Author Topic: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.41  (Read 46565 times)

Offline Zooz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #15 on: July 20, 2015, 04:47:13 pm »
Great App!
I have MySensors RGB (i.e. separate dimmers for each color). Can you control only those three, instead of RGB+W/WW?
I tried to configure the plugin, but it seems to require also the W & WW device ids, which I don't have.
Thanks!

Offline vosmont

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
  • Karma: +58/-8
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #16 on: July 21, 2015, 01:58:26 am »
If you choose the type "RGBW Dimmers", only one dimmer is mandatory.
You can then select any combination among the color channels ( R G B WW CW).

Offline jmarken

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2015, 11:51:20 am »
vosmont, I just wanted to send you a quick note to say that your plugin is amazing.

And the latest couple of versions have made it even better.

Thanks for the continued development and kudos on a great plugin.

Merci!
Jmarken

Offline vosmont

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
  • Karma: +58/-8
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2015, 12:58:25 pm »
Thanks

You're welcome  :)

Offline crayonstory

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #19 on: July 23, 2015, 04:30:16 am »
Great app!

A few questions though.

1)  For the Aeotec RGB I can't see the animation options.  Do these work for this device yet?

2)  How do I set a color as a preset so I can call it up in a scene?  It appears if I alter the color wheel then this will be the new setting for any scene I've saved.

(I'm using Ui7)

Again, awesome work!

Offline vosmont

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
  • Karma: +58/-8
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #20 on: July 23, 2015, 04:54:50 am »
Hello,

1)  For the Aeotec RGB I can't see the animation options.  Do these work for this device yet?
The Aeotec RGBW Bulb (and Zipato) does not handle animations by it-self. I've implemented just the transition between colors, by changing slowly the color by steps.
This way of doing is limited by the Z-Wave network, that's why the transition between two colors can't be less than one second (otherwise the network would be overloaded).
The animations for the Fibaro or Hyperion are directly handled by the device it-self. So it's much more smoother.
However, adding some basic animations on the Aeotec or Zipato, is not so hard to do. I've planned to add this feature on the next release (with the possibility of add your own animations)

2)  How do I set a color as a preset so I can call it up in a scene?  It appears if I alter the color wheel then this will be the new setting for any scene I've saved.
I think you just switch on or off the RGB Controller (or the bulb) in your scenes. You should use advanced mode in scenes and you will be able to set the color of the bulb.

Offline jmarken

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #21 on: July 23, 2015, 09:34:44 am »
The Aeotec RGBW Bulb (and Zipato) does not handle animations by it-self. I've implemented just the transition between colors, by changing slowly the color by steps.

Vosmont, I was playing with scenes to cycle through different colors and my results were "choppy" at best.

However, I did come across the following in the online manual for the bulb (under the advanced functions section).
http://aeotec.com/z-wave-led-lightbulb/1511-led-bulb-manual.html

Example:
If you set the parameter 38 to 801(0x00000321 in hexadecimal), the colour will be changed from Red to Orange and then Orange to Yellow circularly(Red→Orange→Yellow→Red).


So it appears that the bulb will do transitions without Vera sending multiple commands. 

How to do that is beyond me at this point though.

Jmarken

Offline vosmont

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
  • Karma: +58/-8
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #22 on: July 23, 2015, 09:49:18 am »
OK Thanks,
I haven't seen this doc before (I'm not sure it was in the packaging).

There's a note on enabling security encryption. Should resolve the red message about Security Classes on the Vera.

I will test the color transition commands.

Offline vosmont

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
  • Karma: +58/-8
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #23 on: July 23, 2015, 03:47:47 pm »
These advanced functions of the Aeotec are for color cycles. It does not work for transition between colors (ie between the former color and the color you choose).

But... it works well for smooth animations  ;) (Rainbow or strobe by exemple).

I've got still the error message "Please wait! Getting secure classes", even with the described procedure.
Is it the same for you ?

Offline jmarken

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #24 on: July 23, 2015, 04:06:05 pm »
I've got still the error message "Please wait! Getting secure classes", even with the described procedure.
Is it the same for you ?

I have 4 bulbs and the very first one that I added did perform the "secure pairing" and I don't get the error message on that one.  I seem to remember that when I powered it on at first the bulb was cycling through colors (rainbow), then I put the Vera into "include" mode and after the pairing was complete the bulb showed blue for a second or two until it turned to white. 

However, the other bulbs didn't follow that same pattern.  They showed white when first powered on.  Perhaps I need to remove and re-add them again to test that.

On the topic of animations, that's exactly what I'm looking for.  Can you share how you activated one of them?  The example showed how to set Red> Orange> Yellow> Red> etc.  And I think I can modify that to fit what I'm looking for.

I just don't know how to send this command through either a scene, luup command, or any other method.

