin for it to work with the Vera.
While the product is great, the best I could do was to create some scenes and automate it with tasker (Autoinput plugin). Far from ideal.

i use the same setting: tasker, automate it and the crappy official app, the problem is that the app (broadlink eRemote) sometimes dosn't respond and you have to kill to continue.
maybe a solution is to use another device in home (tablet) with the app always open and remotely control the app via tasker or ifttt.

when i try to connect remotely to the device (rmpro) via the official app seems that the two device (my phone and rmpro) need to preventively connect itself and then allow the command from the phone... i think this is the main reason for app crash since it's not possible to set a static ip address to the device

anyone with a solution or hint?

...and sorry for my poor english

Offline natekinkead

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +2/-1
  • Z-Wave Enthusiast, Blogs at http://KinkeadTech.com
    • Kinkead Tech
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #23 on: March 13, 2015, 01:47:11 pm »
Hey guys!  I nobody can figure out how to write a plugin to control the RM2, there is an alternative, but it's not quite as cheap.  I wrote a tutorial on how to control IR devices with Z-Wave (Vera).  I bought the iTach device and used the GC100 Vera plugin to control it (since they are from the same manufacturer).  Check out my tutorial...


http://kinkeadtech.com/2014/08/control-ir-devices-with-z-wave/

Offline milillicuti

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #24 on: March 19, 2015, 04:10:08 pm »
Hey guys!  I nobody can figure out how to write a plugin to control the RM2, there is an alternative, but it's not quite as cheap.  I wrote a tutorial on how to control IR devices with Z-Wave (Vera).  I bought the iTach device and used the GC100 Vera plugin to control it (since they are from the same manufacturer).  Check out my tutorial...


http://kinkeadtech.com/2014/08/control-ir-devices-with-z-wave/

Not exactly the same price ;)

After many requests, the Broadlink team doesn't seem willing to open anything ... No API, no IFTTT ...

Offline RonX

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #25 on: March 19, 2015, 06:29:10 pm »
This post is from another thread:
Hey guys,
Please download the SDK from the link below. Just remove the .jpg at the end.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B65vYtefY0h2d1NZbEtCUFgwc2hCeHNXMnFmOEdRU1VrcUl3/view?usp=sharing

Edit: Found this other document:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B65vYtefY0h2aE1LdWF5RG9sX00/view?usp=sharing

Let me know if there?s a problem.

THanks a lot!

Unfortunately, it is in Chinese, someone willing to translate it?

Offline RonX

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0

Offline milillicuti

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #27 on: March 20, 2015, 07:12:49 am »
This device seems similar to the Broadlink RM2

http://www.ebay.com/itm/351223053805?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Does it come with an API ?
This is the only thing we need ;)

Offline oliverdog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #28 on: March 23, 2015, 07:24:57 pm »
Hello everybody!
Unfortunately I came to a conclusion that the interaction with Vera or Tasker will be impossible. After doing some tests monitoring connections and ports of my home network, I realized that the command sent by Broadlink application does not go directly to the RM-PRO. The application sends the command to a Broadlink website or another web interface, which checks the ID of connected devices and retransmits to the registered RM-PRO.

There is no direct connection via any TCP / UDP port, so we have to beg for Broadlink develop a plugin for Tasker / Vera.

I am trying to contact the developers 6 months ago and so far had no response.

Offline RexBeckett

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 3888
  • Karma: +476/-10
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #29 on: March 24, 2015, 04:25:20 am »
Hello everybody!
Unfortunately I came to a conclusion that the interaction with Vera or Tasker will be impossible. After doing some tests monitoring connections and ports of my home network, I realized that the command sent by Broadlink application does not go directly to the RM-PRO. The application sends the command to a Broadlink website or another web interface, which checks the ID of connected devices and retransmits to the registered RM-PRO.

There is no direct connection via any TCP / UDP port, so we have to beg for Broadlink develop a plugin for Tasker / Vera.

I am trying to contact the developers 6 months ago and so far had no response.

There is an unfortunate trend in recent home-control devices. Many of them require you to access them through some external web site. There is presumably some advantage for the manufacturers in this approach - they could even start charging for the service...

Personally I like to own the link to my home-automation and also have it still work if the Internet connection is down. This is why I was happy to pay for the Kira IR transceiver module. It is mine and I control everything that goes in or out of it. ;)

Having said that, people do write plugins to control devices via external web access. A published API makes this quite easy. Otherwise it can be very difficult to determine the protocol and penetrate any security mechanism.