Author Topic: iAqualink Pool Control  (Read 13879 times)

Offline mike0224

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2015, 09:24:40 am »
Sure am, if someone want's a beta tester for IAqualink I am game.

Offline Kmitchel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-2
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #16 on: April 08, 2015, 05:09:32 pm »
I just got my AquaLink 2.0.  I'd like Vera integration for the same reasons, if I'm away, I don't need the pool lights going on at night.  I'm happy to beta test as well!

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5402
  • Karma: +144/-299
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #17 on: April 08, 2015, 05:20:25 pm »
Just talked to Zodiac again and they confirmed that only 3 players currently have API access which is URC, Crestron and Control4.

They said they have attempted to contact others (vera was unknown to them). They are unwilling for security reasons to release a public API to anyone other then large manufactures of automation equipment and that can prove such. They then said to have someone from VERA call them and that was the end.

Offline niharmehta

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 304
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #18 on: April 14, 2015, 02:16:56 am »
If they are worried about the integrity of their API and the plan to is to maintain security by obscurity, then it is extremely worrisome. 
 I hope it is nothing more than them just attempting to control their costs by limiting the number of requests to the IOBridge platform which powers the iAqualink service.
2x VeraLite; 2xTrane Tstats; 45 x Switches/Dimmers/Appliance Modules; 4x Everspring Water Sensors; DSC Integration; 2 x Zwave Door Locks; 1x Ted5K; 1x Rainforest Eagle; Onkyo AVR; 6x Squeezebox;

Offline zaphodb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #19 on: May 25, 2015, 04:43:00 pm »
Hi folks - I am interested in automating my pool setup.  My pool has a Jandy Lite2 heater (which acts as a timer and controls the pump) and a Jandy Aquapure 1400 SWCG (everybody probably knows this already but Jandy was bought by Zodiac a few years ago).  I don't have an iAqualink or any other Aqualink controllers.  I do have a Control4 system but I don't really care about integrating the pool  into the C4 system - I just want to control my pool remotely via iOS or a web UI.  My equipment is all about 8 years old.
 
What I am interested in doing is to be able to remotely control the pump and the heater.  It would also be nice to be able to control the SWCG but that is a lower priority.

What do I need to do this?  An Aqualink Z4-4PI?

Why does this pool automation cost so much?  It seems to me that the functionality offered is pretty basic but you end up paying more than $1000 to get automation and more to integrate it into something like Crestron or Control4.  That seems pretty basic for a temperature sensor and a few relays and comparing it to stuff like smart irrigation controllers.

Offline rstrouse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 754
  • Karma: +25/-6
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #20 on: May 25, 2015, 07:27:10 pm »
Have any of you reached out to Autelis to see if their unit will control your iAqualink or Jandy gear?  If their unit does, then all this BS with Creston, C4, and URC goes away.  Frankly, I think Jandy et. al. sold their soul thinking they could rope in some of the high end systems by striking deals with the aforementioned for exclusivity.

There are a few things that I thank my lucky stars for.  One of which is that I went with Pentair rather than Jandy.  Sure you spend nearly double up front, but when I hit the button on my remote, it responds almost immediately.  Neighbor is always hitting his buttons more than once getting into the perpetual on/off cycle as the equipment delay is prolific.  I don't know if this is just his model or not but yikes.  This could also be the contractor he hired since it didn't go well and he was just waaay too nice about it.  He was told that this is normal.

Now if the Autelis does control the iAqualink or talks to the equipment directly, I am willing to help you guys through getting it all working like it does with the Pentair gear.  It will require a few victims with the equipment but, Autelis normalizes the interface to make all this a little less painful.  Every bit of my pool is controlled through Vera.  Working with one of the users, we even managed to get the IntelliChem working as well.

Pentair Pool Control Plugin
1xVera3 1.7.619, 4xLinear WT00Z, 3xLinear WS15Z, 1xLeviton VRCZ4, 10xCooper RF9540, 1xLeviton VRFI10, 1xLeviton VP00R, 2xLinear GD00Z-4, 1xGE/Jasco 45612, 1xGE/Jasco 45610,  4xGE/Jasco 45605, 2xYale YRD220-ZW-619, 1xCaddx NX584, Autelis Intellitouch Pool Control, OpenSprinkler

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5402
  • Karma: +144/-299
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #21 on: May 25, 2015, 07:49:58 pm »
Have any of you reached out to Autelis to see if their unit will control your iAqualink or Jandy gear?  If their unit does, then all this BS with Creston, C4, and URC goes away.  Frankly, I think Jandy et. al. sold their soul thinking they could rope in some of the high end systems by striking deals with the aforementioned for exclusivity.

