Author Topic: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)  (Read 52420 times)

Offline oliverdog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #30 on: March 24, 2015, 11:19:33 am »
This device seems similar to the Broadlink RM2

http://www.ebay.com/itm/351223053805?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

I got in contact with the developers and they answered very quickly... I asked for the compatibility with Vera, Domoticz and Tasker and they told would ask technical people.

Offline oliverdog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #31 on: March 24, 2015, 11:22:54 am »
Having said that, people do write plugins to control devices via external web access. A published API makes this quite easy. Otherwise it can be very difficult to determine the protocol and penetrate any security mechanism.

I got the SDK from Broadlink 1 year ago and it was published in this forum by another member. Could it be enough for the plugin or we will do need the API? I could try getting an API as well...

Offline martinigm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #32 on: April 19, 2015, 12:46:47 pm »
This device seems similar to the Broadlink RM2

http://www.ebay.com/itm/351223053805?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Isn't the Broadlink RM PRO is built with "off the shelf" components from Broadcom? Here is a link to a dismanteling.

Also there are (updated) broadlink sdk repositories on Github.

Doing integration against it should be pretty straight forward.. it's based on JSON queries.

Offline RonX

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #33 on: April 20, 2015, 06:22:13 pm »
Do the updated SDK still requiere to send commands to the broadlink servers and not to the device itself? I assume so, until a new fiirmware changes this.

Offline martinigm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #34 on: April 23, 2015, 07:30:23 am »
Do the updated SDK still requiere to send commands to the broadlink servers and not to the device itself? I assume so, until a new fiirmware changes this.

To the Broadlink servers? In the Android SDK (even the old one) you connect directly to your device and continue sending JSON queries.

Making the software send commands when you are not connected on the same net, now that is a bit more tricky.

You'll need chinese QQ (some kind of Facebook-ish thing  in chinese only) to forward the commands.

Offline ordor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #35 on: April 24, 2015, 09:30:30 am »
I have contacted them and waiting for replay.
They told me they don't have plans for working with PC or making an SDK.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2015, 10:34:22 am by ordor »

Offline milillicuti

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #36 on: June 22, 2015, 05:04:34 pm »
Hi folks

Have a look at this post i wrote and the great job of Fabien and Jochen.
An API to connect your Broadlink RM-Pro to your home aitomation system?
http://milillicuti.com/an-api-to-connect-your-broadlink-rm-pro-irrf-wifi-bridge-to-your-home-automation-system/

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2410
  • Karma: +112/-139
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #37 on: June 22, 2015, 05:26:40 pm »
Wow! Luckily I do have a few *nix servers I can run the script part on. As I use android phones and tablets as wall controllers, that part is also covered. Current pricing for a  Broadlink RM2 Pro:

AliExpress $38 + free ship (http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Original-Broadlink-RM-RM2-Pro-Smart-home-Automation-WiFi-Switch-Intelligent-controller-IOS-Android-Remote-Control/32319960564.html)

Amazon $42.99 + Free ship (http://www.amazon.com/Broadlink-Rm-Pro-Automation-Intelligent/dp/B00QQ5U4E0/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1435008192&sr=8-6&keywords=broadlink+rm2+pro)
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline bjagkev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #38 on: June 28, 2015, 08:45:56 pm »
Hello!

I got an RM Pro in Argentina couple days ago and I was able to control it from my computer following your steps! Thank you so much to you and the developers behind it.
The difference is that I don't have any Home Automation system but being a programmer myself I was able to run the codes from a simple C# program.
Also, I do not own an Android phone so in order to run the bridge I set up an Android virtual machine on VirtualBox. If you get the network settings right, then you can make it so it talks to the RM Pro.


Thanks!
Kevin

Offline torinnguyen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #39 on: July 11, 2015, 12:24:39 am »
Check out my Broadlink plugin for Tasker. Still work-in-progress. Available soon on Google Play Store.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wj9GFhuhelM

Offline voodoofox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #40 on: July 16, 2015, 02:58:03 pm »
I saw your video and it looks great.
If you need some sort of beta tester I am in.

I have nexus 5 and Rm pro
« Last Edit: July 16, 2015, 03:00:37 pm by voodoofox »

Offline torinnguyen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #41 on: July 22, 2015, 12:07:08 pm »
I've just released my Tasker plugin for Broadlink RM devices to Google Play Store.
Take a look at my demo video here if you haven't already https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wj9GFhuhelM

Get it from Google Play Store http://bit.ly/rm_tasker
7-days trial version is also available here http://bit.ly/rm_trial

Offline Noobius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #42 on: August 29, 2015, 04:48:02 pm »
Really love that registration process...

I've just released my Tasker plugin for Broadlink RM devices to Google Play Store.
Take a look at my demo video here if you haven't already https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wj9GFhuhelM

Looks very interesting and I was wondering if I can connect an RF Weather Station Transmitter into my RM PRO and use your tasker to automate the control of my AC?

If I buy this kind of cheap RF433 Weather station transmitter (or a few), is the RM Pro able to receive the readings and make adjustments according to your tasker scripts?

I would like to achieve a bit more complex logics taking into count the data from the indoor RF Transmitter (or a few) combined with info from the local professional weather station via internet. Then make a script with the tasker that takes into count the changes in the outdoor temperature to take action in order to minimize the impact on whatever requested indoor temp.

If above is possible, then for cooling this would work easy b/c the RM PRO can do IR.
For my central heating thermostat I would need to build a smart socket workaround that would cheat the temp sensor to reduce heating when controlled by warming the temp sensor.

Offline Pducharme

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #43 on: September 02, 2015, 08:22:37 pm »
I also have a question... If I buy a RM2-Pro, can I use that to control my Marantz SR-6005 receiver from VERA (OR any other App) ?

Offline awasen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cheap Wifi + RF + IR Controller (Broadlink-RM2-Pro)
« Reply #44 on: November 20, 2015, 06:43:47 am »
Anyone know if it can interact with the Harmony Hub (Ultimate) somehow?

I have a projector lift and curtains running on RF signal but all the rest of my equipment for the home cinema setup in Harmony Ultimate. What I would like would be to add buttons to the Harmony Ultimate that can trigger the RF signal from the Broadlink RM2 Pro.

This would obviously have to be an API solution as the RM2 would have to receive the API call over WiFi. I know the Harmony Hub has an API but it is unfortunately not public so I have no clue if it can be done...