Author Topic: Echo skill beta  (Read 8243 times)

BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2140
  • Karma: +97/-126
Re: Echo skill beta
« Reply #150 on: February 11, 2017, 05:49:24 am »
As per Amazon rules, locks etc are not allowed in these skills. GetVera is working on a new Secure skill that requires the Echo PIN for locks, sensors etc.

You really don't want a miscreant yelling at Echo outside your front door something like 'Alexa, unlock the front door!'. At least I don't although with my security system, good luck getting in that door without donating blood or bodyparts.  8)
« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 05:51:44 am by BOFH »
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

specsix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Echo skill beta
« Reply #151 on: February 11, 2017, 01:24:34 pm »
As per Amazon rules, locks etc are not allowed in these skills. GetVera is working on a new Secure skill that requires the Echo PIN for locks, sensors etc.

You really don't want a miscreant yelling at Echo outside your front door something like 'Alexa, unlock the front door!'. At least I don't although with my security system, good luck getting in that door without donating blood or bodyparts.  8)

ok.  I read some API notes and totally understand why it is not working, but to your 2nd point  yes actually I do want the echo to control my door lock.  There is no way an average to above average criminal  could get past my security system (not z-wave) without me knowing it.  I am home 95 percent of the time with a military trained German Shepherd  knowing if someone is within 25 meters of my house in the woods.   My point is - let the customer decide what risks should be taken - that is the entire point of Vera anyways - open source DIY control of your home.  Yes I understand that this is an Amazon issue, but we are talking about Echo to Vera integration so the spirit of Vera is actually broken with this integration.  Not complaining, just point it out and hopefully it will motivate someone to come up with a work around.  I am thinking maybe adding it as a generic z-wave device and masking anything that is lock related.  If I come up with a solution, I will let everyone know.

Thanks

Don Phillips

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Echo skill beta
« Reply #152 on: February 11, 2017, 02:34:30 pm »
My point is - let the customer decide what risks should be taken - that is the entire point of Vera anyways - open source DIY control of your home. 

I can hear Clint Eastwood saying "make my day".
Vera 3, UI7 1.7.902, 2Gig thermostat, Everspring motion detector, GE/Jasco switch, Leviton outlet, Vision door sensor, Insteon garage door control, Blue Iris for Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual & Multi Switch, Weather

BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2140
  • Karma: +97/-126
Re: Echo skill beta
« Reply #153 on: February 11, 2017, 04:12:13 pm »
More like Jim Belushi and Jerry Lee in the bar scene in the movie K9.  ;D

Mine are not military trained but there's several sharing my house with me and I have a camera on them while at work (not worried about them misbehaving, just enjoying their antics)

As far as a solution goes:

A) is to wait for Getvera to finish the 'secure skill' which will allow locks etc to be accessed via Alexa using her PIN setup.
B) Use LUUP code in a scene to access the secure device rather than selecting it the normal way.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 04:17:17 pm by BOFH »
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

specsix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Echo skill beta
« Reply #154 on: February 11, 2017, 06:05:52 pm »
Ok I have a temporary solution that works for now using scenes.     The key was not to use the word "lock" in any of my scene names.  I also had to use the word "Start" before speaking the scenes. 

This worked with a Schlage door lock FE469nx


marksand

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Echo skill beta
« Reply #155 on: February 12, 2017, 03:06:34 am »
I just added my Echo to a new VeraPlus (upgraded VeraLite). It works with caveats, at least for me.  I ask Alexa to "Turn on the Den lights". Alexa "thinks" for about 10 seconds then announces "The Den light is not responding".  About 2 to 5 seconds later the Den light turns on.  Same for all of the devices I've included, which is only 11 at this point  I sent a "Feedback" form to the Amazon Customer service and got some canned instructions in response.  I tried them anyway with the same result.  I can live with the Alexa misinformation but if there's a fix, I'd like to try it.  Anyone else have this problem?

Thanks

Same here on VeraEdge. Did you manage to solve it somehow?
Support said they forwarded it to developers, no response...

aPL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Echo skill beta
« Reply #156 on: February 13, 2017, 12:27:20 am »
Alexa smart home skill requires the endpoint to respond in under 8 seconds (restriction by amazon). If a command from alexa to your controller through the relay servers takes more than 8 seconds then it will execute but alexa will say there was an error. When I fully use my internet bandwidth I get the same thing.

fester

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Echo skill beta
« Reply #157 on: February 14, 2017, 09:13:30 am »
Been using the latest beta pretty successfully for the last couple of weeks and although a "Scene" could probably be created, the ability for Alexa to integrate its own basic skills with Vera would be nice, such as "turn off bedroom lamp in one minute". Have to check with Amazon to see if this has already been suggested.