Author Topic: Automating Lights  (Read 715 times)

Offline cbsmith

Automating Lights
« on: December 11, 2016, 08:18:59 pm »
I am new to home automation and am looking at getting a VeraPlus to start automating things in my home. Initially I would like to install two smart light switches to control my outside lights and a couple water sensors and possibly a water valve sutoff.

My question is around the light switches. Quite often we come home after dark and have forgotten to turn the outside lights on. I would like to be able to have them turn on if we arrive home and they are off.

Is it possible to set up the  VeraPlus so that it can detect when my wife or I arrive home and turn the lights on? We both have iPhones so some solution using them or presence sensors in the cars would be best. I don't want the lights to be on all the time we are home and will probably turn them off manually using the switch. Can it be configured to only turn on the lights when we arrive home and not keep them turned on the entire time we are home?

Thanks

Offline Z-Waver

• Master Member
Re: Automating Lights
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2016, 07:35:11 am »
Yes, but...

There are several options available to use your arrival as triggers to turn the lights on. There is a geofencing feature in the Vera app and in a third party app. Some people use a script that detects when you iPhone connects to your home WiFi network. There are also setups that use Bluetooth detection. The problem with these options is that they are not perfectly reliable. To increase reliability, some people combine a couple of these methods.

Other option that could be use and are more reliable might include using a motion sensor, using the opening of the garage door as a trigger, manually turning the lights on from your phone...

What you want is very doable. But, don't expect perfection.

Offline cbsmith

« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2016, 08:57:42 am »