And I guess, I wasn't thinking about transitions from color 1 to color 2 and staying at color 2, however that would be a really neat feature.

Perhaps, capturing the current color, desired color to transition to, adding them together in hexidecimal, sending it to the bulb and then instructing the bulb to stop once it's to the desired color?

But for now, just activating the animations will be perfect for me.

Hints?   :D
Jmarken

Offline vosmont

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
  • Karma: +58/-8
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #25 on: July 23, 2015, 04:32:58 pm »
You have to get the Z-Wave node id of your bulb (mine is 49).

Then use this code :

Code: [Select]
-- Rainbow fast
luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:ZWaveNetwork1", "SendData", {Node = 49, Data = "0x70 0x04 0x25 0x04 0x01 0x00 0x05 0x05"}, 1)

-- Rainbow slow
luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:ZWaveNetwork1", "SendData", {Node = 49, Data = "0x70 0x04 0x25 0x04 0x01 0x00 0x7F 0x7F"}, 1)

-- Color cycle like LPD (red ->blue - no white available)
luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:ZWaveNetwork1", "SendData", {Node = 49, Data = "0x70 0x04 0x26 0x04 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x61"}, 1)
luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:ZWaveNetwork1", "SendData", {Node = 49, Data = "0x70 0x04 0x25 0x04 0x42 0x00 0x00 0x00"}, 1)

Just select a color with the color wheel, to stop the animation

I will put this in the next release of the plugin.

Offline crayonstory

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #26 on: July 24, 2015, 06:32:22 pm »
Thanks for this!

Sorry for the noob question, but where do I enter the animation data in Vera 3?  I gather this is under advanced tab but I'm slightly confused where exactly I never the luup codes  ???



The Aeotec RGBW Bulb (and Zipato) does not handle animations by it-self. I've implemented just the transition between colors, by changing slowly the color by steps.

Vosmont, I was playing with scenes to cycle through different colors and my results were "choppy" at best.

However, I did come across the following in the online manual for the bulb (under the advanced functions section).
http://aeotec.com/z-wave-led-lightbulb/1511-led-bulb-manual.html

Example:
If you set the parameter 38 to 801(0x00000321 in hexadecimal), the colour will be changed from Red to Orange and then Orange to Yellow circularly(Red→Orange→Yellow→Red).


So it appears that the bulb will do transitions without Vera sending multiple commands. 

How to do that is beyond me at this point though.

Jmarken

Offline jmarken

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #27 on: July 28, 2015, 06:28:59 pm »
crayonstory: if your Vera3 is on UI5 I can't really help you.  But on UI7 when you create a scene there is a Luup Code section that you can input additional code.  Another option in UI7 is under the Apps section > Develop Apps > Test Luup Code (Lua).  I'm assuming there should be similar options in UI5.  I'm pretty sure that I ran across some of this documented somewhere for UI5 (check here maybe http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Luup_Scenes_Events).

Vosmont:  Thanks for those snippets.  I was able to figure out (kind of) how to build a scene for what I'm looking for.

What's interesting though, is that of my 4 bulbs one of them won't react to the luup calls.  It is also the first one that I purchased and also doesn't have the error message about "getting secure classes".   I'm 99% sure that I've got the correct node id.  I got it from the ZWave Network "repair report" results and it works just fine with your plugin.  The three others don't have this problem.

I see some differences in the "capabilities" and "version" information under the advanced >variables section.  I'm wondering if this might have something to do with the failure.   I'll email their support and see what's up.

Thanks again for the plugin and your help
Jmarken

Offline vosmont

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
  • Karma: +58/-8
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #28 on: July 29, 2015, 05:38:24 am »
@crayonstory
As said jmarken, you can put LUA code in (UI5 and UI7)
- "Apps -> Develop Apps -> Test Luup Code (Lua)"
   Just for test
- "Apps -> Develop Apps -> Edit Startup Lua"
   This code is executed at startup. Be careful and test it before saving.
- In scenes in LUUP tab

I'm on holidays with my children... so I'm forbidden of coding during 2 weeks... ha ha   ;D
I will test a new release of the plugin after.

@jmarken
you will find the Z-Wave node id in "Advanced" tab of the device, in "altid" attribute.

My Aeotec bulb has the error message about secure classes. But it works, although there are some lags (due to the Vera trying regularly to retrieve the secure classes).
I've noticed that the variable "capabilities" has no number with "S" (as other Z-Wave Plus devices), so I think there's a problem between Vera and the Aotec bulbs.
I'm in touch with the support concerning this problem, but they tell me that they have no problem in their lab with this bulb.

Offline pucki

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: PLUGIN: RGB Controller (UI5 & UI7) - V1.32
« Reply #29 on: July 29, 2015, 05:32:52 pm »
Hello,
i use LUA script for animation.
Can I reduce the brightness? 100% is too bright.

Peter