Author Topic: Geofencing  (Read 3296 times)

Offline Chapin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +1/-4
Geofencing
« on: February 18, 2017, 12:10:49 am »
How do i set up geofencing?  I have it working well in the Vera app on my phone.  How do I use this to trigger modes and scenes in Vera?

Offline Chapin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +1/-4
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2017, 12:46:41 am »
Found this and will play with it.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E95BECwde1Q

How do I set up a geofence for a second location?

How do I set it to go into away/night mode after sunset rather than away mode?

Offline pls90

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2017, 05:47:06 am »
try Richard's VeraProximity.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2343
  • Karma: +107/-136
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2017, 09:45:37 am »
Download the house modes plug-in and you can use that to set and detect house modes in scenes and use those as a trigger.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9432
  • Karma: +716/-133
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2017, 10:26:49 am »
PLEG also supports house modes as an input trigger without the need for the House Modes plugin.


Offline Chapin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +1/-4
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2017, 06:03:57 pm »
Thanks.  Will try PLEG too.

It's great that there are plug ins that address some of the short comings of VERA.

Offline Chapin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +1/-4
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2017, 10:47:15 pm »
I'm having some issues with Geofencing.  Will dork around some more.  When both phones walk out of the fence, it does not switch into "Away" mode.  Also, when 1 or either phone enters the fence it does not trigger "Home".

I think I'll sort this out, need to check it is not set on two ipads.

The bigger issue is on an android phone for the boss.  There needs to be no notifications, vibrations, or sounds with the operation of geofencing, or it will be promptly disabled.

I cannot figure out where to turn off any and all notifications in the app.  There are turned of in the veraplus for this basic user.  How do I turn these off?  I think they are from the app, not from the VeraPlus.


Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2343
  • Karma: +107/-136
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2017, 11:12:24 pm »
On the Vera dashboard, click the > next to My Modes and on the page that opens, scroll all the way down to the bottom. That is where the geo-fencing settings are.

As far as notifications on the Android side, you should be able to suppress those (depending on the Android version) in the phone settings on a per app basis. I've never had to change that as I want the Vera app to let me know if I exited or entered my home geofence as I have scenes running of that.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline jlind

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +6/-5
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2017, 02:54:02 pm »
For me, geofencing has always been one of those concepts that sounds great but is ultimately highly frustrating and disappointing.  The pitfalls that you have to deal with don't outweigh the benefits. I've found that purchasing motion sensors and using a network ping routine seems to be the best compromise.  I'd love to hear if someone has a geofence setup, with multiple users, working with nearly a nearly 100% "catch" rate...
VeraLite/VeraPlus with UI7, Multiple GE switches, GE Outlets, Aeon Smart Switches, Minimote, GE Portable outlets  Apps: (Countdown Timer, Weather Underground, Honeywell WiFi Thermo (newest manual install), Virtual on/off switches, eMail Notifications, System Monitor, AlternateUI)

Offline Inzax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: +19/-58
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2017, 04:06:05 pm »
For me, geofencing has always been one of those concepts that sounds great but is ultimately highly frustrating and disappointing.  The pitfalls that you have to deal with don't outweigh the benefits. I've found that purchasing motion sensors and using a network ping routine seems to be the best compromise.  I'd love to hear if someone has a geofence setup, with multiple users, working with nearly a nearly 100% "catch" rate...

Until the last update, I had almost 100 percent function with geofence and two users.  After the last update, my vera edge became very unstable.  I have been working with support.

I had many issues.  Staying on topic, my geo-fence would detect me as leaving with good reliability.  Coming home was another issue.  It simply did not work well enough to use.  I had three support tickets filed for the issues I was experiencing.  I am not sure what they did but within the last week geo-fencing has returned to its previous reliability after Vera techs identified the concord plugin as misbehaving.  They called it "way to busy."   

I run a pretty basic system.  I have tried to limit apps.  I only have about four of them.  Since the concord plugin was misbehaving after the last update I believe it may have contributed to my geo fence reliability issues.  My only proof is with the concord plugin fixed, the geo fence is working. 

Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
Go ahead. Make my day.  Smite me!

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2343
  • Karma: +107/-136
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2017, 04:24:27 pm »
mine works about 99.9% of the time but with only one user. Even when it complains it can't connect to the servers (generally when I am coming home and my phone is swapping from 4G to my WiFi) it still reaches my local Vera and changes the Mode just fine.

During one of my factory reset / restore I lost my multiswitch that handles the DD-WRT presence detection. I've not had to re-create that due to the fact that the Geofencing is working really well. Caveat, I do run the latest beta version of the app.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline aldiallo-Vera+

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2017, 10:10:29 am »
Hi all,

I recently activated Geofencing on my vera after seeing one of Mark's videos on youtube, now I got a couple of questions as I set it up first on my phone and it was working quite well for detecting when I was entering or leaving the fence, now since I added my wife's phone, the detection is being a bit hazardous, so leaving the zone is fine but getting back is no longer accurate, sometime I'm already at my door or inside the house and only then I get the notification that I've entered the fence.

Now my second question is and I believe that answer is going to be PLEG but let me ask anyway, if I get home at night can I get vera to turn on my hue lights of the house entrance when I enter the fence zone and turn them off 5mins after?

Thanks

Rgds

Al

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2343
  • Karma: +107/-136
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #12 on: February 22, 2017, 12:29:16 pm »
Geofencing seems to take a bit to notify Vera if your phone is not connected to your local WiFi as it has to go via Vera's servers. When I leave it takes a minute or so for the notification to pop up on my watch. When I arrive sometimes it pops up just before I pull into the garage and sometimes it takes up to a minute longer.  But rarely more than that. 
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline aldiallo-Vera+

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #13 on: February 22, 2017, 04:27:41 pm »
Geofencing seems to take a bit to notify Vera if your phone is not connected to your local WiFi as it has to go via Vera's servers. When I leave it takes a minute or so for the notification to pop up on my watch. When I arrive sometimes it pops up just before I pull into the garage and sometimes it takes up to a minute longer.  But rarely more than that.
Strange, last Sunday I was home all day, my phone was connected to my home wifi network but not on the lte network and being home and I got several notifications like if I was not at home, same thing today, my wife was at home but she was on the LTE network not on home wifi and still I got the notification that movement was detected at home; she recieved 1 notification when I got 3. I must say that the wifi on the vera is disabled, only connected via an ethernet cable.

I thought that a 500 meters fence would have been enough I'm considering increasing the distance but not sure if that will do the trick.

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 705
  • Karma: +15/-1
    • Worthington Engineering, Inc.
Re: Geofencing
« Reply #14 on: February 23, 2017, 09:31:44 pm »
I have had more success with the iPhone Locator app. I have it set to show us out of range when we exit my condo community. To save battery life, I only poll every 600 seconds. But my garage door triggers a scene to ping both phones immediately and every minute for 5 minutes. Vera typically switches to Home before I enter the house - most of the time. A couple of times a week, I will get notifications the man door opened (still in Away Mode so it reports a burglary). About once a week I get a notification of Dining Motion (I made it as far as the dining room before switching to Home). Many times, it switches to Home while I am still in the garage.

The purpose of the multiple pings is to catch us leaving and setting it to Away. 
« Last Edit: February 25, 2017, 08:40:11 am by Don Phillips »
Vera 3, UI7 1.7.947, CT101 t-stat, Everspring motion detector, GE/Jasco switch, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs door sensor, Insteon garage control, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual & Multi Switch, Weather, Sys. Mon.