There are a few things that I thank my lucky stars for.  One of which is that I went with Pentair rather than Jandy.  Sure you spend nearly double up front, but when I hit the button on my remote, it responds almost immediately.  Neighbor is always hitting his buttons more than once getting into the perpetual on/off cycle as the equipment delay is prolific.  I don't know if this is just his model or not but yikes.  This could also be the contractor he hired since it didn't go well and he was just waaay too nice about it.  He was told that this is normal.

Now if the Autelis does control the iAqualink or talks to the equipment directly, I am willing to help you guys through getting it all working like it does with the Pentair gear.  It will require a few victims with the equipment but, Autelis normalizes the interface to make all this a little less painful.  Every bit of my pool is controlled through Vera.  Working with one of the users, we even managed to get the IntelliChem working as well.

Pentair Pool Control Plugin

It's already known the Autelis works. Problem for me atleast is the iAqualink is the main controller and is needed for my pool. The Autelis is an add on modual/remote for the existing iAqualink control board that is already controllable from anywhere via my mobile device or webpage. I personally don't want to spend another 270.00 or more just to add it to VERA. There is a few things to gain by adding it to vera, but there is not enough for me to justify the 270.00 (my personal experience only).  So I'm just in a holding pattern hoping for a cheaper way to make the connection.

Offline rstrouse

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 754
  • Karma: +25/-6
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #22 on: May 25, 2015, 08:17:29 pm »
It's already known the Autelis works. Problem for me atleast is the iAqualink is the main controller and is needed for my pool. The Autelis is an add on modual/remote for the existing iAqualink control board that is already controllable from anywhere via my mobile device or webpage. I personally don't want to spend another 270.00 or more just to add it to VERA. There is a few things to gain by adding it to vera, but there is not enough for me to justify the 270.00 (my personal experience only).  So I'm just in a holding pattern hoping for a cheaper way to make the connection.

Yeah, I guess I'm a bit numb to the pool automation cost at this point.  But I'm looking to do whole home HDBaseT right now and longing for the pool automation cost.
1xVera3 1.7.619, 4xLinear WT00Z, 3xLinear WS15Z, 1xLeviton VRCZ4, 10xCooper RF9540, 1xLeviton VRFI10, 1xLeviton VP00R, 2xLinear GD00Z-4, 1xGE/Jasco 45612, 1xGE/Jasco 45610,  4xGE/Jasco 45605, 2xYale YRD220-ZW-619, 1xCaddx NX584, Autelis Intellitouch Pool Control, OpenSprinkler

Offline nomar383

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #23 on: May 27, 2015, 06:07:37 am »
Have any of you reached out to Autelis to see if their unit will control your iAqualink or Jandy gear?  If their unit does, then all this BS with Creston, C4, and URC goes away.  Frankly, I think Jandy et. al. sold their soul thinking they could rope in some of the high end systems by striking deals with the aforementioned for exclusivity.

There are a few things that I thank my lucky stars for.  One of which is that I went with Pentair rather than Jandy.  Sure you spend nearly double up front, but when I hit the button on my remote, it responds almost immediately.  Neighbor is always hitting his buttons more than once getting into the perpetual on/off cycle as the equipment delay is prolific.  I don't know if this is just his model or not but yikes.  This could also be the contractor he hired since it didn't go well and he was just waaay too nice about it.  He was told that this is normal.

Now if the Autelis does control the iAqualink or talks to the equipment directly, I am willing to help you guys through getting it all working like it does with the Pentair gear.  It will require a few victims with the equipment but, Autelis normalizes the interface to make all this a little less painful.  Every bit of my pool is controlled through Vera.  Working with one of the users, we even managed to get the IntelliChem working as well.

