Author Topic: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W  (Read 4773 times)

Offline Sloanish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« on: November 07, 2015, 12:03:24 pm »
Is anyone using these?
They were well reviewed so I got two.
I was able to get them to link using the following URL where ## is your cameras internal network IP address

http://192.168.##.##/cgi-bin/snapshot.cgi?channel=0

You then add the user name and password in a separate location and not inline with the URL as shown elsewhere.

The video does not show up very well in the getvera panel so I use the separate Amcrest cloud or http://www.amcrestview.com to see the cameras.

Offline snovvman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2015, 12:50:37 am »
Does the Amcrest UI look like the Foscam?  I wonder if the Foscam plugin will work with Amcrest?

Offline snovvman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2015, 12:52:12 am »
BTW, how's the video quality?

Offline Scuzy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2015, 05:07:02 pm »
mine keeps on showing not connected after awhile. Anyone else have the same issues?

Offline awoodlandcritter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2016, 11:34:43 am »
Appears the Amcrest cameras are getting as popular as the Foscam units -- Wonder what it takes to get Vera to support them.   It is great the community tries to come up with work around(s) -- but to have the core programming support the device would be optimal.   

I just purchased an Amcrest unit and it is pretty impressive verses the price point -- the Amcrest stand alone SW works well,  but I am having the same trouble integrating the unit into the vera lite.   If someone has a one pager on how to do it, I would appreciate it.

Offline schill32

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2016, 04:01:45 pm »
I've been wondering this as well.  I did find an API for their cameras here which might be helpful?

https://s3.amazonaws.com/amcrest-files/AMCREST_CGI_SDK_API.pdf


Offline seanwatson3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2016, 07:45:27 pm »
Did anyone get any luck with this?

I've been trying for a while now and still not managed to get this fully working.

Offline pentium

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2016, 04:50:26 pm »
thanks to sloanish for providing that snapshot entry.  At least now I finally have something to debug.  As stated, now it will show the camera for a moment, and then it goes away.  But that is a lot better than what I had.

well, i remember that on the foscam cameras, we had to start adding the user and password to the snapshot line when foscam wanted to encrypt those two fields.  Makes me think we are back to unencrypted.

I was trying to follow the instructions for the foscam camera that someone did a great job of supplying a long time ago.  They always worked on my foscam cameras, but not so much on this one.  I will keep working on it, but open to any information anyone discovers.

Offline pentium

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2016, 04:52:59 pm »
To answer another question.  The foscam ip camera tool does not add the amcrest cameras to the list it recognizes and the amcrest ip camera tool does not list the foscam cameras.  I thought the companies were a little more connected that that. 

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1402
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2016, 10:21:50 am »
Just fyi, this works fine in Blue Iris if that helps 😃

Offline jeffhayford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2017, 01:04:31 am »
I got this URL to work in UI7 (1.7.2608) with my IP2M-844EW Camera.

http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/axis-cgi/mjpg/video.cgi

Per this list:

https://www.ispyconnect.com/man.aspx?n=Amcrest

Offline JimMac

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2017, 07:56:49 am »
I have two of these cameras.  This is what I use with no issues except the high resolution picture is slow to show up on the screen.
URL                      /cgi-bin/snapshot.cgi?channel=0
DirectStreamingURL       /cgi-bin/CGIStream.cgi?cmd=GetMJStream&usr=XXXXXX&pwd=XXXXXX
impl_file                  I_Amcrest_ProHD.xml ( for full PTZ control)

Offline snackdrag

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #12 on: April 30, 2017, 07:54:40 pm »
Can't seem to add new Amcrest camera's with the URL login since the latest firmware update. I have identical amcrest cameras from before the firmware upgrade that worked fine. 
Even tried AltUI to copy the device config exactly. 
Anyone else experiencing this with the latest firmware?

Offline Rsjr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P IP Camera IP2M-841W
« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2017, 09:56:26 pm »
Yes.   No obvious reason these should not work so I believe it is the firmware.