Author Topic: Is my Vera gone???  (Read 395 times)

ddavid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is my Vera gone???
« on: February 10, 2017, 11:05:43 pm »
Hi guys

My yesterday's Vera standard firmware upgrade was not successful, so I had to go through very painful Firmware Flash VeraLite process, including installing and running XP mode, etc, what took me many hours spent searching how to make it working. But the result of the firmware flash was a victory window - Success.

However, from this time my Vera does not wake up at all! All leds are off. Just when I unplug and plug again, 3 leds just blink (if I remove battery, those blink 2x) and nothing happens after. Hard reset does not work neither.

Is my Vera dead??? Any suggestion?

Thank you

David

Newzwaver

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +3/-3
Re: Is my Vera gone???
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2017, 03:57:00 am »
Hi Dave,

Did you try to reset your vera and reload a backup?  One that would be before the firmware update.


ddavid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Is my Vera gone???
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2017, 10:54:27 am »
I would like to, but I cannot do anything as it is not working at all. I need some really hard hard factory reset, but it does not react at all. I also tried another power outlet, but the same result...

Newzwaver

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +3/-3
Re: Is my Vera gone???
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2017, 01:07:10 pm »
Do you have any lights at all on the unit?

rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
  • Karma: +27/-20
Re: Is my Vera gone???
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2017, 01:37:29 pm »
Not sure what you mean by running XP mode.
When you do a hard reset, your vera needs to have internet access, What it tries to do is to update itself to the last released firmware. If it can't find the firmware to upgrade to, it will hang or try to start with the firmware currently on the unit. In the process, it reboots quite a few times. First after wiping out all custom settings, and downloading the new firmware, then after the firmware is updated and sometimes another time, I am not sure why.

Firmware upgrade is usually pretty painless, and takes only a couple of minutes. Downgrade on the other hand can be very painful. I would contact support if you cannot resolve it.
111 zwave nodes, 8 zigbee nodes, 229 devices, 17 apps, 84 scenes on a Vera Plus linked with Echo and HomeKit through bridges

ddavid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Is my Vera gone???
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2017, 02:30:18 am »
I mean this process: http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Firmware_Flash_VeraLite. , but the result given by the app was "success".

However, the unit never got working again - leds just blink once after I connect power in, but after that no led at all. The support suggested to try another power unit, but it did not work neither...

ddavid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Is my Vera gone???
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2017, 02:31:57 am »
I mean this process: http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Firmware_Flash_VeraLite. , but the result given by the app was "success".

However, the unit never got working again - leds just blink once after I connect power in, but after that no led at all. The support suggested to try another power unit, but it did not work neither...   :(

Jeff D

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Is my Vera gone???
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2017, 03:46:54 pm »
I'm assuming you contacted support and they've been no help...
You did a full reset as described here?
http://support.getvera.com/customer/en/portal/articles/2591718-how-do-you-factory-reset-a-vera-controller-
(FWIW, it's not always easy to do, I still haven't successfully get the veraplus to reset with their steps)

If the full reset doesn't work there are some low-level things you can do to check what's happening, but it's easier to do than teach someone what to do.

As an example...
For starters do you have any way to monitor what's going on with the device on the network?
Can you plug it into a device like a switch which can show an active connection and/or traffic?
If it's getting on the net you may be able to do some things, but that all depends how far the system gets in its boot sequence.

As you can tell, this will be a slow process and since the testing actions follow a decision tree flow, this is not a fun thing to do on a forum. I'd push on support to guide you, hopefully they can get you to the point where they have remote access and can drive the ship.