Pentair Pool Control Plugin

It's already known the Autelis works. Problem for me atleast is the iAqualink is the main controller and is needed for my pool. The Autelis is an add on modual/remote for the existing iAqualink control board that is already controllable from anywhere via my mobile device or webpage. I personally don't want to spend another 270.00 or more just to add it to VERA. There is a few things to gain by adding it to vera, but there is not enough for me to justify the 270.00 (my personal experience only).  So I'm just in a holding pattern hoping for a cheaper way to make the connection.

I am having this same debate now. Just got a pool put in with iaqualink. Turns out I still have to go to the equipment pad to set schedules for everything. IaqualInk is actually pretty limited on its own.

Most of the automation costs were in the Z4 panel and the automatic valves.

The autelis actually can emulate a control pad so you can do everything you can do on the actual panel itself, or you could have the vera handle the logic (don't trust the vera for this personally).
« Last Edit: May 27, 2015, 06:09:24 am by nomar383 »

Offline niharmehta

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 304
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #24 on: June 07, 2015, 12:37:02 am »
I use an iAqualink without a pad at all. Programming can be done on the web interface vs. the app interface. Works fine .
2x VeraLite; 2xTrane Tstats; 45 x Switches/Dimmers/Appliance Modules; 4x Everspring Water Sensors; DSC Integration; 2 x Zwave Door Locks; 1x Ted5K; 1x Rainforest Eagle; Onkyo AVR; 6x Squeezebox;

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5402
  • Karma: +144/-299
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #25 on: June 07, 2015, 02:13:10 am »
I use an iAqualink without a pad at all. Programming can be done on the web interface vs. the app interface. Works fine .

What is this supposed to mean? How does this let vera control or integrate it with VERA? Most of us probley don't have a "PAD"

Offline niharmehta

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 304
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #26 on: June 07, 2015, 01:57:33 pm »
 To clarify when I meant Pad, I assumed it was a standalone Aqualink RS / OneTouch  inside or outside your home.  I guess it could also mean the area where the iQ900 control box and pumps .

I was responding to @nomar383 comment that all programming needs to be done at the control box (or Aqualink RS, or Autelis) . iAqualink also provides a browser interface both control and programming .  Unfortunately, still no native integration with Vera. Not sure if its possible (or worth it) to write a plugin that somehow uses the web interface.
2x VeraLite; 2xTrane Tstats; 45 x Switches/Dimmers/Appliance Modules; 4x Everspring Water Sensors; DSC Integration; 2 x Zwave Door Locks; 1x Ted5K; 1x Rainforest Eagle; Onkyo AVR; 6x Squeezebox;

Offline nomar383

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #27 on: June 07, 2015, 01:59:21 pm »
To clarify when I meant Pad, I assumed it was a standalone Aqualink RS / OneTouch  inside or outside your home.  I guess it could also mean the area where the iQ900 control box and pumps .

I was responding to @nomar383 comment that all programming needs to be done at the control box (or Aqualink RS, or Autelis) . iAqualink also provides a browser interface both control and programming .  Unfortunately, still no native integration with Vera. Not sure if its possible (or worth it) to write a plugin that somehow uses the web interface.

Can you post a screenshot of the programming from the computer? All I can see is turning pumps on or off and setting the temp for the pool/spa. Can you set schedules on the computer with iAqualink?

Offline niharmehta

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 304
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #28 on: June 07, 2015, 02:11:51 pm »
Go to :
https://www.iaqualink.com/en/#/manage-pool  and log in using your username and password.

You can also access the Web UI using the Web tab on the mobile App.  It will launch your browser for you. 
Selecting the menu button, you will take you to the menu where all the programming can be done.
2x VeraLite; 2xTrane Tstats; 45 x Switches/Dimmers/Appliance Modules; 4x Everspring Water Sensors; DSC Integration; 2 x Zwave Door Locks; 1x Ted5K; 1x Rainforest Eagle; Onkyo AVR; 6x Squeezebox;

Offline nomar383

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: iAqualink Pool Control
« Reply #29 on: June 07, 2015, 02:20:50 pm »
Go to :
https://www.iaqualink.com/en/#/manage-pool  and log in using your username and password.

You can also access the Web UI using the Web tab on the mobile App.  It will launch your browser for you. 
Selecting the menu button, you will take you to the menu where all the programming can be done.

What panel do you have? I only have the Z4, so maybe the higher end panel have more options. Mine looks nothing like that, it's basically a mobile webpage that mimics the android app.